Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Nebraska Legislature to Consider Gun Control Bill!

Wednesday, January 30, 2008

Please Contact Your State Senator Today!

Any day, the Judiciary Committee of the Nebraska Legislature will consider legislation that will, if passed, have disastrous effects on our Second Amendment rights in Nebraska. 

Among other things, LB 958, introduced by State Senator Brad Ashford (District 20), would victimize Nebraska’s law-abiding gun-owners a second time by requiring them to report to police the loss or theft of a firearm within 48 hours of the discovery of the loss or face criminal prosecution.  This bill would also mandate that every firearm sold to be accompanied with a gun lock or trigger lock and require retailers to post a sign and provide written notice to buyers that all firearms should be stored locked.  LB958 would also create a “Gun Violence Commission,” to investigate “gun violence and gun-related deaths in Nebraska” as well as any “factors that contribute to gun violence.”

Please contact your State Senator today and respectfully urge him or her to protect Nebraskans’ Right to Keep and Bear Arms by opposing LB958.

State Senator Greg Adams (District 24)
(402) 471-2756
gadams@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Ray Aguilar (District 35)
(402) 471-2617
raguilar@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Brad Ashford (District 20)
(402) 471-2622
bashford@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Bill Avery (District 28)
(402) 471-2633
bavery@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Carroll Burling (District 33)
(402) 471-2712
cburling@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Tom Carlson (District 38)
(402) 471-2732
tcarlson@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Ernie Chambers (District 11)
(402) 471-2612

State Senator Mark Christensen (District 44)
(402) 471-2805
mchristensen@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Abbie Cornett (District 45)
(402) 471-2615
acornett@leg.ne.gov

State Senator M. L. Dierks (District 40)
(402) 471-2801
mdierks@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Annette Dubas (District 34)
(402) 471-2630
adubas@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Patrick Engel (District 17)
(402) 471-2716
lengel@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Philip Erdman (District 47)
(402) 471-2616
perdman@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Deb Fischer (District 43)
(402) 471-2628
dfischer@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Mike Flood (District 19)
(402) 471-2929
mflood@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Mike Friend (District 10)
(402) 471-2718
mfriend@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Tony Fulton (District 29)
(402) 471-2734
tfulton@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Tim Gay (District 14)
(402) 471-2730
tgay@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Tom Hansen (District 42)
(402) 471-2729
thansen@leg.ne.gov

State Senator John Harms (District 48)
(402) 471-2802
jharms@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Lavon Heidemann (District 1)
(402) 471-2733
lheidemann@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Gwen Howard (District 9)
(402) 471-2723
ghoward@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Carol Hudkins (District 21)
(402) 471-2673
chudkins@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Ray Janssen (District 15)
(402) 471-2625
rjanssen@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Joel Johnson (District 37)
(402) 471-2726
jjohnson@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Russ Karpisek (District 32)
(402) 471-2711
rkarpisek@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Gail Kopplin (District 3)
(402) 471-2627
gkopplin@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Lowen Kruse (District 13)
(402) 471-2727
lkruse@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Chris Langemeier (District 23)
(402) 471-2719
clangemeier@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Steve Lathrop (District 12)
(402) 471-2623
slathrop@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Scott Lautenbaugh (District 18)
(402) 471-2618
slautenbaugh@leg.ne.gov

State Senator LeRoy Louden (District 49)
(402) 471-2725
llouden@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Vickie McDonald (District 41)
(402) 471-2631
vmcdonald@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Amanda McGill (District 26)
(402) 471-2610
amcgill@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Danielle Nantkes (District 46)
(402) 471-2720
dnantkes@leg.ne.gov

State Senator John Nelson (District 6)
(402) 471-2714
jnelson@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Rich Pahls (District 31)
(402) 471-2327
rpahls@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Dave Pankonin (District 2)
(402) 471-2613
dpankonin@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Dwite Pedersen (District 39)
(402) 471-2885
dpedersen@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Pete Pirsch (District 4)
(402) 471-2621
ppirsch@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Don Preister (District 5)
(402) 471-2710
dpreister@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Ron Raikes (District 25)
(402) 471-2731
rraikes@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Kent Rogert (District 16)
(402) 471-2728
krogert@leg.ne.gov

