Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

West Virginia: Misinformation about Permitless Carry Bill has Turned into Blatant Scare Tactics

Tuesday, March 3, 2015

West Virginia: Misinformation about Permitless Carry Bill has Turned into Blatant Scare Tactics

 

It is critical that you attend Thursday’s hearing and show your support for permitless carry!

Senate Bill 347, a bill that would recognize your right to legally carry concealed without having to obtain a Concealed Handgun License (CHL), has been under attack by some in West Virginia law enforcement in opposition to the bill who continue to spread misinformation about it.  As your NRA previously reported, these are misconceptions and unfair characterizations.  SB 347 has been scheduled for a hearing by the House Judiciary Committee this Thursday, March 5, at 8:30 A.M. in the House Chamber.  As the hearing approaches, the attacks intensify and some law enforcement officers have now started using scare tactics to combat the truth.  Your NRA would like to correct a few more of these false accusations.

Law enforcement in one county of West Virginia has been telling constituents if this legislation passes that they will no longer be issuing Concealed Handgun Licenses.  This is a deliberate lie.  Under SB 347, the current permitting system will remain in place so that those who obtain a permit can still enjoy the reciprocity agreements that West Virginia has with other states across the country, including neighboring Virginia and Kentucky.  Many West Virginians rely on this reciprocity when traveling and hunting out of state, and thus will still need to obtain a CHL. 

Some have erroneously suggested that there will be a greater public safety concern for law enforcement with this bill and that criminals will now be able to carry firearms.  The truth of the matter is, criminals are already illegally carrying guns, and the passage of this bill would not make it any more likely or legal.  Criminals and all prohibited people would still be barred from possessing and carrying a firearm under SB 347. Only those individuals who can legally purchase, possess and carry a firearm would be affected.  Under SB 347, all federal and state prohibitors for purchase, possession and carry of a firearm would still apply.  This includes:

  • Felony conviction
  • Conviction of a misdemeanor crime of domestic abuse
  • Having been adjudicated mentally incompetent
  • Dishonorable discharge from the military
  • Unlawful user of alcohol, controlled substances or other drugs
  • Currently subject to a protective order

It is also true that conventional law enforcement training already dictates that law enforcement personnel treat everyone as if they are armed, anyway.  SB 347 would not change the training mandate that is already in place.

Senate Bill 347 is a necessary update to concealed carry statutes in West Virginia, allowing law-abiding gun owners the ability to protect themselves and their loved ones.  However, law enforcement personnel plan to pack the chamber for the hearing on Thursday in opposition to the bill.  While we greatly appreciate the work of law enforcement and have worked hand in hand with them in the past in West Virginia to pass Second Amendment legislation, their statements in opposition to SB 347 are incorrect and misguided.

Please show the members of the committee the STRONG SUPPORT their constituents have for SB 347 and attend the hearing this Thursday, March 5 at 8:30 A.M. in the House Chamber.  Also, please contact the members of the House Judiciary Committee and politely urge them to SUPPORT SB 347.  Forward this email to friends, family and fellow gun owners throughout West Virginia and urge them to do the same!

House Judiciary Committee Members:

Delegate Shott (R-Mercer, 27), Chairman
(304) 340-3252
John.shott@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Patrick Lane (R-Kanawha, 38, Vice-Chairman
(304) 340-3252
Patrick.lane@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Tim Manchin (D-Marion, 50)
(304) 340-3331
tmanchin@manchininjurylaw.com

Delegate Stephen Skinner (D-Jefferson, 67)
(304) 340-3248
Stephen.skinner@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Mike Azinger (R-Wood, 10)
(304) 340-3202
Mike.azinger@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Frank Deem (R-Wood, 10)
(304) 340-3137
Frank.deem@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Tom Fast (R-Fayette, 32)
(304) 340-3170
Tom.fast@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Michael Folk (R-Berkeley, 63)
(304) 340-3350
Michael.folk@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Geoff Foster (R-Putnam, 15)
(304) 340-3121
Geoff.foster@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Roger Hanshaw (R-Clay, 33)
(304) 340-3135
Roger.hanshaw@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Lynwood Ireland (R-Ritchie, 07)
(304) 340-3195
Woody.ireland@wvhouse.gov

