Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Kansas: Permitless Carry to Receive Hearing Friday in House Committee

Monday, March 9, 2015

Kansas: Permitless Carry to Receive Hearing Friday in House Committee

On Friday, March 13, at 9:00 a.m. in room 346-S, the House Committee on Federal and State Affairs will hold a hearing on Senate Bill 45, NRA-backed permitless carry legislation.  Please consider attending this hearing and showing your strong support for this important reform to Kansas concealed carry statutes.

Authored by Senate Majority Leader Terry Bruce (R-34), SB 45 recognizes Kansans’ freedom to legally carry a concealed firearm without the burdensome requirement of acquiring a Kansas concealed carry handgun license (CCHL).  SB 45 is a necessary update to concealed carry in Kansas, allowing law-abiding gun owners the ability to better protect themselves and their loved ones.  In Kansas, it is already legal to carry a firearm openly, as long as the individual is not prohibited by law from possessing a firearm.  However, under current law, if a firearm becomes covered by a coat or if a woman prefers to carry a firearm for self-protection in her purse, he or she would need to possess a CCHL. 

This legislation gives Kansans the freedom to choose the best method of carrying for them, based on their attire, gender and/or physical attributes.   However, this legislation would also keep in place the current permitting system so that people who obtain a permit could still enjoy the reciprocity agreements that Kansas has with other states and their NICS exemption when purchasing a new firearm.   

If you are able, please attend Friday’s hearing to support SB 45.  If you cannot attend, please use the contact information provided below to call and email members of the House Committee on Federal and State Affairs and urge them to vote for this important measure.

House Committee on Federal and State Affairs:

Representative Steve Brunk (R-85), Chairman
Phone: 316-744-1547"
Email: steve.brunk@house.ks.gov

Representative Travis Couture-Lovelady (R-110), Vice Chairman
Phone: 785 296-4683
Email: travis.couture-lovelady@house.ks.gov

Representative Annie Tietze (D-53), Ranking Minority Member
Phone: 785 296-7668
Email: annie.tietze@house.ks.gov

Representative Steven Becker (R-104)
Phone: 785 296-7196
Email: steven.becker@house.ks.gov

Representative John Bradford (R-40)
Phone: 785 296-7653
Email: john.bradford@house.ks.gov

Representative Stephanie Clayton (R-19)
Phone: 785 296-7548
Email: stephanie.clayton@house.ks.gov

Representative Susan Concannon (R-107)
Phone: 785 296-7677
Email: susan.concannon@house.ks.gov

Representative Bud Estes (R-119)
Phone: 785-296-6287
Email: bud.estes@house.ks.gov

Representative John Ewy (R-117)
Phone: 785 296-7105
Email: john.ewy@house.ks.gov

Representative Lane Hemsley (R-56)
Phone: 785 817-7533
Email: lane.hemsley@house.ks.gov

Representative Broderick Henderson (D-35)
Phone: 785 296-7697
Email: broderick.henderson@house.ks.gov

Representative Brett Hildabrand (R-17)
Phone: 785 296-7331
Email: brett.hildabrand@house.ks.gov

Representative Don Hineman (R-118)
Phone: 785 296-7636
Email: don.hineman@house.ks.gov

Representative Michael Houser (R-1)
Phone: 785 296-7679
Email: michael.houser@house.ks.gov

Representative Dick Jones (R-52)
Phone: 785-296-7483
Email: dick.jones@house.ks.gov

Representative Nancy Lusk (D-22)
Phone: 785 296-7651
Email: nancy.lusk@house.ks.gov

Representative Janice Pauls (R-102)
Phone: 785 296-7688
Email: jan.pauls@house.ks.gov

Representative Marty Read (R-4)
Phone: 785 296-7644
Email: marty.read@house.ks.gov

Representative Joseph Scapa (R-88)
Phone: 785-296-7682
Email:  joseph.scapa@house.ks.gov

Representative James Todd (R-29)
Phone: 785 296-7695
Email: james.todd@house.ks.gov

Representative Kristey Williams (R-77)
Phone: 785-296-3971
Email: kristey.williams@house.ks.gov

Representative John Wilson (D-10)
Phone: 785 296-7652
Email: john.wilson@house.ks.gov

Representative Valdenia Winn (D-34)
Phone: 785 296-7657
Email: valdenia.winn@house.ks.gov

TRENDING NOW
New Federal Law Will Promote Target Range Development on Public Lands

News  

Friday, May 24, 2019

New Federal Law Will Promote Target Range Development on Public Lands

On May 10, President Trump signed the Target Practice and Marksmanship Training Support Act  into law. This NRA-backed law will help promote firearm safety and training and enjoyment of the shooting sports by freeing up more federal ...

