Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

West Virginia: Permitless Carry Legislation to be Heard Tomorrow in Committee

Wednesday, March 4, 2015

West Virginia: Permitless Carry Legislation to be Heard Tomorrow in Committee

Please consider attending tomorrow’s hearing to show your support for SB 347!

As previously reported, Senate Bill 347, a bill that would recognize your right to legally carry concealed without having to obtain a Concealed Handgun License (CHL), will be heard tomorrow in the House Judiciary Committee.  The hearing will take place at 8:30 A.M. in the House Chamber, and it is critical that you attend and voice your support for this important Right to Carry legislation.

This permitless carry legislation is a necessary update to concealed carry statutes in West Virginia, allowing law-abiding gun owners the ability to protect themselves and their loved ones.  In West Virginia, it is already legal to carry a firearm openly, as long as the individual is not prohibited by law from possessing a firearm.  However, under current law, if a firearm becomes covered by a coat or if a woman prefers to carry a firearm for self-protection in her purse, he or she would need to possess a concealed pistol permit. 

SB 347 gives you the freedom to choose the best method of carrying, based on your attire, gender and/or physical attributes.  Also critically important, this legislation would keep in place the current permitting system so that people who obtain a permit could still enjoy the reciprocity agreements that West Virginia has with other states across the country.

Please show the members of the Committee the strong support their constituents have for SB 347 and attend tomorrow’s hearing.  Also, please contact members of the House Judiciary Committee and politely urge them to SUPPORT SB 347.  Please forward this email to friends, family and fellow gun owners throughout West Virginia and urge them to do the same!

House Judiciary Committee Members:

Delegate Shott (R-Mercer, 27), Chairman
(304) 340-3252
John.shott@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Patrick Lane (R-Kanawha, 38, Vice-Chairman
(304) 340-3252
Patrick.lane@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Tim Manchin (D-Marion, 50)
(304) 340-3331
tmanchin@manchininjurylaw.com

Delegate Stephen Skinner (D-Jefferson, 67)
(304) 340-3248
Stephen.skinner@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Mike Azinger (R-Wood, 10)
(304) 340-3202
Mike.azinger@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Frank Deem (R-Wood, 10)
(304) 340-3137
Frank.deem@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Tom Fast (R-Fayette, 32)
(304) 340-3170
Tom.fast@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Michael Folk (R-Berkeley, 63)
(304) 340-3350
Michael.folk@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Geoff Foster (R-Putnam, 15)
(304) 340-3121
Geoff.foster@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Roger Hanshaw (R-Clay, 33)
(304) 340-3135
Roger.hanshaw@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Lynwood Ireland (R-Ritchie, 07)
(304) 340-3195
Woody.ireland@wvhouse.gov

Delegate John McCuskey  (R-Kanawha, 35)
(304) 340-3183
John.mccuskey@wvhouse.gov

Delegate John Overington (R-Berkeley, 62)
(304) 340-3148
John.overington@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Kelli Sobonya (R-Cabell, 18)
(304) 340-3175
Kelli.sobonya@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Amy Summers (R-Taylor, 49)
(304) 340-3139
Amy.summers@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Terry Waxman (R-Harrison, 48)
(304) 340-3171
Terry.waxman@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Ryan Weld (R-Brooke, 02)
(304) 340-3367
Ryan.weld@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Brad White (R-Kanawha, 36)
(304) 340-3138
Brad.white@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Andrew Byrd (D-Kanawha, 35)
(304) 340-3362
Andrew.byrd@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Barbara Evans Fleischauer (D-Monongalia, 51)
(304) 340-3127
barbaraf@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Shawn Fluharty (D-Ohio, 03)
(304) 340-3270
Shawn.fluharty@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Kenneth Hicks (D-Wayne, 19)
(304) 340-3155
Ken.hicks@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Dana Lynch (D-Webster, 44)
(304) 340-3916
Dana.lynch@wvhouse.gov 

Delegate Clif Moore (D-McDowell, 26)
(304) 340-3165
Clif.moore@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Larry Rowe (D-Kanawha, 36)
(304) 340-3287
Larry.rowe@wvhouse.gov 

TRENDING NOW
Pennsylvania: House Committee to Consider Multiple Gun Control Bills Tomorrow

Monday, June 18, 2018

Pennsylvania: House Committee to Consider Multiple Gun Control Bills Tomorrow

Tomorrow, the Pennsylvania House Judiciary Committee is scheduled to consider several gun control bills that would only punish law-abiding gun owners.

