Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Nebraska Legislature to Consider Gun Control Bill!

Wednesday, January 30, 2008

Please Contact Your State Senator Today!

Any day, the Judiciary Committee of the Nebraska Legislature will consider legislation that will, if passed, have disastrous effects on our Second Amendment rights in Nebraska. 

Among other things, LB 958, introduced by State Senator Brad Ashford (District 20), would victimize Nebraska’s law-abiding gun-owners a second time by requiring them to report to police the loss or theft of a firearm within 48 hours of the discovery of the loss or face criminal prosecution.  This bill would also mandate that every firearm sold to be accompanied with a gun lock or trigger lock and require retailers to post a sign and provide written notice to buyers that all firearms should be stored locked.  LB958 would also create a “Gun Violence Commission,” to investigate “gun violence and gun-related deaths in Nebraska” as well as any “factors that contribute to gun violence.”

Please contact your State Senator today and respectfully urge him or her to protect Nebraskans’ Right to Keep and Bear Arms by opposing LB958.

State Senator Greg Adams (District 24)
(402) 471-2756
gadams@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Ray Aguilar (District 35)
(402) 471-2617
raguilar@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Brad Ashford (District 20)
(402) 471-2622
bashford@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Bill Avery (District 28)
(402) 471-2633
bavery@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Carroll Burling (District 33)
(402) 471-2712
cburling@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Tom Carlson (District 38)
(402) 471-2732
tcarlson@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Ernie Chambers (District 11)
(402) 471-2612

State Senator Mark Christensen (District 44)
(402) 471-2805
mchristensen@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Abbie Cornett (District 45)
(402) 471-2615
acornett@leg.ne.gov

State Senator M. L. Dierks (District 40)
(402) 471-2801
mdierks@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Annette Dubas (District 34)
(402) 471-2630
adubas@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Patrick Engel (District 17)
(402) 471-2716
lengel@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Philip Erdman (District 47)
(402) 471-2616
perdman@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Deb Fischer (District 43)
(402) 471-2628
dfischer@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Mike Flood (District 19)
(402) 471-2929
mflood@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Mike Friend (District 10)
(402) 471-2718
mfriend@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Tony Fulton (District 29)
(402) 471-2734
tfulton@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Tim Gay (District 14)
(402) 471-2730
tgay@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Tom Hansen (District 42)
(402) 471-2729
thansen@leg.ne.gov

State Senator John Harms (District 48)
(402) 471-2802
jharms@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Lavon Heidemann (District 1)
(402) 471-2733
lheidemann@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Gwen Howard (District 9)
(402) 471-2723
ghoward@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Carol Hudkins (District 21)
(402) 471-2673
chudkins@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Ray Janssen (District 15)
(402) 471-2625
rjanssen@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Joel Johnson (District 37)
(402) 471-2726
jjohnson@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Russ Karpisek (District 32)
(402) 471-2711
rkarpisek@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Gail Kopplin (District 3)
(402) 471-2627
gkopplin@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Lowen Kruse (District 13)
(402) 471-2727
lkruse@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Chris Langemeier (District 23)
(402) 471-2719
clangemeier@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Steve Lathrop (District 12)
(402) 471-2623
slathrop@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Scott Lautenbaugh (District 18)
(402) 471-2618
slautenbaugh@leg.ne.gov

State Senator LeRoy Louden (District 49)
(402) 471-2725
llouden@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Vickie McDonald (District 41)
(402) 471-2631
vmcdonald@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Amanda McGill (District 26)
(402) 471-2610
amcgill@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Danielle Nantkes (District 46)
(402) 471-2720
dnantkes@leg.ne.gov

State Senator John Nelson (District 6)
(402) 471-2714
jnelson@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Rich Pahls (District 31)
(402) 471-2327
rpahls@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Dave Pankonin (District 2)
(402) 471-2613
dpankonin@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Dwite Pedersen (District 39)
(402) 471-2885
dpedersen@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Pete Pirsch (District 4)
(402) 471-2621
ppirsch@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Don Preister (District 5)
(402) 471-2710
dpreister@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Ron Raikes (District 25)
(402) 471-2731
rraikes@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Kent Rogert (District 16)
(402) 471-2728
krogert@leg.ne.gov

