Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Wisconsin: 48 Hour Waiting Period Repeal Bills Introduced

Thursday, February 19, 2015

Wisconsin: 48 Hour Waiting Period Repeal Bills Introduced

Senate Bill 35 and Assembly Bill 49 have both been introduced within their respective chamber in the Wisconsin State Legislature.  These companion bills, if passed and enacted in their current form, will repeal Wisconsin’s antiquated 48 hour waiting period for handgun purchases.

This legislation allows a licensed firearm dealer to transfer ownership of a handgun following notice from the Department of Justice that the background check indicates that the purchaser is not prohibited from possessing a firearm.  

The 48-Hour Rule for handgun purchases was first enacted in Wisconsin in 1976, prior to background checks on handgun sales.  Due to the advent of instant background checks such as the National Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS), the 48 hour waiting period has become an unnecessary time tax on both the purchaser and the dealer. 

SB 35 and AB 49 are important pro-gun reforms that deserve your support, and your NRA-ILA will keep you updated as this legislation is assigned to committee and moves through the legislative process.  

In the meantime, please use the contact information provided below to thank the cosponsors in both chambers. 

Senator Van H. Wanggaard (R-21)
Email: Sen.Wanggaard@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-1832

Senator Thomas Tiffany  (R-12)
Email: Sen.Tiffany@legis.wi.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-2509

Senator Mary Lazich (R-28)
Email: Sen.Lazich@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-5400

Senator Devin LeMahieu (R-9)
Email: Sen.LeMahieu@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-2056

Senator Terry Moulton (R-23)
Email: Sen.Moulton@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-7511

Senator Stephen L. Nass (R-11)
Email: Sen.Nass@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-2635 

Representative Thomas Weatherson (R-62)
Email: Rep.Weatherston@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-0731 

Representative Romaine Quinn (R-75)
Email: Rep.Quinn@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-2519

Representative Jesse Kremer (R-59)
Email: Rep.Kremer@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-9175

Representative Mary Czaja (R-35)
Email: Rep.Czaja@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-7694

Representative Jeremy Thiesfeldt (R-18)
Email: Rep.Thiesfeldt@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-3156

Representative Scott Allen (R-97)
Email: Rep.Allen@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-8580

Representative Tyler August (R-32)
Email: Rep.August@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-1190

Representative Janel Brandtjen (R-22)
Email: Rep.Brandtjen@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 267-2367

Representative Edwards Brooks (R-50)
Email: Rep.Brooks@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-8531

Representative Robert Brooks (R-60)
Email: Rep.Rob.Brooks@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 267-2369

Representative David Craig (R-83)
Email: Rep.Craig@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-3363

Representative Bob Gannon (R-58)
Email: Rep.Gannon@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 264-8486

Representative Cody Horlacher  (R-33)
Email: Rep.Horlacher@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-5715

Representative Adam Jarchow (R-28)
Email: Rep.Jarchow@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 267-2365

Representative Chris Kapenga (R-99)
Email: Rep.Kapenga@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-3007

Representative Terry Katsma (R-26)
Email: Rep.Katsma@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-0656

Representative Joel Kleefisch (R-38)
Email: Rep.Kleefisch@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-8551

Representative Daniel Knodl (R-24)
Email: Rep.Knodl@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-3796

Representative Scott Krug (R-72)
Email: Rep.Krug@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-0215

Representative Bob Kulp (R-69)
Email: Rep.Kulp@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 267-0280

Representative Thomas Larson (R-67)
Email: Rep.Larson@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-1194

Representative John Macco (R-88)
Email: Rep.Macco@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-0485

Representative Jeffrey Mursau (R-36)
Email: Rep.Mursau@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-3780

Representative John Murtha (R-29)
Email: Rep.Murtha@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-7683

Representative Adam Neylon (R-98)
Email: Rep.Neylon@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-5120

Representative Alvin Ott (R-3)
Email: Rep.Ott@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-5831

Representative Joe Sanfelippo (R-15)
Email: Rep.Sanfelippo@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-0620

Representative Michael Schraa (R-53)
Email: Rep.Schraa@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 267-7990

