Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

West Virginia: NRA-Backed Legislation Moves in Charleston

Friday, February 6, 2015

West Virginia: NRA-Backed Legislation Moves in Charleston

This week in Charleston has seen positive movement for three pro-gun bills.

Today, House Bill 2636 was introduced by state Delegate Michael Folk (R-63).  HB 2636 would exempt information contained in a concealed weapon permit application from the Freedom of Information Act.  This respects all law-abiding concealed carry holders’ right to privacy by closing to the public the list of residents with concealed carry licenses.  HB 2636 has been assigned to the House Judiciary Committee.

Yesterday, February 5, House Bill 2128 passed unanimously in the House of Delegates and was sent to the state Senate, where it was referred to the Senate Judiciary Committee.  HB 2128, introduced by state Delegate Gary Howell (R-56), would permit individuals with a concealed handgun license to legally store a firearm in their private vehicle on state Capitol grounds. 

Wednesday, February 4, Senate Bill 284 passed unanimously in the state Senate, with an added floor amendment benefiting law-abiding gun owners.  SB 284 would require that a chief law enforcement officer (CLEO) sign an application for the transfer of any item regulated under the National Firearms Act (NFA) within 30 days if the applicant is not prohibited by law from receiving it.  SB 284 has also been referred to the House Judiciary Committee.     

Using the contact information provided below, please contact members of both the House and Senate Judiciary Committees and respectfully express your support for these bills.

Your NRA-ILA will keep you informed as these bills continue to progress through the legislative process.  In the meantime, please continue to monitor your email inbox and www.nraila.org for further updates

Senate Judiciary Committee Members:

Senator Charles Trump (R-Morgan, 15), Chairman
(304) 357-7980
Charles.trump@wvsenate.gov

Senator David Nohe (R-Wood, 03), Vice-Chairman
(304) 357-7970
David.nohe@wvsenate.gov

Senator Robert Beach (D- Monongalia, 13)
(304) 357-7919
Bob.beach@wvsenate.gov 

Senator Art Kirkendoll (D-Logan, 07)
(304) 357-7857
Art.kirkensoll@wvsenate.gov

Senator Ronald Miller (D- Greenbreier, 10)
(304) 357-7959
Ronald.miller@wvsenate.gov

Senator Corey Palumbo (D-Kanawha, 17)
(304) 357-7880
Corey.palumbo@wvsenate.gov

Senator Mike Romano (D-Harrison, 12)
(304) 357-7904
Mike.romano@wvsneate.gov

Senator Herb Snyder (D-Jefferson, 16)
(304) 357-7957
Herb.snyder@wvsenate.gov

Senator Bob Williams (D-Taylor, 14)
(304) 357-7995
Bob.williams@wvsenate.gov

Senator Mike Woelfel (D-Cabell, 05)
(304) 357-7956
Mike.woelfel@wvsenate.gov

Senator Mitch Carmichael (R-Jackson, 04)
(304) 357-7855
Mitch.carmichael@wvsenate.gov

Senator Daniel Hall (R-Wyoming, 09)
(304) 357-7807
Daniel.hall@wvsenate.gov

Senator Ryan Ferns (R-Ohio, 01)
(304) 357-7918
Ryan.ferns@wvsenate.gov

Senator Ed Gaunch (R-Kanawha, 08)
(304) 357-7841
Ed.gaunch@wvsenate.gov

Senator Robert Karnes (R-Upshur, 11)
(304) 357-7906
Robert.karnes@wvsenate.gov

Senator Kent Leonhardt (R-Monongalia, 02)
(304) 357-7827
Kent.leonhardt@wvsenate.go

Senator Mark Maynard
(304) 357-7808
Mark.maynard@wvsenate.gov 

 

House Judiciary Committee Members:

Delegate Shott (R-Mercer, 27), Chair
(304) 340-3252
John.shott@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Patrick Lane (R-Kanawha, 38, Vice-Chair
(304) 340-3252
Patrick.lane@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Tim Manchin (D-Marion, 50)
(304) 340-3331
tmanchin@manchininjurylaw.com

Delegate Stephen Skinner (D-Jefferson, 67)
(304) 340-3248
Stephen.skinner@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Mike Azinger (R-Wood, 10)
(304) 340-3202
Mike.azinger@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Frank Deem (R-Wood, 10)
(304) 340-3137
Frank.deem@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Tom Fast (R-Fayette, 32)
(304) 340-3170
Tom.fast@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Michael Folk (R-Berkeley, 63)
(304) 340-3350
Michael.folk@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Geoff Foster (R-Putnam, 15)
(304) 340-3121
Geoff.foster@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Roger Hanshaw (R-Clay, 33)
(304) 340-3135
Roger.hanshaw@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Lynwood Ireland (R-Ritchie, 07)
(304) 340-3195
Woody.ireland@wvhouse.gov

