Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

West Virginia: NRA-Backed Legislation Moves in Charleston

Friday, February 6, 2015

West Virginia: NRA-Backed Legislation Moves in Charleston

This week in Charleston has seen positive movement for three pro-gun bills.

Today, House Bill 2636 was introduced by state Delegate Michael Folk (R-63).  HB 2636 would exempt information contained in a concealed weapon permit application from the Freedom of Information Act.  This respects all law-abiding concealed carry holders’ right to privacy by closing to the public the list of residents with concealed carry licenses.  HB 2636 has been assigned to the House Judiciary Committee.

Yesterday, February 5, House Bill 2128 passed unanimously in the House of Delegates and was sent to the state Senate, where it was referred to the Senate Judiciary Committee.  HB 2128, introduced by state Delegate Gary Howell (R-56), would permit individuals with a concealed handgun license to legally store a firearm in their private vehicle on state Capitol grounds. 

Wednesday, February 4, Senate Bill 284 passed unanimously in the state Senate, with an added floor amendment benefiting law-abiding gun owners.  SB 284 would require that a chief law enforcement officer (CLEO) sign an application for the transfer of any item regulated under the National Firearms Act (NFA) within 30 days if the applicant is not prohibited by law from receiving it.  SB 284 has also been referred to the House Judiciary Committee.     

Using the contact information provided below, please contact members of both the House and Senate Judiciary Committees and respectfully express your support for these bills.

Your NRA-ILA will keep you informed as these bills continue to progress through the legislative process.  In the meantime, please continue to monitor your email inbox and www.nraila.org for further updates

Senate Judiciary Committee Members:

Senator Charles Trump (R-Morgan, 15), Chairman
(304) 357-7980
Charles.trump@wvsenate.gov

Senator David Nohe (R-Wood, 03), Vice-Chairman
(304) 357-7970
David.nohe@wvsenate.gov

Senator Robert Beach (D- Monongalia, 13)
(304) 357-7919
Bob.beach@wvsenate.gov 

Senator Art Kirkendoll (D-Logan, 07)
(304) 357-7857
Art.kirkensoll@wvsenate.gov

Senator Ronald Miller (D- Greenbreier, 10)
(304) 357-7959
Ronald.miller@wvsenate.gov

Senator Corey Palumbo (D-Kanawha, 17)
(304) 357-7880
Corey.palumbo@wvsenate.gov

Senator Mike Romano (D-Harrison, 12)
(304) 357-7904
Mike.romano@wvsneate.gov

Senator Herb Snyder (D-Jefferson, 16)
(304) 357-7957
Herb.snyder@wvsenate.gov

Senator Bob Williams (D-Taylor, 14)
(304) 357-7995
Bob.williams@wvsenate.gov

Senator Mike Woelfel (D-Cabell, 05)
(304) 357-7956
Mike.woelfel@wvsenate.gov

Senator Mitch Carmichael (R-Jackson, 04)
(304) 357-7855
Mitch.carmichael@wvsenate.gov

Senator Daniel Hall (R-Wyoming, 09)
(304) 357-7807
Daniel.hall@wvsenate.gov

Senator Ryan Ferns (R-Ohio, 01)
(304) 357-7918
Ryan.ferns@wvsenate.gov

Senator Ed Gaunch (R-Kanawha, 08)
(304) 357-7841
Ed.gaunch@wvsenate.gov

Senator Robert Karnes (R-Upshur, 11)
(304) 357-7906
Robert.karnes@wvsenate.gov

Senator Kent Leonhardt (R-Monongalia, 02)
(304) 357-7827
Kent.leonhardt@wvsenate.go

Senator Mark Maynard
(304) 357-7808
Mark.maynard@wvsenate.gov 

 

House Judiciary Committee Members:

Delegate Shott (R-Mercer, 27), Chair
(304) 340-3252
John.shott@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Patrick Lane (R-Kanawha, 38, Vice-Chair
(304) 340-3252
Patrick.lane@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Tim Manchin (D-Marion, 50)
(304) 340-3331
tmanchin@manchininjurylaw.com

Delegate Stephen Skinner (D-Jefferson, 67)
(304) 340-3248
Stephen.skinner@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Mike Azinger (R-Wood, 10)
(304) 340-3202
Mike.azinger@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Frank Deem (R-Wood, 10)
(304) 340-3137
Frank.deem@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Tom Fast (R-Fayette, 32)
(304) 340-3170
Tom.fast@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Michael Folk (R-Berkeley, 63)
(304) 340-3350
Michael.folk@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Geoff Foster (R-Putnam, 15)
(304) 340-3121
Geoff.foster@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Roger Hanshaw (R-Clay, 33)
(304) 340-3135
Roger.hanshaw@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Lynwood Ireland (R-Ritchie, 07)
(304) 340-3195
Woody.ireland@wvhouse.gov