Representative Ken Skowronski  (R-82)
Email: Rep. Skowronski@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-8590

Representative David Steffen (R-4)
Email: Rep.Steffen@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-5840

Representative Rob Swearingen (R-34)
Email: Rep.Swearingen@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-7141

Representative Gary Tauchen (R-6)
Email: Rep.Tauchen@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-3097

TRENDING NOW
Virginia Police Chief Advocates Ban on All Guns at U.S. House “Assault Weapons” Hearing

News  

Friday, September 27, 2019

Virginia Police Chief Advocates Ban on All Guns at U.S. House “Assault Weapons” Hearing

On Sept. 25, the Democrat-led U.S. House Judiciary Committee held a 3 ½ hour “hearing” entitled “Protecting America From Assault Weapons.” That framing of the issue underscored the erroneous notion that Americans need protection from ...

Kentucky: Committee to Consider Firearm Seizures Without Due Process

Friday, November 15, 2019

Kentucky: Committee to Consider Firearm Seizures Without Due Process

On Friday, November 22nd, the Kentucky state Interim Joint Committee on Judiciary will consider so called “red-flag laws.” Though no legislation has been introduced, such laws usually allow for Second Amendment rights to be suspended ...

Bloomberg Bought Virginia Legislators Introduce Confiscatory Gun Ban

News  

Monday, November 25, 2019

Bloomberg Bought Virginia Legislators Introduce Confiscatory Gun Ban

Michael Bloomberg’s bought and paid for Virginia legislators have wasted no time introducing legislation that would make the Old Dominion’s gun laws worse than those of the billionaire’s home state of New York.

NRA-Supported Case Heard by Supreme Court

News  

Tuesday, December 3, 2019

NRA-Supported Case Heard by Supreme Court

The National Rifle Association’s Institute for Legislative Action (NRA-ILA) says this week’s Supreme Court hearing on a New York City gun control law could ultimately strengthen the ability of law-abiding citizens to exercise their Second ...

Joe Biden Wants to Ban 9mm Pistols

News  

Monday, November 25, 2019

Joe Biden Wants to Ban 9mm Pistols

A week after he told voters that the Second Amendment doesn’t protect “a magazine with a hundred clips in it,” 2020 Democratic Presidential Candidate Joe Biden offered supporters more of his singular brand of anti-gun ...

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

Gun Laws  

Thursday, January 1, 2015

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

CAUTION: Federal and state firearms laws are subject to frequent change. This summary is not to be considered as legal advice or a restatement of law.

NRA Files Joint Legal Challenge Against Firearm Storage Initiative Petition

Wednesday, November 27, 2019

NRA Files Joint Legal Challenge Against Firearm Storage Initiative Petition

On Friday, the National Rifle Association announced the filing of a joint legal challenge with the Oregon Hunters Association to contest Oregon Initiative Petition 40, which seeks to impose sweeping restrictions on the storage of ...

No Protection for the Law that Protects the Firearm Industry: Supreme Court Passes on PLCAA Case

News  

Monday, November 18, 2019

No Protection for the Law that Protects the Firearm Industry: Supreme Court Passes on PLCAA Case

A law designed to protect the firearm industry from frivolous litigation is now in jeopardy thanks to inaction by the U.S. Supreme Court, which earlier this month passed on a petition to review a case ...

Sanders Burns the 2020 Democratic Primary Gun Control Agenda

News  

Monday, November 18, 2019

Sanders Burns the 2020 Democratic Primary Gun Control Agenda

As anti-gun as the 2020 Democratic presidential contenders have exposed themselves to be, much of the field still gives lip-service to the Second Amendment and the Constitution. Take for instance Joe Biden. The leading candidate’s campaign has said that ...

It’s Never Enough: Gun Control Advocates Won’t Ever Be Satisfied With Marginal Changes to Our Gun Laws

News  

Tuesday, December 3, 2019

It’s Never Enough: Gun Control Advocates Won’t Ever Be Satisfied With Marginal Changes to Our Gun Laws

When seeking to pass whatever the anti-gun flavor of the month is when it comes to gun legislation, anti-gun advocates often claim to be seeking only “reasonable” solutions. They often claim that if just one ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.