Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Utah: House Committee to Hear Firearm Possession Protection Bill TOMORROW

Thursday, March 6, 2014

Tomorrow, House Bill 276 is scheduled to be heard in the state House Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice Committee at 8:00 a.m. in Room 25 of the House Building.  Sponsored by state Representative Curt Oda (R-14), HB 276 would provide that the mere carrying or possession of a holstered or encased firearm does not constitute a violation of the Disorderly Conduct statute.

Self-defense is a fundamental right that is protected by the Utah Constitution and clearly provided for in state statute.  The carrying of firearms for self-defense is legal in Utah, either concealed with a Concealed Firearm Permit (CFP) or unconcealed without a permit.  It is the choice of the law-abiding individual HOW to carry.  HB 276 does not, in any way, change the laws governing the carrying of firearms, nor does it make any changes to what behavior by law-abiding gun owners is legal or illegal.

There is a problem in Utah.  Some jurisdictions are arresting people for openly carrying a firearm when it is clearly NOT prohibited in statute.  These jurisdictions have sought creative ways to harass law-abiding firearm owners who are legally carrying unconcealed firearms for self-defense.

House Bill 276 would remove one of the ploys (charging the person with disorderly conduct) being used by some jurisdictions in Utah to circumvent state law and the Utah Constitution in an attempt to harass these law-abiding firearm owners.

Please contact members of the state House Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice Committee NOW and respectfully urge their support for House Bill 276.  Please contact committee members by calling the House line at (801) 538-1029 AND by sending an e-mail message to the addresses provided below:

  

House Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice Committee:

Representative Curtis Oda (R-14), Chairman
Coda@le.utah.gov

 
Representative Richard Greenwood (R-12), Vice-Chairman 
Rgreenwood@le.utah.gov

 
Representative Keith Grover (R-61)
Keithgrover@le.utah.gov

 
Representative Don Ipson (R-75)
Dipson@le.utah.gov

 
Representative Dana Layton (R-60)
Dlayton@le.utah.gov

 
Representative Paul Ray (R-13)
Pray@le.utah.gov

 
Representative Edward Redd (R-4)
Eredd@le.utah.gov

 
Representative Jennifer Seelig (D-23)
Jseelig@le.utah.gov

 
Representative Robert Spendlove (R-49)
Rspendlove@le.utah.gov

 
Representative Keven Stratton (R-48)
Kstratton@le.utah.gov

 
Representative Mark Wheatley (D-35)
Markwheatley@le.utah.gov

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.