Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

West Virginia: NRA-Backed Legislation Moves in Charleston

Friday, February 6, 2015

West Virginia: NRA-Backed Legislation Moves in Charleston

This week in Charleston has seen positive movement for three pro-gun bills.

Today, House Bill 2636 was introduced by state Delegate Michael Folk (R-63).  HB 2636 would exempt information contained in a concealed weapon permit application from the Freedom of Information Act.  This respects all law-abiding concealed carry holders’ right to privacy by closing to the public the list of residents with concealed carry licenses.  HB 2636 has been assigned to the House Judiciary Committee.

Yesterday, February 5, House Bill 2128 passed unanimously in the House of Delegates and was sent to the state Senate, where it was referred to the Senate Judiciary Committee.  HB 2128, introduced by state Delegate Gary Howell (R-56), would permit individuals with a concealed handgun license to legally store a firearm in their private vehicle on state Capitol grounds. 

Wednesday, February 4, Senate Bill 284 passed unanimously in the state Senate, with an added floor amendment benefiting law-abiding gun owners.  SB 284 would require that a chief law enforcement officer (CLEO) sign an application for the transfer of any item regulated under the National Firearms Act (NFA) within 30 days if the applicant is not prohibited by law from receiving it.  SB 284 has also been referred to the House Judiciary Committee.     

Using the contact information provided below, please contact members of both the House and Senate Judiciary Committees and respectfully express your support for these bills.

Your NRA-ILA will keep you informed as these bills continue to progress through the legislative process.  In the meantime, please continue to monitor your email inbox and www.nraila.org for further updates

Senate Judiciary Committee Members:

Senator Charles Trump (R-Morgan, 15), Chairman
(304) 357-7980
Charles.trump@wvsenate.gov

Senator David Nohe (R-Wood, 03), Vice-Chairman
(304) 357-7970
David.nohe@wvsenate.gov

Senator Robert Beach (D- Monongalia, 13)
(304) 357-7919
Bob.beach@wvsenate.gov 

Senator Art Kirkendoll (D-Logan, 07)
(304) 357-7857
Art.kirkensoll@wvsenate.gov

Senator Ronald Miller (D- Greenbreier, 10)
(304) 357-7959
Ronald.miller@wvsenate.gov

Senator Corey Palumbo (D-Kanawha, 17)
(304) 357-7880
Corey.palumbo@wvsenate.gov

Senator Mike Romano (D-Harrison, 12)
(304) 357-7904
Mike.romano@wvsneate.gov

Senator Herb Snyder (D-Jefferson, 16)
(304) 357-7957
Herb.snyder@wvsenate.gov

Senator Bob Williams (D-Taylor, 14)
(304) 357-7995
Bob.williams@wvsenate.gov

Senator Mike Woelfel (D-Cabell, 05)
(304) 357-7956
Mike.woelfel@wvsenate.gov

Senator Mitch Carmichael (R-Jackson, 04)
(304) 357-7855
Mitch.carmichael@wvsenate.gov

Senator Daniel Hall (R-Wyoming, 09)
(304) 357-7807
Daniel.hall@wvsenate.gov

Senator Ryan Ferns (R-Ohio, 01)
(304) 357-7918
Ryan.ferns@wvsenate.gov

Senator Ed Gaunch (R-Kanawha, 08)
(304) 357-7841
Ed.gaunch@wvsenate.gov

Senator Robert Karnes (R-Upshur, 11)
(304) 357-7906
Robert.karnes@wvsenate.gov

Senator Kent Leonhardt (R-Monongalia, 02)
(304) 357-7827
Kent.leonhardt@wvsenate.go

Senator Mark Maynard
(304) 357-7808
Mark.maynard@wvsenate.gov 

 

House Judiciary Committee Members:

Delegate Shott (R-Mercer, 27), Chair
(304) 340-3252
John.shott@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Patrick Lane (R-Kanawha, 38, Vice-Chair
(304) 340-3252
Patrick.lane@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Tim Manchin (D-Marion, 50)
(304) 340-3331
tmanchin@manchininjurylaw.com

Delegate Stephen Skinner (D-Jefferson, 67)
(304) 340-3248
Stephen.skinner@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Mike Azinger (R-Wood, 10)
(304) 340-3202
Mike.azinger@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Frank Deem (R-Wood, 10)
(304) 340-3137
Frank.deem@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Tom Fast (R-Fayette, 32)
(304) 340-3170
Tom.fast@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Michael Folk (R-Berkeley, 63)
(304) 340-3350
Michael.folk@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Geoff Foster (R-Putnam, 15)
(304) 340-3121
Geoff.foster@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Roger Hanshaw (R-Clay, 33)
(304) 340-3135
Roger.hanshaw@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Lynwood Ireland (R-Ritchie, 07)
(304) 340-3195
Woody.ireland@wvhouse.gov

