Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

SB 48 & HB 50 Update: Gun Control Bills Receive Committee Referrals in New Mexico House & Senate

Friday, January 20, 2017

SB 48 & HB 50 Update: Gun Control Bills Receive Committee Referrals in New Mexico House & Senate

Committee Hearings Could Take Place Soon!

Ex-NYC Mayor Michael Bloomberg’s national gun control group Everytown continues to mislead lawmakers that these two bills simply close the non-existent “gun show loophole” and regulate online firearms sales.  In fact, these measures are far more expansive. 

If you’re already familiar with these measures, scroll down to the action items below.  If you are just learning about them, read on below to find out how restrictive this legislation is:

Senate Bill 48 & House Bill 50 prohibit you from selling your firearms to any distant relatives, friends, neighbors, business associates, or fellow gun club members without government permission.  The bills would criminalize nearly all private firearm sales between individuals, regardless of where those transactions take place, and require them to be conducted through a licensed dealer involving extensive federal paperwork, background check and payment of an undetermined fee.  Licensed dealers will have to maintain the paperwork recording these transfers for twenty years.  Limited exceptions are only made for immediate family members, FFLs and law enforcement agencies, executors or administrators of estates and trusts, or police officers, military personnel, and licensed security guards acting in the course of their official duties. 

SB 48 & HB 50 similarly restrict temporary firearm transfers -- including gifts, loans, and temporary changes in possession of a firearm, not just gun sales.  There are a limited number of exemptions, including transfers necessary to prevent imminent death or great bodily harm, those taking place exclusively at shooting ranges, while hunting or trapping, or during an organized competition or performance, or any time the transferor remains present the entire duration of the transfer.  These exemptions are confusing, raise serious questions about the bills’ scope, compliance and enforceability, and highlight the overreach of the measures.  Activities that could be criminalized under the bills without going through an FFL and obtaining government permission:

  • A man loaning his girlfriend or fiancée his handgun for self-protection when homes or apartments in her neighborhood have been burglarized;
  • A member of the military who is deployed overseas and wants to store his or her personal firearms with a trusted friend;
  • Someone borrowing their co-worker’s gun to take on a hunting trip, to the local range or to shoot on BLM land when the colleague cannot accompany him or her on the excursion.
  • Working ranch employees possessing and transporting ranch-owned rifles in vehicles or on their person.
  • Volunteers staging auction or raffle items for a non-profit, charitable fundraising event where a firearm is displayed.

SB 48 & 50 also require the return of loaned firearms to original owners be conducted through a licensed dealer, with completion of federal paperwork and payment of an undetermined fee.  The bill exempts “temporary” exchanges and only then if the transfer and the transferee’s possession take place exclusively at one of the locations or during one of the activities listed in the paragraph above.  How are the original owners of firearms supposed to take back permanent possession of their loaned guns once they and the original transferee go their separate ways?

These proposals will tax scarce law enforcement resources, cost law-abiding citizens time, money and freedom, and they will do nothing to stop criminals.  For more information, click here.  Please click the “Take Action” button above to contact your state lawmakers and the members of the committees to whom these bills have been referred and urge them to oppose these measures!

SB 48 – Referred to Senate Public Affairs Committee & Senate Judiciary Committee

 

Public Affairs:

Chair Gerald Ortiz Y Pino (D-ABQ)
505-986-4482
jortizyp@msn.com 

Sen. Bill O’Neill (D-ABQ)
505-986-4260
Oneillsd13@billoneillfornm.com 

Sen. Craig Brandt (R-Rio Rancho)
505-986-4385
Craig.brandt@nmlegis.gov 

Sen. Candace Gould (R-ABQ)
505-986-4266
Candace.gould@nmlegis.gov 

Sen. Liz Stefanics (D-Santa Fe)
505-986-4834
Liz.stefanics@nmlegis.gov

Sen. Jeff Steinborn (D-Las Cruces)
505-986-4862
Jeff.steinborn@nmlegis.gov

Sen. Mimi Stewart (D-ABQ)
505-986-4267
Mimi.stewart@nmlegis.gov

Sen. Stuart Ingle (R-Portales)
505-986-4702
Stuart.ingle@nmlegis.gov

 

Judiciary:

Chair Richard Martinez (D-Espanola)
505-986-4487
Richard.martinez@nmlegis.gov 

Sen. Daniel Ivey-Soto (D-ABQ)
505-986-4270
Daniel.ivey-soto@nmlegis.gov 

Sen. Greg Baca (R-Belen)
505-986-4874
Greg.baca@nmlegis.gov 

Sen. Jacob Candelaria (D-ABQ)
505-986-4369
Jacob.candelaria@nmlegis.gov 

Sen. Joseph Cervantes (D-Las Cruces)
505-986-4385
Joseph@cervanteslawnm.com 

Sen. Ron Griggs (R-Alamogordo)
505-986-4276
Ron.griggs@nmlegis.gov

Sen. Linda Lopez (D-ABQ)
505-986-4737
Linda.lopez@nmlegis.gov 

Sen. Cisco McSorley (D-ABQ)
505-986-4389
Cisco.mcsorley@nmlegis.gov 

Sen. Mark Moores (R-ABQ)
505-986-4859
Mark.moores@nmlegis.gov 

Sen. Peter Wirth (D-Santa Fe)
505-986-4861
Peter.wirth@nmlegis.gov 

Sen. Bill Payne (R-ABQ)
505-986-4703
William.payne@nmlegis.gov

 

HB 50 – Referred to House Consumer & Public Affairs Committee & House Judiciary Committee

 

Consumer & Public Affairs:

Chair Eliseo Alcon (D-Milan)
505-986-4220
Eliseo.alcon@nmlegis.gov 

Rep. Patricia Roybal Caballero (D-ABQ)
505-986-4221
Pat.roybalcaballero@nmlegis.gov 

