Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Wisconsin: 48 Hour Waiting Period Repeal Bills Introduced

Thursday, February 19, 2015

Wisconsin: 48 Hour Waiting Period Repeal Bills Introduced

Senate Bill 35 and Assembly Bill 49 have both been introduced within their respective chamber in the Wisconsin State Legislature.  These companion bills, if passed and enacted in their current form, will repeal Wisconsin’s antiquated 48 hour waiting period for handgun purchases.

This legislation allows a licensed firearm dealer to transfer ownership of a handgun following notice from the Department of Justice that the background check indicates that the purchaser is not prohibited from possessing a firearm.  

The 48-Hour Rule for handgun purchases was first enacted in Wisconsin in 1976, prior to background checks on handgun sales.  Due to the advent of instant background checks such as the National Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS), the 48 hour waiting period has become an unnecessary time tax on both the purchaser and the dealer. 

SB 35 and AB 49 are important pro-gun reforms that deserve your support, and your NRA-ILA will keep you updated as this legislation is assigned to committee and moves through the legislative process.  

In the meantime, please use the contact information provided below to thank the cosponsors in both chambers. 

Senator Van H. Wanggaard (R-21)
Email: Sen.Wanggaard@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-1832

Senator Thomas Tiffany  (R-12)
Email: Sen.Tiffany@legis.wi.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-2509

Senator Mary Lazich (R-28)
Email: Sen.Lazich@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-5400

Senator Devin LeMahieu (R-9)
Email: Sen.LeMahieu@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-2056

Senator Terry Moulton (R-23)
Email: Sen.Moulton@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-7511

Senator Stephen L. Nass (R-11)
Email: Sen.Nass@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-2635 

Representative Thomas Weatherson (R-62)
Email: Rep.Weatherston@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-0731 

Representative Romaine Quinn (R-75)
Email: Rep.Quinn@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-2519

Representative Jesse Kremer (R-59)
Email: Rep.Kremer@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-9175

Representative Mary Czaja (R-35)
Email: Rep.Czaja@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-7694

Representative Jeremy Thiesfeldt (R-18)
Email: Rep.Thiesfeldt@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-3156

Representative Scott Allen (R-97)
Email: Rep.Allen@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-8580

Representative Tyler August (R-32)
Email: Rep.August@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-1190

Representative Janel Brandtjen (R-22)
Email: Rep.Brandtjen@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 267-2367

Representative Edwards Brooks (R-50)
Email: Rep.Brooks@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-8531

Representative Robert Brooks (R-60)
Email: Rep.Rob.Brooks@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 267-2369

Representative David Craig (R-83)
Email: Rep.Craig@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-3363

Representative Bob Gannon (R-58)
Email: Rep.Gannon@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 264-8486

Representative Cody Horlacher  (R-33)
Email: Rep.Horlacher@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-5715

Representative Adam Jarchow (R-28)
Email: Rep.Jarchow@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 267-2365

Representative Chris Kapenga (R-99)
Email: Rep.Kapenga@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-3007

Representative Terry Katsma (R-26)
Email: Rep.Katsma@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-0656

Representative Joel Kleefisch (R-38)
Email: Rep.Kleefisch@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-8551

Representative Daniel Knodl (R-24)
Email: Rep.Knodl@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-3796

Representative Scott Krug (R-72)
Email: Rep.Krug@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-0215

Representative Bob Kulp (R-69)
Email: Rep.Kulp@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 267-0280

Representative Thomas Larson (R-67)
Email: Rep.Larson@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-1194

Representative John Macco (R-88)
Email: Rep.Macco@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-0485

Representative Jeffrey Mursau (R-36)
Email: Rep.Mursau@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-3780

Representative John Murtha (R-29)
Email: Rep.Murtha@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-7683

Representative Adam Neylon (R-98)
Email: Rep.Neylon@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-5120

Representative Alvin Ott (R-3)
Email: Rep.Ott@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-5831

Representative Joe Sanfelippo (R-15)
Email: Rep.Sanfelippo@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-0620

Representative Michael Schraa (R-53)
Email: Rep.Schraa@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 267-7990

