Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Florida Alert: FULL HOUSE to Hear Pro-Gun Bills on Tuesday -- ACT NOW

Saturday, January 30, 2016

DATE:  January 30, 2015
TO: USF & NRA Members and Friends
FROM:  Marion P. Hammer
  USF Executive Director
  NRA Past President

  
House Speaker Steve Crisafulli, a true Second Amendment supporter, has put 4 bills that are important to the protection of Second Amendment rights and the rights law-abiding gun owners, on Special Order Calendar for Tuesday, Feb 2, 2016, so the full House can review and take action on these bills.

The bills are:

(1) HB-163 Open Carry/CW License Holders by Rep. Matt Gaetz (the Senate companion, SB-300 by Sen. Don Gaetz, is currently awaiting a hearing in the Senate Judiciary Committee)  

HB-163 is a bill to allow persons with a Concealed Weapons & Firearms License to carry firearms concealed or openly which will prevent CW license holders from being charged with the crime of violating the "Open Carry" law because a concealed firearm, being legally carried, accidentally or inadvertently becomes visible to the sight of another person.

(2) HB-4001 Campus Carry/CW License Holders by Rep. Greg Steube (R) & Rep. Michelle Rehwinkel-Vasilinda (D) (the Senate companion, SB-68 by Sen. Greg Evers (R) is currently awaiting a hearing in the Senate Judiciary Committee)  

This bill will remove the ban on law-abiding gun owners, who are 21 years of age or older and who have a License to Carry Concealed, from carrying concealed weapons firearms on college and university campuses for protection.  It will only allow license holders to carry on campus.

(3) HB-135 Mandatory Minimum Sentences  by Rep. Neil Combee (the Senate companion, SB-228 by Sen. Aaron Bean has already passed the full Senate)

This bill removes aggravated assault from the 10-20-Life Mandatory Minimum Sentences.  Some State Attorneys and their prosecutors have been wrongfully using 10-20-Life to prosecute people who were exercising self-defense.  This bill stops prosecutors from trying to put people in prison for 10 years if they show a gun to scare off an attacker or 20 years for firing a warning shot to stop attackers.

(4)  HB-41 Unlawful Discharge of Firearms by Rep. Neil Combee (the Senate companion, SB-130 by Sen. Garrett Richter has already passed the full Senate)

This bill protects property owners who live on large parcels of acreage with no nearby neighbors who can't target practice on their own property because their property is in an area zoned exclusively for residential use. It clarifies existing law on unlawful discharge in residential neighborhoods by defining it as those neighborhoods with a residential density of one or more dwellings per acre.

Further, the bill exempts property in those residential neighborhoods where recreational discharge poses "no foreseeable danger or risk to life, safety, or property" – Example: property that backs up to the ocean or a large body of water, forest or other large uninhabited parcel where there is no foreseeable risk.  It also exempts "accidental discharge" and discharge when "lawfully defending life or property."

IT IS CRITICALLY IMPORTANT THAT YOU EMAIL HOUSE MEMBERS AND ASK THEM TO SUPPORT THESE FOUR (4) BILLS

In the subject line put:  PLEASE SUPPORT Pro-gun Bills HB-163, HB-4001, HB-135 & HB-41

(Block and Copy All email addresses into the "Send To" box)

janet.adkins@myfloridahouse.gov,
larry.ahern@myfloridahouse.gov,
ben.albritton@myfloridahouse.gov,
frank.artiles@myfloridahouse.gov,
Bryan.Avila@myfloridahouse.gov,
dennis.baxley@myfloridahouse.gov,
Halsey.Beshears@myfloridahouse.gov,
michael.bileca@myfloridahouse.gov,
jim.boyd@myfloridahouse.gov,
jason.brodeur@myfloridahouse.gov,
doug.broxson@myfloridahouse.gov,
danny.burgess@myfloridahouse.gov,
Colleen.Burton@myfloridahouse.gov,
matt.caldwell@myfloridahouse.gov,
neil.combee@myfloridahouse.gov,
richard.corcoran@myfloridahouse.gov,
Bob.Cortes@myfloridahouse.gov,
Fred.Costello@myfloridahouse.gov,
steve.crisafulli@myfloridahouse.gov,
travis.cummings@myfloridahouse.gov,
jose.diaz@myfloridahouse.gov,
Manny.Diaz@myfloridahouse.gov,
brad.drake@myfloridahouse.gov,
Dane.Eagle@myfloridahouse.gov,
Katie.Edwards@myfloridahouse.gov,
Eric.Eisnaugle@myfloridahouse.gov,
Jay.Fant@myfloridahouse.gov,
Heather.Fitzenhagen@myfloridahouse.gov,
erik.fresen@myfloridahouse.gov,
matt.gaetz@myfloridahouse.gov,
Julio.Gonzalez@myfloridahouse.gov,
tom.goodson@myfloridahouse.gov,
bill.hager@myfloridahouse.gov,
gayle.harrell@myfloridahouse.gov,
shawn.harrison@myfloridahouse.gov,
mike.hill@myfloridahouse.gov,
matt.hudson@myfloridahouse.gov,
Blaise.Ingoglia@myfloridahouse.gov,
clay.ingram@myfloridahouse.gov,
Mike.LaRosa@myfloridahouse.gov,
Chris.Latvala@myfloridahouse.gov,
MaryLynn.Magar@myfloridahouse.gov,
debbie.mayfield@myfloridahouse.gov,
charles.mcburney@myfloridahouse.gov,
larry.metz@myfloridahouse.gov,
Mike.Miller@myfloridahouse.gov,
george.moraitis@myfloridahouse.gov,
jeanette.nunez@myfloridahouse.gov,
jose.oliva@myfloridahouse.gov,
marlene.otoole@myfloridahouse.gov,
kathleen.passidomo@myfloridahouse.gov,
keith.perry@myfloridahouse.gov,
Kathleen.Peters@myfloridahouse.gov,
Cary.Pigman@myfloridahouse.gov,
ray.pilon@myfloridahouse.gov,
Scott.Plakon@myfloridahouse.gov,
Rene.Plasencia@myfloridahouse.gov,
elizabeth.porter@myfloridahouse.gov,
Jake.Raburn@myfloridahouse.gov,
Holly.Raschein@myfloridahouse.gov,
dan.raulerson@myfloridahouse.gov,
lake.ray@myfloridahouse.gov,
michelle.rehwinkel@myfloridahouse.gov,
ronald.renuart@myfloridahouse.gov,
ken.roberson@myfloridahouse.gov,
Ray.Rodrigues@myfloridahouse.gov,
pat.rooney@myfloridahouse.gov,
david.santiago@myfloridahouse.gov,
jimmie.smith@myfloridahouse.gov,
ross.spano@myfloridahouse.gov,
Chris.Sprowls@myfloridahouse.gov,
greg.steube@myfloridahouse.gov,
Charlie.Stone@myfloridahouse.gov,
Jennifer.Sullivan@myfloridahouse.gov,
john.tobia@myfloridahouse.gov,
carlos.trujillo@myfloridahouse.gov,
Jay.Trumbull@myfloridahouse.gov,
charles.vanzant@myfloridahouse.gov,
john.wood@myfloridahouse.gov,
ritch.workman@myfloridahouse.gov,
dana.young@myfloridahouse.gov