Delegate John McCuskey  (R-Kanawha, 35)
(304) 340-3183
John.mccuskey@wvhouse.gov

Delegate John Overington (R-Berkeley, 62)
(304) 340-3148
John.overington@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Kelli Sobonya (R-Cabell, 18)
(304) 340-3175
Kelli.sobonya@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Amy Summers (R-Taylor, 49)
(304) 340-3139
Amy.summers@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Terry Waxman (R-Harrison, 48)
(304) 340-3171
Terry.waxman@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Ryan Weld (R-Brooke, 02)
(304) 340-3367
Ryan.weld@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Brad White (R-Kanawha, 36)
(304) 340-3138
Brad.white@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Andrew Byrd (D-Kanawha, 35)
(304) 340-3362
Andrew.byrd@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Barbara Evans Fleischauer (D-Monongalia, 51)
(304) 340-3127
barbaraf@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Shawn Fluharty (D-Ohio, 03)
(304) 340-3270
Shawn.fluharty@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Kenneth Hicks (D-Wayne, 19)
(304) 340-3155
Ken.hicks@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Dana Lynch (D-Webster, 44)
(304) 340-3916
Dana.lynch@wvhouse.gov 

Delegate Clif Moore (D-McDowell, 26)
(304) 340-3165
Clif.moore@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Larry Rowe (D-Kanawha, 36)
(304) 340-3287
Larry.rowe@wvhouse.gov 

TRENDING NOW
California: City of San Diego Considers Gun Control Ordinance

Friday, July 12, 2019

California: City of San Diego Considers Gun Control Ordinance

San Diego City Attorney, Mara Elliott has asked the City Council to consider a draft ordinance that would require mandatory locked storage of firearms in the home and would propose a conflicting law regarding the reporting of ...

California: Injunction Request to be Filed in Lawsuit Challenging California Ammo Law

Wednesday, July 3, 2019

California: Injunction Request to be Filed in Lawsuit Challenging California Ammo Law

CRPA, with the support of NRA, challenged the ammunition background check law in court months ago with the filing of the Rhode v. Becerra case. The lead plaintiff in the case is Olympic gold medalist shooter ...

Vox Wants to Take Your Guns

News  

Monday, July 8, 2019

Vox Wants to Take Your Guns

A conspiracy relies on secrecy. Some are, perhaps, never uncovered. Others are exposed by the conspirators themselves, who cannot help but share the details whether from arrogance or anxiousness. For years, law-abiding gun owners and ...

Recent Poll Shows Gun Control Not as Popular as Some Would Like to Believe

News  

Monday, July 8, 2019

Recent Poll Shows Gun Control Not as Popular as Some Would Like to Believe

A recent Morning Consult/POLITICO poll, conducted immediately prior to the recent  Democratic debates and gathering responses from 1,991 registered voters, asked about views toward the candidates, issues of potential importance in the election, voting intention, and ...

New Zealand Experience Further Proves Registration Facilitates Confiscations

News  

Monday, July 8, 2019

New Zealand Experience Further Proves Registration Facilitates Confiscations

Firearms registration facilitates firearms confiscation. This fact has been demonstrated in recent weeks, as the New Zealand authorities have lamented that the country does not have a firearms registry to assist them in their gun confiscation efforts.

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

Gun Laws  

Thursday, January 1, 2015

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

CAUTION: Federal and state firearms laws are subject to frequent change. This summary is not to be considered as legal advice or a restatement of law.

California: Legislature Breaks for Summer Recess

Sunday, July 14, 2019

California: Legislature Breaks for Summer Recess

The California Legislature has recessed for the summer and will return August 12 from the break. Last week, the following actions were taken by the Senate Public Safety Committee, Senate Natural Resources, and both the Senate ...

Virginia: Defend Freedom, Oppose Gov. Northam in Richmond Tomorrow

News  

Monday, July 8, 2019

Virginia: Defend Freedom, Oppose Gov. Northam in Richmond Tomorrow

Governor Ralph Northam and his gun ban allies are ready to push their extreme anti-gun agenda when the General Assembly convenes its special session tomorrow--July 9th. Your NRA is calling on members and Second Amendment supporters ...

HR 218/Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act (LEOSA)

Gun Laws  

Sunday, May 11, 2014

HR 218/Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act (LEOSA)

LEOSA, as Amended by the National Defense Authorization Act of 2013 (Jan 2, 2013) (Changes have been italicized.) § 926B.

Hawaii: Governor Ige Signs Anti-Gun Legislation

Wednesday, July 10, 2019

Hawaii: Governor Ige Signs Anti-Gun Legislation

On July 9th, Governor David Ige signed the final remaining anti-gun bill awaiting his consideration, Senate Bill 600. This comes on the heels of him signing Senate Bill 1466 on June 27th. 

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.