State Senator DiAnna Schimek (District 27)
(402) 471-2632
dschimek@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Arnie Stuthman (District 22)
(402) 471-2715
astuthman@leg.ne.gov

State Senator John Synowiecki (District 7)
(402) 471-2721
jsynowiecki@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Norm Wallman (District 30)
(402) 471-2620
nwallman@leg.ne.gov

State Senator Tom White (District 8)
(402) 471-2722
twhite@leg.ne.gov

State Senator John Wightman (District 36)
(402) 471-2642
jwightman@leg.ne.gov

TRENDING NOW
Washington: Substitute Version of Gun Control Bill Passes House Committee

Friday, January 19, 2018

Washington: Substitute Version of Gun Control Bill Passes House Committee

Yesterday, the House Judiciary Committee passed Substitute House Bill 1122 out of committee on a 7-6 vote.  This bill, which would require gun owners to lock up their firearms or potentially face criminal charges, will ...

Crossing the Line – Firearm Preemption Protection Under Attack

News  

Friday, January 19, 2018

Crossing the Line – Firearm Preemption Protection Under Attack

Gun control groups are fond of describing preemption as a doctrine whereby a state has stripped local governments of their power to regulate guns.

Australia: Queensland’s Labor Party Government Targets MP for Gun Control Heresy

News  

Friday, January 19, 2018

Australia: Queensland’s Labor Party Government Targets MP for Gun Control Heresy

The sorry state of gun politics in Australia was put into stark relief recently, after Liberal National Party (LNP) Queensland Legislative Assembly MP Anthony Perrett took a principled stand in favor of his constituents’ gun rights.

Washington: Trigger Modification Ban Passes Committee

Tuesday, January 16, 2018

Washington: Trigger Modification Ban Passes Committee

Earlier today, the Washington state Senate Law & Justice Committee passed Senate Bill 5992 out of committee with a 4-3 vote. As drafted, this legislation has overreaching language that would ban modifications commonly made to ...

Arizona: Signature Gathering Underway For Hunting Ban Initiative

Hunting  

Friday, January 19, 2018

Arizona: Signature Gathering Underway For Hunting Ban Initiative

The Humane Society of the United States (HSUS) and their front-group “Arizonans for Wildlife” are currently gathering signatures for a ballot initiative that would ban the hunting and trapping of mountain lions and bobcats in ...

New Jersey:  2018 Brings Bigger Challenges for New Jersey Gun Owners

Friday, January 19, 2018

New Jersey: 2018 Brings Bigger Challenges for New Jersey Gun Owners

A new Governor took the reins from Gov. Chris Christie this week, and a new Legislature has been sworn into office. 

Indiana: Rifle Hunting Bill Passes Senate

Hunting  

Friday, January 19, 2018

Indiana: Rifle Hunting Bill Passes Senate

On Thursday, January 18th, Senate Bill 20 passed the Indiana state Senate by a vote of 47-2 and will now move to the House.  

Washington: House Judiciary to Hear Gun Control Bills

Thursday, January 18, 2018

Washington: House Judiciary to Hear Gun Control Bills

On Thursday, January 25th at 1:30PM, the House Judiciary Committee is scheduled to hear several sweeping gun control bills.  NRA Members and Second Amendment supporters are strongly encouraged to attend the committee hearing to voice your opposition ...

Hawaii: Trigger Modification Ban Introduced in the Senate

Thursday, January 18, 2018

Hawaii: Trigger Modification Ban Introduced in the Senate

Today, Senator Karl Rhoads (D-13) introduced legislation that would ban modifications commonly made to firearms by law-abiding citizens.  SB 2046 is currently pending a committee referral.  Please contact your Senator today and urge them to OPPOSE this ...

Eighteen States, Law Enforcement, Doctors, and Firearm Rights Groups File Amicus Briefs in Lawsuit Challenging California 10+ Magazine Ban

Tuesday, January 16, 2018

Eighteen States, Law Enforcement, Doctors, and Firearm Rights Groups File Amicus Briefs in Lawsuit Challenging California 10+ Magazine Ban

On Friday, January 12, several amicus briefs were filed in the NRA and CRPA supported lawsuit challenging California’s restrictions against magazines capable of holding more than 10 rounds. The lawsuit, titled Duncan v. Becerra, challenges California’s ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.