Delegate John McCuskey  (R-Kanawha, 35)
(304) 340-3183
John.mccuskey@wvhouse.gov

Delegate John Overington (R-Berkeley, 62)
(304) 340-3148
John.overington@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Kelli Sobonya (R-Cabell, 18)
(304) 340-3175
Kelli.sobonya@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Amy Summers (R-Taylor, 49)
(304) 340-3139
Amy.summers@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Terry Waxman (R-Harrison, 48)
(304) 340-3171
Terry.waxman@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Ryan Weld (R-Brooke, 02)
(304) 340-3367
Ryan.weld@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Brad White (R-Kanawha, 36)
(304) 340-3138
Brad.white@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Andrew Byrd (D-Kanawha, 35)
(304) 340-3362
Andrew.byrd@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Barbara Evans Fleischauer (D-Monongalia, 51)
(304) 340-3127
barbaraf@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Shawn Fluharty (D-Ohio, 03)
(304) 340-3270
Shawn.fluharty@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Kenneth Hicks (D-Wayne, 19)
(304) 340-3155
Ken.hicks@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Dana Lynch (D-Webster, 44)
(304) 340-3916
Dana.lynch@wvhouse.gov 

Delegate Clif Moore (D-McDowell, 26)
(304) 340-3165
Clif.moore@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Larry Rowe (D-Kanawha, 36)
(304) 340-3287
Larry.rowe@wvhouse.gov 

TRENDING NOW
Now With More Banning! Dianne Feinstein Introduces “Updated” Federal “Assault Weapons” Ban (S. 66)

News  

Friday, January 11, 2019

Now With More Banning! Dianne Feinstein Introduces “Updated” Federal “Assault Weapons” Ban (S. 66)

On Wednesday, longtime gun control extremist Dianne Feinstein (D-CA) introduced the latest version of her perennial bid to rid America of its most popular types of rifles, as well as the standard capacity magazines that ...

Canada’s Gun Control Advocates Boast Handgun Ban is “Within Reach”

News  

Friday, January 11, 2019

Canada’s Gun Control Advocates Boast Handgun Ban is “Within Reach”

On August 28, 2018, Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau instructed Bill Blair, his minister of Border Security and Organized Crime Reduction, to examine the feasibility of “a full ban on handguns and assault weapons in ...

Wisconsin: Governor Evers Starts Session with Gun Control Push

Monday, January 14, 2019

Wisconsin: Governor Evers Starts Session with Gun Control Push

With the 2019 Wisconsin Legislative Session convened, Governor Tony Evers and Attorney General Josh Kaul are already working with legislators to pass sweeping gun control.

Monster Mistake, Take Two?

News  

Hunting  

Friday, January 11, 2019

Monster Mistake, Take Two?

Capitulating to radical, anti-gun extremism has become acceptable to some within the business community in recent years, especially for companies that seem to care little about our rights protected by the U.S. Constitution.  We’ve seen banks ...

Background Checks: No Impact on Criminals

News  

Friday, January 11, 2019

Background Checks: No Impact on Criminals

We have seen a generation of gun-grabbers rise and fall. The new generation of gun-grabbers are pushing for the same tired and baseless policies that won’t so much as inconvenience criminals. We understand the emotional ...

Tell Your Members of Congress to Oppose “Universal” Background Check Bills

Take Action  

News  

Thursday, January 10, 2019

Tell Your Members of Congress to Oppose “Universal” Background Check Bills

This week two bills were introduced in Congress to impose so-called “universal” background checks. The bills, H.R. 8 and S. 42, are being misleadingly described as simply requiring background checks on all sales of firearms, but this is ...

Oregon: Anti-Gun Bills Pre-Filed, Legislature to Convene Monday

Friday, January 11, 2019

Oregon: Anti-Gun Bills Pre-Filed, Legislature to Convene Monday

The 2019 Oregon Legislative Session will convene on Monday, January 14th, and anti-gun legislators have already pre-filed numerous bills to infringe upon your rights and more bills are expected in the coming weeks.

Illinois: Firearm Registration & Dealer Licensing Bill May Reach New Governor’s Desk

Friday, January 11, 2019

Illinois: Firearm Registration & Dealer Licensing Bill May Reach New Governor’s Desk

On January 10th, Illinois state Senate President John Cullerton removed a hold on a bill potentially to make the unprecedented move of attempting to send a bill passed by the previous legislature to a newly ...

Virginia: Gov. Northam’s Anti-Gun Bills to be Heard in Committees

Tuesday, January 15, 2019

Virginia: Gov. Northam’s Anti-Gun Bills to be Heard in Committees

This week, committees in both chambers of the Virginia General Assembly will be hearing an array of bills that are part of Governor Ralph Northam’s agenda to impose sweeping gun control in the Commonwealth.  The ...

Washington: 2019 Session Convened, Committee Hearings Scheduled

Monday, January 14, 2019

Washington: 2019 Session Convened, Committee Hearings Scheduled

The 2019 Washington Legislative Session convened today, January 14th, and anti-gun legislators have already pre-filed and scheduled hearings for bills that will infringe upon your Second Amendment rights.

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.