Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

West Virginia: Permitless Carry Legislation to be Heard Tomorrow in Committee

Wednesday, March 4, 2015

West Virginia: Permitless Carry Legislation to be Heard Tomorrow in Committee

Please consider attending tomorrow’s hearing to show your support for SB 347!

As previously reported, Senate Bill 347, a bill that would recognize your right to legally carry concealed without having to obtain a Concealed Handgun License (CHL), will be heard tomorrow in the House Judiciary Committee.  The hearing will take place at 8:30 A.M. in the House Chamber, and it is critical that you attend and voice your support for this important Right to Carry legislation.

This permitless carry legislation is a necessary update to concealed carry statutes in West Virginia, allowing law-abiding gun owners the ability to protect themselves and their loved ones.  In West Virginia, it is already legal to carry a firearm openly, as long as the individual is not prohibited by law from possessing a firearm.  However, under current law, if a firearm becomes covered by a coat or if a woman prefers to carry a firearm for self-protection in her purse, he or she would need to possess a concealed pistol permit. 

SB 347 gives you the freedom to choose the best method of carrying, based on your attire, gender and/or physical attributes.  Also critically important, this legislation would keep in place the current permitting system so that people who obtain a permit could still enjoy the reciprocity agreements that West Virginia has with other states across the country.

Please show the members of the Committee the strong support their constituents have for SB 347 and attend tomorrow’s hearing.  Also, please contact members of the House Judiciary Committee and politely urge them to SUPPORT SB 347.  Please forward this email to friends, family and fellow gun owners throughout West Virginia and urge them to do the same!

House Judiciary Committee Members:

Delegate Shott (R-Mercer, 27), Chairman
(304) 340-3252
John.shott@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Patrick Lane (R-Kanawha, 38, Vice-Chairman
(304) 340-3252
Patrick.lane@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Tim Manchin (D-Marion, 50)
(304) 340-3331
tmanchin@manchininjurylaw.com

Delegate Stephen Skinner (D-Jefferson, 67)
(304) 340-3248
Stephen.skinner@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Mike Azinger (R-Wood, 10)
(304) 340-3202
Mike.azinger@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Frank Deem (R-Wood, 10)
(304) 340-3137
Frank.deem@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Tom Fast (R-Fayette, 32)
(304) 340-3170
Tom.fast@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Michael Folk (R-Berkeley, 63)
(304) 340-3350
Michael.folk@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Geoff Foster (R-Putnam, 15)
(304) 340-3121
Geoff.foster@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Roger Hanshaw (R-Clay, 33)
(304) 340-3135
Roger.hanshaw@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Lynwood Ireland (R-Ritchie, 07)
(304) 340-3195
Woody.ireland@wvhouse.gov

Delegate John McCuskey  (R-Kanawha, 35)
(304) 340-3183
John.mccuskey@wvhouse.gov

Delegate John Overington (R-Berkeley, 62)
(304) 340-3148
John.overington@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Kelli Sobonya (R-Cabell, 18)
(304) 340-3175
Kelli.sobonya@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Amy Summers (R-Taylor, 49)
(304) 340-3139
Amy.summers@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Terry Waxman (R-Harrison, 48)
(304) 340-3171
Terry.waxman@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Ryan Weld (R-Brooke, 02)
(304) 340-3367
Ryan.weld@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Brad White (R-Kanawha, 36)
(304) 340-3138
Brad.white@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Andrew Byrd (D-Kanawha, 35)
(304) 340-3362
Andrew.byrd@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Barbara Evans Fleischauer (D-Monongalia, 51)
(304) 340-3127
barbaraf@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Shawn Fluharty (D-Ohio, 03)
(304) 340-3270
Shawn.fluharty@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Kenneth Hicks (D-Wayne, 19)
(304) 340-3155
Ken.hicks@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Dana Lynch (D-Webster, 44)
(304) 340-3916
Dana.lynch@wvhouse.gov 

Delegate Clif Moore (D-McDowell, 26)
(304) 340-3165
Clif.moore@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Larry Rowe (D-Kanawha, 36)
(304) 340-3287
Larry.rowe@wvhouse.gov 

TRENDING NOW
Washington: Anti-Gun Group Announces 2019 Agenda

Friday, December 7, 2018

Washington: Anti-Gun Group Announces 2019 Agenda

On December 5th, the Alliance for Gun Responsibility, a group backed by out-of-state elites, announced it will pursue its most extreme anti-gun legislative agenda to date during the upcoming 2019 Washington Legislative Session.

