Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Kansas: Permitless Carry to Receive Hearing Friday in House Committee

Monday, March 9, 2015

Kansas: Permitless Carry to Receive Hearing Friday in House Committee

On Friday, March 13, at 9:00 a.m. in room 346-S, the House Committee on Federal and State Affairs will hold a hearing on Senate Bill 45, NRA-backed permitless carry legislation.  Please consider attending this hearing and showing your strong support for this important reform to Kansas concealed carry statutes.

Authored by Senate Majority Leader Terry Bruce (R-34), SB 45 recognizes Kansans’ freedom to legally carry a concealed firearm without the burdensome requirement of acquiring a Kansas concealed carry handgun license (CCHL).  SB 45 is a necessary update to concealed carry in Kansas, allowing law-abiding gun owners the ability to better protect themselves and their loved ones.  In Kansas, it is already legal to carry a firearm openly, as long as the individual is not prohibited by law from possessing a firearm.  However, under current law, if a firearm becomes covered by a coat or if a woman prefers to carry a firearm for self-protection in her purse, he or she would need to possess a CCHL. 

This legislation gives Kansans the freedom to choose the best method of carrying for them, based on their attire, gender and/or physical attributes.   However, this legislation would also keep in place the current permitting system so that people who obtain a permit could still enjoy the reciprocity agreements that Kansas has with other states and their NICS exemption when purchasing a new firearm.   

If you are able, please attend Friday’s hearing to support SB 45.  If you cannot attend, please use the contact information provided below to call and email members of the House Committee on Federal and State Affairs and urge them to vote for this important measure.

House Committee on Federal and State Affairs:

Representative Steve Brunk (R-85), Chairman
Phone: 316-744-1547"
Email: steve.brunk@house.ks.gov

Representative Travis Couture-Lovelady (R-110), Vice Chairman
Phone: 785 296-4683
Email: travis.couture-lovelady@house.ks.gov

Representative Annie Tietze (D-53), Ranking Minority Member
Phone: 785 296-7668
Email: annie.tietze@house.ks.gov

Representative Steven Becker (R-104)
Phone: 785 296-7196
Email: steven.becker@house.ks.gov

Representative John Bradford (R-40)
Phone: 785 296-7653
Email: john.bradford@house.ks.gov

Representative Stephanie Clayton (R-19)
Phone: 785 296-7548
Email: stephanie.clayton@house.ks.gov

Representative Susan Concannon (R-107)
Phone: 785 296-7677
Email: susan.concannon@house.ks.gov

Representative Bud Estes (R-119)
Phone: 785-296-6287
Email: bud.estes@house.ks.gov

Representative John Ewy (R-117)
Phone: 785 296-7105
Email: john.ewy@house.ks.gov

Representative Lane Hemsley (R-56)
Phone: 785 817-7533
Email: lane.hemsley@house.ks.gov

Representative Broderick Henderson (D-35)
Phone: 785 296-7697
Email: broderick.henderson@house.ks.gov

Representative Brett Hildabrand (R-17)
Phone: 785 296-7331
Email: brett.hildabrand@house.ks.gov

Representative Don Hineman (R-118)
Phone: 785 296-7636
Email: don.hineman@house.ks.gov

Representative Michael Houser (R-1)
Phone: 785 296-7679
Email: michael.houser@house.ks.gov

Representative Dick Jones (R-52)
Phone: 785-296-7483
Email: dick.jones@house.ks.gov

Representative Nancy Lusk (D-22)
Phone: 785 296-7651
Email: nancy.lusk@house.ks.gov

Representative Janice Pauls (R-102)
Phone: 785 296-7688
Email: jan.pauls@house.ks.gov

Representative Marty Read (R-4)
Phone: 785 296-7644
Email: marty.read@house.ks.gov

Representative Joseph Scapa (R-88)
Phone: 785-296-7682
Email:  joseph.scapa@house.ks.gov

Representative James Todd (R-29)
Phone: 785 296-7695
Email: james.todd@house.ks.gov

Representative Kristey Williams (R-77)
Phone: 785-296-3971
Email: kristey.williams@house.ks.gov

Representative John Wilson (D-10)
Phone: 785 296-7652
Email: john.wilson@house.ks.gov

Representative Valdenia Winn (D-34)
Phone: 785 296-7657
Email: valdenia.winn@house.ks.gov

TRENDING NOW
Illinois: House Committee Passes Bill to Close Local Gun Dealers

Tuesday, May 16, 2017

Illinois: House Committee Passes Bill to Close Local Gun Dealers

The House Judiciary Committee passed Senate Bill 1657 by a 7-6 vote.

