NRA Explore
APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Mississippi: Representative Andy Gipson Files First Pro-Second Amendment Bill of the 2013 Legislative Session

Wednesday, January 9, 2013

State Representative Andy Gipson (R-Brandon) has pre-filed House Bill 2, NRA-backed legislation that makes important changes to vague and problematic language in Mississippi’s carry laws.  This legislation addresses a recent opinion by state Attorney General Jim Hood (D) that has caused additional confusion and concern among carry permit holders and Second Amendment advocates.

If passed and enacted, House Bill 2 would strike the phrase “in whole or in part” after the word “concealed” where it appears in Section 97-37-1 of Mississippi law prohibiting the carrying of certain firearms or other deadly weapons.  It would also more clearly define the term “concealed” for carry permit holders and non-permittees.  Case law has established that under this statute, if any part of a weapon is obscured from view, it is considered “concealed.”  One judge even stated, “Conceivably, carrying a revolver suspended from the neck by a leather throng could be partially concealing it.” L.M., Jr. v. State, 600 So.2d 967, 971 (Miss. 1992) (Lee, Chief J., concurring).  All methods of carrying a pistol or other weapon – belt or shoulder holsters, even just holding it in your own hands – involve some form of concealment.  The need for clarification was reinforced by an Attorney General opinion issued last year.

The Attorney General opinion issued on July 5, 2012, stated that Section 45-9-101 of the Mississippi Code, the state’s concealed carry law, does not authorize a permit holder to carry a pistol "concealed in part," but rather it requires that the firearm be completely concealed.  According to this opinion, it is now unlawful for both regular and enhanced carry permit holders to carry holstered, partially-visible, pistols on their person.  Additionally, any permit holders who temporarily or accidentally display their pistols – when removing or adjusting a suit jacket or sport coat, for example – would be violating the law.  This opinion relies on language in 45-9-101(18) which states that “nothing in this section shall be construed to allow the open and unconcealed carrying of any stun gun or a deadly weapon as described in Section 97-37-1, Mississippi Code of 1972” as indicating an intent to criminalize anything but total concealment of handguns by licensees.  House Bill 2 would delete that language from the carry law.

Without the proposed changes in House Bill 2, Mississippi laws that are supposed to protect the right to carry firearms for personal defense could instead set legal traps for otherwise law-abiding citizens: a firearm carried by a person without a carry permit cannot be obscured, and any part of a pistol carried by a licensee cannot become visible.

Lastly, but not insignificantly, Article III, Section 12 of the Mississippi Constitution states: “ The right of every citizen to keep and bear arms in defense of his home, person, or property, or in aid of the civil power when thereto legally summoned, shall not be called into question, but the Legislature may regulate or forbid carrying concealed weapons.”  [Emphasis added.]  This Attorney General opinion creates a problem for carry permit holders by prohibiting something which is not currently illegal (the carrying of partially- or temporarily-visible firearms) that the state legislature may have had no constitutional authority to pass and enforce in the first place.

Please contact your state Representative and urge him or her to support House Bill 2 and Representative Gipson's effort to make these important and necessary clarifications to Mississippi's carry laws.  House Bill 2 has been referred to the House Judiciary B Committee and will be heard in the coming weeks, so please also contact the following committee members and urge their support of this legislation.

Contact your state Representative by clicking here.

House Judiciary B Committee contact information:


Representative Andy Gipson (R-77), Chairman

(601) 359-1541

agipson@house.ms.gov

 

Representative Kimberly Campbell Buck (D-72), Vice-Chairman

(601) 359-4083

kcbuck@house.ms.gov

 

Representative Willie Bailey (D-49)

(601) 359-9311

wbailey@house.ms.gov

 

Representative Nick Bain (D-2)

(601) 359-3338

nbain@house.ms.gov 

 

Representative David Baria (D-122)

(601) 359-3133

dbaria@house.ms.gov

 

Representative Charles Busby (R-111)

(601) 359-3373

cbusby@house.ms.gov

 

