Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Wisconsin: 48 Hour Waiting Period Repeal Bills Introduced

Thursday, February 19, 2015

Wisconsin: 48 Hour Waiting Period Repeal Bills Introduced

Senate Bill 35 and Assembly Bill 49 have both been introduced within their respective chamber in the Wisconsin State Legislature.  These companion bills, if passed and enacted in their current form, will repeal Wisconsin’s antiquated 48 hour waiting period for handgun purchases.

This legislation allows a licensed firearm dealer to transfer ownership of a handgun following notice from the Department of Justice that the background check indicates that the purchaser is not prohibited from possessing a firearm.  

The 48-Hour Rule for handgun purchases was first enacted in Wisconsin in 1976, prior to background checks on handgun sales.  Due to the advent of instant background checks such as the National Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS), the 48 hour waiting period has become an unnecessary time tax on both the purchaser and the dealer. 

SB 35 and AB 49 are important pro-gun reforms that deserve your support, and your NRA-ILA will keep you updated as this legislation is assigned to committee and moves through the legislative process.  

In the meantime, please use the contact information provided below to thank the cosponsors in both chambers. 

Senator Van H. Wanggaard (R-21)
Email: Sen.Wanggaard@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-1832

Senator Thomas Tiffany  (R-12)
Email: Sen.Tiffany@legis.wi.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-2509

Senator Mary Lazich (R-28)
Email: Sen.Lazich@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-5400

Senator Devin LeMahieu (R-9)
Email: Sen.LeMahieu@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-2056

Senator Terry Moulton (R-23)
Email: Sen.Moulton@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-7511

Senator Stephen L. Nass (R-11)
Email: Sen.Nass@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-2635 

Representative Thomas Weatherson (R-62)
Email: Rep.Weatherston@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-0731 

Representative Romaine Quinn (R-75)
Email: Rep.Quinn@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-2519

Representative Jesse Kremer (R-59)
Email: Rep.Kremer@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-9175

Representative Mary Czaja (R-35)
Email: Rep.Czaja@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-7694

Representative Jeremy Thiesfeldt (R-18)
Email: Rep.Thiesfeldt@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-3156

Representative Scott Allen (R-97)
Email: Rep.Allen@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-8580

Representative Tyler August (R-32)
Email: Rep.August@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-1190

Representative Janel Brandtjen (R-22)
Email: Rep.Brandtjen@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 267-2367

Representative Edwards Brooks (R-50)
Email: Rep.Brooks@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-8531

Representative Robert Brooks (R-60)
Email: Rep.Rob.Brooks@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 267-2369

Representative David Craig (R-83)
Email: Rep.Craig@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-3363

Representative Bob Gannon (R-58)
Email: Rep.Gannon@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 264-8486

Representative Cody Horlacher  (R-33)
Email: Rep.Horlacher@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-5715

Representative Adam Jarchow (R-28)
Email: Rep.Jarchow@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 267-2365

Representative Chris Kapenga (R-99)
Email: Rep.Kapenga@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-3007

Representative Terry Katsma (R-26)
Email: Rep.Katsma@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-0656

Representative Joel Kleefisch (R-38)
Email: Rep.Kleefisch@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-8551

Representative Daniel Knodl (R-24)
Email: Rep.Knodl@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-3796

Representative Scott Krug (R-72)
Email: Rep.Krug@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-0215

Representative Bob Kulp (R-69)
Email: Rep.Kulp@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 267-0280

Representative Thomas Larson (R-67)
Email: Rep.Larson@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-1194

Representative John Macco (R-88)
Email: Rep.Macco@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-0485

Representative Jeffrey Mursau (R-36)
Email: Rep.Mursau@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-3780

Representative John Murtha (R-29)
Email: Rep.Murtha@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-7683

Representative Adam Neylon (R-98)
Email: Rep.Neylon@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-5120

Representative Alvin Ott (R-3)
Email: Rep.Ott@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-5831