More Proof That Being a “Celebrity” Does Not Make You Smart

News  

Thursday, December 6, 2018

More Proof That Being a “Celebrity” Does Not Make You Smart

In a November 30 tweet, Tom Arnold, famous for being married to Roseanne Barr and making a few really bad movies, has proven that he knows nothing about guns, gun owners or firearm misuse.

Guns and Taxes

News  

Thursday, December 6, 2018

Guns and Taxes

David Hogg wants a federal tax on firearms and ammunition. He has repeatedly broached the idea, including multiple times on Twitter, and only sometimes suggests a use for the tax revenue. Hogg’s tweets on a ...

Checks and Balances? Massachusetts Executive Branch Flouts Court Orders on Firearms Licenses

News  

Thursday, December 6, 2018

Checks and Balances? Massachusetts Executive Branch Flouts Court Orders on Firearms Licenses

The U.S.’s republican form of governance is predicated on co-equal branches of government that check and balance each other in order to preserve individual liberty. The system does not work when one branch simply ignores ...

Surprise: Study Finds No Rise in Violent Crime Attributable to Adopting Right-to-Carry Laws

News  

Thursday, December 6, 2018

Surprise: Study Finds No Rise in Violent Crime Attributable to Adopting Right-to-Carry Laws

As we’ve noted recently, much research purporting to demonstrate connections between access to guns or right-to-carry laws and increases in crime is seriously flawed.  Often it's an attempt to curtail or eliminate Americans’ rights under the Second ...

Warning to New Mexico Gun Owners: Expect Unprecedented Attacks On Your Second Amendment Rights During The 2019 Legislative Session

Wednesday, December 5, 2018

Warning to New Mexico Gun Owners: Expect Unprecedented Attacks On Your Second Amendment Rights During The 2019 Legislative Session

While the New Mexico Legislature will not convene for its 60-day Regular Session until January 15, lawmakers can start prefiling bills on December 17. 

Levi’s Teams with Billionaire Michael Bloomberg to Attack Gun Rights

News  

Friday, September 7, 2018

Levi’s Teams with Billionaire Michael Bloomberg to Attack Gun Rights

Levi Strauss & Co. established its brand in the mid-19th century by selling durable clothing to working-class Americans. As Levi’s signature jeans gained popularity amongst a wider set in the middle of the last century, ...

Engineering Professor Shares Thoughts on Constitutional Law, Calls for Handgun Ban

News  

Friday, November 30, 2018

Engineering Professor Shares Thoughts on Constitutional Law, Calls for Handgun Ban

In a recent piece for the Bangor Daily News ironically titled, “Why banning handguns makes sense,” Associate University of Maine Electrical Engineering Professor George Elliott struggled to argue why the tools of self-defense have no ...

Anti-Gun Researchers Undermine the Anti-Gun Narrative

News  

Friday, November 30, 2018

Anti-Gun Researchers Undermine the Anti-Gun Narrative

We have good news from a joint effort between the Violence Prevention Research Program at the UC Davis School of Medicine and the Center for Gun Policy and Research at the Johns Hopkins University.  

Retired Anti-Gun Justice Reveals Attempts to Thwart Landmark Heller Decision

News  

Friday, November 30, 2018

Retired Anti-Gun Justice Reveals Attempts to Thwart Landmark Heller Decision

Few Supreme Court justices have been as avowedly opposed to the Second Amendment as John Paul Stevens, who retired from the high court in June 2010. Stevens wrote a lengthy dissent to the landmark decision ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.