Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Nevada: Ivory Bill to Be Heard in Senate Committee Tomorrow

Thursday, April 2, 2015

Nevada: Ivory Bill to Be Heard in Senate Committee Tomorrow

On Friday, Senate Bill 398 introduced by Senator Mo Denis (D-2), will be heard in the Senate Commerce, Labor and Energy Committee.  SB 398 would prohibit the sale, offer for sale, lease, purchase, trade, barter, distribution or transfer of possession of ivory or ivory product in Nevada, absent limited exceptions.  SB 398 was introduced with the intent of curbing poaching of elephants in Africa and helping to end the illegal ivory trade.  Unfortunately, SB 398 would not accomplish its purported objective and would only have a negative impact on those who possess lawfully acquired ivory. 

Historically, the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service maintained the position that most ivory in the U.S. has been legally imported and that its sale in the U.S. did not materially contribute to the illegal ivory trade.  Nevertheless, under SB 398, virtually any lawful item containing any amount of ivory, with very limited and narrow exceptions, would be rendered valueless as it would be a misdemeanor for you to sell it or for another person to buy it.  The bottom line is: any property made from a product that was lawfully acquired should not be made illegal to sell; such an action is effectively a taking of property without compensation.

Senate Bill 398 is scheduled for a hearing in the Senate Commerce, Labor and Energy Committee tomorrow, April 3 at 8:30 a.m.  Please contact the members of the Senate Commerce, Labor and Energy Committee and politely urge them to OPPOSE Senate Bill 398.  Committee contact information can be found below.

Senate Commerce, Labor and Energy Committee:

Senator James Settelmeyer (R-17), Chair
(775) 684-1470
James.settelmeyer@sen.state.nv.us 

Senator Patricia Farley (R-8), Vice-Chair
(775) 684-1445
Patricia.farley@sen.state.nv.us

Senator Joseph Hardy (R-12)
(775) 684-1462
Joe.hardy@sen.state.nv.us

Senator Becky Harris (R-9)
(775) 684-1421
Becky.harris@sen.state.nv.us

Senator Mark Manendo (D-21)
(775) 684-6503
Mark.manendo@sen.state.nv.us

Senator Kelvin Atkinson (D-4)
(775) 684-1429
Kelvin.atkinson@sen.state.nv.us

Senator Pat Spearman (D-1)
(775) 684-1424
Pat.spearman@sen.state.nv.us

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.