Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Connecticut: Anti-Gun Bill to Be Heard in Committee Tomorrow!

Wednesday, May 16, 2007

Please Contact the Public Safety and Security Committee!


Senate Bill 903, introduced by State Senators Martin Looney (D-11) and Toni Harp (D-10), will be heard by the Public Safety and Security Committee tomorrow, Thursday, May 17 at 10:00 A.M. 

 

The proposal would make it a crime to fail to report the loss or theft of a firearm to police within 72 hours of when you "discover or should have discovered" the missing firearms, and would also make it illegal to store your firearm in such a manner that would allow it to be stolen.  Under SB 903, when a law-abiding citizen reports the loss or theft of a firearm to police, it would immediately trigger an investigation into the manner in which the firearm was stored and expose a gun owner to criminal prosecution.  Under the provisions of this bill, the police and prosecutors retain total discretion to determine what constitutes "safe storage."

 

The problems for law-abiding gun owners who run afoul of the storage provision are compounded when multiple firearms are stolen -- as they now could fit the definition of a gun trafficker according to the language in this bill!  

 

It is imperative that you contact the members of the Public Safety and Security Committee TODAY to strongly encourage them to OPPOSE SB 903!

 

Senator Andrea L. Stillman (D-20), Co-Chair

Stillman@senatedems.ct.gov

(800) 842-1420

 

Representative Stephen Dargan (D-115), Co-Chair

Stephen.Dargan@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Representative Tom Reynolds (D-42), Vice Chair

Tom.Reynolds@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Senator Eileen M. Daily (D-33), Vice Chair

Daily@senatedems.ct.gov

(800) 842-1420

 

Senator Anthony Guglielmo (R-35)

Anthony.Guglielmo@cga.ct.gov

(860) 684-4164

 

Representative Raymond Kalinowski (R-100)

Raymond.Kalinowski@housegop.ct.gov

(860) 240-8700

 

Representative Penny Bacchiochi (R-52)

Penny.Bacchiochi@housegop.ct.gov

(860) 240-8700

 

Representative Elizabeth Boukus (D-22)

Betty.Boukus@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Representative Charles D. Clemons (D-124)

Charles.Clemons@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Representative Christopher Caruso (D-126)

Chris.Caruso@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Representative Kevin DelGobbo (R-70)

Kevin.DelGobbo@housegop.ct.gov

(800) 842-1423

 

Representative Louis P. Esposito (D-116)

Lou.Esposito@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8586

 

Representative Ruth C. Fahrbach (R-61)

Ruth.Fahrbach@housegop.ct.gov

860-688-0822

 

Representative Minnie Gonzalez (D-3)

Minnie.Gonzalez@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Representative Leonard Greene (R-105)

Len.Greene@housegop.ct.gov

(800) 842-1423

 

Representative Ernest Hewett (D-39)

Ernest.Hewett@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Representative Karen Jarmoc (D-59)

Karen.Jarmoc@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Representative Shawn Johnston (D-51)

Shawn.Johnston@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Representative Joan Lewis (D-8)

Joan.Lewis@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Representative Steven Mikutel (D-45)

Steve.Mikutel@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Representative Linda Orange (D-48)

Linda.Orange@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8585

 

Representative Jim Shapiro (D-144)

Jim.Shapiro@cga.ct.gov

(860) 240-8531

 

Representative Kevin Witkos (R-17)

Kevin.Witkos@housegop.ct.gov

(860) 693-3985



To find further contact information or help identifying your legislators
please use the
"Write Your Representative" feature found at www.NRAILA.org.

TRENDING NOW
Maryland: Governor Hogan Signs Apprentice Hunting Legislation into Law

Thursday, May 4, 2017

Maryland: Governor Hogan Signs Apprentice Hunting Legislation into Law

Today, Maryland Governor Larry Hogan signed House Bill 1427 into law.

Washington: NRA Files Amicus Brief in Challenge to Kitsap County Anti-Gun Ordinance

Monday, May 22, 2017

Washington: NRA Files Amicus Brief in Challenge to Kitsap County Anti-Gun Ordinance

Last week, attorneys on behalf of the NRA filed an amicus brief in Kitsap County v. Kitsap Rifle and Revolver Club (Kitsap II), the case which challenges Kitsap County’s firearm discharge ban and range licensing scheme.  Kitsap Rifle and ...

Illinois: House Committee Passes Bill to Close Local Gun Dealers

Tuesday, May 16, 2017

Illinois: House Committee Passes Bill to Close Local Gun Dealers

The House Judiciary Committee passed Senate Bill 1657 by a 7-6 vote.

Nevada: Governor Sandoval Signs AB 118!

Monday, May 22, 2017

Nevada: Governor Sandoval Signs AB 118!

Today, May 22, Governor Brian Sandoval signed important pro-gun legislation, Assembly Bill 118, into law.  AB 118, sponsored by Assemblyman Skip Daly, will allow members of the military and those who have received an honorable ...

California: AB 424 Passes Assembly - Appropriations Committees to Consider Suspense Items

Tuesday, May 23, 2017

California: AB 424 Passes Assembly - Appropriations Committees to Consider Suspense Items

Friday, May 26th is the deadline for the fiscal committees to pass bills to the floor from the chamber of origin.  On Thursday, May 25, the Senate AppropriationsCommittee is scheduled to consider Senate Bill 464 and Senate Bill 497. ...

Kansas: Senate Committee Passes Gun Free Zone Legislation, Again

Tuesday, May 23, 2017

Kansas: Senate Committee Passes Gun Free Zone Legislation, Again

Last week, the Senate Committee of the Whole referred an amended version of House Bill 2278 back to the Senate Ways and Means Committee.

California: Don’t Miss our May 25th Webinar to Discuss the Newest DOJ Draft “Assault Weapons” Regulations

Wednesday, May 24, 2017

California: Don’t Miss our May 25th Webinar to Discuss the Newest DOJ Draft “Assault Weapons” Regulations

Tomorrow, Thursday, May 25, at 12:00 pm (PT), NRA’s legal team will be hosting a free webinar to discuss the recently submitted “assault weapon” regulations.   

Alabama: Legislature Adjourns Sine Die

Tuesday, May 23, 2017

Alabama: Legislature Adjourns Sine Die

Last Friday, May 19, the Alabama Legislature adjourned sine die.  During this session, Senate Bill 24, the constitutional/permitless carry bill, passed the Senate but failed to make it to the House floor for a vote ...

Illinois: Last Chance to Save your Local Gun Dealer!

Tuesday, May 2, 2017

Illinois: Last Chance to Save your Local Gun Dealer!

The Illinois House of Representatives may consider Senate Bill 1657, legislation that could put your local gun dealer out of business, at any time! It is imperative that you contact your state Representative IMMEDIATELY and ...

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

Gun Laws  

Thursday, January 1, 2015

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

CAUTION: Federal and state firearms laws are subject to frequent change. This summary is not to be considered as legal advice or a restatement of law.

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.