Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

West Virginia: Two Pro-Gun Bills Stalled in the House Judiciary Committee!

Thursday, February 24, 2011

Please Contact Committee Members TODAY!

House Bill 3084 and House Bill 3085, two NRA-backed bills, are stalled in the House Judiciary Committee. 

House Bill 3084 would help clarify that there is no “live fire” requirement for concealed carry applicants, while simultaneously offering applicants more choices for satisfying the mandatory training requirements for a West Virginia concealed carry license.  Any official National Rifle Association firearm safety or training course will satisfy the requirement to apply for a concealed carry permit. The problem often experienced has been in the interpretation of the required content of these courses, with some instructors believing that a “live fire” component is mandatory for adequate training.  HB 3084 is an important clarification that needs to be made, so there is no further misunderstanding of the training requirements to apply for a West Virginia concealed carry license.

House Bill 3085 would expressly prohibit physicians from making any sort of oral or written inquiry into the ownership, possession, or storage of firearms where the inquiry has no relation to the practice of medicine or the medical condition of the patient.  This situation has repeatedly occurred throughout the United States and is an unwarranted violation of one’s privacy.  HB 3085 would also establish penalties for physicians who continue make such inquiries. 

The Chairman and members of the House Judiciary Committee need to hear from you by this Friday, February 25.   If the House Judiciary Committee fails to take action on these two bills before Friday then there will not be enough time for them to be considered by the full House of Delegates.  There are many pro-gun legislators, including all the bill sponsors, who would like to have the opportunity to vote on and pass NRA-backed legislation this session, so it is critical to urge the committee to take up these two bills before Friday, February 25.

Please contact the members of the House Judiciary Committee TODAY and urge them to support the passage of HB 3084 and HB3085.

West Virginia House Judiciary Committee Contact info

Delegate Tim Miley (D – 41)  Chairman
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3252
E-mail:
tim.miley@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Mark Hunt (D -30) Vice-Chairman
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3392
E-mail:
mhunt@markahunt.com

Delegate John N. Ellem (R-10) Minority Chairman
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3394
E-mail:
john.ellem@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Patrick Lane (R-32) Minority Vice Chairman
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3275
E-mail:
patrick.lane@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Larry W. Barker (D - 18)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3149
E-mail:
larry.barker@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Bonnie Brown (D-30)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3106
E-mail:
bonnie.brown@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Mike Caputo (D-43)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3249
E-mail:
mike.caputo@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Michael T. Ferro (D-4)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3111
E-mail:
mike.ferro@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Barbara Evans Fleischauer (D-44)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3169
E-mail:
barbaraf@wvhouse.gov

Delegate John R. Frazier (D-25)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3396
E-mail:
john.frazier@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Linda Longstreth (D-43)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3124
E-mail:
linda.longstreth@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Mike Manypenny (D-42)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3139
E-mail:
mike.manypenny@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Harold Michael (D-47)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3340
E-mail:
Harold@hardynet.com

Delegate Clif Moore (D-23)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3189
E-mail:
clif.moore@wvhouse.gov

Delegate John Pino (D-29)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3170
E-mail:
john.pino@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Meshea Poore (D-31)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3248
E-mail:
meshea.poore@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Doug Skaff Jr. (D-30)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3362
E-mail: doug.skaff@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Danny Wells (D-30)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3287
E-mail:
danny.wells@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Troy Andes (R-14)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3121
E-mail:
troy.andes@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Bill Hamilton (R-39)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3167
E-mail:
bill.hamilton@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Lynwood "Woody" Ireland (R-7)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3195
E-mail:
woody.ireland@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Carol Miller (R-15)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3176
E-mail:
carol.miller@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Jonathan Miller (R-53)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3147
E-mail:
jonathan@delegatejmiller.com

Delegate John Overington (R-55)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3148
E-mail:
john@overington.com

Delegate Kelli Sobonya (R-16)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3175
E-mail:
kelli.sobonya@wvhouse.gov

TRENDING NOW
Washington: Attorney General Introduces Additional Gun Ban Legislation

Saturday, January 19, 2019

Washington: Attorney General Introduces Additional Gun Ban Legislation

Just months after pushing for the passage of Initiative 1639 to impose severe regulations on purchasing and possessing semi-automatic firearms, Attorney General Bob Ferguson has now introduced legislation that would outright ban commonly owned semi-automatic ...