Pennsylvania: House Committee Passes Firearm Confiscation Orders - Schedules Additional Gun Control for Tomorrow

Tuesday, June 19, 2018

Pennsylvania: House Committee Passes Firearm Confiscation Orders - Schedules Additional Gun Control for Tomorrow

Today, the Pennsylvania House Judiciary Committee passed House Bill 2227, legislation that creates so-called “extreme risk protection orders” whereby a hearing would be held, firearms would be seized and constitutional rights suspended with little to no due ...

The Supreme Court Strikes Down Law that Targeted Gun Owners’ Speech

Friday, June 15, 2018

The Supreme Court Strikes Down Law that Targeted Gun Owners’ Speech

The Supreme Court struck down a Minnesota law that forbade voters from wearing “political insignias” at polling places after the law was challenged by a voter who was told he must remove or cover his ...

The Rolling Stone Continues its Inaccurate Anti-NRA Reporting

News  

Friday, June 15, 2018

The Rolling Stone Continues its Inaccurate Anti-NRA Reporting

It is by no means a closely held secret that Rolling Stone magazine has aggressively promoted an anti-gun agenda for many decades.  It started in 1980, with the death of John Lennon at the hands of ...

D.C. Area Witches Unite for Gun Control, Hurl Curses at the NRA

News  

Friday, June 15, 2018

D.C. Area Witches Unite for Gun Control, Hurl Curses at the NRA

Gun control advocates can now boast of a new group of allies joining their dubious coalition: witches. It kind of makes sense. We all know that gun control is based mainly on magical thinking. Its advocates, after ...

Delaware: Contact Your Senator Immediately in Opposition to Gun Ban Legislation

Friday, June 15, 2018

Delaware: Contact Your Senator Immediately in Opposition to Gun Ban Legislation

On Tuesday, June 19, the Delaware Senate could consider legislation (Senate Bill 163) that would ban commonly owned semi-automatic firearms in Delaware.

Pennsylvania: Gun Control Legislation to be Considered on the House Floor

Wednesday, June 20, 2018

Pennsylvania: Gun Control Legislation to be Considered on the House Floor

This morning, the House Judiciary Committee continued its push for gun control by passing House Bill 1872, legislation which would ban many firearm accessories.

Oregon: Gun Ban Initiative Ballot Title Finalized

Friday, May 25, 2018

Oregon: Gun Ban Initiative Ballot Title Finalized

On May 23rd, the ballot title for Initiative Petition 43 was certified by the state Attorney General.  This final ballot title comes after over 1,000 comments were submitted on the previously proposed ballot title.  Initiative proponents will ...

California Farmer Has Guns Confiscated and Faces Felony Charges After Trying to Register Rifle

News  

Gun Laws  

Friday, June 8, 2018

California Farmer Has Guns Confiscated and Faces Felony Charges After Trying to Register Rifle

California residents attempting to comply with the Golden State’s ever-increasing swamp of firearms laws and regulations should take warning. According to a report out of Bakersfield, a good faith effort to obey the state’s labyrinthine ...

Not So Breaking News: Trio of Anti-Gun Orgs Rehash Worn-Out Gun Control Policies

News  

Friday, June 15, 2018

Not So Breaking News: Trio of Anti-Gun Orgs Rehash Worn-Out Gun Control Policies

This week the press gleefully reported the anti-gun pronouncements of a trio of diverse special interest groups. The Washington Post announced, “Frustrated [American Medical Association] adopts sweeping policies to cut gun violence.” In a separate ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.