Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

SB 48 & HB 50 Update: Gun Control Bills Receive Committee Referrals in New Mexico House & Senate

Friday, January 20, 2017

SB 48 & HB 50 Update: Gun Control Bills Receive Committee Referrals in New Mexico House & Senate

Committee Hearings Could Take Place Soon!

Ex-NYC Mayor Michael Bloomberg’s national gun control group Everytown continues to mislead lawmakers that these two bills simply close the non-existent “gun show loophole” and regulate online firearms sales.  In fact, these measures are far more expansive. 

If you’re already familiar with these measures, scroll down to the action items below.  If you are just learning about them, read on below to find out how restrictive this legislation is:

Senate Bill 48 & House Bill 50 prohibit you from selling your firearms to any distant relatives, friends, neighbors, business associates, or fellow gun club members without government permission.  The bills would criminalize nearly all private firearm sales between individuals, regardless of where those transactions take place, and require them to be conducted through a licensed dealer involving extensive federal paperwork, background check and payment of an undetermined fee.  Licensed dealers will have to maintain the paperwork recording these transfers for twenty years.  Limited exceptions are only made for immediate family members, FFLs and law enforcement agencies, executors or administrators of estates and trusts, or police officers, military personnel, and licensed security guards acting in the course of their official duties. 

SB 48 & HB 50 similarly restrict temporary firearm transfers -- including gifts, loans, and temporary changes in possession of a firearm, not just gun sales.  There are a limited number of exemptions, including transfers necessary to prevent imminent death or great bodily harm, those taking place exclusively at shooting ranges, while hunting or trapping, or during an organized competition or performance, or any time the transferor remains present the entire duration of the transfer.  These exemptions are confusing, raise serious questions about the bills’ scope, compliance and enforceability, and highlight the overreach of the measures.  Activities that could be criminalized under the bills without going through an FFL and obtaining government permission:

  • A man loaning his girlfriend or fiancée his handgun for self-protection when homes or apartments in her neighborhood have been burglarized;
  • A member of the military who is deployed overseas and wants to store his or her personal firearms with a trusted friend;
  • Someone borrowing their co-worker’s gun to take on a hunting trip, to the local range or to shoot on BLM land when the colleague cannot accompany him or her on the excursion.
  • Working ranch employees possessing and transporting ranch-owned rifles in vehicles or on their person.
  • Volunteers staging auction or raffle items for a non-profit, charitable fundraising event where a firearm is displayed.

SB 48 & 50 also require the return of loaned firearms to original owners be conducted through a licensed dealer, with completion of federal paperwork and payment of an undetermined fee.  The bill exempts “temporary” exchanges and only then if the transfer and the transferee’s possession take place exclusively at one of the locations or during one of the activities listed in the paragraph above.  How are the original owners of firearms supposed to take back permanent possession of their loaned guns once they and the original transferee go their separate ways?

These proposals will tax scarce law enforcement resources, cost law-abiding citizens time, money and freedom, and they will do nothing to stop criminals.  For more information, click here.  Please click the “Take Action” button above to contact your state lawmakers and the members of the committees to whom these bills have been referred and urge them to oppose these measures!

SB 48 – Referred to Senate Public Affairs Committee & Senate Judiciary Committee

 

Public Affairs:

Chair Gerald Ortiz Y Pino (D-ABQ)
505-986-4482
jortizyp@msn.com 

Sen. Bill O’Neill (D-ABQ)
505-986-4260
Oneillsd13@billoneillfornm.com 

Sen. Craig Brandt (R-Rio Rancho)
505-986-4385
Craig.brandt@nmlegis.gov 

Sen. Candace Gould (R-ABQ)
505-986-4266
Candace.gould@nmlegis.gov 

Sen. Liz Stefanics (D-Santa Fe)
505-986-4834
Liz.stefanics@nmlegis.gov

Sen. Jeff Steinborn (D-Las Cruces)
505-986-4862
Jeff.steinborn@nmlegis.gov

Sen. Mimi Stewart (D-ABQ)
505-986-4267
Mimi.stewart@nmlegis.gov

Sen. Stuart Ingle (R-Portales)
505-986-4702
Stuart.ingle@nmlegis.gov

 

Judiciary:

Chair Richard Martinez (D-Espanola)
505-986-4487
Richard.martinez@nmlegis.gov 

Sen. Daniel Ivey-Soto (D-ABQ)
505-986-4270
Daniel.ivey-soto@nmlegis.gov 

Sen. Greg Baca (R-Belen)
505-986-4874
Greg.baca@nmlegis.gov 

Sen. Jacob Candelaria (D-ABQ)
505-986-4369
Jacob.candelaria@nmlegis.gov 

Sen. Joseph Cervantes (D-Las Cruces)
505-986-4385
Joseph@cervanteslawnm.com 

Sen. Ron Griggs (R-Alamogordo)
505-986-4276
Ron.griggs@nmlegis.gov

Sen. Linda Lopez (D-ABQ)
505-986-4737
Linda.lopez@nmlegis.gov 

Sen. Cisco McSorley (D-ABQ)
505-986-4389
Cisco.mcsorley@nmlegis.gov 

Sen. Mark Moores (R-ABQ)
505-986-4859
Mark.moores@nmlegis.gov 

Sen. Peter Wirth (D-Santa Fe)
505-986-4861
Peter.wirth@nmlegis.gov 

Sen. Bill Payne (R-ABQ)
505-986-4703
William.payne@nmlegis.gov

 

HB 50 – Referred to House Consumer & Public Affairs Committee & House Judiciary Committee

 

Consumer & Public Affairs:

Chair Eliseo Alcon (D-Milan)
505-986-4220
Eliseo.alcon@nmlegis.gov 

Rep. Patricia Roybal Caballero (D-ABQ)
505-986-4221
Pat.roybalcaballero@nmlegis.gov 

Rep. Deborah Armstrong (D-ABQ)
505-986-4435
Deborah.armstrong@nmlegis.gov 

Rep. Bob Wooley (R-Roswell)
505-986-4454
Bobwooley66@gmail.com 

Rep. Monica Youngblood (R-ABQ)
505-986-4242
monica@mynmstaterep.com

 

Judiciary:

Chair Gail Chasey (D-ABQ)
505-986-4236
gail@gailchasey.com 

Rep. Javier Martinez (D-ABQ)
505-986-4464
Javier.martinez@nmlegis.gov 

Rep. Eliseo Alcon (D-Milan)
505-986-4220
Eliseo.alcon@nmlegis.gov 

Rep. Cathrynn Brown (R-Carlsbad)
505-986-4415
c.brown.nm55@gmail.com 

Rep. Zach Cook (R-Ruidoso)
505-986-4411
Zachary.cook@nmlegis.gov 

Rep. Jim Dines (R-ABQ)
505-986-4242
Jim.dines@nmlegis.gov 

Rep. Brian Egolf (D-Santa Fe)
505-986-4782
Brian.egolf@nmlegis.gov 

Rep. Daymon Ely (D-Corrales)
505-986-4454
Daymon.ely@nmlegis.gov

Rep. Nate Gentry (R-ABQ)
505-986-4757
natefornm@gmail.com

Rep. Georgene Louis (D-ABQ)
505-986-4236
Georgene.louis@nmlegis.gov

Rep. Matthew McQueen (D-Santa Fe)
505-986-4214
Matthew.mcqueen@nmlegis.gov

Rep. Greg Nibert (R-Roswell)
505-986-4211
Greg.nibert@nmlegis.gov

Rep. Bill Rehm (R-ABQ)
505-986-4425
Bill.rehm@nmlegis.gov

TRENDING NOW
Now With More Banning! Dianne Feinstein Introduces “Updated” Federal “Assault Weapons” Ban (S. 66)

News  

Friday, January 11, 2019

Now With More Banning! Dianne Feinstein Introduces “Updated” Federal “Assault Weapons” Ban (S. 66)

On Wednesday, longtime gun control extremist Dianne Feinstein (D-CA) introduced the latest version of her perennial bid to rid America of its most popular types of rifles, as well as the standard capacity magazines that ...

Washington: Committee Hearings Scheduled on Anti-Gun Bills

Wednesday, January 16, 2019

Washington: Committee Hearings Scheduled on Anti-Gun Bills

Anti-gun bills will be heard on January 21st at 10:00AM by the Washington state Senate Committee on Law & Justice and by the House Committee on Civil Rights & Judiciary on January 22nd at 10:00AM.

Wisconsin: Governor Evers Starts Session with Gun Control Push

Monday, January 14, 2019

Wisconsin: Governor Evers Starts Session with Gun Control Push

With the 2019 Wisconsin Legislative Session convened, Governor Tony Evers and Attorney General Josh Kaul are already working with legislators to pass sweeping gun control.

Illinois: Gov. Pritzker Signs Firearm Registration & Dealer Licensing Bill

Thursday, January 17, 2019

Illinois: Gov. Pritzker Signs Firearm Registration & Dealer Licensing Bill

Today, Governor J.B. Pritzker signed Senate Bill 337 into law.  Passed by the previous legislature in 2018, SB 337 will establish a firearm registry and shut down your local gun stores with government red tape.  Senate ...

Canada’s Gun Control Advocates Boast Handgun Ban is “Within Reach”

News  

Friday, January 11, 2019

Canada’s Gun Control Advocates Boast Handgun Ban is “Within Reach”

On August 28, 2018, Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau instructed Bill Blair, his minister of Border Security and Organized Crime Reduction, to examine the feasibility of “a full ban on handguns and assault weapons in ...

Monster Mistake, Take Two?

News  

Hunting  

Friday, January 11, 2019

Monster Mistake, Take Two?

Capitulating to radical, anti-gun extremism has become acceptable to some within the business community in recent years, especially for companies that seem to care little about our rights protected by the U.S. Constitution.  We’ve seen banks ...

Virginia: Gov. Northam’s Anti-Gun Bills to be Heard in Committees

Tuesday, January 15, 2019

Virginia: Gov. Northam’s Anti-Gun Bills to be Heard in Committees

This week, committees in both chambers of the Virginia General Assembly will be hearing an array of bills that are part of Governor Ralph Northam’s agenda to impose sweeping gun control in the Commonwealth.  The ...

Keep Telling Your Members of Congress to Oppose “Universal” Background Check Bills

News  

Friday, January 18, 2019

Keep Telling Your Members of Congress to Oppose “Universal” Background Check Bills

On January 8, two bills were introduced in Congress to impose so-called "universal" background checks. The bills, H.R. 8 and S. 42, are being misleadingly described as simply requiring background checks on all sales of firearms, but this is ...

Background Checks: No Impact on Criminals

News  

Friday, January 11, 2019

Background Checks: No Impact on Criminals

We have seen a generation of gun-grabbers rise and fall. The new generation of gun-grabbers are pushing for the same tired and baseless policies that won’t so much as inconvenience criminals. We understand the emotional ...

Illinois: Firearm Registration & Dealer Licensing Bill May Reach New Governor’s Desk

Friday, January 11, 2019

Illinois: Firearm Registration & Dealer Licensing Bill May Reach New Governor’s Desk

On January 10th, Illinois state Senate President John Cullerton removed a hold on a bill potentially to make the unprecedented move of attempting to send a bill passed by the previous legislature to a newly ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.