Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

New York: Pro-Gun Voices Must Make Their Opposition to Micro-Stamping Heard!

Tuesday, June 22, 2010

Please Continue to Make Your Voices Heard!

Last week, many lawmakers in the New York State Senate exercised common sense and acted according to the will of their constituents by voting against Senate Bill 6005.

S6005 would require all semi-automatic handguns delivered to any licensed firearms dealer in New York to mechanically stamp certain information about the firearm (such as the make, model and serial number) onto the cartridge case when the gun is discharged. This bill does not exempt models currently available, making all of these guns illegal for sale in New York unless they are redesigned by their manufacturers, which would vastly increase the cost of these firearms.

Micro-stamping is an unproven technology that is easily defeated with common household tools and the replacement of a few small parts.  If passed, the availability of semi-automatic handguns in New York will be in serious doubt, as manufacturers simply may choose not to build or sell firearms for purchase in the state. Of course, that is the ultimate goal of this legislation.  Make no mistake, this is a gun ban and it must be stopped.

Proponents of S6005 are working to switch some votes and bring the bill back to the Senate floor for another chance at final passage and because the 2010 Legislative Session is set to end on Monday, June 28, a vote could happen at any time.

We urge NRA members to contact the following Senators and thank them for their careful consideration of this issue and to urge their continued opposition to S6005:

Name

District

Party

Phone

Email

State Senator Kenneth LaValle

1

R

518-455-3121

lavalle@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator John Flanagan

2

R

518-455-2071

flanagan@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Owen Johnson

4

R

518-455-3411

ojohnson@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Carl Marcellino

5

R

518-455-2390

marcelli@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Kemp Hannon

6

R

518-455-2200

hannon@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Charles Fuschillo, Jr.

8

R

518-455-3341

fuschill@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Dean Skelos

9

R

518-455-3171

skelos@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Martin Golden

22

R

518-455-2730

golden@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Andrew Lanza

24

R

518-455-3215

lanza@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator William Larkin

39

R

518-455-2770

larkin@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Vincent Leibell

40

R

518-455-3111

leibell@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Stephen Saland

41

R

518-455-2411

saland@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator John Bonacic

42

R

518-455-3181

bonacic@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Roy McDonald

43

R

518-455-2381

mcdonald@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Hugh Farley

44

R

518-455-2181

farley@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Elizabeth Little

45

R

518-455-2811

little@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Joseph Griffo

47

R

518-455-3334

griffo@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Darrel Aubertine

48

D

518-455-2761

aubertin@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator David Valesky

49

D

518-455-2838

valesky@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator John DeFrancisco

50

R

518-455-3511

jdefranc@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator James Seward

51

R

518-455-3131

seward@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Thomas Libous

52

R

518-455-2677

senator@senatorlibous.com

State Senator George Winner, Jr.

53

R

518-455-2091

winner@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Michael Nozzolio

54

R

518-455-2366

nozzolio@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator James Alesi

55

R

518-455-2015

alesi@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Joseph Robach

56

R

518-455-2909

robach@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Catharine Young

57

R

518-455-3563

cyoung@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator William Stachowski

58

D

518-455-2426

stachows@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Dale Volker

59

R

518-455-3471

volker@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Michael Ranzenhofer

61

R

518-455-3161

ranz@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator George Maziarz

62

R

518-455-2024

maziarz@senate.state.ny.us



TRENDING NOW
Seattle Gun Tax Fails to Generate Projected Revenue, Succeeds in Burdening Rights

News  

Gun Laws  

Friday, March 24, 2017

Seattle Gun Tax Fails to Generate Projected Revenue, Succeeds in Burdening Rights

On March 16, 2017, the Seattle Times reported that Seattle city officials were reluctant to release data on the revenue generated by the city’s firearms and ammunition tax, citing taxpayer confidentiality concerns. Less than a ...

Wisconsin: Important Right to Carry Bill Introduced

Tuesday, March 28, 2017

Wisconsin: Important Right to Carry Bill Introduced

Today, LRB 2039/1 was introduced to the Wisconsin State Legislature.  This Right to Carry bill would allow for the concealed carry of a firearm without a concealed carry license anywhere in the state where an ...

Trump’s Supreme Court Nominee Embraces Heller and Originalism During Senate Hearings

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, March 24, 2017

Trump’s Supreme Court Nominee Embraces Heller and Originalism During Senate Hearings

Judge Neil M. Gorsuch, President Trump’s pick to replace the late Justice Antonin Scalia on the U.S. Supreme court, asserted during his confirmation hearings this week that Scalia’s landmark Second Amendment opinion in District of ...

The Washington Post Gives Gun Control Group and U.S. Senator Three Pinocchios on Suppressors

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, March 24, 2017

The Washington Post Gives Gun Control Group and U.S. Senator Three Pinocchios on Suppressors

Last week, we wrote about Americans for Responsible Solutions’ irresponsible misinformation about The Hearing Protection Act on Twitter.  Apparently, we weren’t the only ones who took notice of ARS’s complete disregard for the facts on ...

Virginia Action Needed: Governor McAuliffe Vetoes Self-Defense Bills

Monday, March 27, 2017

Virginia Action Needed: Governor McAuliffe Vetoes Self-Defense Bills

Following their passage in the Virginia General Assembly, Governor Terry McAuliffe vetoed multiple self-defense bills; Senate Bill 1299, Senate Bill 1300, House Bill 1852, and House Bill 1853. 

News  

Monday, March 27, 2017

NRA Applauds Texas State Senate for Passing SB 16

The National Rifle Association Institute for Legislative Action applauds the Texas Senate today for passing Senate Bill 16, legislation that substantially reduces License To Carry fees in the Lone Star state.

Texas: Senate Passes SB 16, LTC Fee Reduction Bill, by Overwhelming Vote

Tuesday, March 28, 2017

Texas: Senate Passes SB 16, LTC Fee Reduction Bill, by Overwhelming Vote

On Monday, the Texas Senate voted to pass Senate Bill 16, NRA-backed legislation sponsored by State Sen. Robert Nichols (R-Jacksonville) and Joan Huffman (R-Houston), on a 26-5 vote.

California: One Gun a Month Bill Pulled from Senate Public Safety Hearing

Tuesday, March 28, 2017

California: One Gun a Month Bill Pulled from Senate Public Safety Hearing

Today, Tuesday, March 28, anti-gun SB 497, was scheduled to be heard in the Senate Public Safety Committee.  At the last minute, the bill was pulled from today's agenda. Thank you to all who contacted the ...

California: Anti-Gun Bill Limiting Firearm Purchases to be Heard in Senate Public Safety on Tuesday, March 28

Friday, March 24, 2017

California: Anti-Gun Bill Limiting Firearm Purchases to be Heard in Senate Public Safety on Tuesday, March 28

On Tuesday, March 28, anti-gun SB 497, is scheduled to be heard in the Senate Public Safety Committee.  SB 497 would expand the existing one handgun a month law to include ALL guns.  

More Firearms, More Firearms Owners, Fewer Fatal Accidents

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, March 24, 2017

More Firearms, More Firearms Owners, Fewer Fatal Accidents

The National Safety Council released the 2017 edition of its annual Injury Facts report this week, and it contains welcome news about firearm safety. 

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.