Kamala Harris and the News Media Don’t Know What They Don’t Know

News  

Friday, May 24, 2019

Kamala Harris and the News Media Don’t Know What They Don’t Know

By now gun owners have become accustomed to a certain measure of ignorance from anti-gun politicians and their lapdogs in the mainstream press on matters of firearms policy. It’s the flamboyant stridency of that ignorance that remains ...

Illinois Committee Passes Bill to Increase Cost of FOID 1000

Tuesday, May 21, 2019

Illinois Committee Passes Bill to Increase Cost of FOID 1000

On May 21st, the Illinois state House Judiciary Committee voted 12-7 to pass House Amendment 1 to Senate Bill 1966.  While it has not yet been scheduled for further action, the House may take it ...

Washington: Lawsuit Against I-1639 Proceeds After Motion To Dismiss Denied

Tuesday, May 21, 2019

Washington: Lawsuit Against I-1639 Proceeds After Motion To Dismiss Denied

On May 20th, the United States District Court for the Western District of Washington rejected a motion by the government defendants to dismiss the lawsuit filed by NRA and the SAF against Washington’s gun control ...

California: DOJ Submits Proposed Regulations Regarding Upcoming Ammunition Transfer Background Check Requirements to Office of Administrative Law

Wednesday, May 22, 2019

California: DOJ Submits Proposed Regulations Regarding Upcoming Ammunition Transfer Background Check Requirements to Office of Administrative Law

Beginning July 1, 2019, all ammunition transactions in the state of California will be subject to a background check requirement.  But in order to implement this requirement, the California Department of Justice (“DOJ”) must first ...

Democrats Now Opposed to Safe Neighborhoods?

News  

Friday, May 24, 2019

Democrats Now Opposed to Safe Neighborhoods?

Ever since taking control of the U.S. House of Representatives, Democrats have been waging an unprecedented assault on the Second Amendment. Led by Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D-Cali.), the caucus has been an entity in virtual ...

Bloomberg Course Continues Bloomberging Rights Away

News  

Friday, May 24, 2019

Bloomberg Course Continues Bloomberging Rights Away

Week two of the Bloomberg school massive open online course on “Reducing Gun Violence” ran the same week that one of the lecturers was in the news for exclusionary comments that apply more readily to his course ...

Illinois: Your Action Needed – Contact Your State Representative in Opposition to FOID Fee Increase

Friday, May 24, 2019

Illinois: Your Action Needed – Contact Your State Representative in Opposition to FOID Fee Increase

Your NRA-ILA has learned that anti-gun Illinois legislators are attempting to introduce a new amendment to gun control legislation, Senate Bill 1966.

Out of Style: Levi’s Fawns Over Shannon Watts in Pantmaker’s Latest Gun Control Effort

News  

Friday, May 17, 2019

Out of Style: Levi’s Fawns Over Shannon Watts in Pantmaker’s Latest Gun Control Effort

At the National Retail Federation’s 2018 convention in New York City, Levi Strauss & Co. Brand President James Curleigh told those assembled that the multinational pants manufacturer intends to be the “most relevant lifestyle brand.” Evidently, part ...

Maine: Governor Signs Bill to Expand the Use of Crossbows

Hunting  

Monday, May 20, 2019

Maine: Governor Signs Bill to Expand the Use of Crossbows

Last week, Governor Janet Mills signed Legislative Document 27, "An Act To Allow the Use of a Crossbow for a Limited Duration during the Archery Season on Deer and the Fall Season on Wild Turkey."

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.