Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

West Virginia: Permitless Carry Legislation to be Heard Tomorrow in Committee

Wednesday, March 4, 2015

West Virginia: Permitless Carry Legislation to be Heard Tomorrow in Committee

Please consider attending tomorrow’s hearing to show your support for SB 347!

As previously reported, Senate Bill 347, a bill that would recognize your right to legally carry concealed without having to obtain a Concealed Handgun License (CHL), will be heard tomorrow in the House Judiciary Committee.  The hearing will take place at 8:30 A.M. in the House Chamber, and it is critical that you attend and voice your support for this important Right to Carry legislation.

This permitless carry legislation is a necessary update to concealed carry statutes in West Virginia, allowing law-abiding gun owners the ability to protect themselves and their loved ones.  In West Virginia, it is already legal to carry a firearm openly, as long as the individual is not prohibited by law from possessing a firearm.  However, under current law, if a firearm becomes covered by a coat or if a woman prefers to carry a firearm for self-protection in her purse, he or she would need to possess a concealed pistol permit. 

SB 347 gives you the freedom to choose the best method of carrying, based on your attire, gender and/or physical attributes.  Also critically important, this legislation would keep in place the current permitting system so that people who obtain a permit could still enjoy the reciprocity agreements that West Virginia has with other states across the country.

Please show the members of the Committee the strong support their constituents have for SB 347 and attend tomorrow’s hearing.  Also, please contact members of the House Judiciary Committee and politely urge them to SUPPORT SB 347.  Please forward this email to friends, family and fellow gun owners throughout West Virginia and urge them to do the same!

House Judiciary Committee Members:

Delegate Shott (R-Mercer, 27), Chairman
(304) 340-3252
John.shott@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Patrick Lane (R-Kanawha, 38, Vice-Chairman
(304) 340-3252
Patrick.lane@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Tim Manchin (D-Marion, 50)
(304) 340-3331
tmanchin@manchininjurylaw.com

Delegate Stephen Skinner (D-Jefferson, 67)
(304) 340-3248
Stephen.skinner@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Mike Azinger (R-Wood, 10)
(304) 340-3202
Mike.azinger@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Frank Deem (R-Wood, 10)
(304) 340-3137
Frank.deem@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Tom Fast (R-Fayette, 32)
(304) 340-3170
Tom.fast@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Michael Folk (R-Berkeley, 63)
(304) 340-3350
Michael.folk@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Geoff Foster (R-Putnam, 15)
(304) 340-3121
Geoff.foster@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Roger Hanshaw (R-Clay, 33)
(304) 340-3135
Roger.hanshaw@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Lynwood Ireland (R-Ritchie, 07)
(304) 340-3195
Woody.ireland@wvhouse.gov

Delegate John McCuskey  (R-Kanawha, 35)
(304) 340-3183
John.mccuskey@wvhouse.gov

Delegate John Overington (R-Berkeley, 62)
(304) 340-3148
John.overington@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Kelli Sobonya (R-Cabell, 18)
(304) 340-3175
Kelli.sobonya@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Amy Summers (R-Taylor, 49)
(304) 340-3139
Amy.summers@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Terry Waxman (R-Harrison, 48)
(304) 340-3171
Terry.waxman@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Ryan Weld (R-Brooke, 02)
(304) 340-3367
Ryan.weld@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Brad White (R-Kanawha, 36)
(304) 340-3138
Brad.white@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Andrew Byrd (D-Kanawha, 35)
(304) 340-3362
Andrew.byrd@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Barbara Evans Fleischauer (D-Monongalia, 51)
(304) 340-3127
barbaraf@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Shawn Fluharty (D-Ohio, 03)
(304) 340-3270
Shawn.fluharty@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Kenneth Hicks (D-Wayne, 19)
(304) 340-3155
Ken.hicks@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Dana Lynch (D-Webster, 44)
(304) 340-3916
Dana.lynch@wvhouse.gov 

Delegate Clif Moore (D-McDowell, 26)
(304) 340-3165
Clif.moore@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Larry Rowe (D-Kanawha, 36)
(304) 340-3287
Larry.rowe@wvhouse.gov 

TRENDING NOW
Gun Control Activist Urges Canadian Audience to Get Involved in U.S. Politics

News  

Friday, September 14, 2018

Gun Control Activist Urges Canadian Audience to Get Involved in U.S. Politics

For someone who has previously falsely accused the NRA of funneling foreign money into domestic politics, it must be that David Hogg either forgot he was in Canada recently or failed to appreciate that it’s also illegal ...

No, It’s Not Harder to Buy Allergy Medicine than a Gun

News  

Friday, September 14, 2018

No, It’s Not Harder to Buy Allergy Medicine than a Gun

A twist on an inaccurate old anti-gun talking point is making the rounds on social media. On September 10, anti-gun public relations professional Wendy Zipes Hunter tweeted about a purported recent trip to drug store. Hunter claimed, “Couldn’t ...

Anti-gun Senator Accompanied by “Unprecedented” Security Detail While Traveling in California

News  

Friday, September 14, 2018

Anti-gun Senator Accompanied by “Unprecedented” Security Detail While Traveling in California

Sen. Kamala Harris (D-CA) is no fan of the Second Amendment. As California attorney general, she sided with local officials who refused to issue concealed carry permits to qualified, law-abiding applicants unless they could demonstrate an extraordinary ...

VIVE LE FRANCE?

News  

Friday, September 14, 2018

VIVE LE FRANCE?

Those who follow international news are painfully aware that France has seen a disturbing amount of terrorist attacks carried out within its borders over the last several years. Most are familiar with the January 2015 ...

Levi’s Teams with Billionaire Michael Bloomberg to Attack Gun Rights

News  

Friday, September 7, 2018

Levi’s Teams with Billionaire Michael Bloomberg to Attack Gun Rights

Levi Strauss & Co. established its brand in the mid-19th century by selling durable clothing to working-class Americans. As Levi’s signature jeans gained popularity amongst a wider set in the middle of the last century, ...

“Law is Dead in Washington state” – Outraged Reaction to Court Decision on I-1639

News  

Friday, September 7, 2018

“Law is Dead in Washington state” – Outraged Reaction to Court Decision on I-1639

The Washington State constitution, Art. 2, sec. 1, contains an explicit direction that each “petition shall include the full text of the measure so proposed.” A state law incorporating this requirement specifies that all petitions circulated for signatures must ...

Sneak Attack on Washington State

News  

Saturday, September 1, 2018

Sneak Attack on Washington State

Did you know the Winchester 1903, a .22-caliber rifle that has a 10-round tube magazine, is a “semi-automatic assault rifle”? In fact, every semi-automatic rifle is a “semi-automatic assault rifle.” So says Michael Bloomberg, and ...

New Jersey:  Latest Gimmick by Anti-Gun Politicians Is Simply More of The Same

Friday, September 14, 2018

New Jersey: Latest Gimmick by Anti-Gun Politicians Is Simply More of The Same

Just when you thought Trenton gun banners had run out of bad ideas, these attention starved politicians simply start recycling stuff that’s already outlawed in New Jersey.

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

Gun Laws  

Thursday, January 1, 2015

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

CAUTION: Federal and state firearms laws are subject to frequent change. This summary is not to be considered as legal advice or a restatement of law.

Surprise: Problems with Widely Touted Anti-Gun Research

News  

Friday, September 7, 2018

Surprise: Problems with Widely Touted Anti-Gun Research

“I am not interested in giving any serious thought to John Lott or his claims.” Those are the words of University of Alabama associate professor Adam Lankford in response to Fox News after economist John Lott called Lankford’s ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.