Delegate John McCuskey  (R-Kanawha, 35)
(304) 340-3183
John.mccuskey@wvhouse.gov

Delegate John Overington (R-Berkeley, 62)
(304) 340-3148
John.overington@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Kelli Sobonya (R-Cabell, 18)
(304) 340-3175
Kelli.sobonya@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Amy Summers (R-Taylor, 49)
(304) 340-3139
Amy.summers@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Terry Waxman (R-Harrison, 48)
(304) 340-3171
Terry.waxman@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Ryan Weld (R-Brooke, 02)
(304) 340-3367
Ryan.weld@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Brad White (R-Kanawha, 36)
(304) 340-3138
Brad.white@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Andrew Byrd (D-Kanawha, 35)
(304) 340-3362
Andrew.byrd@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Barbara Evans Fleischauer (D-Monongalia, 51)
(304) 340-3127
barbaraf@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Shawn Fluharty (D-Ohio, 03)
(304) 340-3270
Shawn.fluharty@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Kenneth Hicks (D-Wayne, 19)
(304) 340-3155
Ken.hicks@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Dana Lynch (D-Webster, 44)
(304) 340-3916
Dana.lynch@wvhouse.gov 

Delegate Clif Moore (D-McDowell, 26)
(304) 340-3165
Clif.moore@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Larry Rowe (D-Kanawha, 36)
(304) 340-3287
Larry.rowe@wvhouse.gov 

TRENDING NOW
Maryland: Pro-Carry Legislation Pending Final Vote on House Floor

Monday, March 20, 2017

Maryland: Pro-Carry Legislation Pending Final Vote on House Floor

Today, the Maryland House of Delegates passed House Bill 1036 on second reading.

Ohio: Critical Self-Defense Law Takes Effect Today!

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Ohio: Critical Self-Defense Law Takes Effect Today!

Today, March 21, the provisions of the critical self-defense legislation, Sub. Senate Bill 199, go into effect.  Thanks to your active involvement last session, this bill was signed by Governor Kasich last December.  This law ...

Maryland: House Passes Pro-Carry Legislation

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Maryland: House Passes Pro-Carry Legislation

Yesterday, the Maryland House of Delegates passed House Bill 1036 by a 97-41 vote.

Illinois: Gun Seizure Bill Could be Heard by House at Any Time

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Illinois: Gun Seizure Bill Could be Heard by House at Any Time

The Illinois House of Representatives could consider House Bill 2354 at any time.

Idaho: Senate Passes Concealed Carry Amendment

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Idaho: Senate Passes Concealed Carry Amendment

Yesterday, March 20, the Idaho Senate passed House Bill 93 by a 35-0 vote.  Introduced by state Representative Don Cheatham (R-3B) and sponsored on the floor by state Senator Marv Hagedorn (R-14), HB 93 would amend current law ...

Arkansas Action Needed: Anti-Gun Bill Which Undermines Concealed Carry Headed to House

Thursday, March 23, 2017

Arkansas Action Needed: Anti-Gun Bill Which Undermines Concealed Carry Headed to House

Today, the Arkansas Senate passed Senate Bill 724, an anti-gun bill which undermines some of the key advancements made with the passage and enactment of House Bill 1249.  SB 724 is now headed to the ...

Nevada: Senate Passes Anti-Gun SB 115

Wednesday, March 22, 2017

Nevada: Senate Passes Anti-Gun SB 115

Yesterday, March 21, the Senate passed anti-gun Senate Bill 115 with a 12-9 vote.  SB 115 was sent to the Assembly for further consideration.  Sponsored by state Senator Moises Denis (D-2), SB 115 would expand the list ...

Are Ear Plugs Better Than a Suppressor?

Hunting  

News  

Friday, March 17, 2017

Are Ear Plugs Better Than a Suppressor?

On March 13, the gun control group, Americans for Responsible Solutions, posted a tweet claiming:  “FACT:  Silencers do not protect your hearing.”  An infographic accompanied the tweet with the additional claim “You know what protects ...

Texas: Two Important Handgun Carry Bills to be Considered in Senate and House Next Week

Thursday, March 23, 2017

Texas: Two Important Handgun Carry Bills to be Considered in Senate and House Next Week

On Monday, March 27, the Texas Senate will convene after 2:00pm and is expected to take up and consider Senate Bill 16, NRA-backed legislation sponsored by State Sen. Robert Nichols (R-Jacksonville) and Joan Huffman (R-Houston).

Utah: Governor Signs Self-Defense Legislation into Law

Thursday, March 23, 2017

Utah: Governor Signs Self-Defense Legislation into Law

Tonight, Governor Gary Herbert signed House Bill 198 into law.

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.