Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Idaho: Permitless Carry Introduced in the Gem State

Wednesday, February 23, 2011

As of President’s Day, the Idaho Senate had introduced Senate Bill 1126 and assigned it to the State Affairs Committee.  Commonly known as Permitless Carry legislation, this bill would amend the existing concealed carry law to allow law-abiding Idahoans to carry a concealed firearm without the burdensome requirement of acquiring an Idaho carry permit. The approval of this pivotal legislation would bode well for law-abiding citizens of Idaho who wish to protect not only themselves but family and friends alike.

In Idaho today it is generally legal to carry a firearm openly as long as one is at least 18 years of age and not prohibited from possessing a firearm.  However, if the firearm becomes covered with a coat, or if a woman prefers to carry a firearm in her purse, one needs to possess a concealed carry permit. The intent of this legislation is to give honest people the greatest possible freedom to choose the best method of carry for them, based on attire, gender, and/or physical attributes.

Please contact the members of the Senate State Affairs Committee TODAY and respectfully urge them to support SB 1126!

Senate State Affairs Committee

Senator Curt McKenzie (R-12), Chairman
Phone: (208) 332-1326
CMcKenzie@senate.idaho.gov

Senator Russell M. Fulcher (R-21), Vice Chairman
RFulcher@senate.idaho.gov

Senator Bart M. Davis (R-33)
(208) 332-1305
BDavis@senate.idaho.gov

Senator Brent Hill (R-34)
(208) 332-1300
BHill@senate.idaho.gov

Senator John McGee (R-10)
(208) 332-1304
JMcGee@senate.idaho.gov

Senator Chuck Winder (R-14)
(208) 332-1354
CWinder@senate.idaho.gov

Senator Patti Anne Lodge (R-13)
PALodge@senate.idaho.gov

Senator Edgar J. Malepeai (D-30)
(208) 332-1406
EMalepeai@senate.idaho.gov

Senator Michelle Stennett (D-25)
(208) 332-1353
MStennett@senate.idaho.gov

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.