Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Nevada: 2015 Legislative Session is now Underway, Pro-Gun Legislation Scheduled for Committee Hearing

Tuesday, February 3, 2015

Nevada: 2015 Legislative Session is now Underway, Pro-Gun Legislation Scheduled for Committee Hearing

Yesterday, the Nevada Legislature began its 2015 session with the introduction of Assembly Bill 2.  The Assembly Judiciary Committee will be considering Assembly Bill 2 tomorrow, February 4, at 8:00 a.m. in Room 3138 of the State Capitol.

Assembly Bill 2, introduced by Assemblyman John Hambrick (R-2), would revise the existing Nevada law concerning firearms on the property of certain educational entities or childcare facilities.  Under current law, except under certain circumstances, citizens are prohibited from possessing firearms while on the property of the Nevada System of High Education, a private or public school or a child care facility, or while in a vehicle of a private or public school or a childcare facility.  AB 2 will change the law to respect the right of law-abiding gun owners to possess a firearm on the Nevada System of High Education, a private or public school or a child care facility if the firearm remains out of common observation and is inside a motor vehicle, other than a school bus, that is: (1) occupied; (2) unoccupied and locked; or (3) stored in a locked container that is affixed securely to a motor vehicle. This bill is key to preserving your fundamental right to self-defense on the property of certain educational and childcare facilities.

Please contact members of the Assembly Judiciary Committee and politely urge them to support Assembly Bill 2.  Contact information for Committee members can be found below.

Assembly Judiciary Committee Members:

Assemblyman Ira Hansen (R-32), Chair
(775) 684-8851
ira.hansen@asm.state.nv.us

Assemblyman Erven Nelson (R-5), Vice-Chair
(775) 684-8833
erven.nelson@asm.state.nv.us   

Assemblywoman Michele Fiore (R-4)
(775) 684-8829
michele.fiore@asm.state.nv.us

Assemblyman David Gardner (R-9)
(775) 684-8549
david.gardner@asm.state.nv.us

Assemblyman Brent Jones (R-35)
(775) 684-8573
brent.jones@asm.state.nv.us

Assemblyman P.K. O’Neill (R-40)
(775) 684-8825
pk.oneill@asm.state.nv.us  

Assemblywoman Victoria Seaman (R-34)
(775) 684-8847
victoria.seaman@asm.state.nv.us

Assemblyman Jim Wheeler (R-39)
(775) 684-8843
jim.wheeler@asm.state.nv.us

Assemblyman Elliot Anderson (D-15)
(775) 684-8835
elliot.anderson@asm.state.nv.us

Assemblyman Nelson Araujo (D-3)
(775) 684-8599
nelson.araujo@asm.state.nv.us

Assemblywoman Olivia Diaz (D-11)
(775) 684-8553
olivia.diaz@asm.state.nv.us

Assemblyman James Ohrenschall (D-12)
(775) 684-8819
james.ohrenschall@asm.state.nv.us

Assemblyman Tyrone Thompson (D-17)
(775) 684-8569
tyrone.thompson@asm.state.nv.us

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.