Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

West Virginia: Two Pro-Gun Bills Stalled in the House Judiciary Committee!

Thursday, February 24, 2011

Please Contact Committee Members TODAY!

House Bill 3084 and House Bill 3085, two NRA-backed bills, are stalled in the House Judiciary Committee. 

House Bill 3084 would help clarify that there is no “live fire” requirement for concealed carry applicants, while simultaneously offering applicants more choices for satisfying the mandatory training requirements for a West Virginia concealed carry license.  Any official National Rifle Association firearm safety or training course will satisfy the requirement to apply for a concealed carry permit. The problem often experienced has been in the interpretation of the required content of these courses, with some instructors believing that a “live fire” component is mandatory for adequate training.  HB 3084 is an important clarification that needs to be made, so there is no further misunderstanding of the training requirements to apply for a West Virginia concealed carry license.

House Bill 3085 would expressly prohibit physicians from making any sort of oral or written inquiry into the ownership, possession, or storage of firearms where the inquiry has no relation to the practice of medicine or the medical condition of the patient.  This situation has repeatedly occurred throughout the United States and is an unwarranted violation of one’s privacy.  HB 3085 would also establish penalties for physicians who continue make such inquiries. 

The Chairman and members of the House Judiciary Committee need to hear from you by this Friday, February 25.   If the House Judiciary Committee fails to take action on these two bills before Friday then there will not be enough time for them to be considered by the full House of Delegates.  There are many pro-gun legislators, including all the bill sponsors, who would like to have the opportunity to vote on and pass NRA-backed legislation this session, so it is critical to urge the committee to take up these two bills before Friday, February 25.

Please contact the members of the House Judiciary Committee TODAY and urge them to support the passage of HB 3084 and HB3085.

West Virginia House Judiciary Committee Contact info

Delegate Tim Miley (D – 41)  Chairman
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3252
E-mail:
tim.miley@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Mark Hunt (D -30) Vice-Chairman
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3392
E-mail:
mhunt@markahunt.com

Delegate John N. Ellem (R-10) Minority Chairman
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3394
E-mail:
john.ellem@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Patrick Lane (R-32) Minority Vice Chairman
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3275
E-mail:
patrick.lane@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Larry W. Barker (D - 18)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3149
E-mail:
larry.barker@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Bonnie Brown (D-30)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3106
E-mail:
bonnie.brown@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Mike Caputo (D-43)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3249
E-mail:
mike.caputo@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Michael T. Ferro (D-4)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3111
E-mail:
mike.ferro@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Barbara Evans Fleischauer (D-44)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3169
E-mail:
barbaraf@wvhouse.gov

Delegate John R. Frazier (D-25)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3396
E-mail:
john.frazier@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Linda Longstreth (D-43)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3124
E-mail:
linda.longstreth@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Mike Manypenny (D-42)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3139
E-mail:
mike.manypenny@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Harold Michael (D-47)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3340
E-mail:
Harold@hardynet.com

Delegate Clif Moore (D-23)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3189
E-mail:
clif.moore@wvhouse.gov

Delegate John Pino (D-29)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3170
E-mail:
john.pino@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Meshea Poore (D-31)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3248
E-mail:
meshea.poore@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Doug Skaff Jr. (D-30)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3362
E-mail: doug.skaff@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Danny Wells (D-30)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3287
E-mail:
danny.wells@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Troy Andes (R-14)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3121
E-mail:
troy.andes@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Bill Hamilton (R-39)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3167
E-mail:
bill.hamilton@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Lynwood "Woody" Ireland (R-7)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3195
E-mail:
woody.ireland@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Carol Miller (R-15)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3176
E-mail:
carol.miller@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Jonathan Miller (R-53)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3147
E-mail:
jonathan@delegatejmiller.com

Delegate John Overington (R-55)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3148
E-mail:
john@overington.com

Delegate Kelli Sobonya (R-16)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3175
E-mail:
kelli.sobonya@wvhouse.gov

TRENDING NOW
Former Bloomberg Lackey Comes Clean on True Anti-gun Agenda

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, July 21, 2017

Former Bloomberg Lackey Comes Clean on True Anti-gun Agenda

Back when Mark Glaze was executive director of Michael Bloomberg’s Mayors Against Illegal Guns, and later Everytown for Gun Safety, he went to great lengths to portray his master’s anti-gun positions as moderate. Glaze used ...

“She Persisted” – Gun Owner Fights Unlawful “No Return” Gun Policy

News  

Friday, July 21, 2017

“She Persisted” – Gun Owner Fights Unlawful “No Return” Gun Policy

On July 17, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit confirmed that law enforcement officials in New York acted unlawfully with respect to guns confiscated from a Nassau County woman in 2012.  

“March” Madness: Media Hypes Non-Event at NRA Headquarters

News  

Friday, July 21, 2017

“March” Madness: Media Hypes Non-Event at NRA Headquarters

Numbers don’t lie. But gun control groups and the news media do. That explains why so many accounts of last Friday’s so-called Women’s March From #NRA2DOJ bear no resemblance to the event those of us ...

The Need for National Reciprocity

News  

Friday, July 21, 2017

The Need for National Reciprocity

A report from the Crime Prevention Research Center estimates that the number of concealed carry permits issued last year was the largest increase ever – continuing a four year trend of record setting increases in ...

Supreme Court Asked to Review Maryland's Gun Ban

News  

Friday, July 21, 2017

Supreme Court Asked to Review Maryland's Gun Ban

A group of Maryland citizens, with the support of the National Rifle Association, filed a petition to the United States Supreme Court on Friday seeking to reverse a Court of Appeals ruling that stripped some of America’s most ...

Home Alone in Washington State

News  

Friday, July 21, 2017

Home Alone in Washington State

Back in 2013, when Washington State’s anti-gun groups rolled out Initiative 594, they promised voters this “universal background check” law would save lives by keeping “firearms out of dangerous hands” because private gun sales would ...

Court Strikes Down Unconstitutional Ban on Concealed Carry

News  

Tuesday, July 25, 2017

Court Strikes Down Unconstitutional Ban on Concealed Carry

D.C. Circuit Court Rules in Favor of Constitutional Right to Carry a Gun in Public for Self-Defense

When Gun Control Fails

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, July 21, 2017

When Gun Control Fails

Gun control is pushed as a strategy to keep Americans safe in their homes, schools and workplaces. It is presented as the key component in safer streets, neighborhoods and families. But what happens when gun ...

California: DOJ Introduces Proposed Regulations Adding “Privacy Notices” to Firearm-Related Forms

Monday, July 24, 2017

California: DOJ Introduces Proposed Regulations Adding “Privacy Notices” to Firearm-Related Forms

On Monday, July 24, the California Department of Justice introduced another set of proposed regulations, this time for the purpose of adding required “privacy notices” to certain firearm-related forms.

The Danger Of A “Not In My Backyard” Mentality On Shooting Ranges

News  

Wednesday, July 19, 2017

The Danger Of A “Not In My Backyard” Mentality On Shooting Ranges

Muscatine County, Iowa, is home to about 40,000 people, and like too many places around the country, gun owners there have no public range where they can practice or compete safely. That may be changing, ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.