Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

West Virginia: Two Pro-Gun Bills Stalled in the House Judiciary Committee!

Thursday, February 24, 2011

Please Contact Committee Members TODAY!

House Bill 3084 and House Bill 3085, two NRA-backed bills, are stalled in the House Judiciary Committee. 

House Bill 3084 would help clarify that there is no “live fire” requirement for concealed carry applicants, while simultaneously offering applicants more choices for satisfying the mandatory training requirements for a West Virginia concealed carry license.  Any official National Rifle Association firearm safety or training course will satisfy the requirement to apply for a concealed carry permit. The problem often experienced has been in the interpretation of the required content of these courses, with some instructors believing that a “live fire” component is mandatory for adequate training.  HB 3084 is an important clarification that needs to be made, so there is no further misunderstanding of the training requirements to apply for a West Virginia concealed carry license.

House Bill 3085 would expressly prohibit physicians from making any sort of oral or written inquiry into the ownership, possession, or storage of firearms where the inquiry has no relation to the practice of medicine or the medical condition of the patient.  This situation has repeatedly occurred throughout the United States and is an unwarranted violation of one’s privacy.  HB 3085 would also establish penalties for physicians who continue make such inquiries. 

The Chairman and members of the House Judiciary Committee need to hear from you by this Friday, February 25.   If the House Judiciary Committee fails to take action on these two bills before Friday then there will not be enough time for them to be considered by the full House of Delegates.  There are many pro-gun legislators, including all the bill sponsors, who would like to have the opportunity to vote on and pass NRA-backed legislation this session, so it is critical to urge the committee to take up these two bills before Friday, February 25.

Please contact the members of the House Judiciary Committee TODAY and urge them to support the passage of HB 3084 and HB3085.

West Virginia House Judiciary Committee Contact info

Delegate Tim Miley (D – 41)  Chairman
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3252
E-mail:
tim.miley@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Mark Hunt (D -30) Vice-Chairman
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3392
E-mail:
mhunt@markahunt.com

Delegate John N. Ellem (R-10) Minority Chairman
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3394
E-mail:
john.ellem@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Patrick Lane (R-32) Minority Vice Chairman
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3275
E-mail:
patrick.lane@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Larry W. Barker (D - 18)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3149
E-mail:
larry.barker@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Bonnie Brown (D-30)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3106
E-mail:
bonnie.brown@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Mike Caputo (D-43)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3249
E-mail:
mike.caputo@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Michael T. Ferro (D-4)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3111
E-mail:
mike.ferro@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Barbara Evans Fleischauer (D-44)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3169
E-mail:
barbaraf@wvhouse.gov

Delegate John R. Frazier (D-25)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3396
E-mail:
john.frazier@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Linda Longstreth (D-43)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3124
E-mail:
linda.longstreth@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Mike Manypenny (D-42)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3139
E-mail:
mike.manypenny@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Harold Michael (D-47)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3340
E-mail:
Harold@hardynet.com

Delegate Clif Moore (D-23)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3189
E-mail:
clif.moore@wvhouse.gov

Delegate John Pino (D-29)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3170
E-mail:
john.pino@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Meshea Poore (D-31)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3248
E-mail:
meshea.poore@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Doug Skaff Jr. (D-30)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3362
E-mail: doug.skaff@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Danny Wells (D-30)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3287
E-mail:
danny.wells@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Troy Andes (R-14)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3121
E-mail:
troy.andes@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Bill Hamilton (R-39)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3167
E-mail:
bill.hamilton@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Lynwood "Woody" Ireland (R-7)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3195
E-mail:
woody.ireland@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Carol Miller (R-15)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3176
E-mail:
carol.miller@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Jonathan Miller (R-53)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3147
E-mail:
jonathan@delegatejmiller.com

Delegate John Overington (R-55)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3148
E-mail:
john@overington.com

Delegate Kelli Sobonya (R-16)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3175
E-mail:
kelli.sobonya@wvhouse.gov

TRENDING NOW
Court's Commonsense Conclusion: "There Was a Gun" Isn't Enough to Justify Issuing a Restraining Order

Second Amendment  

Friday, May 19, 2017

Court's Commonsense Conclusion: "There Was a Gun" Isn't Enough to Justify Issuing a Restraining Order

The Supreme Court of North Dakota confirmed this week that simply possessing a handgun while on one’s own private property cannot support a finding of "disorderly conduct" under the state’s disorderly conduct restraining order law. ...

