Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Connecticut: Anti-Gun Bill to Be Heard in Committee Tomorrow!

Wednesday, May 16, 2007

Please Contact the Public Safety and Security Committee!


Senate Bill 903, introduced by State Senators Martin Looney (D-11) and Toni Harp (D-10), will be heard by the Public Safety and Security Committee tomorrow, Thursday, May 17 at 10:00 A.M. 

 

The proposal would make it a crime to fail to report the loss or theft of a firearm to police within 72 hours of when you "discover or should have discovered" the missing firearms, and would also make it illegal to store your firearm in such a manner that would allow it to be stolen.  Under SB 903, when a law-abiding citizen reports the loss or theft of a firearm to police, it would immediately trigger an investigation into the manner in which the firearm was stored and expose a gun owner to criminal prosecution.  Under the provisions of this bill, the police and prosecutors retain total discretion to determine what constitutes "safe storage."

 

The problems for law-abiding gun owners who run afoul of the storage provision are compounded when multiple firearms are stolen -- as they now could fit the definition of a gun trafficker according to the language in this bill!  

 

It is imperative that you contact the members of the Public Safety and Security Committee TODAY to strongly encourage them to OPPOSE SB 903!

 

Senator Andrea L. Stillman (D-20), Co-Chair

Stillman@senatedems.ct.gov

(800) 842-1420

 

Representative Stephen Dargan (D-115), Co-Chair

Stephen.Dargan@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Representative Tom Reynolds (D-42), Vice Chair

Tom.Reynolds@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Senator Eileen M. Daily (D-33), Vice Chair

Daily@senatedems.ct.gov

(800) 842-1420

 

Senator Anthony Guglielmo (R-35)

Anthony.Guglielmo@cga.ct.gov

(860) 684-4164

 

Representative Raymond Kalinowski (R-100)

Raymond.Kalinowski@housegop.ct.gov

(860) 240-8700

 

Representative Penny Bacchiochi (R-52)

Penny.Bacchiochi@housegop.ct.gov

(860) 240-8700

 

Representative Elizabeth Boukus (D-22)

Betty.Boukus@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Representative Charles D. Clemons (D-124)

Charles.Clemons@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Representative Christopher Caruso (D-126)

Chris.Caruso@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Representative Kevin DelGobbo (R-70)

Kevin.DelGobbo@housegop.ct.gov

(800) 842-1423

 

Representative Louis P. Esposito (D-116)

Lou.Esposito@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8586

 

Representative Ruth C. Fahrbach (R-61)

Ruth.Fahrbach@housegop.ct.gov

860-688-0822

 

Representative Minnie Gonzalez (D-3)

Minnie.Gonzalez@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Representative Leonard Greene (R-105)

Len.Greene@housegop.ct.gov

(800) 842-1423

 

Representative Ernest Hewett (D-39)

Ernest.Hewett@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Representative Karen Jarmoc (D-59)

Karen.Jarmoc@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Representative Shawn Johnston (D-51)

Shawn.Johnston@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Representative Joan Lewis (D-8)

Joan.Lewis@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Representative Steven Mikutel (D-45)

Steve.Mikutel@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Representative Linda Orange (D-48)

Linda.Orange@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Representative Jim Shapiro (D-144)

Jim.Shapiro@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8531

 

Representative Kevin Witkos (R-17)

Kevin.Witkos@housegop.ct.gov

(860) 693-3985



To find further contact information or help identifying your legislators
please use the
"Write Your Representative" feature found at www.NRAILA.org.

TRENDING NOW
Virginia: Gun Control Tops New Governor’s Agenda

News  

Friday, January 12, 2018

Virginia: Gun Control Tops New Governor’s Agenda

This week, Virginia Governor McAuliffe and Governor-Elect Ralph Northam outlined their top priorities for the upcoming legislative session, and highlighted expanded background checks for all firearm sales and other transfers (so-called “universal” background checks) as ...

Democrats' Exciting New Hope Adheres to Tired Old Anti-Gun Dogma

News  

Friday, January 12, 2018

Democrats' Exciting New Hope Adheres to Tired Old Anti-Gun Dogma

Democrats searching for a standard-bearer in the 2020 presidential election lit on long-time entertainment, media, and publishing figure Oprah Winfrey this week, following a speech Winfrey gave at a televised Hollywood extravaganza.

Washington: Senate Law & Justice Committee to Hear Anti-Gun Bills Next Monday

Wednesday, January 10, 2018

Washington: Senate Law & Justice Committee to Hear Anti-Gun Bills Next Monday

On Monday, January 15th at 10:00AM, the Senate Law & Justice Committee is scheduled to hear multiple anti-gun bills.  Testimony will be limited during the hearing, so all NRA members and Second Amendment supporters are strongly ...

Washington: Substitute Versions of Gun Control Bills to Be Heard

Saturday, January 13, 2018

Washington: Substitute Versions of Gun Control Bills to Be Heard

Last night, anti-gun legislators introduced substitute bills for Senate Bill 5444 and Senate Bill 5463.  These substituted versions will replace the original bills that are scheduled for a public hearing on Monday, January 15th. NRA remains opposed ...

Indiana: Gun Bills Filed

Saturday, January 13, 2018

Indiana: Gun Bills Filed

With the 2018 Indiana legislative session underway, a number of bills affecting your Second Amendment and hunting rights have been filed.

Washington: Trigger Modification Ban Passes Committee

Tuesday, January 16, 2018

Washington: Trigger Modification Ban Passes Committee

Earlier today, the Washington state Senate Law & Justice Committee passed Senate Bill 5992 out of committee with a 4-3 vote. As drafted, this legislation has overreaching language that would ban modifications commonly made to ...

Washington: Gun Control Bill Scheduled for Vote in House Judiciary

Friday, January 12, 2018

Washington: Gun Control Bill Scheduled for Vote in House Judiciary

Next Thursday, January 18th, House Bill 1122 is scheduled for a vote in the House Judiciary Committee. Introduced by Representative Ruth Kagi (D-34) in 2017, HB 1122 received a public hearing last year and a ...

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

Gun Laws  

Thursday, January 1, 2015

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

CAUTION: Federal and state firearms laws are subject to frequent change. This summary is not to be considered as legal advice or a restatement of law.

Friday, January 12, 2018

Florida Alert: League of Women Voters Off The Rails

On Thursday, January 11, 2018, the League of Women Voters’ lobbyist, Stephanie Owens of Tallahassee, was in the House Judiciary Committee meeting to oppose HB-55 on behalf of the League.        

Unhappy New Year for California Gun Owners

News  

Friday, January 5, 2018

Unhappy New Year for California Gun Owners

While most of America was busy preparing to celebrate the New Year, gun owners in California were scrambling to lawfully purchase ammunition while they still could. Beginning January 1, all ammunition sales were required go ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.