Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Connecticut: Anti-Gun Bill to Be Heard in Committee Tomorrow!

Wednesday, May 16, 2007

Please Contact the Public Safety and Security Committee!


Senate Bill 903, introduced by State Senators Martin Looney (D-11) and Toni Harp (D-10), will be heard by the Public Safety and Security Committee tomorrow, Thursday, May 17 at 10:00 A.M. 

 

The proposal would make it a crime to fail to report the loss or theft of a firearm to police within 72 hours of when you "discover or should have discovered" the missing firearms, and would also make it illegal to store your firearm in such a manner that would allow it to be stolen.  Under SB 903, when a law-abiding citizen reports the loss or theft of a firearm to police, it would immediately trigger an investigation into the manner in which the firearm was stored and expose a gun owner to criminal prosecution.  Under the provisions of this bill, the police and prosecutors retain total discretion to determine what constitutes "safe storage."

 

The problems for law-abiding gun owners who run afoul of the storage provision are compounded when multiple firearms are stolen -- as they now could fit the definition of a gun trafficker according to the language in this bill!  

 

It is imperative that you contact the members of the Public Safety and Security Committee TODAY to strongly encourage them to OPPOSE SB 903!

 

Senator Andrea L. Stillman (D-20), Co-Chair

Stillman@senatedems.ct.gov

(800) 842-1420

 

Representative Stephen Dargan (D-115), Co-Chair

Stephen.Dargan@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Representative Tom Reynolds (D-42), Vice Chair

Tom.Reynolds@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Senator Eileen M. Daily (D-33), Vice Chair

Daily@senatedems.ct.gov

(800) 842-1420

 

Senator Anthony Guglielmo (R-35)

Anthony.Guglielmo@cga.ct.gov

(860) 684-4164

 

Representative Raymond Kalinowski (R-100)

Raymond.Kalinowski@housegop.ct.gov

(860) 240-8700

 

Representative Penny Bacchiochi (R-52)

Penny.Bacchiochi@housegop.ct.gov

(860) 240-8700

 

Representative Elizabeth Boukus (D-22)

Betty.Boukus@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Representative Charles D. Clemons (D-124)

Charles.Clemons@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Representative Christopher Caruso (D-126)

Chris.Caruso@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Representative Kevin DelGobbo (R-70)

Kevin.DelGobbo@housegop.ct.gov

(800) 842-1423

 

Representative Louis P. Esposito (D-116)

Lou.Esposito@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8586

 

Representative Ruth C. Fahrbach (R-61)

Ruth.Fahrbach@housegop.ct.gov

860-688-0822

 

Representative Minnie Gonzalez (D-3)

Minnie.Gonzalez@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Representative Leonard Greene (R-105)

Len.Greene@housegop.ct.gov

(800) 842-1423

 

Representative Ernest Hewett (D-39)

Ernest.Hewett@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Representative Karen Jarmoc (D-59)

Karen.Jarmoc@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Representative Shawn Johnston (D-51)

Shawn.Johnston@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Representative Joan Lewis (D-8)

Joan.Lewis@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Representative Steven Mikutel (D-45)

Steve.Mikutel@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Representative Linda Orange (D-48)

Linda.Orange@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Representative Jim Shapiro (D-144)

Jim.Shapiro@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8531

 

Representative Kevin Witkos (R-17)

Kevin.Witkos@housegop.ct.gov

(860) 693-3985



To find further contact information or help identifying your legislators
please use the
"Write Your Representative" feature found at www.NRAILA.org.

TRENDING NOW
Maryland: Pro-Carry Legislation Pending Final Vote on House Floor

Monday, March 20, 2017

Maryland: Pro-Carry Legislation Pending Final Vote on House Floor

Today, the Maryland House of Delegates passed House Bill 1036 on second reading.

Ohio: Critical Self-Defense Law Takes Effect Today!

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Ohio: Critical Self-Defense Law Takes Effect Today!

Today, March 21, the provisions of the critical self-defense legislation, Sub. Senate Bill 199, go into effect.  Thanks to your active involvement last session, this bill was signed by Governor Kasich last December.  This law ...

Maryland: House Passes Pro-Carry Legislation

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Maryland: House Passes Pro-Carry Legislation

Yesterday, the Maryland House of Delegates passed House Bill 1036 by a 97-41 vote.

Illinois: Gun Seizure Bill Could be Heard by House at Any Time

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Illinois: Gun Seizure Bill Could be Heard by House at Any Time

The Illinois House of Representatives could consider House Bill 2354 at any time.

Arkansas Action Needed: Anti-Gun Bill Which Undermines Concealed Carry Headed to House

Thursday, March 23, 2017

Arkansas Action Needed: Anti-Gun Bill Which Undermines Concealed Carry Headed to House

Today, the Arkansas Senate passed Senate Bill 724, an anti-gun bill which undermines some of the key advancements made with the passage and enactment of House Bill 1249.  SB 724 is now headed to the ...

Idaho: Senate Passes Concealed Carry Amendment

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Idaho: Senate Passes Concealed Carry Amendment

Yesterday, March 20, the Idaho Senate passed House Bill 93 by a 35-0 vote.  Introduced by state Representative Don Cheatham (R-3B) and sponsored on the floor by state Senator Marv Hagedorn (R-14), HB 93 would amend current law ...

Nevada: Senate Passes Anti-Gun SB 115

Wednesday, March 22, 2017

Nevada: Senate Passes Anti-Gun SB 115

Yesterday, March 21, the Senate passed anti-gun Senate Bill 115 with a 12-9 vote.  SB 115 was sent to the Assembly for further consideration.  Sponsored by state Senator Moises Denis (D-2), SB 115 would expand the list ...

Utah: Governor Signs Self-Defense Legislation into Law

Thursday, March 23, 2017

Utah: Governor Signs Self-Defense Legislation into Law

Tonight, Governor Gary Herbert signed House Bill 198 into law.

Texas: Two Important Handgun Carry Bills to be Considered in Senate and House Next Week

Thursday, March 23, 2017

Texas: Two Important Handgun Carry Bills to be Considered in Senate and House Next Week

On Monday, March 27, the Texas Senate will convene after 2:00pm and is expected to take up and consider Senate Bill 16, NRA-backed legislation sponsored by State Sen. Robert Nichols (R-Jacksonville) and Joan Huffman (R-Houston).

Are Ear Plugs Better Than a Suppressor?

Hunting  

News  

Friday, March 17, 2017

Are Ear Plugs Better Than a Suppressor?

On March 13, the gun control group, Americans for Responsible Solutions, posted a tweet claiming:  “FACT:  Silencers do not protect your hearing.”  An infographic accompanied the tweet with the additional claim “You know what protects ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.