Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

New York: Pro-Gun Voices Must Make Their Opposition to Micro-Stamping Heard!

Tuesday, June 22, 2010

Please Continue to Make Your Voices Heard!

Last week, many lawmakers in the New York State Senate exercised common sense and acted according to the will of their constituents by voting against Senate Bill 6005.

S6005 would require all semi-automatic handguns delivered to any licensed firearms dealer in New York to mechanically stamp certain information about the firearm (such as the make, model and serial number) onto the cartridge case when the gun is discharged. This bill does not exempt models currently available, making all of these guns illegal for sale in New York unless they are redesigned by their manufacturers, which would vastly increase the cost of these firearms.

Micro-stamping is an unproven technology that is easily defeated with common household tools and the replacement of a few small parts.  If passed, the availability of semi-automatic handguns in New York will be in serious doubt, as manufacturers simply may choose not to build or sell firearms for purchase in the state. Of course, that is the ultimate goal of this legislation.  Make no mistake, this is a gun ban and it must be stopped.

Proponents of S6005 are working to switch some votes and bring the bill back to the Senate floor for another chance at final passage and because the 2010 Legislative Session is set to end on Monday, June 28, a vote could happen at any time.

We urge NRA members to contact the following Senators and thank them for their careful consideration of this issue and to urge their continued opposition to S6005:

Name

District

Party

Phone

Email

State Senator Kenneth LaValle

1

R

518-455-3121

lavalle@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator John Flanagan

2

R

518-455-2071

flanagan@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Owen Johnson

4

R

518-455-3411

ojohnson@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Carl Marcellino

5

R

518-455-2390

marcelli@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Kemp Hannon

6

R

518-455-2200

hannon@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Charles Fuschillo, Jr.

8

R

518-455-3341

fuschill@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Dean Skelos

9

R

518-455-3171

skelos@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Martin Golden

22

R

518-455-2730

golden@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Andrew Lanza

24

R

518-455-3215

lanza@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator William Larkin

39

R

518-455-2770

larkin@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Vincent Leibell

40

R

518-455-3111

leibell@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Stephen Saland

41

R

518-455-2411

saland@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator John Bonacic

42

R

518-455-3181

bonacic@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Roy McDonald

43

R

518-455-2381

mcdonald@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Hugh Farley

44

R

518-455-2181

farley@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Elizabeth Little

45

R

518-455-2811

little@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Joseph Griffo

47

R

518-455-3334

griffo@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Darrel Aubertine

48

D

518-455-2761

aubertin@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator David Valesky

49

D

518-455-2838

valesky@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator John DeFrancisco

50

R

518-455-3511

jdefranc@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator James Seward

51

R

518-455-3131

seward@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Thomas Libous

52

R

518-455-2677

senator@senatorlibous.com

State Senator George Winner, Jr.

53

R

518-455-2091

winner@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Michael Nozzolio

54

R

518-455-2366

nozzolio@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator James Alesi

55

R

518-455-2015

alesi@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Joseph Robach

56

R

518-455-2909

robach@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Catharine Young

57

R

518-455-3563

cyoung@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator William Stachowski

58

D

518-455-2426

stachows@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Dale Volker

59

R

518-455-3471

volker@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Michael Ranzenhofer

61

R

518-455-3161

ranz@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator George Maziarz

62

R

518-455-2024

maziarz@senate.state.ny.us



TRENDING NOW
Levi’s Teams with Billionaire Michael Bloomberg to Attack Gun Rights

News  

Friday, September 7, 2018

Levi’s Teams with Billionaire Michael Bloomberg to Attack Gun Rights

Levi Strauss & Co. established its brand in the mid-19th century by selling durable clothing to working-class Americans. As Levi’s signature jeans gained popularity amongst a wider set in the middle of the last century, ...

Who’s BS’ing Now? Gonzalez Argues for Gun Confiscation but Insists She’s “Pro Second Amendment”

News  

Friday, October 12, 2018

Who’s BS’ing Now? Gonzalez Argues for Gun Confiscation but Insists She’s “Pro Second Amendment”

Gun control advocates are constantly looking for the right messenger to push an agenda that boils down to law-abiding Americans giving up their freedoms, their security, and their property without expectation of affecting the behavior ...

Jamie Lee Curtis “Proves” She is Not Anti-gun by Stating her Support for Banning Guns?!?!

News  

Friday, October 12, 2018

Jamie Lee Curtis “Proves” She is Not Anti-gun by Stating her Support for Banning Guns?!?!

Actors and actresses should generally stick to what they know best; repeating the lines others have written for them. Jamie Lee Curtis recently decided to try to explain, in her own words, how much she ...

Round Two: Gun Rights Groups Prevail (Again) in Second Challenge to Firearm Restrictions in Delaware’s State Parks, Forests

News  

Gun Laws  

Friday, October 12, 2018

Round Two: Gun Rights Groups Prevail (Again) in Second Challenge to Firearm Restrictions in Delaware’s State Parks, Forests

Gun rights groups, including the NRA’s Delaware affiliate, the Delaware State Sportsmen’s Association, scored an encore legal victory this week when the Superior Court of the State of Delaware invalidated parts of newly promulgated regulations ...

Senator from Tennessee or Times Square? Bloomberg Hosts Manhattan Fundraiser for Phil Bredesen

News  

Thursday, October 11, 2018

Senator from Tennessee or Times Square? Bloomberg Hosts Manhattan Fundraiser for Phil Bredesen

Is Phil Bredesen running for U.S. Senate to represent Memphis or Manhattan? Rocky Top or Rockefeller Center? Appalachia or the Big Apple? Tennessee voters might wonder after billionaire gun control financier and former-New York City ...

Politics over Data: The Rhode Island Working Group

News  

Friday, October 12, 2018

Politics over Data: The Rhode Island Working Group

Rhode Island Governor Gina Raimondo convened a task force focused on “gun safety” last April, comprised predominantly of members drawn from “the judiciary, the Attorney General’s Office, state and local law enforcement agencies, gun violence prevention ...

Bloomberg Finds Home in Today’s Democratic Party

News  

Friday, October 12, 2018

Bloomberg Finds Home in Today’s Democratic Party

In what observers have pegged as a preparatory step for a presidential run in 2020, on October 10 billionaire gun control financier and former-New York City Mayor Michael Bloomberg registered as a Democrat. Bloomberg ran as ...

Anti-gun Researcher Refutes His Own Anti-gun Conclusion

News  

Friday, October 5, 2018

Anti-gun Researcher Refutes His Own Anti-gun Conclusion

Doctor Garen Wintemute’s latest contribution to “the prevention of firearm violence” comes in the form of a Perspective column published in the New England Journal of Medicine. Wintemute, you may recall, is the Director of ...

Don’t Let Your State’s Governor Mansion Become a Gun-Free Home

News  

Wednesday, October 10, 2018

Don’t Let Your State’s Governor Mansion Become a Gun-Free Home

While Congressional elections will likely get the lion’s share of media coverage leading up to November 6, gun owners know that threats to our Right to Keep and Bear Arms do not only emanate from ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.