Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

West Virginia: NRA-Backed Legislation Moves in Charleston

Friday, February 6, 2015

West Virginia: NRA-Backed Legislation Moves in Charleston

This week in Charleston has seen positive movement for three pro-gun bills.

Today, House Bill 2636 was introduced by state Delegate Michael Folk (R-63).  HB 2636 would exempt information contained in a concealed weapon permit application from the Freedom of Information Act.  This respects all law-abiding concealed carry holders’ right to privacy by closing to the public the list of residents with concealed carry licenses.  HB 2636 has been assigned to the House Judiciary Committee.

Yesterday, February 5, House Bill 2128 passed unanimously in the House of Delegates and was sent to the state Senate, where it was referred to the Senate Judiciary Committee.  HB 2128, introduced by state Delegate Gary Howell (R-56), would permit individuals with a concealed handgun license to legally store a firearm in their private vehicle on state Capitol grounds. 

Wednesday, February 4, Senate Bill 284 passed unanimously in the state Senate, with an added floor amendment benefiting law-abiding gun owners.  SB 284 would require that a chief law enforcement officer (CLEO) sign an application for the transfer of any item regulated under the National Firearms Act (NFA) within 30 days if the applicant is not prohibited by law from receiving it.  SB 284 has also been referred to the House Judiciary Committee.     

Using the contact information provided below, please contact members of both the House and Senate Judiciary Committees and respectfully express your support for these bills.

Your NRA-ILA will keep you informed as these bills continue to progress through the legislative process.  In the meantime, please continue to monitor your email inbox and www.nraila.org for further updates

Senate Judiciary Committee Members:

Senator Charles Trump (R-Morgan, 15), Chairman
(304) 357-7980
Charles.trump@wvsenate.gov

Senator David Nohe (R-Wood, 03), Vice-Chairman
(304) 357-7970
David.nohe@wvsenate.gov

Senator Robert Beach (D- Monongalia, 13)
(304) 357-7919
Bob.beach@wvsenate.gov 

Senator Art Kirkendoll (D-Logan, 07)
(304) 357-7857
Art.kirkensoll@wvsenate.gov

Senator Ronald Miller (D- Greenbreier, 10)
(304) 357-7959
Ronald.miller@wvsenate.gov

Senator Corey Palumbo (D-Kanawha, 17)
(304) 357-7880
Corey.palumbo@wvsenate.gov

Senator Mike Romano (D-Harrison, 12)
(304) 357-7904
Mike.romano@wvsneate.gov

Senator Herb Snyder (D-Jefferson, 16)
(304) 357-7957
Herb.snyder@wvsenate.gov

Senator Bob Williams (D-Taylor, 14)
(304) 357-7995
Bob.williams@wvsenate.gov

Senator Mike Woelfel (D-Cabell, 05)
(304) 357-7956
Mike.woelfel@wvsenate.gov

Senator Mitch Carmichael (R-Jackson, 04)
(304) 357-7855
Mitch.carmichael@wvsenate.gov

Senator Daniel Hall (R-Wyoming, 09)
(304) 357-7807
Daniel.hall@wvsenate.gov

Senator Ryan Ferns (R-Ohio, 01)
(304) 357-7918
Ryan.ferns@wvsenate.gov

Senator Ed Gaunch (R-Kanawha, 08)
(304) 357-7841
Ed.gaunch@wvsenate.gov

Senator Robert Karnes (R-Upshur, 11)
(304) 357-7906
Robert.karnes@wvsenate.gov

Senator Kent Leonhardt (R-Monongalia, 02)
(304) 357-7827
Kent.leonhardt@wvsenate.go

Senator Mark Maynard
(304) 357-7808
Mark.maynard@wvsenate.gov 

 

House Judiciary Committee Members:

Delegate Shott (R-Mercer, 27), Chair
(304) 340-3252
John.shott@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Patrick Lane (R-Kanawha, 38, Vice-Chair
(304) 340-3252
Patrick.lane@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Tim Manchin (D-Marion, 50)
(304) 340-3331
tmanchin@manchininjurylaw.com

Delegate Stephen Skinner (D-Jefferson, 67)
(304) 340-3248
Stephen.skinner@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Mike Azinger (R-Wood, 10)
(304) 340-3202
Mike.azinger@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Frank Deem (R-Wood, 10)
(304) 340-3137
Frank.deem@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Tom Fast (R-Fayette, 32)
(304) 340-3170
Tom.fast@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Michael Folk (R-Berkeley, 63)
(304) 340-3350
Michael.folk@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Geoff Foster (R-Putnam, 15)
(304) 340-3121
Geoff.foster@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Roger Hanshaw (R-Clay, 33)
(304) 340-3135
Roger.hanshaw@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Lynwood Ireland (R-Ritchie, 07)
(304) 340-3195
Woody.ireland@wvhouse.gov