 

YOUR HELP IS CRITICALLY IMPORTANT!
It is imperative that you begin emailing these House members right away.

 

IN THIS ARTICLE
Florida Open Carry Campus Carry
TRENDING NOW
Mainstream Media Misrepresents NRA's Position on Right-to-Carry Permits

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, June 23, 2017

Mainstream Media Misrepresents NRA's Position on Right-to-Carry Permits

There is an ongoing debate as to the severity of the decline in the modern attention span. However, in a world pervaded by 140 character messages and trivial clickbait articles, few would argue that many ...

Nationwide Firearms Turn-in Not Enough for Australia’s Gun Haters

News  

Friday, June 23, 2017

Nationwide Firearms Turn-in Not Enough for Australia’s Gun Haters

On July 1, Australia begins National Firearms Amnesty 2017, the country’s fourth federal firearms buyback (more accurately termed turn-in) or amnesty program since 1987. According to the Australian government, officials hope to capture some of ...

Steadfast Czechs Fight on Against EU Gun Control

News  

Friday, June 23, 2017

Steadfast Czechs Fight on Against EU Gun Control

The European Union’s new restrictions on firearms ownership were finalized on May 24, when the misguided changes to the European Firearms Directive were published in the political bloc’s Official Journal. Despite this setback, the Czech ...

Delaware: Hearing Scheduled for Radical Gun Seizure Legislation

Tuesday, June 20, 2017

Delaware: Hearing Scheduled for Radical Gun Seizure Legislation

Tomorrow, the House Administration Committee is scheduled to consider House Bill 222.

Rhode Island: Last Chance to Stop Anti-Gun Bill

Friday, June 23, 2017

Rhode Island: Last Chance to Stop Anti-Gun Bill

The Rhode Island Legislature is going to be ending their six-month session any day now, and as we approach the finish line, this is the most dangerous time for gun owners.

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

Gun Laws  

Thursday, January 1, 2015

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

CAUTION: Federal and state firearms laws are subject to frequent change. This summary is not to be considered as legal advice or a restatement of law.

NJ Court: State Can’t Criminalize Possession of “Pencils” and Other Lawful Objects for Home Self-defense

News  

Friday, June 16, 2017

NJ Court: State Can’t Criminalize Possession of “Pencils” and Other Lawful Objects for Home Self-defense

It is refreshing to finally see some common sense coming out of a court in NJ, as the state is notoriously known for its illogical and Draconian gun laws that do little more than make ...

Goodyear Fires Australian Competitive Shooter over Simple Miscommunication

News  

Friday, June 16, 2017

Goodyear Fires Australian Competitive Shooter over Simple Miscommunication

In the United States there have been a handful of high-profile incidents in which an employer has terminated an employee following the employee’s use of a gun in self-defense while at the workplace. In recent ...

NRA Statement on Peruta v. California

News  

Monday, June 26, 2017

NRA Statement on Peruta v. California

The executive director of the National Rifle Association Institute for Legislative Action, Chris W. Cox, released the following statement Monday regarding the United States Supreme Court's denial of petition in the case of Peruta v. ...

Concealed Carry Reciprocity Effort Gains Steam in Congress

News  

Friday, June 9, 2017

Concealed Carry Reciprocity Effort Gains Steam in Congress

In March, we reported on the details of NRA-backed concealed carry reciprocity legislation pending in Congress. The momentum behind those bills continues to build, with each attracting dozens of co-sponsors.

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.