Delegate John McCuskey  (R-Kanawha, 35)
(304) 340-3183
John.mccuskey@wvhouse.gov

Delegate John Overington (R-Berkeley, 62)
(304) 340-3148
John.overington@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Kelli Sobonya (R-Cabell, 18)
(304) 340-3175
Kelli.sobonya@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Amy Summers (R-Taylor, 49)
(304) 340-3139
Amy.summers@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Terry Waxman (R-Harrison, 48)
(304) 340-3171
Terry.waxman@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Ryan Weld (R-Brooke, 02)
(304) 340-3367
Ryan.weld@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Brad White (R-Kanawha, 36)
(304) 340-3138
Brad.white@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Andrew Byrd (D-Kanawha, 35)
(304) 340-3362
Andrew.byrd@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Barbara Evans Fleischauer (D-Monongalia, 51)
(304) 340-3127
barbaraf@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Shawn Fluharty (D-Ohio, 03)
(304) 340-3270
Shawn.fluharty@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Kenneth Hicks (D-Wayne, 19)
(304) 340-3155
Ken.hicks@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Dana Lynch (D-Webster, 44)
(304) 340-3916
Dana.lynch@wvhouse.gov 

Delegate Clif Moore (D-McDowell, 26)
(304) 340-3165
Clif.moore@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Larry Rowe (D-Kanawha, 36)
(304) 340-3287
Larry.rowe@wvhouse.gov 

TRENDING NOW
Justice Scalia Made Clear the Second Amendment and Heller Prohibit “Assault Weapon” Bans

News  

Second Amendment  

Gun Laws  

Friday, July 13, 2018

Justice Scalia Made Clear the Second Amendment and Heller Prohibit “Assault Weapon” Bans

On July 9, Sen. Chris Murphy (D-Conn.) offered the following ham-handed statement in an attempted attack on President Donald Trump’s U.S. Supreme Court nominee, D.C. Circuit Judge Brett Kavanaugh. Brett Kavanaugh is a true Second Amendment radical. ...

Anti-gun Efforts to Expand U.N. Regulations to Ammunition Continue

News  

Friday, July 6, 2018

Anti-gun Efforts to Expand U.N. Regulations to Ammunition Continue

Shortly before 4:00am last Saturday morning, the two week long Third Review Conference (RevCon3) on the Programme of Action to Prevent, Combat, and Eradicate the Illicit Trade in Small Arms and Light Weapons in All ...

Delaware: Governor Signs Bill Legalizing Sunday Deer Hunting

Hunting  

Friday, July 13, 2018

Delaware: Governor Signs Bill Legalizing Sunday Deer Hunting

On July 11th, Governor John Carney signed Senate Bill 198 into law to expand hunting opportunities in Delaware by eliminating the prohibition against hunting for deer on Sundays and allowing for the harvesting of deer on Sundays ...

California DOJ Withdraws Proposed Regulations Expanding Application of “Assault Weapon” Definitions

Wednesday, July 11, 2018

California DOJ Withdraws Proposed Regulations Expanding Application of “Assault Weapon” Definitions

On Monday, the California Department of Justice, Bureau of Firearms (“CA DOJ”) officially withdrew the proposed regulations that would have expanded the improperly adopted “assault weapon” definitions, to apply in all circumstances. This withdrawal comes ...

NRA Files Comments in Support of Trump Administration’s Export Reform Effort

News  

Friday, July 13, 2018

NRA Files Comments in Support of Trump Administration’s Export Reform Effort

On Monday, the public comment period closed on a pair of rulemakings that could finally free American gun owners and small businesses from being trapped in a minefield of federal regulations designed for exporters of ...

Judge Brett Kavanaugh Has Earned NRA Members’ Support

News  

Friday, July 13, 2018

Judge Brett Kavanaugh Has Earned NRA Members’ Support

NRA members can feel confident throwing their enthusiastic support behind President Donald Trump’s nomination of Judge Brett Kavanaugh to the U.S. Supreme Court. Throughout his time on the bench, Judge Kavanaugh has demonstrated deep respect ...

California: MASSIVE Data Breach and Significant Registration Problems with CA DOJ’s “Assault Weapon” Registration System

Saturday, July 7, 2018

California: MASSIVE Data Breach and Significant Registration Problems with CA DOJ’s “Assault Weapon” Registration System

Following the closure of the “assault weapon” registration period, NRA and CRPA received complaints from hundreds of individuals who were unable to register their firearms as required because CA DOJ’s online application system was unable ...

Mission Impossible: California Court Upholds Microstamping Law

News  

Tuesday, July 3, 2018

Mission Impossible: California Court Upholds Microstamping Law

It is not surprising that gun control activists who harp endlessly about “common sense” gun restrictions and the need for ever more legislative reforms (here, here and here, for example) aren’t particularly interested in whether the various bans and ...

NRA Applauds Brett Kavanaugh's Nomination to the U.S. Supreme Court

News  

Monday, July 9, 2018

NRA Applauds Brett Kavanaugh's Nomination to the U.S. Supreme Court

Fairfax, Va. -The National Rifle Association (NRA) applauds the nomination of Judge Brett Kavanaugh to fill Justice Anthony Kennedy’s seat on the United States Supreme Court. 

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

Gun Laws  

Thursday, January 1, 2015

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

CAUTION: Federal and state firearms laws are subject to frequent change. This summary is not to be considered as legal advice or a restatement of law.

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.