State Senator DiAnna Schimek (District 27)
(402) 471-2632
dschimek@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Arnie Stuthman (District 22)
(402) 471-2715
astuthman@leg.ne.gov

State Senator John Synowiecki (District 7)
(402) 471-2721
jsynowiecki@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Norm Wallman (District 30)
(402) 471-2620
nwallman@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Tom White (District 8)
(402) 471-2722
twhite@leg.ne.gov

State Senator John Wightman (District 36)
(402) 471-2642
jwightman@leg.ne.gov

TRENDING NOW
Obama Says Goodbye to America’s Gun Owners with (a Likely Short-lived) Lead Ammo Ban

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

Obama Says Goodbye to America’s Gun Owners with (a Likely Short-lived) Lead Ammo Ban

Gun owners knew that Barack Obama would not leave quietly. The only question was what else was coming.  

New Hampshire: Constitutional/Permitless Carry Bill Passes Senate!

Thursday, January 19, 2017

New Hampshire: Constitutional/Permitless Carry Bill Passes Senate!

Today, Senate Bill 12, legislation eliminating the requirement to obtain a permit in order to lawfully carry, passed the Senate without amendment, by a 13-10 vote.  SB 12 will now go to the House of ...

Federal Appeals Court: Chicago Violates Second Amendment … Again

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

Federal Appeals Court: Chicago Violates Second Amendment … Again

On Wednesday, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit found that Chicago had once again violated the Second Amendment, this time with its regulations for gun ranges.

Gun Owners Welcome Donald J. Trump as President of the United States

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

Gun Owners Welcome Donald J. Trump as President of the United States

Gun owners across the nation breathed a sigh of relief as Donald J. Trump was sworn in Friday morning as the 45th president of the United States.

Your Members of Congress Need to Hear from You on the Hearing Protection Act of 2017

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Your Members of Congress Need to Hear from You on the Hearing Protection Act of 2017

On Monday, Sen. Mike Crapo (R-ID) – joined by co-sponsors Sens. Jerry Moran (R-KS) and Rand Paul (R-KY) – introduced S. 59, the Hearing Protection Act of 2017 (HPA). Similar legislation was introduced in the ...

Alert: WA State Proposes Draconian Gun Ban Bills

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Alert: WA State Proposes Draconian Gun Ban Bills

Inspired, perhaps, by Oscar Wilde (“Moderation is a fatal thing. Nothing succeeds like excess”), Washington State Attorney General Bob Ferguson has announced two new sweeping gun control bills, with Sen. David Frockt (D-Seattle) and Rep. ...

New York Times Relies on Gun Prohibitionist Propaganda, Stigmatizes Suicide

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

New York Times Relies on Gun Prohibitionist Propaganda, Stigmatizes Suicide

In a December 5, 2015, front page editorial, the New York Times finally admitted what discerning readers had long understood – that the paper advocates the prohibition and confiscation of certain types of now-lawfully possessed firearms. ...

National Concealed Carry Reciprocity Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

National Concealed Carry Reciprocity Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them

On January 3rd, Congressman Richard Hudson (R-N.C.8th) introduced H.R. 38, the Concealed Carry Reciprocity Act of 2017, which simply allows lawful firearm carriers from any state to carry a concealed firearm in any other state. The bill ...

Thursday, January 19, 2017

Florida Urgent Alert! Self-defense Bill up in Senate Judiciary on Tuesday 1/24/2017

A critical self-defense bill will be heard by the Senate Judiciary Committee on Tuesday, January 24, 2017, between 2:00-4:00pm.  SB-128 Burden of Proof by Senator Rob Bradley restores the presumption of innocence in self-defense cases ...

Web Scraping: A Means to Push the Anti-Gun Agenda

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

Web Scraping: A Means to Push the Anti-Gun Agenda

You may have read recently about a “breaking analysis” that includes numbers derived from a “mass shooting tracker,” which purports to present to the world, real world cases in which mass shootings have occurred.  One ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.