Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

SB 48 & HB 50 Update: Gun Control Bills Receive Committee Referrals in New Mexico House & Senate

Friday, January 20, 2017

SB 48 & HB 50 Update: Gun Control Bills Receive Committee Referrals in New Mexico House & Senate

Committee Hearings Could Take Place Soon!

Ex-NYC Mayor Michael Bloomberg’s national gun control group Everytown continues to mislead lawmakers that these two bills simply close the non-existent “gun show loophole” and regulate online firearms sales.  In fact, these measures are far more expansive. 

If you’re already familiar with these measures, scroll down to the action items below.  If you are just learning about them, read on below to find out how restrictive this legislation is:

Senate Bill 48 & House Bill 50 prohibit you from selling your firearms to any distant relatives, friends, neighbors, business associates, or fellow gun club members without government permission.  The bills would criminalize nearly all private firearm sales between individuals, regardless of where those transactions take place, and require them to be conducted through a licensed dealer involving extensive federal paperwork, background check and payment of an undetermined fee.  Licensed dealers will have to maintain the paperwork recording these transfers for twenty years.  Limited exceptions are only made for immediate family members, FFLs and law enforcement agencies, executors or administrators of estates and trusts, or police officers, military personnel, and licensed security guards acting in the course of their official duties. 

SB 48 & HB 50 similarly restrict temporary firearm transfers -- including gifts, loans, and temporary changes in possession of a firearm, not just gun sales.  There are a limited number of exemptions, including transfers necessary to prevent imminent death or great bodily harm, those taking place exclusively at shooting ranges, while hunting or trapping, or during an organized competition or performance, or any time the transferor remains present the entire duration of the transfer.  These exemptions are confusing, raise serious questions about the bills’ scope, compliance and enforceability, and highlight the overreach of the measures.  Activities that could be criminalized under the bills without going through an FFL and obtaining government permission:

  • A man loaning his girlfriend or fiancée his handgun for self-protection when homes or apartments in her neighborhood have been burglarized;
  • A member of the military who is deployed overseas and wants to store his or her personal firearms with a trusted friend;
  • Someone borrowing their co-worker’s gun to take on a hunting trip, to the local range or to shoot on BLM land when the colleague cannot accompany him or her on the excursion.
  • Working ranch employees possessing and transporting ranch-owned rifles in vehicles or on their person.
  • Volunteers staging auction or raffle items for a non-profit, charitable fundraising event where a firearm is displayed.

SB 48 & 50 also require the return of loaned firearms to original owners be conducted through a licensed dealer, with completion of federal paperwork and payment of an undetermined fee.  The bill exempts “temporary” exchanges and only then if the transfer and the transferee’s possession take place exclusively at one of the locations or during one of the activities listed in the paragraph above.  How are the original owners of firearms supposed to take back permanent possession of their loaned guns once they and the original transferee go their separate ways?

These proposals will tax scarce law enforcement resources, cost law-abiding citizens time, money and freedom, and they will do nothing to stop criminals.  For more information, click here.  Please click the “Take Action” button above to contact your state lawmakers and the members of the committees to whom these bills have been referred and urge them to oppose these measures!

SB 48 – Referred to Senate Public Affairs Committee & Senate Judiciary Committee

 

Public Affairs:

Chair Gerald Ortiz Y Pino (D-ABQ)
505-986-4482
jortizyp@msn.com 

Sen. Bill O’Neill (D-ABQ)
505-986-4260
Oneillsd13@billoneillfornm.com 

Sen. Craig Brandt (R-Rio Rancho)
505-986-4385
Craig.brandt@nmlegis.gov 

Sen. Candace Gould (R-ABQ)
505-986-4266
Candace.gould@nmlegis.gov 

Sen. Liz Stefanics (D-Santa Fe)
505-986-4834
Liz.stefanics@nmlegis.gov

Sen. Jeff Steinborn (D-Las Cruces)
505-986-4862
Jeff.steinborn@nmlegis.gov

Sen. Mimi Stewart (D-ABQ)
505-986-4267
Mimi.stewart@nmlegis.gov

Sen. Stuart Ingle (R-Portales)
505-986-4702
Stuart.ingle@nmlegis.gov

 

Judiciary:

Chair Richard Martinez (D-Espanola)
505-986-4487
Richard.martinez@nmlegis.gov 

Sen. Daniel Ivey-Soto (D-ABQ)
505-986-4270
Daniel.ivey-soto@nmlegis.gov 

Sen. Greg Baca (R-Belen)
505-986-4874
Greg.baca@nmlegis.gov 

Sen. Jacob Candelaria (D-ABQ)
505-986-4369
Jacob.candelaria@nmlegis.gov 

Sen. Joseph Cervantes (D-Las Cruces)
505-986-4385
Joseph@cervanteslawnm.com 

Sen. Ron Griggs (R-Alamogordo)
505-986-4276
Ron.griggs@nmlegis.gov

Sen. Linda Lopez (D-ABQ)
505-986-4737
Linda.lopez@nmlegis.gov 

Sen. Cisco McSorley (D-ABQ)
505-986-4389
Cisco.mcsorley@nmlegis.gov 

Sen. Mark Moores (R-ABQ)
505-986-4859
Mark.moores@nmlegis.gov 

Sen. Peter Wirth (D-Santa Fe)
505-986-4861
Peter.wirth@nmlegis.gov 

Sen. Bill Payne (R-ABQ)
505-986-4703
William.payne@nmlegis.gov

 

HB 50 – Referred to House Consumer & Public Affairs Committee & House Judiciary Committee

 

Consumer & Public Affairs:

Chair Eliseo Alcon (D-Milan)
505-986-4220
Eliseo.alcon@nmlegis.gov 

Rep. Patricia Roybal Caballero (D-ABQ)
505-986-4221
Pat.roybalcaballero@nmlegis.gov 

Rep. Deborah Armstrong (D-ABQ)
505-986-4435
Deborah.armstrong@nmlegis.gov 

Rep. Bob Wooley (R-Roswell)
505-986-4454
Bobwooley66@gmail.com 

Rep. Monica Youngblood (R-ABQ)
505-986-4242
monica@mynmstaterep.com

 

Judiciary:

Chair Gail Chasey (D-ABQ)
505-986-4236
gail@gailchasey.com 

Rep. Javier Martinez (D-ABQ)
505-986-4464
Javier.martinez@nmlegis.gov 

Rep. Eliseo Alcon (D-Milan)
505-986-4220
Eliseo.alcon@nmlegis.gov 

Rep. Cathrynn Brown (R-Carlsbad)
505-986-4415
c.brown.nm55@gmail.com 

Rep. Zach Cook (R-Ruidoso)
505-986-4411
Zachary.cook@nmlegis.gov 

Rep. Jim Dines (R-ABQ)
505-986-4242
Jim.dines@nmlegis.gov 

Rep. Brian Egolf (D-Santa Fe)
505-986-4782
Brian.egolf@nmlegis.gov 

Rep. Daymon Ely (D-Corrales)
505-986-4454
Daymon.ely@nmlegis.gov

Rep. Nate Gentry (R-ABQ)
505-986-4757
natefornm@gmail.com

Rep. Georgene Louis (D-ABQ)
505-986-4236
Georgene.louis@nmlegis.gov

Rep. Matthew McQueen (D-Santa Fe)
505-986-4214
Matthew.mcqueen@nmlegis.gov

Rep. Greg Nibert (R-Roswell)
505-986-4211
Greg.nibert@nmlegis.gov

Rep. Bill Rehm (R-ABQ)
505-986-4425
Bill.rehm@nmlegis.gov

TRENDING NOW
Washington: Substitute Version of Gun Control Bill Passes House Committee

Friday, January 19, 2018

Washington: Substitute Version of Gun Control Bill Passes House Committee

Yesterday, the House Judiciary Committee passed Substitute House Bill 1122 out of committee on a 7-6 vote.  This bill, which would require gun owners to lock up their firearms or potentially face criminal charges, will ...

Washington: Trigger Modification Ban Passes Committee

Tuesday, January 16, 2018

Washington: Trigger Modification Ban Passes Committee

Earlier today, the Washington state Senate Law & Justice Committee passed Senate Bill 5992 out of committee with a 4-3 vote. As drafted, this legislation has overreaching language that would ban modifications commonly made to ...

Crossing the Line – Firearm Preemption Protection Under Attack

News  

Friday, January 19, 2018

Crossing the Line – Firearm Preemption Protection Under Attack

Gun control groups are fond of describing preemption as a doctrine whereby a state has stripped local governments of their power to regulate guns.

Australia: Queensland’s Labor Party Government Targets MP for Gun Control Heresy

News  

Friday, January 19, 2018

Australia: Queensland’s Labor Party Government Targets MP for Gun Control Heresy

The sorry state of gun politics in Australia was put into stark relief recently, after Liberal National Party (LNP) Queensland Legislative Assembly MP Anthony Perrett took a principled stand in favor of his constituents’ gun rights.

Arizona: Signature Gathering Underway For Hunting Ban Initiative

Hunting  

Friday, January 19, 2018

Arizona: Signature Gathering Underway For Hunting Ban Initiative

The Humane Society of the United States (HSUS) and their front-group “Arizonans for Wildlife” are currently gathering signatures for a ballot initiative that would ban the hunting and trapping of mountain lions and bobcats in ...

Washington: House Judiciary to Hear Gun Control Bills

Thursday, January 18, 2018

Washington: House Judiciary to Hear Gun Control Bills

On Thursday, January 25th at 1:30PM, the House Judiciary Committee is scheduled to hear several sweeping gun control bills.  NRA Members and Second Amendment supporters are strongly encouraged to attend the committee hearing to voice your opposition ...

New Jersey:  2018 Brings Bigger Challenges for New Jersey Gun Owners

Friday, January 19, 2018

New Jersey: 2018 Brings Bigger Challenges for New Jersey Gun Owners

A new Governor took the reins from Gov. Chris Christie this week, and a new Legislature has been sworn into office. 

Indiana: Rifle Hunting Bill Passes Senate

Hunting  

Friday, January 19, 2018

Indiana: Rifle Hunting Bill Passes Senate

On Thursday, January 18th, Senate Bill 20 passed the Indiana state Senate by a vote of 47-2 and will now move to the House.  

Hawaii: Trigger Modification Ban Introduced in the Senate

Thursday, January 18, 2018

Hawaii: Trigger Modification Ban Introduced in the Senate

Today, Senator Karl Rhoads (D-13) introduced legislation that would ban modifications commonly made to firearms by law-abiding citizens.  SB 2046 is currently pending a committee referral.  Please contact your Senator today and urge them to OPPOSE this ...

Eighteen States, Law Enforcement, Doctors, and Firearm Rights Groups File Amicus Briefs in Lawsuit Challenging California 10+ Magazine Ban

Tuesday, January 16, 2018

Eighteen States, Law Enforcement, Doctors, and Firearm Rights Groups File Amicus Briefs in Lawsuit Challenging California 10+ Magazine Ban

On Friday, January 12, several amicus briefs were filed in the NRA and CRPA supported lawsuit challenging California’s restrictions against magazines capable of holding more than 10 rounds. The lawsuit, titled Duncan v. Becerra, challenges California’s ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.