Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Nebraska Legislature to Consider Gun Control Bill!

Wednesday, January 30, 2008

Please Contact Your State Senator Today!

Any day, the Judiciary Committee of the Nebraska Legislature will consider legislation that will, if passed, have disastrous effects on our Second Amendment rights in Nebraska. 

Among other things, LB 958, introduced by State Senator Brad Ashford (District 20), would victimize Nebraska’s law-abiding gun-owners a second time by requiring them to report to police the loss or theft of a firearm within 48 hours of the discovery of the loss or face criminal prosecution.  This bill would also mandate that every firearm sold to be accompanied with a gun lock or trigger lock and require retailers to post a sign and provide written notice to buyers that all firearms should be stored locked.  LB958 would also create a “Gun Violence Commission,” to investigate “gun violence and gun-related deaths in Nebraska” as well as any “factors that contribute to gun violence.”

Please contact your State Senator today and respectfully urge him or her to protect Nebraskans’ Right to Keep and Bear Arms by opposing LB958.

State Senator Greg Adams (District 24)
(402) 471-2756
gadams@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Ray Aguilar (District 35)
(402) 471-2617
raguilar@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Brad Ashford (District 20)
(402) 471-2622
bashford@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Bill Avery (District 28)
(402) 471-2633
bavery@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Carroll Burling (District 33)
(402) 471-2712
cburling@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Tom Carlson (District 38)
(402) 471-2732
tcarlson@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Ernie Chambers (District 11)
(402) 471-2612

State Senator Mark Christensen (District 44)
(402) 471-2805
mchristensen@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Abbie Cornett (District 45)
(402) 471-2615
acornett@leg.ne.gov

State Senator M. L. Dierks (District 40)
(402) 471-2801
mdierks@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Annette Dubas (District 34)
(402) 471-2630
adubas@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Patrick Engel (District 17)
(402) 471-2716
lengel@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Philip Erdman (District 47)
(402) 471-2616
perdman@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Deb Fischer (District 43)
(402) 471-2628
dfischer@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Mike Flood (District 19)
(402) 471-2929
mflood@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Mike Friend (District 10)
(402) 471-2718
mfriend@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Tony Fulton (District 29)
(402) 471-2734
tfulton@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Tim Gay (District 14)
(402) 471-2730
tgay@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Tom Hansen (District 42)
(402) 471-2729
thansen@leg.ne.gov

State Senator John Harms (District 48)
(402) 471-2802
jharms@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Lavon Heidemann (District 1)
(402) 471-2733
lheidemann@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Gwen Howard (District 9)
(402) 471-2723
ghoward@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Carol Hudkins (District 21)
(402) 471-2673
chudkins@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Ray Janssen (District 15)
(402) 471-2625
rjanssen@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Joel Johnson (District 37)
(402) 471-2726
jjohnson@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Russ Karpisek (District 32)
(402) 471-2711
rkarpisek@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Gail Kopplin (District 3)
(402) 471-2627
gkopplin@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Lowen Kruse (District 13)
(402) 471-2727
lkruse@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Chris Langemeier (District 23)
(402) 471-2719
clangemeier@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Steve Lathrop (District 12)
(402) 471-2623
slathrop@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Scott Lautenbaugh (District 18)
(402) 471-2618
slautenbaugh@leg.ne.gov

State Senator LeRoy Louden (District 49)
(402) 471-2725
llouden@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Vickie McDonald (District 41)
(402) 471-2631
vmcdonald@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Amanda McGill (District 26)
(402) 471-2610
amcgill@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Danielle Nantkes (District 46)
(402) 471-2720
dnantkes@leg.ne.gov

State Senator John Nelson (District 6)
(402) 471-2714
jnelson@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Rich Pahls (District 31)
(402) 471-2327
rpahls@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Dave Pankonin (District 2)
(402) 471-2613
dpankonin@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Dwite Pedersen (District 39)
(402) 471-2885
dpedersen@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Pete Pirsch (District 4)
(402) 471-2621
ppirsch@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Don Preister (District 5)
(402) 471-2710
dpreister@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Ron Raikes (District 25)
(402) 471-2731
rraikes@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Kent Rogert (District 16)
(402) 471-2728
krogert@leg.ne.gov

State Senator DiAnna Schimek (District 27)
(402) 471-2632
dschimek@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Arnie Stuthman (District 22)
(402) 471-2715
astuthman@leg.ne.gov

