Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

SB 48 & HB 50 Update: Gun Control Bills Receive Committee Referrals in New Mexico House & Senate

Friday, January 20, 2017

SB 48 & HB 50 Update: Gun Control Bills Receive Committee Referrals in New Mexico House & Senate

Committee Hearings Could Take Place Soon!

Ex-NYC Mayor Michael Bloomberg’s national gun control group Everytown continues to mislead lawmakers that these two bills simply close the non-existent “gun show loophole” and regulate online firearms sales.  In fact, these measures are far more expansive. 

If you’re already familiar with these measures, scroll down to the action items below.  If you are just learning about them, read on below to find out how restrictive this legislation is:

Senate Bill 48 & House Bill 50 prohibit you from selling your firearms to any distant relatives, friends, neighbors, business associates, or fellow gun club members without government permission.  The bills would criminalize nearly all private firearm sales between individuals, regardless of where those transactions take place, and require them to be conducted through a licensed dealer involving extensive federal paperwork, background check and payment of an undetermined fee.  Licensed dealers will have to maintain the paperwork recording these transfers for twenty years.  Limited exceptions are only made for immediate family members, FFLs and law enforcement agencies, executors or administrators of estates and trusts, or police officers, military personnel, and licensed security guards acting in the course of their official duties. 

SB 48 & HB 50 similarly restrict temporary firearm transfers -- including gifts, loans, and temporary changes in possession of a firearm, not just gun sales.  There are a limited number of exemptions, including transfers necessary to prevent imminent death or great bodily harm, those taking place exclusively at shooting ranges, while hunting or trapping, or during an organized competition or performance, or any time the transferor remains present the entire duration of the transfer.  These exemptions are confusing, raise serious questions about the bills’ scope, compliance and enforceability, and highlight the overreach of the measures.  Activities that could be criminalized under the bills without going through an FFL and obtaining government permission:

  • A man loaning his girlfriend or fiancée his handgun for self-protection when homes or apartments in her neighborhood have been burglarized;
  • A member of the military who is deployed overseas and wants to store his or her personal firearms with a trusted friend;
  • Someone borrowing their co-worker’s gun to take on a hunting trip, to the local range or to shoot on BLM land when the colleague cannot accompany him or her on the excursion.
  • Working ranch employees possessing and transporting ranch-owned rifles in vehicles or on their person.
  • Volunteers staging auction or raffle items for a non-profit, charitable fundraising event where a firearm is displayed.

SB 48 & 50 also require the return of loaned firearms to original owners be conducted through a licensed dealer, with completion of federal paperwork and payment of an undetermined fee.  The bill exempts “temporary” exchanges and only then if the transfer and the transferee’s possession take place exclusively at one of the locations or during one of the activities listed in the paragraph above.  How are the original owners of firearms supposed to take back permanent possession of their loaned guns once they and the original transferee go their separate ways?

These proposals will tax scarce law enforcement resources, cost law-abiding citizens time, money and freedom, and they will do nothing to stop criminals.  For more information, click here.  Please click the “Take Action” button above to contact your state lawmakers and the members of the committees to whom these bills have been referred and urge them to oppose these measures!

SB 48 – Referred to Senate Public Affairs Committee & Senate Judiciary Committee

 

Public Affairs:

Chair Gerald Ortiz Y Pino (D-ABQ)
505-986-4482
jortizyp@msn.com 

Sen. Bill O’Neill (D-ABQ)
505-986-4260
Oneillsd13@billoneillfornm.com 

Sen. Craig Brandt (R-Rio Rancho)
505-986-4385
Craig.brandt@nmlegis.gov 

Sen. Candace Gould (R-ABQ)
505-986-4266
Candace.gould@nmlegis.gov 

Sen. Liz Stefanics (D-Santa Fe)
505-986-4834
Liz.stefanics@nmlegis.gov

Sen. Jeff Steinborn (D-Las Cruces)
505-986-4862
Jeff.steinborn@nmlegis.gov

Sen. Mimi Stewart (D-ABQ)
505-986-4267
Mimi.stewart@nmlegis.gov

Sen. Stuart Ingle (R-Portales)
505-986-4702
Stuart.ingle@nmlegis.gov

 

Judiciary:

Chair Richard Martinez (D-Espanola)
505-986-4487
Richard.martinez@nmlegis.gov 

Sen. Daniel Ivey-Soto (D-ABQ)
505-986-4270
Daniel.ivey-soto@nmlegis.gov 

Sen. Greg Baca (R-Belen)
505-986-4874
Greg.baca@nmlegis.gov 

Sen. Jacob Candelaria (D-ABQ)
505-986-4369
Jacob.candelaria@nmlegis.gov 

Sen. Joseph Cervantes (D-Las Cruces)
505-986-4385
Joseph@cervanteslawnm.com 

Sen. Ron Griggs (R-Alamogordo)
505-986-4276
Ron.griggs@nmlegis.gov

Sen. Linda Lopez (D-ABQ)
505-986-4737
Linda.lopez@nmlegis.gov 

Sen. Cisco McSorley (D-ABQ)
505-986-4389
Cisco.mcsorley@nmlegis.gov 

Sen. Mark Moores (R-ABQ)
505-986-4859
Mark.moores@nmlegis.gov 

Sen. Peter Wirth (D-Santa Fe)
505-986-4861
Peter.wirth@nmlegis.gov 

Sen. Bill Payne (R-ABQ)
505-986-4703
William.payne@nmlegis.gov

 

HB 50 – Referred to House Consumer & Public Affairs Committee & House Judiciary Committee

 

Consumer & Public Affairs:

Chair Eliseo Alcon (D-Milan)
505-986-4220
Eliseo.alcon@nmlegis.gov 

Rep. Patricia Roybal Caballero (D-ABQ)
505-986-4221
Pat.roybalcaballero@nmlegis.gov 

Rep. Deborah Armstrong (D-ABQ)
505-986-4435
Deborah.armstrong@nmlegis.gov 

Rep. Bob Wooley (R-Roswell)
505-986-4454
Bobwooley66@gmail.com 

Rep. Monica Youngblood (R-ABQ)
505-986-4242
monica@mynmstaterep.com

 

Judiciary:

Chair Gail Chasey (D-ABQ)
505-986-4236
gail@gailchasey.com 

Rep. Javier Martinez (D-ABQ)
505-986-4464
Javier.martinez@nmlegis.gov 

Rep. Eliseo Alcon (D-Milan)
505-986-4220
Eliseo.alcon@nmlegis.gov 

Rep. Cathrynn Brown (R-Carlsbad)
505-986-4415
c.brown.nm55@gmail.com 

Rep. Zach Cook (R-Ruidoso)
505-986-4411
Zachary.cook@nmlegis.gov 

Rep. Jim Dines (R-ABQ)
505-986-4242
Jim.dines@nmlegis.gov 

Rep. Brian Egolf (D-Santa Fe)
505-986-4782
Brian.egolf@nmlegis.gov 

Rep. Daymon Ely (D-Corrales)
505-986-4454
Daymon.ely@nmlegis.gov

Rep. Nate Gentry (R-ABQ)
505-986-4757
natefornm@gmail.com

Rep. Georgene Louis (D-ABQ)
505-986-4236
Georgene.louis@nmlegis.gov

Rep. Matthew McQueen (D-Santa Fe)
505-986-4214
Matthew.mcqueen@nmlegis.gov

Rep. Greg Nibert (R-Roswell)
505-986-4211
Greg.nibert@nmlegis.gov

Rep. Bill Rehm (R-ABQ)
505-986-4425
Bill.rehm@nmlegis.gov

TRENDING NOW
Bad News For “Universal” Background Check Supporters

News  

Thursday, October 19, 2017

Bad News For “Universal” Background Check Supporters

NRATV Host Cam Edwards describes a study that shows the ineffectiveness of so-called “universal” background checks

California: Governor Brown Signs Remaining Anti-Gun Bill

Sunday, October 15, 2017

California: Governor Brown Signs Remaining Anti-Gun Bill

Yesterday, Governor Brown signed Assembly Bill 424, the remaining anti-gun bill on his desk. 

Oregon: Governor Signs Anti-Gun Bill into Law

Thursday, August 17, 2017

Oregon: Governor Signs Anti-Gun Bill into Law

Yesterday, Governor Kate Brown signed Senate Bill 719A.  Based on a California law enacted in 2014, SB 719A will create a so-called “Extreme Risk Protection Order” (ERPO) that could be obtained by a law enforcement ...

Illinois: Urgent Action Needed – Numerous Anti-Gun Bills Readied for Consideration Next Week

Tuesday, October 17, 2017

Illinois: Urgent Action Needed – Numerous Anti-Gun Bills Readied for Consideration Next Week

Today, multiple gun control bills were released by the House Rules Committee and have been referred to the House Judiciary Committee for a hearing.

Spokane Police To Use Suppressors To Protect Hearing

News  

Monday, October 16, 2017

Spokane Police To Use Suppressors To Protect Hearing

The Spokane PD has 181 service rifles in its inventory; using suppressors on them has the potential to reduce workers compensation claims and lawsuits from bystanders.

Alleged Sexual Predator and Hollywood Mogul Harvey Weinstein Threatens NRA (Again)

News  

Friday, October 13, 2017

Alleged Sexual Predator and Hollywood Mogul Harvey Weinstein Threatens NRA (Again)

On October 5, the New York Times published an article titled, “Harvey Weinstein Paid Off Sexual Harassment Accusers for Decades.” The piece detailed allegations that the mogul used his position of influence to make unwanted ...

Gun Banners Unmasked: The Vengeful Face of the Anti-gun Agenda Emerges Once Again

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, October 13, 2017

Gun Banners Unmasked: The Vengeful Face of the Anti-gun Agenda Emerges Once Again

What happens to the 400 million or so firearms already in private hands? How does society actually benefit from his plan? Stephens doesn’t say. He apparently just trusts that things would eventually work themselves out ...

“Death by a Thousand Cuts” – Latest Ninth Circuit decision proclaims “selling firearms is not part or parcel of the right to keep and bear arms”

Second Amendment  

Friday, October 13, 2017

“Death by a Thousand Cuts” – Latest Ninth Circuit decision proclaims “selling firearms is not part or parcel of the right to keep and bear arms”

Since the U.S. Supreme Court handed down its landmark rulings in District of Columbia v. Heller and McDonald v. Chicago, lower courts across the country have expressed their disagreement with – or downright hostility to ...

California: Governor Vetoes Dealer Storage Bill and Signs Open Carry Ban

Saturday, October 14, 2017

California: Governor Vetoes Dealer Storage Bill and Signs Open Carry Ban

Yesterday, Governor Brown took action on two of the remaining three anti-gun bills by vetoing Senate Bill 464 and signing Assembly Bill 7. 

Anti-Gun Congresswoman Introduces Magazine Ban, Aims Slippery Slope at the Gun on Your Hip

News  

Friday, October 20, 2017

Anti-Gun Congresswoman Introduces Magazine Ban, Aims Slippery Slope at the Gun on Your Hip

We’ve been down this road before, and we know gun control doesn’t work. 

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.