Representative Ken Skowronski  (R-82)
Email: Rep. Skowronski@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-8590

Representative David Steffen (R-4)
Email: Rep.Steffen@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-5840

Representative Rob Swearingen (R-34)
Email: Rep.Swearingen@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-7141

Representative Gary Tauchen (R-6)
Email: Rep.Tauchen@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-3097

TRENDING NOW

Saturday, April 21, 2018

Florida Alert: YETI Drops NRA Foundation

For years YETI Coolers have been a hot item for sportsmen at the Friends of NRA Foundation Banquet and Auction events around the country.  Suddenly, without prior notice, YETI has declined to do business with The ...

Dick’s Sporting Goods/Field & Stream to Destroy Firearms Inventory

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, April 20, 2018

Dick’s Sporting Goods/Field & Stream to Destroy Firearms Inventory

Dick’s Sporting Goods took their campaign to alienate law-abiding gun owners to an extraordinary new level last week. The beleaguered retailer announced that in addition to removing certain types of semi-automatic rifles from their stores, the company ...

Another Group of Anti-Gun Celebrities Forms!  In Other News, The Sun Rose Today.

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, April 20, 2018

Another Group of Anti-Gun Celebrities Forms! In Other News, The Sun Rose Today.

In case you were worried there were not enough anti-gun organizations working to eradicate the rights of law-abiding gun owners, a new one has formed, and it’s called NoRA.  Get it?  The name implies that the ...

NRA Statement on Passage of the National Defense Authorization Act

News  

Tuesday, December 12, 2017

NRA Statement on Passage of the National Defense Authorization Act

National Rifle Association Institute for Legislative Action executive director, Chris W. Cox, released the following statement on Tuesday regarding President Donald Trump's signature on the National Defense Authorization Act

NRA Salutes “the Gunny” and Mourns the Passing of an American Patriot

News  

Friday, April 20, 2018

NRA Salutes “the Gunny” and Mourns the Passing of an American Patriot

America, and the NRA, lost a true friend and a staunch defender of freedom with the passing of R. Lee Ermey on April 15 from complications of pneumonia. He was 74 years old. 

Keep Calm and Carry On: Pro-Gun Sentiment Reasserts Itself in Wake of Antigun Blitz

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, April 20, 2018

Keep Calm and Carry On: Pro-Gun Sentiment Reasserts Itself in Wake of Antigun Blitz

Like the long-delayed coming of spring to the Mid-Atlantic, evidence is appearing that Americans are regaining their senses and reverting to an instinctual embrace of freedom after a withering barrage of some the nastiest and most ugly ...

Illinois: Committee Passes Bill to Allow Local Infringement of Second Amendment

Wednesday, April 18, 2018

Illinois: Committee Passes Bill to Allow Local Infringement of Second Amendment

The Illinois state Senate could vote on legislation to allow localities to infringe upon Second Amendment rights as early as today.  Senate Bill 2314 was moved to third reading after it had passed the Senate ...

California: Legislation Requiring Background Checks on Barrels and Other Parts Up For Hearing!

Sunday, April 22, 2018

California: Legislation Requiring Background Checks on Barrels and Other Parts Up For Hearing!

Several pro- and anti-gun bills are scheduled to be heard in their respective committees on Monday, April 23 and Tuesday, April 24.  Please contact the members of the respective committee and urge them to SUPPORT ...

Unfriendly Skies: Delta CEO Claims Bashing NRA Members is Good Business

News  

Friday, April 13, 2018

Unfriendly Skies: Delta CEO Claims Bashing NRA Members is Good Business

In the wake of the Parkland, Florida, murders, there has been an unusual amount of anti-gun and anti-NRA commentary by private corporations with plenty of problems of their own.   In February, Delta announced it was ending a ...

Rhode Island: 19 Gun Bills to be Heard in House Judiciary Committee Tuesday

Thursday, April 19, 2018

Rhode Island: 19 Gun Bills to be Heard in House Judiciary Committee Tuesday

A marathon gun bill hearing is on tap for next Tuesday night in Providence, and NRA and local pro-Second Amendment groups are calling for all-hands-on-deck.

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.