Rep. Deborah Armstrong (D-ABQ)
505-986-4435
Deborah.armstrong@nmlegis.gov 

Rep. Bob Wooley (R-Roswell)
505-986-4454
Bobwooley66@gmail.com 

Rep. Monica Youngblood (R-ABQ)
505-986-4242
monica@mynmstaterep.com

 

Judiciary:

Chair Gail Chasey (D-ABQ)
505-986-4236
gail@gailchasey.com 

Rep. Javier Martinez (D-ABQ)
505-986-4464
Javier.martinez@nmlegis.gov 

Rep. Eliseo Alcon (D-Milan)
505-986-4220
Eliseo.alcon@nmlegis.gov 

Rep. Cathrynn Brown (R-Carlsbad)
505-986-4415
c.brown.nm55@gmail.com 

Rep. Zach Cook (R-Ruidoso)
505-986-4411
Zachary.cook@nmlegis.gov 

Rep. Jim Dines (R-ABQ)
505-986-4242
Jim.dines@nmlegis.gov 

Rep. Brian Egolf (D-Santa Fe)
505-986-4782
Brian.egolf@nmlegis.gov 

Rep. Daymon Ely (D-Corrales)
505-986-4454
Daymon.ely@nmlegis.gov

Rep. Nate Gentry (R-ABQ)
505-986-4757
natefornm@gmail.com

Rep. Georgene Louis (D-ABQ)
505-986-4236
Georgene.louis@nmlegis.gov

Rep. Matthew McQueen (D-Santa Fe)
505-986-4214
Matthew.mcqueen@nmlegis.gov

Rep. Greg Nibert (R-Roswell)
505-986-4211
Greg.nibert@nmlegis.gov

Rep. Bill Rehm (R-ABQ)
505-986-4425
Bill.rehm@nmlegis.gov

TRENDING NOW
Rep. Rob Bishop Introduces the "Lawful Purpose and Self Defense Act"

News  

Friday, May 26, 2017

Rep. Rob Bishop Introduces the "Lawful Purpose and Self Defense Act"

On Wednesday, May 24, 2017, Chairman of the House Committee on Natural Resources Rob Bishop (R-UT) introduced H.R. 2620, the "Lawful Purpose and Self Defense Act." This bill would remove ATF's authority to use the ...

Court's Commonsense Conclusion: "There Was a Gun" Isn't Enough to Justify Issuing a Restraining Order

Second Amendment  

Friday, May 19, 2017

Court's Commonsense Conclusion: "There Was a Gun" Isn't Enough to Justify Issuing a Restraining Order

The Supreme Court of North Dakota confirmed this week that simply possessing a handgun while on one’s own private property cannot support a finding of "disorderly conduct" under the state’s disorderly conduct restraining order law. ...

Concealed Carrying Hits New High, Underscores Need for National Law

News  

Friday, May 26, 2017

Concealed Carrying Hits New High, Underscores Need for National Law

Information collected by the Crime Prevention Research Center (CPRC) indicates an unprecedented surge in the number of concealed carry permits, with the largest one-year increase on record occurring between May 2016 and May 2017.

Legislation Reintroduced to Permanently Dismantle Obama-Era Enforcement Abuse

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, May 26, 2017

Legislation Reintroduced to Permanently Dismantle Obama-Era Enforcement Abuse

This week, Rep. Blaine Luetkemeyer (R-MO) reintroduced the Financial Institution Customer Protection Act, a bill aimed at permanently dismantling Operation Choke Point (OCP).  

Illinois: House Committee Passes Bill to Close Local Gun Dealers

Tuesday, May 16, 2017

Illinois: House Committee Passes Bill to Close Local Gun Dealers

The House Judiciary Committee passed Senate Bill 1657 by a 7-6 vote.

Abbott Signs Senate Bill 16, Bringing Texas License To Carry Fees Down to Among Lowest in Nation

News  

Thursday, May 25, 2017

Abbott Signs Senate Bill 16, Bringing Texas License To Carry Fees Down to Among Lowest in Nation

The National Rifle Association Institute for Legislative Action (NRA-ILA) today applauded Texas Gov. Greg Abbott for signing into law NRA-backed legislation that will make license to carry fees in Texas among the lowest in the ...

Nevada: Governor Sandoval Signs AB 118!

Monday, May 22, 2017

Nevada: Governor Sandoval Signs AB 118!

Today, May 22, Governor Brian Sandoval signed important pro-gun legislation, Assembly Bill 118, into law.  AB 118, sponsored by Assemblyman Skip Daly, will allow members of the military and those who have received an honorable ...

New Zealand Police Mislead Current and Prospective Gun Owners

News  

Thursday, May 25, 2017

New Zealand Police Mislead Current and Prospective Gun Owners

Back in April, NRA-ILA alerted readers to the results of the New Zealand Parliament Law and Order Committee’s “Inquiry into issues relating to the illegal possession of firearms in New Zealand,” which proposed that a ...

Public Health Researchers Use Common Gun Control Tactic to Mislead on “Children” and Guns

News  

Friday, May 26, 2017

Public Health Researchers Use Common Gun Control Tactic to Mislead on “Children” and Guns

It is one of the most well-worn tactics of those who advocate for gun control. Step one, acquire statistics on firearms injuries among children ages 0-14. Step two, combine these relatively low numbers with the ...

South Carolina: Governor McMaster Signs Pro-Gun Bill

Monday, May 22, 2017

South Carolina: Governor McMaster Signs Pro-Gun Bill

Last Friday, May 19, Governor Henry McMaster (R) signed H. 3429 into law.  This bill went into effect upon the Governor’s approval.

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.