Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Connecticut: Anti-Gun Bill to Be Heard in Committee Tomorrow!

Wednesday, May 16, 2007

Please Contact the Public Safety and Security Committee!


Senate Bill 903, introduced by State Senators Martin Looney (D-11) and Toni Harp (D-10), will be heard by the Public Safety and Security Committee tomorrow, Thursday, May 17 at 10:00 A.M. 

 

The proposal would make it a crime to fail to report the loss or theft of a firearm to police within 72 hours of when you "discover or should have discovered" the missing firearms, and would also make it illegal to store your firearm in such a manner that would allow it to be stolen.  Under SB 903, when a law-abiding citizen reports the loss or theft of a firearm to police, it would immediately trigger an investigation into the manner in which the firearm was stored and expose a gun owner to criminal prosecution.  Under the provisions of this bill, the police and prosecutors retain total discretion to determine what constitutes "safe storage."

 

The problems for law-abiding gun owners who run afoul of the storage provision are compounded when multiple firearms are stolen -- as they now could fit the definition of a gun trafficker according to the language in this bill!  

 

It is imperative that you contact the members of the Public Safety and Security Committee TODAY to strongly encourage them to OPPOSE SB 903!

 

Senator Andrea L. Stillman (D-20), Co-Chair

Stillman@senatedems.ct.gov

(800) 842-1420

 

Representative Stephen Dargan (D-115), Co-Chair

Stephen.Dargan@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Representative Tom Reynolds (D-42), Vice Chair

Tom.Reynolds@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Senator Eileen M. Daily (D-33), Vice Chair

Daily@senatedems.ct.gov

(800) 842-1420

 

Senator Anthony Guglielmo (R-35)

Anthony.Guglielmo@cga.ct.gov

(860) 684-4164

 

Representative Raymond Kalinowski (R-100)

Raymond.Kalinowski@housegop.ct.gov

(860) 240-8700

 

Representative Penny Bacchiochi (R-52)

Penny.Bacchiochi@housegop.ct.gov

(860) 240-8700

 

Representative Elizabeth Boukus (D-22)

Betty.Boukus@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Representative Charles D. Clemons (D-124)

Charles.Clemons@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Representative Christopher Caruso (D-126)

Chris.Caruso@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Representative Kevin DelGobbo (R-70)

Kevin.DelGobbo@housegop.ct.gov

(800) 842-1423

 

Representative Louis P. Esposito (D-116)

Lou.Esposito@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8586

 

Representative Ruth C. Fahrbach (R-61)

Ruth.Fahrbach@housegop.ct.gov

860-688-0822

 

Representative Minnie Gonzalez (D-3)

Minnie.Gonzalez@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Representative Leonard Greene (R-105)

Len.Greene@housegop.ct.gov

(800) 842-1423

 

Representative Ernest Hewett (D-39)

Ernest.Hewett@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Representative Karen Jarmoc (D-59)

Karen.Jarmoc@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Representative Shawn Johnston (D-51)

Shawn.Johnston@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Representative Joan Lewis (D-8)

Joan.Lewis@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Representative Steven Mikutel (D-45)

Steve.Mikutel@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Representative Linda Orange (D-48)

Linda.Orange@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Representative Jim Shapiro (D-144)

Jim.Shapiro@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8531

 

Representative Kevin Witkos (R-17)

Kevin.Witkos@housegop.ct.gov

(860) 693-3985



To find further contact information or help identifying your legislators
please use the
"Write Your Representative" feature found at www.NRAILA.org.

TRENDING NOW
Anti-Gun Congresswoman Introduces Magazine Ban, Aims Slippery Slope at the Gun on Your Hip

News  

Friday, October 20, 2017

Anti-Gun Congresswoman Introduces Magazine Ban, Aims Slippery Slope at the Gun on Your Hip

We’ve been down this road before, and we know gun control doesn’t work. 

Everytown and Hollywood Launch New Campaign Against Pro-gun Legislation

News  

Friday, October 20, 2017

Everytown and Hollywood Launch New Campaign Against Pro-gun Legislation

In the wake of the still-unfolding Harvey Weinstein scandal, one might have thought that America would receive a brief reprieve from Hollywood’s ceaseless moralizing. However, on October 18, 2017, Michael Bloomberg’s Everytown for Gun Safety, ...

Anti-Gun Billionaire George Soros Pumps $18 Billion into His Political Apparatus

News  

Friday, October 20, 2017

Anti-Gun Billionaire George Soros Pumps $18 Billion into His Political Apparatus

In recent years, Soros’s anti-gun efforts have been eclipsed by those of another billionaire, former-New York City Mayor Michael Bloomberg. However, the Open Society continues to attack American gun owners.

Oregon: Governor Signs Anti-Gun Bill into Law

Thursday, August 17, 2017

Oregon: Governor Signs Anti-Gun Bill into Law

Yesterday, Governor Kate Brown signed Senate Bill 719A.  Based on a California law enacted in 2014, SB 719A will create a so-called “Extreme Risk Protection Order” (ERPO) that could be obtained by a law enforcement ...

NRA Doesn’t ‘Buy’ Politicians, but Gun Controllers Do

News  

Friday, October 20, 2017

NRA Doesn’t ‘Buy’ Politicians, but Gun Controllers Do

Gun control supporters who peddle the myth about NRA money aren’t only wrong, they are ignoring team gun control’s own sordid history of buying politicians. And forget Michael Bloomberg for the moment, gun control supporters ...

No Sale: Marketing Tricks in Gun Control

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, October 20, 2017

No Sale: Marketing Tricks in Gun Control

Advertising professionals know that switching to a fresh new moniker and a more contemporary or dynamic logo can revitalize a tired or humdrum brand.

Bad News For “Universal” Background Check Supporters

News  

Thursday, October 19, 2017

Bad News For “Universal” Background Check Supporters

NRATV Host Cam Edwards describes a study that shows the ineffectiveness of so-called “universal” background checks

Illinois: Urgent Action Needed – Numerous Anti-Gun Bills Readied for Consideration Next Week

Tuesday, October 17, 2017

Illinois: Urgent Action Needed – Numerous Anti-Gun Bills Readied for Consideration Next Week

Today, multiple gun control bills were released by the House Rules Committee and have been referred to the House Judiciary Committee for a hearing.

California: Governor Brown Signs Remaining Anti-Gun Bill

Sunday, October 15, 2017

California: Governor Brown Signs Remaining Anti-Gun Bill

Yesterday, Governor Brown signed Assembly Bill 424, the remaining anti-gun bill on his desk. 

Gun Banners Unmasked: The Vengeful Face of the Anti-gun Agenda Emerges Once Again

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, October 13, 2017

Gun Banners Unmasked: The Vengeful Face of the Anti-gun Agenda Emerges Once Again

What happens to the 400 million or so firearms already in private hands? How does society actually benefit from his plan? Stephens doesn’t say. He apparently just trusts that things would eventually work themselves out ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.