Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Connecticut: Anti-Gun Bill to Be Heard in Committee Tomorrow!

Wednesday, May 16, 2007

Please Contact the Public Safety and Security Committee!


Senate Bill 903, introduced by State Senators Martin Looney (D-11) and Toni Harp (D-10), will be heard by the Public Safety and Security Committee tomorrow, Thursday, May 17 at 10:00 A.M. 

 

The proposal would make it a crime to fail to report the loss or theft of a firearm to police within 72 hours of when you "discover or should have discovered" the missing firearms, and would also make it illegal to store your firearm in such a manner that would allow it to be stolen.  Under SB 903, when a law-abiding citizen reports the loss or theft of a firearm to police, it would immediately trigger an investigation into the manner in which the firearm was stored and expose a gun owner to criminal prosecution.  Under the provisions of this bill, the police and prosecutors retain total discretion to determine what constitutes "safe storage."

 

The problems for law-abiding gun owners who run afoul of the storage provision are compounded when multiple firearms are stolen -- as they now could fit the definition of a gun trafficker according to the language in this bill!  

 

It is imperative that you contact the members of the Public Safety and Security Committee TODAY to strongly encourage them to OPPOSE SB 903!

 

Senator Andrea L. Stillman (D-20), Co-Chair

Stillman@senatedems.ct.gov

(800) 842-1420

 

Representative Stephen Dargan (D-115), Co-Chair

Stephen.Dargan@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Representative Tom Reynolds (D-42), Vice Chair

Tom.Reynolds@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Senator Eileen M. Daily (D-33), Vice Chair

Daily@senatedems.ct.gov

(800) 842-1420

 

Senator Anthony Guglielmo (R-35)

Anthony.Guglielmo@cga.ct.gov

(860) 684-4164

 

Representative Raymond Kalinowski (R-100)

Raymond.Kalinowski@housegop.ct.gov

(860) 240-8700

 

Representative Penny Bacchiochi (R-52)

Penny.Bacchiochi@housegop.ct.gov

(860) 240-8700

 

Representative Elizabeth Boukus (D-22)

Betty.Boukus@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Representative Charles D. Clemons (D-124)

Charles.Clemons@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Representative Christopher Caruso (D-126)

Chris.Caruso@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Representative Kevin DelGobbo (R-70)

Kevin.DelGobbo@housegop.ct.gov

(800) 842-1423

 

Representative Louis P. Esposito (D-116)

Lou.Esposito@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8586

 

Representative Ruth C. Fahrbach (R-61)

Ruth.Fahrbach@housegop.ct.gov

860-688-0822

 

Representative Minnie Gonzalez (D-3)

Minnie.Gonzalez@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Representative Leonard Greene (R-105)

Len.Greene@housegop.ct.gov

(800) 842-1423

 

Representative Ernest Hewett (D-39)

Ernest.Hewett@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Representative Karen Jarmoc (D-59)

Karen.Jarmoc@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Representative Shawn Johnston (D-51)

Shawn.Johnston@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Representative Joan Lewis (D-8)

Joan.Lewis@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Representative Steven Mikutel (D-45)

Steve.Mikutel@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Representative Linda Orange (D-48)

Linda.Orange@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Representative Jim Shapiro (D-144)

Jim.Shapiro@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8531

 

Representative Kevin Witkos (R-17)

Kevin.Witkos@housegop.ct.gov

(860) 693-3985



To find further contact information or help identifying your legislators
please use the
"Write Your Representative" feature found at www.NRAILA.org.

TRENDING NOW
Your Members of Congress Need to Hear from You on the Hearing Protection Act of 2017

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Your Members of Congress Need to Hear from You on the Hearing Protection Act of 2017

On Monday, Sen. Mike Crapo (R-ID) – joined by co-sponsors Sens. Jerry Moran (R-KS) and Rand Paul (R-KY) – introduced S. 59, the Hearing Protection Act of 2017 (HPA). Similar legislation was introduced in the ...

National Concealed Carry Reciprocity Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

National Concealed Carry Reciprocity Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them

On January 3rd, Congressman Richard Hudson (R-N.C.8th) introduced H.R. 38, the Concealed Carry Reciprocity Act of 2017, which simply allows lawful firearm carriers from any state to carry a concealed firearm in any other state. The bill ...

Alert: WA State Proposes Draconian Gun Ban Bills

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Alert: WA State Proposes Draconian Gun Ban Bills

Inspired, perhaps, by Oscar Wilde (“Moderation is a fatal thing. Nothing succeeds like excess”), Washington State Attorney General Bob Ferguson has announced two new sweeping gun control bills, with Sen. David Frockt (D-Seattle) and Rep. ...

Supreme Court Asked to Review California’s Restrictive Carry Regime

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Supreme Court Asked to Review California’s Restrictive Carry Regime

On Thursday, the NRA-supported case Peruta v. California took an important step towards restoring the right to bear arms in California.  The plaintiffs in the case, California gun owners and the California Rifle and Pistol ...

The NRA Bids Farewell to Roy Innis, Civil Rights Champion: June 6, 1934 – Jan. 8, 2017

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

The NRA Bids Farewell to Roy Innis, Civil Rights Champion: June 6, 1934 – Jan. 8, 2017

America lost a civil rights icon and a true free thinker with the death of Roy Innis on Jan. 8. For the NRA, his departure was personal. Mr. Innis served on the NRA’s Board of ...

Increase in Violent Crime: National Trend Driven by Local Politics?

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Increase in Violent Crime: National Trend Driven by Local Politics?

The FBI released its Preliminary Semiannual Uniform Crime Report earlier this week and the bad news is that violent crime increased for the second consecutive year.

Virginia: Senate Committee to Hear Numerous Gun Bills Tomorrow

Tuesday, January 17, 2017

Virginia: Senate Committee to Hear Numerous Gun Bills Tomorrow

Tomorrow, January 18, the Senate Courts of Justice is expected to hear and possibly vote on several firearm-related bills.

NRA Applauds the Introduction of the Hearing Protection Act, H.R. 367

News  

Hunting  

Monday, January 9, 2017

NRA Applauds the Introduction of the Hearing Protection Act, H.R. 367

FAIRFAX, Va. – The National Rifle Association Institute for Legislative Action (NRA-ILA) applauded Congressmen Jeff Duncan (SC) and John Carter (TX-31) on Monday for introducing the Hearing Protection Act, an important bill that gives gun owners and sportsmen ...

Kansas: Bill Introduced Attempting to Repeal Pro-Self-Defense Law

Tuesday, January 17, 2017

Kansas: Bill Introduced Attempting to Repeal Pro-Self-Defense Law

In 2013, the Kansas Legislature passed the Public Building Security Act, pro-gun legislation that amended the Personal and Family Protection Act. 

Jeff Sessions’ Devotion to the Constitution Shines Through in Contentious Confirmation Hearing

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Jeff Sessions’ Devotion to the Constitution Shines Through in Contentious Confirmation Hearing

On January 10 and 11, the U.S. Senate Judiciary Committee held the confirmation hearing for President-elect Donald Trump’s nominee for United States Attorney General, Sen. Jeff Sessions (R-Ala.). Throughout his distinguished career in public service, ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.