Keep Telling Your Members of Congress to Oppose “Universal” Background Check Bills

News  

Friday, January 18, 2019

Keep Telling Your Members of Congress to Oppose “Universal” Background Check Bills

On January 8, two bills were introduced in Congress to impose so-called "universal" background checks. The bills, H.R. 8 and S. 42, are being misleadingly described as simply requiring background checks on all sales of firearms, but this is ...

Law for Thee But Not for Me: Pittsburgh Officials Defy DA’s Legal Advice in Gun Control Push

News  

Friday, January 18, 2019

Law for Thee But Not for Me: Pittsburgh Officials Defy DA’s Legal Advice in Gun Control Push

Pittsburgh City Council member Corey O’Connor wants local residents to relinquish important aspects of their Second Amendment rights. If they refuse, he would have it cost them their liberty and treasure. But O’Connor himself apparently ...

Who Are the Real Extremists?

News  

Friday, January 18, 2019

Who Are the Real Extremists?

NRA is often vilified by the gun-ban community and its supporters in the mainstream, legacy media as an “extremist” organization because of its steadfast defense of our Right to Keep and Bear Arms. A simple ...

New Mexico: Governor Lujan Grisham Highlights Gun Control In Opening Day Speech

Thursday, January 17, 2019

New Mexico: Governor Lujan Grisham Highlights Gun Control In Opening Day Speech

In her opening day speech to state lawmakers, New Mexico Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham called on them to pass various gun control proposals that she supported on the campaign trail and which have been filed in the ...

Now With More Banning! Dianne Feinstein Introduces “Updated” Federal “Assault Weapons” Ban (S. 66)

News  

Friday, January 11, 2019

Now With More Banning! Dianne Feinstein Introduces “Updated” Federal “Assault Weapons” Ban (S. 66)

On Wednesday, longtime gun control extremist Dianne Feinstein (D-CA) introduced the latest version of her perennial bid to rid America of its most popular types of rifles, as well as the standard capacity magazines that ...

Washington: Committee Hearings Scheduled on Anti-Gun Bills

Wednesday, January 16, 2019

Washington: Committee Hearings Scheduled on Anti-Gun Bills

Anti-gun bills will be heard on January 21st at 10:00AM by the Washington state Senate Committee on Law & Justice and by the House Committee on Civil Rights & Judiciary on January 22nd at 10:00AM.

Illinois: Gov. Pritzker Signs Firearm Registration & Dealer Licensing Bill

Thursday, January 17, 2019

Illinois: Gov. Pritzker Signs Firearm Registration & Dealer Licensing Bill

Today, Governor J.B. Pritzker signed Senate Bill 337 into law.  Passed by the previous legislature in 2018, SB 337 will establish a firearm registry and shut down your local gun stores with government red tape.  Senate ...

Wisconsin: Governor Evers Starts Session with Gun Control Push

Monday, January 14, 2019

Wisconsin: Governor Evers Starts Session with Gun Control Push

With the 2019 Wisconsin Legislative Session convened, Governor Tony Evers and Attorney General Josh Kaul are already working with legislators to pass sweeping gun control.

Virginia: Bills Defeated in Committee

Friday, January 18, 2019

Virginia: Bills Defeated in Committee

This week, the Virginia Senate Committee on Courts of Justice and the House Militia, Police and Public Safety Committee heard and voted to defeat many of Governor Ralph Northam’s requested gun control bills.

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.