Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Wisconsin: 48 Hour Waiting Period Repeal Bills Introduced

Thursday, February 19, 2015

Wisconsin: 48 Hour Waiting Period Repeal Bills Introduced

Senate Bill 35 and Assembly Bill 49 have both been introduced within their respective chamber in the Wisconsin State Legislature.  These companion bills, if passed and enacted in their current form, will repeal Wisconsin’s antiquated 48 hour waiting period for handgun purchases.

This legislation allows a licensed firearm dealer to transfer ownership of a handgun following notice from the Department of Justice that the background check indicates that the purchaser is not prohibited from possessing a firearm.  

The 48-Hour Rule for handgun purchases was first enacted in Wisconsin in 1976, prior to background checks on handgun sales.  Due to the advent of instant background checks such as the National Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS), the 48 hour waiting period has become an unnecessary time tax on both the purchaser and the dealer. 

SB 35 and AB 49 are important pro-gun reforms that deserve your support, and your NRA-ILA will keep you updated as this legislation is assigned to committee and moves through the legislative process.  

In the meantime, please use the contact information provided below to thank the cosponsors in both chambers. 

Senator Van H. Wanggaard (R-21)
Email: Sen.Wanggaard@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-1832

Senator Thomas Tiffany  (R-12)
Email: Sen.Tiffany@legis.wi.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-2509

Senator Mary Lazich (R-28)
Email: Sen.Lazich@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-5400

Senator Devin LeMahieu (R-9)
Email: Sen.LeMahieu@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-2056

Senator Terry Moulton (R-23)
Email: Sen.Moulton@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-7511

Senator Stephen L. Nass (R-11)
Email: Sen.Nass@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-2635 

Representative Thomas Weatherson (R-62)
Email: Rep.Weatherston@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-0731 

Representative Romaine Quinn (R-75)
Email: Rep.Quinn@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-2519

Representative Jesse Kremer (R-59)
Email: Rep.Kremer@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-9175

Representative Mary Czaja (R-35)
Email: Rep.Czaja@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-7694

Representative Jeremy Thiesfeldt (R-18)
Email: Rep.Thiesfeldt@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-3156

Representative Scott Allen (R-97)
Email: Rep.Allen@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-8580

Representative Tyler August (R-32)
Email: Rep.August@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-1190

Representative Janel Brandtjen (R-22)
Email: Rep.Brandtjen@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 267-2367

Representative Edwards Brooks (R-50)
Email: Rep.Brooks@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-8531

Representative Robert Brooks (R-60)
Email: Rep.Rob.Brooks@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 267-2369

Representative David Craig (R-83)
Email: Rep.Craig@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-3363

Representative Bob Gannon (R-58)
Email: Rep.Gannon@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 264-8486

Representative Cody Horlacher  (R-33)
Email: Rep.Horlacher@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-5715

Representative Adam Jarchow (R-28)
Email: Rep.Jarchow@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 267-2365

Representative Chris Kapenga (R-99)
Email: Rep.Kapenga@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-3007

Representative Terry Katsma (R-26)
Email: Rep.Katsma@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-0656

Representative Joel Kleefisch (R-38)
Email: Rep.Kleefisch@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-8551

Representative Daniel Knodl (R-24)
Email: Rep.Knodl@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-3796

Representative Scott Krug (R-72)
Email: Rep.Krug@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-0215

Representative Bob Kulp (R-69)
Email: Rep.Kulp@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 267-0280

Representative Thomas Larson (R-67)
Email: Rep.Larson@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-1194

Representative John Macco (R-88)
Email: Rep.Macco@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-0485

Representative Jeffrey Mursau (R-36)
Email: Rep.Mursau@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-3780

Representative John Murtha (R-29)
Email: Rep.Murtha@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-7683

Representative Adam Neylon (R-98)
Email: Rep.Neylon@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-5120

Representative Alvin Ott (R-3)
Email: Rep.Ott@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-5831

