Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

SB 48 & HB 50 Update: Gun Control Bills Receive Committee Referrals in New Mexico House & Senate

Friday, January 20, 2017

SB 48 & HB 50 Update: Gun Control Bills Receive Committee Referrals in New Mexico House & Senate

Committee Hearings Could Take Place Soon!

Ex-NYC Mayor Michael Bloomberg’s national gun control group Everytown continues to mislead lawmakers that these two bills simply close the non-existent “gun show loophole” and regulate online firearms sales.  In fact, these measures are far more expansive. 

If you’re already familiar with these measures, scroll down to the action items below.  If you are just learning about them, read on below to find out how restrictive this legislation is:

Senate Bill 48 & House Bill 50 prohibit you from selling your firearms to any distant relatives, friends, neighbors, business associates, or fellow gun club members without government permission.  The bills would criminalize nearly all private firearm sales between individuals, regardless of where those transactions take place, and require them to be conducted through a licensed dealer involving extensive federal paperwork, background check and payment of an undetermined fee.  Licensed dealers will have to maintain the paperwork recording these transfers for twenty years.  Limited exceptions are only made for immediate family members, FFLs and law enforcement agencies, executors or administrators of estates and trusts, or police officers, military personnel, and licensed security guards acting in the course of their official duties. 

SB 48 & HB 50 similarly restrict temporary firearm transfers -- including gifts, loans, and temporary changes in possession of a firearm, not just gun sales.  There are a limited number of exemptions, including transfers necessary to prevent imminent death or great bodily harm, those taking place exclusively at shooting ranges, while hunting or trapping, or during an organized competition or performance, or any time the transferor remains present the entire duration of the transfer.  These exemptions are confusing, raise serious questions about the bills’ scope, compliance and enforceability, and highlight the overreach of the measures.  Activities that could be criminalized under the bills without going through an FFL and obtaining government permission:

  • A man loaning his girlfriend or fiancée his handgun for self-protection when homes or apartments in her neighborhood have been burglarized;
  • A member of the military who is deployed overseas and wants to store his or her personal firearms with a trusted friend;
  • Someone borrowing their co-worker’s gun to take on a hunting trip, to the local range or to shoot on BLM land when the colleague cannot accompany him or her on the excursion.
  • Working ranch employees possessing and transporting ranch-owned rifles in vehicles or on their person.
  • Volunteers staging auction or raffle items for a non-profit, charitable fundraising event where a firearm is displayed.

SB 48 & 50 also require the return of loaned firearms to original owners be conducted through a licensed dealer, with completion of federal paperwork and payment of an undetermined fee.  The bill exempts “temporary” exchanges and only then if the transfer and the transferee’s possession take place exclusively at one of the locations or during one of the activities listed in the paragraph above.  How are the original owners of firearms supposed to take back permanent possession of their loaned guns once they and the original transferee go their separate ways?

These proposals will tax scarce law enforcement resources, cost law-abiding citizens time, money and freedom, and they will do nothing to stop criminals.  For more information, click here.  Please click the “Take Action” button above to contact your state lawmakers and the members of the committees to whom these bills have been referred and urge them to oppose these measures!

SB 48 – Referred to Senate Public Affairs Committee & Senate Judiciary Committee

 

Public Affairs:

Chair Gerald Ortiz Y Pino (D-ABQ)
505-986-4482
jortizyp@msn.com 

Sen. Bill O’Neill (D-ABQ)
505-986-4260
Oneillsd13@billoneillfornm.com 

Sen. Craig Brandt (R-Rio Rancho)
505-986-4385
Craig.brandt@nmlegis.gov 

Sen. Candace Gould (R-ABQ)
505-986-4266
Candace.gould@nmlegis.gov 

Sen. Liz Stefanics (D-Santa Fe)
505-986-4834
Liz.stefanics@nmlegis.gov

Sen. Jeff Steinborn (D-Las Cruces)
505-986-4862
Jeff.steinborn@nmlegis.gov

Sen. Mimi Stewart (D-ABQ)
505-986-4267
Mimi.stewart@nmlegis.gov

Sen. Stuart Ingle (R-Portales)
505-986-4702
Stuart.ingle@nmlegis.gov

 

Judiciary:

Chair Richard Martinez (D-Espanola)
505-986-4487
Richard.martinez@nmlegis.gov 

Sen. Daniel Ivey-Soto (D-ABQ)
505-986-4270
Daniel.ivey-soto@nmlegis.gov 

Sen. Greg Baca (R-Belen)
505-986-4874
Greg.baca@nmlegis.gov 

Sen. Jacob Candelaria (D-ABQ)
505-986-4369
Jacob.candelaria@nmlegis.gov 

Sen. Joseph Cervantes (D-Las Cruces)
505-986-4385
Joseph@cervanteslawnm.com 

Sen. Ron Griggs (R-Alamogordo)
505-986-4276
Ron.griggs@nmlegis.gov

Sen. Linda Lopez (D-ABQ)
505-986-4737
Linda.lopez@nmlegis.gov 

Sen. Cisco McSorley (D-ABQ)
505-986-4389
Cisco.mcsorley@nmlegis.gov 

Sen. Mark Moores (R-ABQ)
505-986-4859
Mark.moores@nmlegis.gov 

Sen. Peter Wirth (D-Santa Fe)
505-986-4861
Peter.wirth@nmlegis.gov 

Sen. Bill Payne (R-ABQ)
505-986-4703
William.payne@nmlegis.gov

 

HB 50 – Referred to House Consumer & Public Affairs Committee & House Judiciary Committee

 

Consumer & Public Affairs:

Chair Eliseo Alcon (D-Milan)
505-986-4220
Eliseo.alcon@nmlegis.gov 

Rep. Patricia Roybal Caballero (D-ABQ)
505-986-4221
Pat.roybalcaballero@nmlegis.gov 

Rep. Deborah Armstrong (D-ABQ)
505-986-4435
Deborah.armstrong@nmlegis.gov 

Rep. Bob Wooley (R-Roswell)
505-986-4454
Bobwooley66@gmail.com 

Rep. Monica Youngblood (R-ABQ)
505-986-4242
monica@mynmstaterep.com

 

Judiciary:

Chair Gail Chasey (D-ABQ)
505-986-4236
gail@gailchasey.com 

Rep. Javier Martinez (D-ABQ)
505-986-4464
Javier.martinez@nmlegis.gov 

Rep. Eliseo Alcon (D-Milan)
505-986-4220
Eliseo.alcon@nmlegis.gov 

Rep. Cathrynn Brown (R-Carlsbad)
505-986-4415
c.brown.nm55@gmail.com 

Rep. Zach Cook (R-Ruidoso)
505-986-4411
Zachary.cook@nmlegis.gov 

Rep. Jim Dines (R-ABQ)
505-986-4242
Jim.dines@nmlegis.gov 

Rep. Brian Egolf (D-Santa Fe)
505-986-4782
Brian.egolf@nmlegis.gov 

Rep. Daymon Ely (D-Corrales)
505-986-4454
Daymon.ely@nmlegis.gov

Rep. Nate Gentry (R-ABQ)
505-986-4757
natefornm@gmail.com

Rep. Georgene Louis (D-ABQ)
505-986-4236
Georgene.louis@nmlegis.gov

Rep. Matthew McQueen (D-Santa Fe)
505-986-4214
Matthew.mcqueen@nmlegis.gov

Rep. Greg Nibert (R-Roswell)
505-986-4211
Greg.nibert@nmlegis.gov

Rep. Bill Rehm (R-ABQ)
505-986-4425
Bill.rehm@nmlegis.gov

TRENDING NOW

Saturday, April 21, 2018

Florida Alert: YETI Drops NRA Foundation

For years YETI Coolers have been a hot item for sportsmen at the Friends of NRA Foundation Banquet and Auction events around the country.  Suddenly, without prior notice, YETI has declined to do business with The ...

Dick’s Sporting Goods/Field & Stream to Destroy Firearms Inventory

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, April 20, 2018

Dick’s Sporting Goods/Field & Stream to Destroy Firearms Inventory

Dick’s Sporting Goods took their campaign to alienate law-abiding gun owners to an extraordinary new level last week. The beleaguered retailer announced that in addition to removing certain types of semi-automatic rifles from their stores, the company ...

Another Group of Anti-Gun Celebrities Forms!  In Other News, The Sun Rose Today.

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, April 20, 2018

Another Group of Anti-Gun Celebrities Forms! In Other News, The Sun Rose Today.

In case you were worried there were not enough anti-gun organizations working to eradicate the rights of law-abiding gun owners, a new one has formed, and it’s called NoRA.  Get it?  The name implies that the ...

Illinois: Committee Passes Bill to Allow Local Infringement of Second Amendment

Wednesday, April 18, 2018

Illinois: Committee Passes Bill to Allow Local Infringement of Second Amendment

The Illinois state Senate could vote on legislation to allow localities to infringe upon Second Amendment rights as early as today.  Senate Bill 2314 was moved to third reading after it had passed the Senate ...

NRA Salutes “the Gunny” and Mourns the Passing of an American Patriot

News  

Friday, April 20, 2018

NRA Salutes “the Gunny” and Mourns the Passing of an American Patriot

America, and the NRA, lost a true friend and a staunch defender of freedom with the passing of R. Lee Ermey on April 15 from complications of pneumonia. He was 74 years old. 

Unfriendly Skies: Delta CEO Claims Bashing NRA Members is Good Business

News  

Friday, April 13, 2018

Unfriendly Skies: Delta CEO Claims Bashing NRA Members is Good Business

In the wake of the Parkland, Florida, murders, there has been an unusual amount of anti-gun and anti-NRA commentary by private corporations with plenty of problems of their own.   In February, Delta announced it was ending a ...

Rhode Island: 19 Gun Bills to be Heard in House Judiciary Committee Tuesday

Thursday, April 19, 2018

Rhode Island: 19 Gun Bills to be Heard in House Judiciary Committee Tuesday

A marathon gun bill hearing is on tap for next Tuesday night in Providence, and NRA and local pro-Second Amendment groups are calling for all-hands-on-deck.

Keep Calm and Carry On: Pro-Gun Sentiment Reasserts Itself in Wake of Antigun Blitz

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, April 20, 2018

Keep Calm and Carry On: Pro-Gun Sentiment Reasserts Itself in Wake of Antigun Blitz

Like the long-delayed coming of spring to the Mid-Atlantic, evidence is appearing that Americans are regaining their senses and reverting to an instinctual embrace of freedom after a withering barrage of some the nastiest and most ugly ...

Bailed-out Banks Launch Coordinated Attack on Law-abiding Gun Owners

News  

Friday, April 13, 2018

Bailed-out Banks Launch Coordinated Attack on Law-abiding Gun Owners

There is growing evidence that some of America’s financial elite want to create a world in which America’s public policy decisions emanate from corporate boardrooms in Manhattan rather than from citizens and their elected officials.  ...

New Jersey: Senate Committee Approves Gun Control Bills

Wednesday, April 18, 2018

New Jersey: Senate Committee Approves Gun Control Bills

On Monday, the Senate Law & Public Safety Committee approved several gun control bills during a hearing that stretched over five hours. 

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.