Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Florida Alert: FULL HOUSE to Hear Pro-Gun Bills on Tuesday -- ACT NOW

Saturday, January 30, 2016

DATE:  January 30, 2015
TO: USF & NRA Members and Friends
FROM:  Marion P. Hammer
  USF Executive Director
  NRA Past President

  
House Speaker Steve Crisafulli, a true Second Amendment supporter, has put 4 bills that are important to the protection of Second Amendment rights and the rights law-abiding gun owners, on Special Order Calendar for Tuesday, Feb 2, 2016, so the full House can review and take action on these bills.

The bills are:

(1) HB-163 Open Carry/CW License Holders by Rep. Matt Gaetz (the Senate companion, SB-300 by Sen. Don Gaetz, is currently awaiting a hearing in the Senate Judiciary Committee)  

HB-163 is a bill to allow persons with a Concealed Weapons & Firearms License to carry firearms concealed or openly which will prevent CW license holders from being charged with the crime of violating the "Open Carry" law because a concealed firearm, being legally carried, accidentally or inadvertently becomes visible to the sight of another person.

(2) HB-4001 Campus Carry/CW License Holders by Rep. Greg Steube (R) & Rep. Michelle Rehwinkel-Vasilinda (D) (the Senate companion, SB-68 by Sen. Greg Evers (R) is currently awaiting a hearing in the Senate Judiciary Committee)  

This bill will remove the ban on law-abiding gun owners, who are 21 years of age or older and who have a License to Carry Concealed, from carrying concealed weapons firearms on college and university campuses for protection.  It will only allow license holders to carry on campus.

(3) HB-135 Mandatory Minimum Sentences  by Rep. Neil Combee (the Senate companion, SB-228 by Sen. Aaron Bean has already passed the full Senate)

This bill removes aggravated assault from the 10-20-Life Mandatory Minimum Sentences.  Some State Attorneys and their prosecutors have been wrongfully using 10-20-Life to prosecute people who were exercising self-defense.  This bill stops prosecutors from trying to put people in prison for 10 years if they show a gun to scare off an attacker or 20 years for firing a warning shot to stop attackers.

(4)  HB-41 Unlawful Discharge of Firearms by Rep. Neil Combee (the Senate companion, SB-130 by Sen. Garrett Richter has already passed the full Senate)

This bill protects property owners who live on large parcels of acreage with no nearby neighbors who can't target practice on their own property because their property is in an area zoned exclusively for residential use. It clarifies existing law on unlawful discharge in residential neighborhoods by defining it as those neighborhoods with a residential density of one or more dwellings per acre.

Further, the bill exempts property in those residential neighborhoods where recreational discharge poses "no foreseeable danger or risk to life, safety, or property" – Example: property that backs up to the ocean or a large body of water, forest or other large uninhabited parcel where there is no foreseeable risk.  It also exempts "accidental discharge" and discharge when "lawfully defending life or property."

IT IS CRITICALLY IMPORTANT THAT YOU EMAIL HOUSE MEMBERS AND ASK THEM TO SUPPORT THESE FOUR (4) BILLS

In the subject line put:  PLEASE SUPPORT Pro-gun Bills HB-163, HB-4001, HB-135 & HB-41

(Block and Copy All email addresses into the "Send To" box)

janet.adkins@myfloridahouse.gov,
larry.ahern@myfloridahouse.gov,
ben.albritton@myfloridahouse.gov,
frank.artiles@myfloridahouse.gov,
Bryan.Avila@myfloridahouse.gov,
dennis.baxley@myfloridahouse.gov,
Halsey.Beshears@myfloridahouse.gov,
michael.bileca@myfloridahouse.gov,
jim.boyd@myfloridahouse.gov,
jason.brodeur@myfloridahouse.gov,
doug.broxson@myfloridahouse.gov,
danny.burgess@myfloridahouse.gov,
Colleen.Burton@myfloridahouse.gov,
matt.caldwell@myfloridahouse.gov,
neil.combee@myfloridahouse.gov,
richard.corcoran@myfloridahouse.gov,
Bob.Cortes@myfloridahouse.gov,
Fred.Costello@myfloridahouse.gov,
steve.crisafulli@myfloridahouse.gov,
travis.cummings@myfloridahouse.gov,
jose.diaz@myfloridahouse.gov,
Manny.Diaz@myfloridahouse.gov,
brad.drake@myfloridahouse.gov,
Dane.Eagle@myfloridahouse.gov,
Katie.Edwards@myfloridahouse.gov,
Eric.Eisnaugle@myfloridahouse.gov,
Jay.Fant@myfloridahouse.gov,
Heather.Fitzenhagen@myfloridahouse.gov,
erik.fresen@myfloridahouse.gov,
matt.gaetz@myfloridahouse.gov,
Julio.Gonzalez@myfloridahouse.gov,
tom.goodson@myfloridahouse.gov,
bill.hager@myfloridahouse.gov,
gayle.harrell@myfloridahouse.gov,
shawn.harrison@myfloridahouse.gov,
mike.hill@myfloridahouse.gov,
matt.hudson@myfloridahouse.gov,
Blaise.Ingoglia@myfloridahouse.gov,
clay.ingram@myfloridahouse.gov,
Mike.LaRosa@myfloridahouse.gov,
Chris.Latvala@myfloridahouse.gov,
MaryLynn.Magar@myfloridahouse.gov,
debbie.mayfield@myfloridahouse.gov,
charles.mcburney@myfloridahouse.gov,
larry.metz@myfloridahouse.gov,
Mike.Miller@myfloridahouse.gov,
george.moraitis@myfloridahouse.gov,
jeanette.nunez@myfloridahouse.gov,
jose.oliva@myfloridahouse.gov,
marlene.otoole@myfloridahouse.gov,
kathleen.passidomo@myfloridahouse.gov,
keith.perry@myfloridahouse.gov,
Kathleen.Peters@myfloridahouse.gov,
Cary.Pigman@myfloridahouse.gov,
ray.pilon@myfloridahouse.gov,
Scott.Plakon@myfloridahouse.gov,
Rene.Plasencia@myfloridahouse.gov,
elizabeth.porter@myfloridahouse.gov,
Jake.Raburn@myfloridahouse.gov,
Holly.Raschein@myfloridahouse.gov,
dan.raulerson@myfloridahouse.gov,
lake.ray@myfloridahouse.gov,
michelle.rehwinkel@myfloridahouse.gov,
ronald.renuart@myfloridahouse.gov,
ken.roberson@myfloridahouse.gov,
Ray.Rodrigues@myfloridahouse.gov,
pat.rooney@myfloridahouse.gov,
david.santiago@myfloridahouse.gov,
jimmie.smith@myfloridahouse.gov,
ross.spano@myfloridahouse.gov,
Chris.Sprowls@myfloridahouse.gov,
greg.steube@myfloridahouse.gov,
Charlie.Stone@myfloridahouse.gov,
Jennifer.Sullivan@myfloridahouse.gov,
john.tobia@myfloridahouse.gov,
carlos.trujillo@myfloridahouse.gov,
Jay.Trumbull@myfloridahouse.gov,
charles.vanzant@myfloridahouse.gov,
john.wood@myfloridahouse.gov,
ritch.workman@myfloridahouse.gov,
dana.young@myfloridahouse.gov