Representative Joe Sanfelippo (R-15)
Email: Rep.Sanfelippo@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-0620

Representative Michael Schraa (R-53)
Email: Rep.Schraa@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 267-7990

Representative Ken Skowronski  (R-82)
Email: Rep. Skowronski@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-8590

Representative David Steffen (R-4)
Email: Rep.Steffen@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-5840

Representative Rob Swearingen (R-34)
Email: Rep.Swearingen@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-7141

Representative Gary Tauchen (R-6)
Email: Rep.Tauchen@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-3097

TRENDING NOW
Obama Says Goodbye to America’s Gun Owners with (a Likely Short-lived) Lead Ammo Ban

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

Obama Says Goodbye to America’s Gun Owners with (a Likely Short-lived) Lead Ammo Ban

Gun owners knew that Barack Obama would not leave quietly. The only question was what else was coming.  

New Hampshire: Constitutional/Permitless Carry Bill Passes Senate!

Thursday, January 19, 2017

New Hampshire: Constitutional/Permitless Carry Bill Passes Senate!

Today, Senate Bill 12, legislation eliminating the requirement to obtain a permit in order to lawfully carry, passed the Senate without amendment, by a 13-10 vote.  SB 12 will now go to the House of ...

Federal Appeals Court: Chicago Violates Second Amendment … Again

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

Federal Appeals Court: Chicago Violates Second Amendment … Again

On Wednesday, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit found that Chicago had once again violated the Second Amendment, this time with its regulations for gun ranges.

Gun Owners Welcome Donald J. Trump as President of the United States

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

Gun Owners Welcome Donald J. Trump as President of the United States

Gun owners across the nation breathed a sigh of relief as Donald J. Trump was sworn in Friday morning as the 45th president of the United States.

Your Members of Congress Need to Hear from You on the Hearing Protection Act of 2017

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Your Members of Congress Need to Hear from You on the Hearing Protection Act of 2017

On Monday, Sen. Mike Crapo (R-ID) – joined by co-sponsors Sens. Jerry Moran (R-KS) and Rand Paul (R-KY) – introduced S. 59, the Hearing Protection Act of 2017 (HPA). Similar legislation was introduced in the ...

Alert: WA State Proposes Draconian Gun Ban Bills

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Alert: WA State Proposes Draconian Gun Ban Bills

Inspired, perhaps, by Oscar Wilde (“Moderation is a fatal thing. Nothing succeeds like excess”), Washington State Attorney General Bob Ferguson has announced two new sweeping gun control bills, with Sen. David Frockt (D-Seattle) and Rep. ...

New York Times Relies on Gun Prohibitionist Propaganda, Stigmatizes Suicide

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

New York Times Relies on Gun Prohibitionist Propaganda, Stigmatizes Suicide

In a December 5, 2015, front page editorial, the New York Times finally admitted what discerning readers had long understood – that the paper advocates the prohibition and confiscation of certain types of now-lawfully possessed firearms. ...

National Concealed Carry Reciprocity Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

National Concealed Carry Reciprocity Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them

On January 3rd, Congressman Richard Hudson (R-N.C.8th) introduced H.R. 38, the Concealed Carry Reciprocity Act of 2017, which simply allows lawful firearm carriers from any state to carry a concealed firearm in any other state. The bill ...

Thursday, January 19, 2017

Florida Urgent Alert! Self-defense Bill up in Senate Judiciary on Tuesday 1/24/2017

A critical self-defense bill will be heard by the Senate Judiciary Committee on Tuesday, January 24, 2017, between 2:00-4:00pm.  SB-128 Burden of Proof by Senator Rob Bradley restores the presumption of innocence in self-defense cases ...

Web Scraping: A Means to Push the Anti-Gun Agenda

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

Web Scraping: A Means to Push the Anti-Gun Agenda

You may have read recently about a “breaking analysis” that includes numbers derived from a “mass shooting tracker,” which purports to present to the world, real world cases in which mass shootings have occurred.  One ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.