Illinois: House Committee Passes Bill to Close Local Gun Dealers

Tuesday, May 16, 2017

Illinois: House Committee Passes Bill to Close Local Gun Dealers

The House Judiciary Committee passed Senate Bill 1657 by a 7-6 vote.

Washington: NRA Files Amicus Brief in Challenge to Kitsap County Anti-Gun Ordinance

Monday, May 22, 2017

Washington: NRA Files Amicus Brief in Challenge to Kitsap County Anti-Gun Ordinance

Last week, attorneys on behalf of the NRA filed an amicus brief in Kitsap County v. Kitsap Rifle and Revolver Club (Kitsap II), the case which challenges Kitsap County’s firearm discharge ban and range licensing scheme.  Kitsap Rifle and ...

Maryland: Governor Hogan Signs Apprentice Hunting Legislation into Law

Thursday, May 4, 2017

Maryland: Governor Hogan Signs Apprentice Hunting Legislation into Law

Today, Maryland Governor Larry Hogan signed House Bill 1427 into law.

Nevada: Governor Sandoval Signs AB 118!

Monday, May 22, 2017

Nevada: Governor Sandoval Signs AB 118!

Today, May 22, Governor Brian Sandoval signed important pro-gun legislation, Assembly Bill 118, into law.  AB 118, sponsored by Assemblyman Skip Daly, will allow members of the military and those who have received an honorable ...

California: AB 424 Passes Assembly - Appropriations Committees to Consider Suspense Items

Tuesday, May 23, 2017

California: AB 424 Passes Assembly - Appropriations Committees to Consider Suspense Items

Friday, May 26th is the deadline for the fiscal committees to pass bills to the floor from the chamber of origin.  On Thursday, May 25, the Senate AppropriationsCommittee is scheduled to consider Senate Bill 464 and Senate Bill 497. ...

Kansas: Senate Committee Passes Gun Free Zone Legislation, Again

Tuesday, May 23, 2017

Kansas: Senate Committee Passes Gun Free Zone Legislation, Again

Last week, the Senate Committee of the Whole referred an amended version of House Bill 2278 back to the Senate Ways and Means Committee.

Abbott Signs Senate Bill 16, Bringing Texas License To Carry Fees Down to Among Lowest in Nation

News  

Thursday, May 25, 2017

Abbott Signs Senate Bill 16, Bringing Texas License To Carry Fees Down to Among Lowest in Nation

The National Rifle Association Institute for Legislative Action (NRA-ILA) today applauded Texas Gov. Greg Abbott for signing into law NRA-backed legislation that will make license to carry fees in Texas among the lowest in the ...

California: Don’t Miss our May 25th Webinar to Discuss the Newest DOJ Draft “Assault Weapons” Regulations

Wednesday, May 24, 2017

California: Don’t Miss our May 25th Webinar to Discuss the Newest DOJ Draft “Assault Weapons” Regulations

Tomorrow, Thursday, May 25, at 12:00 pm (PT), NRA’s legal team will be hosting a free webinar to discuss the recently submitted “assault weapon” regulations.   

Illinois: Last Chance to Save your Local Gun Dealer!

Tuesday, May 2, 2017

Illinois: Last Chance to Save your Local Gun Dealer!

The Illinois House of Representatives may consider Senate Bill 1657, legislation that could put your local gun dealer out of business, at any time! It is imperative that you contact your state Representative IMMEDIATELY and ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.