Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Wisconsin: 48 Hour Waiting Period Repeal Bills Introduced

Thursday, February 19, 2015

Wisconsin: 48 Hour Waiting Period Repeal Bills Introduced

Senate Bill 35 and Assembly Bill 49 have both been introduced within their respective chamber in the Wisconsin State Legislature.  These companion bills, if passed and enacted in their current form, will repeal Wisconsin’s antiquated 48 hour waiting period for handgun purchases.

This legislation allows a licensed firearm dealer to transfer ownership of a handgun following notice from the Department of Justice that the background check indicates that the purchaser is not prohibited from possessing a firearm.  

The 48-Hour Rule for handgun purchases was first enacted in Wisconsin in 1976, prior to background checks on handgun sales.  Due to the advent of instant background checks such as the National Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS), the 48 hour waiting period has become an unnecessary time tax on both the purchaser and the dealer. 

SB 35 and AB 49 are important pro-gun reforms that deserve your support, and your NRA-ILA will keep you updated as this legislation is assigned to committee and moves through the legislative process.  

In the meantime, please use the contact information provided below to thank the cosponsors in both chambers. 

Senator Van H. Wanggaard (R-21)
Email: Sen.Wanggaard@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-1832

Senator Thomas Tiffany  (R-12)
Email: Sen.Tiffany@legis.wi.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-2509

Senator Mary Lazich (R-28)
Email: Sen.Lazich@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-5400

Senator Devin LeMahieu (R-9)
Email: Sen.LeMahieu@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-2056

Senator Terry Moulton (R-23)
Email: Sen.Moulton@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-7511

Senator Stephen L. Nass (R-11)
Email: Sen.Nass@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-2635 

Representative Thomas Weatherson (R-62)
Email: Rep.Weatherston@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-0731 

Representative Romaine Quinn (R-75)
Email: Rep.Quinn@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-2519

Representative Jesse Kremer (R-59)
Email: Rep.Kremer@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-9175

Representative Mary Czaja (R-35)
Email: Rep.Czaja@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-7694

Representative Jeremy Thiesfeldt (R-18)
Email: Rep.Thiesfeldt@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-3156

Representative Scott Allen (R-97)
Email: Rep.Allen@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-8580

Representative Tyler August (R-32)
Email: Rep.August@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-1190

Representative Janel Brandtjen (R-22)
Email: Rep.Brandtjen@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 267-2367

Representative Edwards Brooks (R-50)
Email: Rep.Brooks@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-8531

Representative Robert Brooks (R-60)
Email: Rep.Rob.Brooks@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 267-2369

Representative David Craig (R-83)
Email: Rep.Craig@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-3363

Representative Bob Gannon (R-58)
Email: Rep.Gannon@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 264-8486

Representative Cody Horlacher  (R-33)
Email: Rep.Horlacher@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-5715

Representative Adam Jarchow (R-28)
Email: Rep.Jarchow@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 267-2365

Representative Chris Kapenga (R-99)
Email: Rep.Kapenga@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-3007

Representative Terry Katsma (R-26)
Email: Rep.Katsma@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-0656

Representative Joel Kleefisch (R-38)
Email: Rep.Kleefisch@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-8551

Representative Daniel Knodl (R-24)
Email: Rep.Knodl@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-3796

Representative Scott Krug (R-72)
Email: Rep.Krug@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-0215

Representative Bob Kulp (R-69)
Email: Rep.Kulp@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 267-0280

Representative Thomas Larson (R-67)
Email: Rep.Larson@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-1194

Representative John Macco (R-88)
Email: Rep.Macco@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-0485

Representative Jeffrey Mursau (R-36)
Email: Rep.Mursau@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-3780

Representative John Murtha (R-29)
Email: Rep.Murtha@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-7683

Representative Adam Neylon (R-98)
Email: Rep.Neylon@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-5120

Representative Alvin Ott (R-3)
Email: Rep.Ott@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-5831

Representative Joe Sanfelippo (R-15)
Email: Rep.Sanfelippo@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-0620

