Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Alabama Worker Protection Bill to be Heard on Wednesday, March 25!

Wednesday, March 18, 2009

Please Contact the Members of the House Commerce Committee Today!

House Bill 362, sponsored by State Representative Craig Ford (D-28), is expected to be heard on Wednesday, March 25 in the House Commerce Committee. 

HB 362 would protect your right to lawfully transport and store firearms in a privately-owned and locked motor vehicle while parked in publicly accessible parking lots controlled by your employer or a business you frequent. 

Last month, the Tenth Circuit U.S. Court of Appeals upheld an Oklahoma statute that protects the rights of employees to store firearms in locked vehicles in publicly accessible parking lots.  The proposed Alabama bill is very similar to the Oklahoma law and should withstand any similar challenges that might be launched.

Please contact the members of the House Commerce Committee TODAY and respectfully urge them to vote in favor of HB 362.  Contact information can be found below. 

Also, please thank State Representative Craig Ford (D-28) for sponsoring HB 362 and agreeing to table any further exemption amendments.  Contact information for Representative Ford can be found by clicking here.  

Please thank State Senator Roger Bedford (D-6) for sponsoring and moving Senate Bill 407, the companion bill, out of the Senate Judiciary Committee without any restricting amendments.  Contact information for Senator Bedford can be found here.

Finally, please call and thank State Senator Rodger Smitherman (D-18), Pro Tem of the Senate, and thank him for his help in by advancing SB 407.
  Senator Smitherman’s contact information can be found by clicking here.

House Commerce Committee:

State Representative Frank McDaniel (D-26)
(334) 242-7697
frank.mcdaniel@alhouse.gov

State Representative Alan Harper (D-61)
(334) 242-7732
alan.harper@alhouse.gov

State Representative Gerald Allen (R-62)
(334) 242-7758 
Gerald.allen@alhouse.gov

State Representative Warren Beck (R-87)
(334) 242-7774
Warren.beck@alhouse.gov

State Representative Duwayne Bridges (R-38)
(334) 242-7600 
Duwayne.bridges@alhouse.gov

State Representative Bill Dukes (D-8)
(334) 242-7689
Bill.dukes@alhouse.gov

State Representative James Fields (D-12)
(334) 242-7600 
James.fields@alhouse.gov

State Representative David Grimes (R-73)
(334) 242-7707
david.grimes@alhouse.gov

State Representative Earl Hilliard (D-60)
(334) 242-7684
Earl.Hilliard@alhouse.gov

State Representative Artis McCampbell (D-71)
(334) 242-7747 
Artis.mccampbell@alhouse.gov

State Representative Rod Scott (D-55)
(334) 242-7752
rod.scott@alhouse.gov

State Representative Lesley Vance (D-80)
(334) 242-7687
Lesley.vance@alhouse.gov

State Representative Pebblin Warren (D-82)
(334) 242-7734
pwarren@alhouse.gov

State Representative Jack Williams (R-47)
(334) 242-7600
jack.williams@alhouse.gov

State Representative Greg Wren (R-75)
(334) 242-7764
greg.wren@alhouse.gov

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.