State Senator John Synowiecki (District 7)
(402) 471-2721
jsynowiecki@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Norm Wallman (District 30)
(402) 471-2620
nwallman@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Tom White (District 8)
(402) 471-2722
twhite@leg.ne.gov

State Senator John Wightman (District 36)
(402) 471-2642
jwightman@leg.ne.gov

TRENDING NOW
Seattle Gun Tax Fails to Generate Projected Revenue, Succeeds in Burdening Rights

News  

Gun Laws  

Friday, March 24, 2017

Seattle Gun Tax Fails to Generate Projected Revenue, Succeeds in Burdening Rights

On March 16, 2017, the Seattle Times reported that Seattle city officials were reluctant to release data on the revenue generated by the city’s firearms and ammunition tax, citing taxpayer confidentiality concerns. Less than a ...

Wisconsin: Important Right to Carry Bill Introduced

Tuesday, March 28, 2017

Wisconsin: Important Right to Carry Bill Introduced

Today, LRB 2039/1 was introduced to the Wisconsin State Legislature.  This Right to Carry bill would allow for the concealed carry of a firearm without a concealed carry license anywhere in the state where an ...

Trump’s Supreme Court Nominee Embraces Heller and Originalism During Senate Hearings

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, March 24, 2017

Trump’s Supreme Court Nominee Embraces Heller and Originalism During Senate Hearings

Judge Neil M. Gorsuch, President Trump’s pick to replace the late Justice Antonin Scalia on the U.S. Supreme court, asserted during his confirmation hearings this week that Scalia’s landmark Second Amendment opinion in District of ...

The Washington Post Gives Gun Control Group and U.S. Senator Three Pinocchios on Suppressors

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, March 24, 2017

The Washington Post Gives Gun Control Group and U.S. Senator Three Pinocchios on Suppressors

Last week, we wrote about Americans for Responsible Solutions’ irresponsible misinformation about The Hearing Protection Act on Twitter.  Apparently, we weren’t the only ones who took notice of ARS’s complete disregard for the facts on ...

Virginia Action Needed: Governor McAuliffe Vetoes Self-Defense Bills

Monday, March 27, 2017

Virginia Action Needed: Governor McAuliffe Vetoes Self-Defense Bills

Following their passage in the Virginia General Assembly, Governor Terry McAuliffe vetoed multiple self-defense bills; Senate Bill 1299, Senate Bill 1300, House Bill 1852, and House Bill 1853. 

News  

Monday, March 27, 2017

NRA Applauds Texas State Senate for Passing SB 16

The National Rifle Association Institute for Legislative Action applauds the Texas Senate today for passing Senate Bill 16, legislation that substantially reduces License To Carry fees in the Lone Star state.

California: One Gun a Month Bill Pulled from Senate Public Safety Hearing

Tuesday, March 28, 2017

California: One Gun a Month Bill Pulled from Senate Public Safety Hearing

Today, Tuesday, March 28, anti-gun SB 497, was scheduled to be heard in the Senate Public Safety Committee.  At the last minute, the bill was pulled from today's agenda. Thank you to all who contacted the ...

Texas: Senate Passes SB 16, LTC Fee Reduction Bill, by Overwhelming Vote

Tuesday, March 28, 2017

Texas: Senate Passes SB 16, LTC Fee Reduction Bill, by Overwhelming Vote

On Monday, the Texas Senate voted to pass Senate Bill 16, NRA-backed legislation sponsored by State Sen. Robert Nichols (R-Jacksonville) and Joan Huffman (R-Houston), on a 26-5 vote.

California: Anti-Gun Bill Limiting Firearm Purchases to be Heard in Senate Public Safety on Tuesday, March 28

Friday, March 24, 2017

California: Anti-Gun Bill Limiting Firearm Purchases to be Heard in Senate Public Safety on Tuesday, March 28

On Tuesday, March 28, anti-gun SB 497, is scheduled to be heard in the Senate Public Safety Committee.  SB 497 would expand the existing one handgun a month law to include ALL guns.  

More Firearms, More Firearms Owners, Fewer Fatal Accidents

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, March 24, 2017

More Firearms, More Firearms Owners, Fewer Fatal Accidents

The National Safety Council released the 2017 edition of its annual Injury Facts report this week, and it contains welcome news about firearm safety. 

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.