Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Maryland: O’Malley to Join List of Governors Who Will Sign Away Your Rights for Political Gain

Friday, April 5, 2013

Yesterday, in a show of flagrant disregard for the errors rampant in the legislation before them, the Maryland Senate voted 28-19 to concur with House amendments to Senate Bill 281.  Following months of debate over the unconstitutionality and adverse effect of this legislation, Senate Bill 281 now goes to Governor Martin O’Malley (D) for his signature.  With a few pen strokes, O’Malley intends to scribble out the Second Amendment in Maryland – to make the point that his own personal political agenda is more important than protecting the Constitution he is sworn to uphold and the civil rights of Marylanders.

Senate Bill 281 does not contain solutions that will prevent criminals from committing unlawful deeds, nor does it protect the law-abiding residents of Maryland from such criminal acts.   In fact, on multiple occasions, amendments were rejected that would have done just that.  Instead, Senate Bill 281 will disenfranchise those who wish to defend themselves from criminal threats using the most effective and efficient means possible.

During the months leading up to this final vote, Maryland residents came out by the thousands in opposition to Senate Bill 281.  More Second Amendment advocates showed up in Annapolis for rallies than have ever attended in recent memory.  This show of opposition was overlooked by those legislators who blindly bent to the Governor’s pressure and voted in support of Senate Bill 281.  Thank you to those senators and delegates who listened to logic, reason and the voices of their constituents throughout this process and voted in opposition to Senate Bill 281 and its companion, House Bill 294.

Using the contact information provided, please call and e-mail to thank the nineteen state Senators below who helped protect the fundamental rights of Maryland residents by voting against concurrence yesterday.

Senator John C. Astle

410-841-3578

john.astle@senate.state.md.us

 

Senator David Brinkley

301-858-3704

david.brinkley@senate.state.md.us

 

Senator Richard Colburn

410-841-3590

richard.colburn@senate.state.md.us

 

Senator James DeGrange Sr.

410-841-3593

james.degrange@senate.state.md.us

 

Senator Roy Dyson

301-858-3673

roy.dyson@senate.state.md.us

 

Senator George Edwards

301-858-3565

george.edwards@senate.state.md.us

 

Senator Joseph Getty

410-841-3683

joseph.getty@senate.state.md.us

 

Senator Barry Glassman

410-841-3603

barry.glassman@senate.state.md.us

 

Senator Nancy Jacobs

410-841-3158

nancy.jacobs@senate.state.md.us

 

Senator J.B. Jennings

410-841-3706

jb.jennings@senate.state.md.us

 

Senator Allan Kittleman

410-841-3671

allan.kittleman@senate.state.md.us

 

Senator Katherine Klausmeier

410-841-3620

katherine.klausmeier@senate.state.md.us

 

Senator James Mathias Jr.

410-841-3645

james.mathias@senate.state.md.us

 

Senator Thomas Middleton

301-858-3616

thomas.mcclain.middleton@senate.state.md.us

 

Senator E.J. Pipkin

410-841-3639

ej.pipkin@senate.state.md.us

 

Senator Edward Reilly

410-841-3568

edward.reilly@senate.state.md.us

 

Senator Christopher Shank

301-858-3903

christopher.shank@senate.state.md.us

 

Senator Bryan Simonaire

410-841-3658

bryan.simonaire@senate.state.md.us

 

Senator Norman Stone Jr.

410-841-3587

norman.stone@senate.state.md.us

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.