Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

West Virginia: Two Pro-Gun Bills Stalled in the House Judiciary Committee!

Thursday, February 24, 2011

Please Contact Committee Members TODAY!

House Bill 3084 and House Bill 3085, two NRA-backed bills, are stalled in the House Judiciary Committee. 

House Bill 3084 would help clarify that there is no “live fire” requirement for concealed carry applicants, while simultaneously offering applicants more choices for satisfying the mandatory training requirements for a West Virginia concealed carry license.  Any official National Rifle Association firearm safety or training course will satisfy the requirement to apply for a concealed carry permit. The problem often experienced has been in the interpretation of the required content of these courses, with some instructors believing that a “live fire” component is mandatory for adequate training.  HB 3084 is an important clarification that needs to be made, so there is no further misunderstanding of the training requirements to apply for a West Virginia concealed carry license.

House Bill 3085 would expressly prohibit physicians from making any sort of oral or written inquiry into the ownership, possession, or storage of firearms where the inquiry has no relation to the practice of medicine or the medical condition of the patient.  This situation has repeatedly occurred throughout the United States and is an unwarranted violation of one’s privacy.  HB 3085 would also establish penalties for physicians who continue make such inquiries. 

The Chairman and members of the House Judiciary Committee need to hear from you by this Friday, February 25.   If the House Judiciary Committee fails to take action on these two bills before Friday then there will not be enough time for them to be considered by the full House of Delegates.  There are many pro-gun legislators, including all the bill sponsors, who would like to have the opportunity to vote on and pass NRA-backed legislation this session, so it is critical to urge the committee to take up these two bills before Friday, February 25.

Please contact the members of the House Judiciary Committee TODAY and urge them to support the passage of HB 3084 and HB3085.

West Virginia House Judiciary Committee Contact info

Delegate Tim Miley (D – 41)  Chairman
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3252
E-mail:
tim.miley@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Mark Hunt (D -30) Vice-Chairman
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3392
E-mail:
mhunt@markahunt.com

Delegate John N. Ellem (R-10) Minority Chairman
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3394
E-mail:
john.ellem@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Patrick Lane (R-32) Minority Vice Chairman
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3275
E-mail:
patrick.lane@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Larry W. Barker (D - 18)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3149
E-mail:
larry.barker@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Bonnie Brown (D-30)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3106
E-mail:
bonnie.brown@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Mike Caputo (D-43)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3249
E-mail:
mike.caputo@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Michael T. Ferro (D-4)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3111
E-mail:
mike.ferro@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Barbara Evans Fleischauer (D-44)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3169
E-mail:
barbaraf@wvhouse.gov

Delegate John R. Frazier (D-25)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3396
E-mail:
john.frazier@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Linda Longstreth (D-43)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3124
E-mail:
linda.longstreth@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Mike Manypenny (D-42)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3139
E-mail:
mike.manypenny@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Harold Michael (D-47)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3340
E-mail:
Harold@hardynet.com

Delegate Clif Moore (D-23)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3189
E-mail:
clif.moore@wvhouse.gov

Delegate John Pino (D-29)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3170
E-mail:
john.pino@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Meshea Poore (D-31)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3248
E-mail:
meshea.poore@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Doug Skaff Jr. (D-30)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3362
E-mail: doug.skaff@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Danny Wells (D-30)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3287
E-mail:
danny.wells@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Troy Andes (R-14)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3121
E-mail:
troy.andes@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Bill Hamilton (R-39)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3167
E-mail:
bill.hamilton@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Lynwood "Woody" Ireland (R-7)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3195
E-mail:
woody.ireland@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Carol Miller (R-15)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3176
E-mail:
carol.miller@wvhouse.gov

Delegate Jonathan Miller (R-53)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3147
E-mail:
jonathan@delegatejmiller.com

Delegate John Overington (R-55)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3148
E-mail:
john@overington.com

Delegate Kelli Sobonya (R-16)
Capitol Phone: (304) 340-3175
E-mail:
kelli.sobonya@wvhouse.gov

TRENDING NOW
California: DOJ Issues “Notice of Modification” to Proposed Ammunition Background Check Regulations

Thursday, April 18, 2019

California: DOJ Issues “Notice of Modification” to Proposed Ammunition Background Check Regulations

Today, the California Department of Justice issued a “Notice of Modification” to their proposed regulations regarding the soon to be implemented ammunition background check procedures. As a result of these changes, a second 15-day public ...

Heeee’s Baaack: Bill Clinton Peddles Gun Control on a Wish and a Lie

News  

Friday, April 19, 2019

Heeee’s Baaack: Bill Clinton Peddles Gun Control on a Wish and a Lie

Proving there is no statute of limitations on political opportunism, this week former President Bill Clinton used the occasion of the twentieth anniversary of the tragic school shooting in Littleton, Colo. to pen an op-ed pushing ...

Maine: Firearm Seizure Bill Heads To Judiciary Committee

Wednesday, April 17, 2019

Maine: Firearm Seizure Bill Heads To Judiciary Committee

On April 22nd, the Maine Judiciary Committee will hold a hearing on Legislative Document 1312, which would allow for firearms to be seized and Second Amendment rights to be suspended without due process. 

Indiana: Important Self-Defense Bill Passes Legislature, On to Governor

Monday, April 22, 2019

Indiana: Important Self-Defense Bill Passes Legislature, On to Governor

On April 22nd, both chambers of the Indiana General Assembly voted to concur with the amendments made to House Bill 1284 during the conference committee process.  HB 1284 has been amended to now include many ...

New York Times Admits Privately-Funded “Gun Violence” Research is a Thing

News  

Friday, April 19, 2019

New York Times Admits Privately-Funded “Gun Violence” Research is a Thing

The New York Times – the “paper of record” – reports that “Gun Research is Suddenly Hot.” While we’re happy to see the Times has finally acknowledged that “gun research” can survive federal restrictions on taxpayer funded gun control ...

California: Legislature Returns from Spring Break

Sunday, April 21, 2019

California: Legislature Returns from Spring Break

The California Legislature returns from spring recess this week and seven different committees are considering bills that could impact your rights. 

Media Continues to Cause Distorted Fear of School Violence

News  

Friday, April 19, 2019

Media Continues to Cause Distorted Fear of School Violence

When it comes to the wellbeing of today’s youth, one would think that all could agree that provoking unnecessary fear should be avoided. That apparently is not the case, however, when it comes to pushing ...

News  

Monday, April 22, 2019

With Proposed Federal Legislation, Anti-gun Advocates Seek to Impose May-Issue Gun Ownership

In 1987, only ten states had concealed carry laws that treated the Right-to-Carry in a manner consistent with our constitutional right to bear arms. Understanding that the whims and prejudices of government officials are incompatible ...

President to Speak at 148th NRA Annual Meetings and Exhibits in Indianapolis, Indiana on April 26

News  

Monday, April 22, 2019

President to Speak at 148th NRA Annual Meetings and Exhibits in Indianapolis, Indiana on April 26

President Donald J. Trump and Vice President Mike Pence will address NRA members at the NRA Institute for Legislative Action (NRA-ILA) Leadership Forum on Friday, April 26, 2019 in Indianapolis, Indiana. The complete list of ...

Pittsburgh Residents Seek Preliminary Injunction Against Ban on Standard Capacity Magazines

News  

Wednesday, April 17, 2019

Pittsburgh Residents Seek Preliminary Injunction Against Ban on Standard Capacity Magazines

With support from the NRA, gun owners challenging Pittsburgh’s ban on publicly carrying loaded magazines capable of holding more than 10 rounds filed a motion today seeking a preliminary injunction. If the motion is granted, ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.