Representative Joe Sanfelippo (R-15)
Email: Rep.Sanfelippo@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-0620

Representative Michael Schraa (R-53)
Email: Rep.Schraa@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 267-7990

Representative Ken Skowronski  (R-82)
Email: Rep. Skowronski@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-8590

Representative David Steffen (R-4)
Email: Rep.Steffen@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-5840

Representative Rob Swearingen (R-34)
Email: Rep.Swearingen@legis.wisconsin.gov
Phone: (608) 266-7141

Representative Gary Tauchen (R-6)
Email: Rep.Tauchen@legis.wisconsin.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-3097

TRENDING NOW
The Washington Post Gives Gun Control Group and U.S. Senator Three Pinocchios on Suppressors

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, March 24, 2017

The Washington Post Gives Gun Control Group and U.S. Senator Three Pinocchios on Suppressors

Last week, we wrote about Americans for Responsible Solutions’ irresponsible misinformation about The Hearing Protection Act on Twitter.  Apparently, we weren’t the only ones who took notice of ARS’s complete disregard for the facts on ...

Arkansas Action Needed: Anti-Gun Bill Which Undermines Concealed Carry Headed to House

Thursday, March 23, 2017

Arkansas Action Needed: Anti-Gun Bill Which Undermines Concealed Carry Headed to House

Today, the Arkansas Senate passed Senate Bill 724, an anti-gun bill which undermines some of the key advancements made with the passage and enactment of House Bill 1249.  SB 724 is now headed to the ...

Oklahoma: Multiple Pro-Gun Bills Passed Out of the House

Friday, March 24, 2017

Oklahoma: Multiple Pro-Gun Bills Passed Out of the House

This week, the Oklahoma House of Representatives passed multiple pro-gun bills, including House Bill 1721, House Bill 2323, and House Bill 2322. 

Trump’s Supreme Court Nominee Embraces Heller and Originalism During Senate Hearings

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, March 24, 2017

Trump’s Supreme Court Nominee Embraces Heller and Originalism During Senate Hearings

Judge Neil M. Gorsuch, President Trump’s pick to replace the late Justice Antonin Scalia on the U.S. Supreme court, asserted during his confirmation hearings this week that Scalia’s landmark Second Amendment opinion in District of ...

Maryland: House Passes Pro-Carry Legislation

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Maryland: House Passes Pro-Carry Legislation

Yesterday, the Maryland House of Delegates passed House Bill 1036 by a 97-41 vote.

Illinois: Gun Seizure Bill Could be Heard by House at Any Time

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Illinois: Gun Seizure Bill Could be Heard by House at Any Time

The Illinois House of Representatives could consider House Bill 2354 at any time.

Continuing to Fight in California

Friday, March 24, 2017

Continuing to Fight in California

We are excited to inform you of our new California specific webpage – Stand and Fight California.   On this page you will find State Legislation, Legal Updates, and How to Get Involved, among other California ...

Utah: Governor Signs Self-Defense Legislation into Law

Thursday, March 23, 2017

Utah: Governor Signs Self-Defense Legislation into Law

Tonight, Governor Gary Herbert signed House Bill 198 into law.

Texas: Two Important Handgun Carry Bills to be Considered in Senate and House Next Week

Thursday, March 23, 2017

Texas: Two Important Handgun Carry Bills to be Considered in Senate and House Next Week

On Monday, March 27, the Texas Senate will convene after 2:00pm and is expected to take up and consider Senate Bill 16, NRA-backed legislation sponsored by State Sen. Robert Nichols (R-Jacksonville) and Joan Huffman (R-Houston).

More Firearms, More Firearms Owners, Fewer Fatal Accidents

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, March 24, 2017

More Firearms, More Firearms Owners, Fewer Fatal Accidents

The National Safety Council released the 2017 edition of its annual Injury Facts report this week, and it contains welcome news about firearm safety. 

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.