Representative Michael Schraa (R-53)
Email: Rep.Schraa@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 267-7990

Representative Ken Skowronski  (R-82)
Email: Rep. Skowronski@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-8590

Representative David Steffen (R-4)
Email: Rep.Steffen@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-5840

Representative Rob Swearingen (R-34)
Email: Rep.Swearingen@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-7141

Representative Gary Tauchen (R-6)
Email: Rep.Tauchen@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-3097

TRENDING NOW
Veteran Criticizes Police Practices, Gets Guns and Firearm License Seized by Chief of Police

News  

Monday, October 21, 2019

Veteran Criticizes Police Practices, Gets Guns and Firearm License Seized by Chief of Police

Watch what you say about local officialdom in Tisbury, Mass., or you may find Police Chief Mark Saloio knocking at your door to revoke your Second Amendment rights.

Assault on Firearm Industry Fails: Federal Court Dismisses Ohio Lawsuit

News  

Monday, October 21, 2019

Assault on Firearm Industry Fails: Federal Court Dismisses Ohio Lawsuit

On October 9, a federal court in Ohio considered and dismissed, with prejudice, a lawsuit against Smith & Wesson, Remington, Sig Sauer, and other gun manufacturers, arising from a class action brought by Primus Group ...

California Gun Confiscation Draws ACLU Opposition

News  

Monday, October 21, 2019

California Gun Confiscation Draws ACLU Opposition

We know that gun rights are interconnected with other civil rights. In their zeal to attack law-abiding gun owners and Second Amendment rights, gun control advocates have shown a willingness to trample other cherished civil ...

Confiscation or "Mandatory Buyback"?

News  

Monday, October 21, 2019

Confiscation or "Mandatory Buyback"?

It is interesting to watch certain Democrats struggle when trying to convince law-abiding gun owners how “reasonable” it is for the government to take away your firearms.  Do the anti-gun groups and candidates pushing confiscation ...

Dick’s Spends Big on Gun-Chopping, Virtue-Signaling Bonanza (But It Will Still Sell You a Firearm)

News  

Sunday, October 13, 2019

Dick’s Spends Big on Gun-Chopping, Virtue-Signaling Bonanza (But It Will Still Sell You a Firearm)

Ed Stack, the CEO of Dick’s Sporting Goods, wants you to know he’s committed to keeping AR-15s “off the street.” But he’s also committed (for the time being) to selling other types of firearms.

California: Anti-Gun and Anti-Hunting Bill Signed into Law

Monday, October 14, 2019

California: Anti-Gun and Anti-Hunting Bill Signed into Law

Prior to the October 13 deadline, Governor Newsom signed the final anti-gun and anti-hunting bills, AB 1254 and SB 172 into law.  

California: Governor Newsom Signs Anti-Gun Bills into Law

Friday, October 11, 2019

California: Governor Newsom Signs Anti-Gun Bills into Law

Earlier today, Governor Newsom signed the seven anti-gun bills listed below into law.  

Number of Concealed Carry Permit Holders Increased Again

News  

Sunday, October 13, 2019

Number of Concealed Carry Permit Holders Increased Again

Last week, economist John Lott of the Crime Prevention Research Center released “Concealed Carry Permit Holders Across the United States: 2019,” his annual report on the number of concealed carry permit holders in the U.S.

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

Gun Laws  

Thursday, January 1, 2015

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

CAUTION: Federal and state firearms laws are subject to frequent change. This summary is not to be considered as legal advice or a restatement of law.

Grassroots Spotlight: NRA-ILA Fighting the Bloomberg Money In Virginia 2019 Elections

News  

Sunday, October 13, 2019

Grassroots Spotlight: NRA-ILA Fighting the Bloomberg Money In Virginia 2019 Elections

The Nov. 5th election may be the most consequential ever for our Second Amendment rights in the Commonwealth. That’s because every seat in the Virginia House of Delegates and Senate is up for grabs and gun control ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.