Washington: NRA Files Amicus Brief in Challenge to Kitsap County Anti-Gun Ordinance

Monday, May 22, 2017

Washington: NRA Files Amicus Brief in Challenge to Kitsap County Anti-Gun Ordinance

Last week, attorneys on behalf of the NRA filed an amicus brief in Kitsap County v. Kitsap Rifle and Revolver Club (Kitsap II), the case which challenges Kitsap County’s firearm discharge ban and range licensing scheme.  Kitsap Rifle and ...

Maryland: Governor Hogan Signs Apprentice Hunting Legislation into Law

Thursday, May 4, 2017

Maryland: Governor Hogan Signs Apprentice Hunting Legislation into Law

Today, Maryland Governor Larry Hogan signed House Bill 1427 into law.

From My Cold Wet Hands: Humorless Scold Targets Squirt Guns

News  

Friday, May 19, 2017

From My Cold Wet Hands: Humorless Scold Targets Squirt Guns

We have yet to reach Memorial Day, but the fun police have already set their sights on at least one cherished summer childhood activity. In an article for Pupsugar.com, titled, “Why Kids Should Never Play ...

Court's Commonsense Conclusion: "There Was a Gun" Isn't Enough to Justify Issuing a Restraining Order

Second Amendment  

Friday, May 19, 2017

Court's Commonsense Conclusion: "There Was a Gun" Isn't Enough to Justify Issuing a Restraining Order

The Supreme Court of North Dakota confirmed this week that simply possessing a handgun while on one’s own private property cannot support a finding of "disorderly conduct" under the state’s disorderly conduct restraining order law. ...

Federal Lawsuit Challenging California’s Ban on Standard Capacity Magazines Filed

Thursday, May 18, 2017

Federal Lawsuit Challenging California’s Ban on Standard Capacity Magazines Filed

Today, May 18, the National Rifle Association Institute for Legislative Action (NRA-ILA) announced it is supporting, along with the California Rifle and Pistol Association (CRPA), an important Second Amendment lawsuit challenging California’s ban on the possession ...

Kansas: Senate Committee Passes Gun Free Zone Legislation, Again

Tuesday, May 23, 2017

Kansas: Senate Committee Passes Gun Free Zone Legislation, Again

Last week, the Senate Committee of the Whole referred an amended version of House Bill 2278 back to the Senate Ways and Means Committee.

Bloomberg's Everytown Creates "Authors Council" to Push Anti-Gun Propaganda

News  

Friday, May 19, 2017

Bloomberg's Everytown Creates "Authors Council" to Push Anti-Gun Propaganda

As if the country’s media weren’t already sufficiently co-opted by anti-gun advocates, this week, Michael Bloomberg’s Everytown for Gun Safety announced an effort to pervert an additional facet of American entertainment. The billionaire bank-rolled interest group has ...

Nevada: Governor Sandoval Signs AB 118!

Monday, May 22, 2017

Nevada: Governor Sandoval Signs AB 118!

Today, May 22, Governor Brian Sandoval signed important pro-gun legislation, Assembly Bill 118, into law.  AB 118, sponsored by Assemblyman Skip Daly, will allow members of the military and those who have received an honorable ...

California: Draft "Assault Weapon" Regulation Language Now Available

Thursday, May 18, 2017

California: Draft "Assault Weapon" Regulation Language Now Available

Today, May 18, a draft copy of the "Assault Weapon" regulations has been made available

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.