Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

West Virginia: Two Pro-Gun Bills Stalled in the House Judiciary Committee!

Thursday, February 24, 2011

Please Contact Committee Members TODAY!

House Bill 3084 and House Bill 3085, two NRA-backed bills, are stalled in the House Judiciary Committee. 

House Bill 3084 would help clarify that there is no “live fire” requirement for concealed carry applicants, while simultaneously offering applicants more choices for satisfying the mandatory training requirements for a West Virginia concealed carry license.  Any official National Rifle Association firearm safety or training course will satisfy the requirement to apply for a concealed carry permit. The problem often experienced has been in the interpretation of the required content of these courses, with some instructors believing that a “live fire” component is mandatory for adequate training.  HB 3084 is an important clarification that needs to be made, so there is no further misunderstanding of the training requirements to apply for a West Virginia concealed carry license.

House Bill 3085 would expressly prohibit physicians from making any sort of oral or written inquiry into the ownership, possession, or storage of firearms where the inquiry has no relation to the practice of medicine or the medical condition of the patient.  This situation has repeatedly occurred throughout the United States and is an unwarranted violation of one’s privacy.  HB 3085 would also establish penalties for physicians who continue make such inquiries. 

The Chairman and members of the House Judiciary Committee need to hear from you by this Friday, February 25.   If the House Judiciary Committee fails to take action on these two bills before Friday then there will not be enough time for them to be considered by the full House of Delegates.  There are many pro-gun legislators, including all the bill sponsors, who would like to have the opportunity to vote on and pass NRA-backed legislation this session, so it is critical to urge the committee to take up these two bills before Friday, February 25.

Please contact the members of the House Judiciary Committee TODAY and urge them to support the passage of HB 3084 and HB3085.

West Virginia House Judiciary Committee Contact info

Delegate Tim Miley (D – 41)  Chairman
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3252
E-mail:
tim.miley@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Mark Hunt (D -30) Vice-Chairman
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3392
E-mail:
mhunt@markahunt.com

Delegate John N. Ellem (R-10) Minority Chairman
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3394
E-mail:
john.ellem@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Patrick Lane (R-32) Minority Vice Chairman
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3275
E-mail:
patrick.lane@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Larry W. Barker (D - 18)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3149
E-mail:
larry.barker@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Bonnie Brown (D-30)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3106
E-mail:
bonnie.brown@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Mike Caputo (D-43)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3249
E-mail:
mike.caputo@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Michael T. Ferro (D-4)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3111
E-mail:
mike.ferro@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Barbara Evans Fleischauer (D-44)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3169
E-mail:
barbaraf@wvhouse.gov

Delegate John R. Frazier (D-25)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3396
E-mail:
john.frazier@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Linda Longstreth (D-43)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3124
E-mail:
linda.longstreth@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Mike Manypenny (D-42)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3139
E-mail:
mike.manypenny@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Harold Michael (D-47)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3340
E-mail:
Harold@hardynet.com

Delegate Clif Moore (D-23)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3189
E-mail:
clif.moore@wvhouse.gov

Delegate John Pino (D-29)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3170
E-mail:
john.pino@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Meshea Poore (D-31)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3248
E-mail:
meshea.poore@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Doug Skaff Jr. (D-30)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3362
E-mail: doug.skaff@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Danny Wells (D-30)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3287
E-mail:
danny.wells@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Troy Andes (R-14)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3121
E-mail:
troy.andes@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Bill Hamilton (R-39)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3167
E-mail:
bill.hamilton@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Lynwood "Woody" Ireland (R-7)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3195
E-mail:
woody.ireland@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Carol Miller (R-15)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3176
E-mail:
carol.miller@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Jonathan Miller (R-53)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3147
E-mail:
jonathan@delegatejmiller.com

Delegate John Overington (R-55)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3148
E-mail:
john@overington.com

Delegate Kelli Sobonya (R-16)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3175
E-mail:
kelli.sobonya@wvhouse.gov

TRENDING NOW
Justice Scalia Made Clear the Second Amendment and Heller Prohibit “Assault Weapon” Bans

News  

Second Amendment  

Gun Laws  

Friday, July 13, 2018

Justice Scalia Made Clear the Second Amendment and Heller Prohibit “Assault Weapon” Bans

On July 9, Sen. Chris Murphy (D-Conn.) offered the following ham-handed statement in an attempted attack on President Donald Trump’s U.S. Supreme Court nominee, D.C. Circuit Judge Brett Kavanaugh. Brett Kavanaugh is a true Second Amendment radical. ...