Representative Gary Chism (R-37)

(601) 359-3364

gchism@house.ms.gov

 

Representative Dennis DeBar (R-105)

(601) 359-2436

ddebar@house.ms.gov

 

Representative Casey Eure (R-116)

(601) 359-9466

ceure@house.ms.gov

 

Representative Jeffrey S. Guice (R-114)

(601) 576-2508

jguice@house.ms.gov

 

Representative Joey Hood (R-35)

(601) 359-3339

jhood@house.ms.gov

 

Representative Kevin Horan (D-24)

(601) 359-2438

khoran@house.ms.gov

 

Representative Timmy Ladner (R-93)

(601) 359-2438

tladner@house.ms.gov

 

Representative Sherra Hillman Lane (D-86)

(601) 359-9485

slane@house.ms.gov

 

Representative Sam C. Mims, V (R-97)

(601) 359-3320

smims@house.ms.gov

 

Representative Alex Monsour (R-54)

(601) 359-9382

amonsour@house.ms.gov

 

Representative John L. Moore (R-60)

(601) 359-3330

jmoore@house.ms.gov

 

Representative Brad A. Oberhousen (D-73)

(601) 359-2439

boberhousen@house.ms.gov

 

Representative Ferr Smith (D-27)

(601) 359-9395

fsmith@house.ms.gov

 

Representative Greg Snowden (R-83)

(601) 359-3304

greg@gregsnowden.com

 

Representative Tommy Taylor (R-28)

ttaylor@house.ms.gov

 

Representative Joseph L. Warren (D-90)

(601) 359-3014

jwarren@house.ms.gov

 

Representative Jason White (R-48)

(601) 359-2861

jwhite@house.ms.gov

 

Representative Adrienne Wooten (D-71)

(601) 359-2433

awooten@house.ms.gov

 

Representative Henry Zuber, III (R-113)

(601) 359-3328

hzuber@house.ms.gov

TRENDING NOW

Wednesday, August 26, 2015

California: Los Angeles Will be Sued to Invalidate Newly Passed Ordinance Banning So-Called “Large-Capacity Magazines”

The NRA is supporting a lawsuit challenging the ordinance.  After a two year delay, the Los Angeles City ...

News  

Friday, August 21, 2015

A Decade Later, Remember New Orleans … Gun Confiscation Can (and Has) Happened in America

August 29th marks the 10-year anniversary of when Hurricane Katrina struck New Orleans, La. The memory of the ...

Hunting  

Tuesday, August 25, 2015

Texas: Will You Vote to Protect Your Right to Hunt and Fish in November?

All too often people take for granted basic freedoms until it is too late.  The right to hunt ...

News  

Monday, August 24, 2015

NRA Sues to Stop Seattle Gun Tax

The NRA is suing the city of Seattle to stop two new gun laws - a tax on ...

News  

Wednesday, August 26, 2015

Weird Science

As gun owners see all too often, a favored tactic of the gun control crowd is to provide ...

Gun Laws  

Thursday, January 1, 2015

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

CAUTION: Federal and state firearms laws are subject to frequent change. This summary is not to be considered ...

News  

Friday, August 21, 2015

Reduce Firearm Ownership, Say Anti-Gun Researchers

A new “study” by David Swedler, trained at the (gun control crusader Michael) Bloomberg School of Public Health, ...

News  

Friday, August 21, 2015

Chain of Movie Houses Branches Out to Security Theater

Thanks to a new emphasis on searching the bags of moviegoers, the Regal Cinemas chain is treating its ...

News  

Friday, August 21, 2015

Missouri Supreme Court Applies Strict Scrutiny to Gun Case, Upholds Ban on Felon-in-Possession

On August 5, 2014, residents of the Show Me State approved Amendment 5 that strengthened Missouri’s constitutional right ...

News  

Friday, August 21, 2015

Scapegoat Alert! D.C. Murders Increase, Police Chief Blames . . .

Murders in the District of Columbia are not nearly as common as they were a generation ago, when ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.