Delegate John McCuskey  (R-Kanawha, 35)
(304) 340-3183
John.mccuskey@wvhouse.gov

Delegate John Overington (R-Berkeley, 62)
(304) 340-3148
John.overington@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Kelli Sobonya (R-Cabell, 18)
(304) 340-3175
Kelli.sobonya@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Amy Summers (R-Taylor, 49)
(304) 340-3139
Amy.summers@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Terry Waxman (R-Harrison, 48)
(304) 340-3171
Terry.waxman@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Ryan Weld (R-Brooke, 02)
(304) 340-3367
Ryan.weld@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Brad White (R-Kanawha, 36)
(304) 340-3138
Brad.white@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Andrew Byrd (D-Kanawha, 35)
(304) 340-3362
Andrew.byrd@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Barbara Evans Fleischauer (D-Monongalia, 51)
(304) 340-3127
barbaraf@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Shawn Fluharty (D-Ohio, 03)
(304) 340-3270
Shawn.fluharty@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Kenneth Hicks (D-Wayne, 19)
(304) 340-3155
Ken.hicks@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Dana Lynch (D-Webster, 44)
(304) 340-3916
Dana.lynch@wvhouse.gov 

Delegate Clif Moore (D-McDowell, 26)
(304) 340-3165
Clif.moore@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Larry Rowe (D-Kanawha, 36)
(304) 340-3287
Larry.rowe@wvhouse.gov 

TRENDING NOW
Oregon: Governor Signs Anti-Gun Bill into Law

Thursday, August 17, 2017

Oregon: Governor Signs Anti-Gun Bill into Law

Yesterday, Governor Kate Brown signed Senate Bill 719A.  Based on a California law enacted in 2014, SB 719A will create a so-called “Extreme Risk Protection Order” (ERPO) that could be obtained by a law enforcement ...

Washington: Department of Labor & Industries Targeting Shooting Ranges

Thursday, August 17, 2017

Washington: Department of Labor & Industries Targeting Shooting Ranges

At the request of Public Health, Seattle & King County, the Washington Department of Labor and Industries has released a “first draft” of a new statewide regulatory scheme targeting lead and lead exposure in the workplace. ...

Stossel Report Reinforces Urgent Need for Congressional Action

Second Amendment  

Gun Laws  

News  

Friday, August 11, 2017

Stossel Report Reinforces Urgent Need for Congressional Action

Award-winning journalist John Stossel published a report this week that provides a timely reminder that – nearly a decade after the Supreme Court’s landmark ruling in District of Columbia v. Heller – law abiding gun ...

Czechs File Suit Challenging EU Gun Controls

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, August 11, 2017

Czechs File Suit Challenging EU Gun Controls

This week, the Czech Republic made good on their promise to pursue a legal challenge to the European Union’s (EU) onerous new changes to the European Firearms Directive.

California: 2017 Legislative Session Reconvenes on Monday

Thursday, August 17, 2017

California: 2017 Legislative Session Reconvenes on Monday

On Monday, August 21, the California Legislature will reconvene from Summer recess.  Below is the status on the firearm-related bills still moving through the legislative process.  Please send an email to your state legislators respectfully urging ...

Guns Trickle in to Australia Turn-in

News  

Friday, August 11, 2017

Guns Trickle in to Australia Turn-in

U.S. policymakers, NRA-ILA, and even some of the most ardent anti-gun researchers, have long understood that gun turn-in programs do not hinder criminal violence. Despite the overwhelming evidence, the Land Down Under is currently in ...

Justice Department Terminates and Repudiates Operation Chokepoint

News  

Friday, August 18, 2017

Justice Department Terminates and Repudiates Operation Chokepoint

Current Justice Department leadership and Boyd should be commended for their forceful statement on this matter. This unequivocal repudiation of Operation Chokepoint should make a return to such political persecution unpalatable for all but the ...

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

Gun Laws  

Thursday, January 1, 2015

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

CAUTION: Federal and state firearms laws are subject to frequent change. This summary is not to be considered as legal advice or a restatement of law.

Texas Professor Trades Geography for Drama to Protest Campus Carry in the Lone Star State

News  

Friday, August 11, 2017

Texas Professor Trades Geography for Drama to Protest Campus Carry in the Lone Star State

According to a recent poll by the Pew Research Center, more than 1 in 3 Americans believe that colleges and universities exert a negative effect on the country. When respondents are grouped by political party, ...

Brits Vs. Guns

News  

Wednesday, August 9, 2017

Brits Vs. Guns

Will a society that has long turned its back on armed self-defense ever be able to find its way back?

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.