Anti-gun Efforts to Expand U.N. Regulations to Ammunition Continue

News  

Friday, July 6, 2018

Anti-gun Efforts to Expand U.N. Regulations to Ammunition Continue

Shortly before 4:00am last Saturday morning, the two week long Third Review Conference (RevCon3) on the Programme of Action to Prevent, Combat, and Eradicate the Illicit Trade in Small Arms and Light Weapons in All ...

Delaware: Governor Signs Bill Legalizing Sunday Deer Hunting

Hunting  

Friday, July 13, 2018

Delaware: Governor Signs Bill Legalizing Sunday Deer Hunting

On July 11th, Governor John Carney signed Senate Bill 198 into law to expand hunting opportunities in Delaware by eliminating the prohibition against hunting for deer on Sundays and allowing for the harvesting of deer on Sundays ...

NRA Files Comments in Support of Trump Administration’s Export Reform Effort

News  

Friday, July 13, 2018

NRA Files Comments in Support of Trump Administration’s Export Reform Effort

On Monday, the public comment period closed on a pair of rulemakings that could finally free American gun owners and small businesses from being trapped in a minefield of federal regulations designed for exporters of ...

California DOJ Withdraws Proposed Regulations Expanding Application of “Assault Weapon” Definitions

Wednesday, July 11, 2018

California DOJ Withdraws Proposed Regulations Expanding Application of “Assault Weapon” Definitions

On Monday, the California Department of Justice, Bureau of Firearms (“CA DOJ”) officially withdrew the proposed regulations that would have expanded the improperly adopted “assault weapon” definitions, to apply in all circumstances. This withdrawal comes ...

Judge Brett Kavanaugh Has Earned NRA Members’ Support

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, July 13, 2018

Judge Brett Kavanaugh Has Earned NRA Members’ Support

NRA members can feel confident throwing their enthusiastic support behind President Donald Trump’s nomination of Judge Brett Kavanaugh to the U.S. Supreme Court. Throughout his time on the bench, Judge Kavanaugh has demonstrated deep respect ...

California: MASSIVE Data Breach and Significant Registration Problems with CA DOJ’s “Assault Weapon” Registration System

Saturday, July 7, 2018

California: MASSIVE Data Breach and Significant Registration Problems with CA DOJ’s “Assault Weapon” Registration System

Following the closure of the “assault weapon” registration period, NRA and CRPA received complaints from hundreds of individuals who were unable to register their firearms as required because CA DOJ’s online application system was unable ...

Mission Impossible: California Court Upholds Microstamping Law

News  

Tuesday, July 3, 2018

Mission Impossible: California Court Upholds Microstamping Law

It is not surprising that gun control activists who harp endlessly about “common sense” gun restrictions and the need for ever more legislative reforms (here, here and here, for example) aren’t particularly interested in whether the various bans and ...

NRA Applauds Brett Kavanaugh's Nomination to the U.S. Supreme Court

News  

Monday, July 9, 2018

NRA Applauds Brett Kavanaugh's Nomination to the U.S. Supreme Court

Fairfax, Va. -The National Rifle Association (NRA) applauds the nomination of Judge Brett Kavanaugh to fill Justice Anthony Kennedy’s seat on the United States Supreme Court. 

Too Young or Too Old... To Own a Gun?

News  

Friday, July 6, 2018

Too Young or Too Old... To Own a Gun?

A common theme among anti-gun extremists is what we often refer to as the “Goldilocks” approach to limiting access to firearms by law-abiding citizens.  Rather than admit that the ultimate goal is to disarm all ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.