NRA Explore
APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Nevada: Senate Bill 221 and Senate Bill 227 Referred to the Senate Finance Committee

Wednesday, April 24, 2013

Your Action Needed to Stop these Attacks on our Second Amendment Rights

On Monday, Senate Bill 221, sponsored by state Senator Justin Jones (D-9), was sent to the Senate Finance Committee after being amended in the Senate Health and Human Services Committee.  As amended, SB 221 criminalizes otherwise lawful private transfers of firearms unless the transaction goes through a Federal Firearms Licensed dealer (FFL).  SB 221 will in effect create a registration system of all firearms transferred privately. This bill also makes revisions to Nevada law regarding mental health.  An individual who fails to comply with the new background check transfer requirements would be prohibited from possessing a firearm for a period of two years after being found guilty of a gross misdemeanor.  It is critical that you contact members of the Senate Finance Committee and urge them to oppose SB 221.

Senate Bill 277, introduced by state Senator Ben Kieckhefer (R-16), has also been referred to the Senate Finance Committee.   SB 227 would create a new category of persons who are prohibited from possessing any firearm or ammunition – without following proper due process procedures. The NRA opposes this bill as it creates a prohibition on exercising a fundamental right immediately upon petition, prior to the person being properly adjudicated as mentally ill. SB 277 sets a dangerous precedent for depriving a citizen of rights without affording them due process.

Please contact members of the Senate Finance Committee TODAY and urge them to oppose Senate Bill 221 and Senate Bill 277.

Senate Finance Committee:

Senator Debbie Smith – Chairman (D-13)

(775) 391-8031

Debbie.Smith@sen.state.nv.us

 

Senator Joyce Woodhouse - Vice Chairman (D-5)

(702) 896-1453

Joyce.Woodhouse@sen.state.nv.us

 

Senator David R. Parks (D-7)

(702) 736-6929

David.parks@sen.state.nv.us

 

Senator Moises (Mo) Denis (D-2)

(702) 657-6857

Moises.Denis@sen.state.nv.us

 

Senator Ben Kieckhefer (R-16)

(775) 223-9618

Ben.Kieckhefer@sen.state.nv.us

 

Senator Michael Roberson (R-20)

(702) 612-6929

Michael.Roberson@sen.state.nv.us

 

Senator Pete Goicoechea (R-19)

(775) 237-5300

Pete.Goicoechea@sen.state.nv.us

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.