 

YOUR HELP IS CRITICALLY IMPORTANT!
It is imperative that you begin emailing these House members right away.

 

IN THIS ARTICLE
Florida Open Carry Campus Carry
TRENDING NOW
Beto Going All-In on Confiscation

News  

Sunday, September 15, 2019

Beto Going All-In on Confiscation

Democrat Presidential candidate Beto O’Rourke continues to struggle to gain any sort of traction for his campaign. With some polls putting him in 10th place, and his average sitting around 7th, some might say that it is desperation ...

Tell Your Lawmakers: No Semi-Auto and Magazine Ban!

News  

Sunday, September 15, 2019

Tell Your Lawmakers: No Semi-Auto and Magazine Ban!

The Democrat Party is now so aligned with gun control that every major candidate running for its 2020 presidential nomination recently appeared in a propaganda video produced by one of the nation’s most active firearm prohibition groups. ...

NRA Files Suit Against San Francisco for Violating First Amendment

News  

Sunday, September 15, 2019

NRA Files Suit Against San Francisco for Violating First Amendment

On September 3, the San Francisco Board of Supervisors smeared millions of law-abiding Americans by unanimously adopting a resolution that designated NRA a “domestic terrorist organization.” Less than one week later, on September 9, NRA filed a federal lawsuit ...

New Hampshire: House to Vote on Gov. Sununu's Vetoes of Anti-Gun Bills

Tuesday, September 17, 2019

New Hampshire: House to Vote on Gov. Sununu's Vetoes of Anti-Gun Bills

On Wednesday, September 18th, the New Hampshire House of Representatives will vote on Governor Chris Sununu's vetoes of three anti-gun bills sent to his desk by the General Court.  Anti-gun Representatives who remain stubbornly committed to ...

House Democrats Continue Unprecedented Push for More Gun Control

News  

Sunday, September 15, 2019

House Democrats Continue Unprecedented Push for More Gun Control

As was continually threatened while Congress was on its six-week Summer break, House Democrats hastily convened a hearing on Tuesday to promote their latest batch of anti-gun bills.  The House Judiciary Committee’s markup of three bills, ...

California: Carson City Council to Hear Unconstitutional Resolution Targeting Lawful Firearm Possession and Sales

Tuesday, September 17, 2019

California: Carson City Council to Hear Unconstitutional Resolution Targeting Lawful Firearm Possession and Sales

Today, September 17 at 5pm PST, the Carson City Council will be considering a late addition to this evening’s City Council meeting, Resolution 19-1693.  ​The resolution is being pushed by Mayor Albert Robles in an effort to prohibit firearm ...

NASCAR Takes a Hard Left

News  

Friday, August 30, 2019

NASCAR Takes a Hard Left

After decades of NASCAR drivers literally turning left for hours every race day (road course races excluded, of course), the governing body appears to be taking a figurative left turn, politically. K-Var, a retailer in outdoor and ...

Playing Games with Numbers

News  

Sunday, September 15, 2019

Playing Games with Numbers

Stanford Law Professor John Donohue and Theodora Boulouta, a Stanford undergrad, wrote an opinion piece in the New York Times that claims their new research shows the 1994 “assault weapons” ban really did work.  Their finding is ...

Monday, August 19, 2019

Florida Alert! "Assault Weapons" Ban Amendment Bans ALL SEMIAUTOMATIC RIFLES AND SHOTGUNS

The so-called "assault weapons" ban that is proposed for a constitutional amendment to be on the 2020 Election Ballot bans the possession of: “any semiautomatic rifle or shotgun CAPABLE of holding more than ten (10) rounds ...

California: Carson City Council Fails to Pass Unconstitutional Resolution Targeting Lawful Firearm Possession and Sales

Wednesday, September 18, 2019

California: Carson City Council Fails to Pass Unconstitutional Resolution Targeting Lawful Firearm Possession and Sales

Yesterday, September 17, the Carson City Council failed to pass anti-gun Resolution 19-1693.  ​The resolution was being pushed by Mayor Albert Robles in an effort to prohibit firearm dealers and firearm possession in the City of Carson to the ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.