Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Continue to Voice Your Opposition to Micro-Stamping in New York!

Friday, June 25, 2010

Please Continue to Make Your Voices Heard!

On Tuesday, June 15, the New York State Senate laid aside Senate Bill 6005 and expunged the vote.  While many consider this battle over, the bill could still be brought back to the Senate floor at any time before the proposed end of session on Monday, June 28.  Proponents of S6005 are continuing to push this extreme anti-gun legislation, so we must continue to make our voices heard.

S6005 would require all semi-automatic handguns delivered to any licensed firearms dealer in New York to mechanically stamp certain information about the firearm (such as the make, model and serial number) onto the cartridge case when the gun is discharged. This bill does not exempt models currently available, making all of these guns illegal for sale in New York unless they are redesigned by their manufacturers, which would vastly increase the cost of these firearms.

Micro-stamping is an unproven technology that is easily defeated with common household tools and the replacement of a few small parts.  If passed, the availability of semi-automatic handguns in New York will be in serious doubt, as manufacturers simply may choose not to build or sell firearms for purchase in the state. Of course, that is the ultimate goal of this legislation.  Make no mistake, this is a gun ban and it must be stopped.

We urge NRA members to continue to contact the following Senators and thank them for their “no” vote on this issue and to urge their continued opposition to S6005:
 

Name

District

Party

Phone

Email

State Senator Kenneth LaValle

1

R

518-455-3121

lavalle@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator John Flanagan

2

R

518-455-2071

flanagan@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Owen Johnson

4

R

518-455-3411

ojohnson@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Carl Marcellino

5

R

518-455-2390

marcelli@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Kemp Hannon

6

R

518-455-2200

hannon@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Charles Fuschillo, Jr.

8

R

518-455-3341

fuschill@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Dean Skelos

9

R

518-455-3171

skelos@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Martin Golden

22

R

518-455-2730

golden@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Andrew Lanza

24

R

518-455-3215

lanza@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator William Larkin

39

R

518-455-2770

larkin@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Vincent Leibell

40

R

518-455-3111

leibell@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Stephen Saland

41

R

518-455-2411

saland@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator John Bonacic

42

R

518-455-3181

bonacic@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Roy McDonald

43

R

518-455-2381

mcdonald@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Hugh Farley

44

R

518-455-2181

farley@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Elizabeth Little

45

R

518-455-2811

little@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Joseph Griffo

47

R

518-455-3334

griffo@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Darrel Aubertine

48

D

518-455-2761

aubertin@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator David Valesky

49

D

518-455-2838

valesky@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator John DeFrancisco

50

R

518-455-3511

jdefranc@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator James Seward

51

R

518-455-3131

seward@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Thomas Libous

52

R

518-455-2677

senator@senatorlibous.com

State Senator George Winner, Jr.

53

R

518-455-2091

winner@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Michael Nozzolio

54

R

518-455-2366

nozzolio@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator James Alesi

55

R

518-455-2015

alesi@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Joseph Robach

56

R

518-455-2909

robach@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Catharine Young

57

R

518-455-3563

cyoung@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator William Stachowski

58

D

518-455-2426

stachows@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Dale Volker

59

R

518-455-3471

volker@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Michael Ranzenhofer

61

R

518-455-3161

ranz@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator George Maziarz

62

R

518-455-2024

maziarz@senate.state.ny.us

TRENDING NOW
Obama Says Goodbye to America’s Gun Owners with (a Likely Short-lived) Lead Ammo Ban

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

Obama Says Goodbye to America’s Gun Owners with (a Likely Short-lived) Lead Ammo Ban

Gun owners knew that Barack Obama would not leave quietly. The only question was what else was coming.  

New Hampshire: Constitutional/Permitless Carry Bill Passes Senate!

Thursday, January 19, 2017

New Hampshire: Constitutional/Permitless Carry Bill Passes Senate!

Today, Senate Bill 12, legislation eliminating the requirement to obtain a permit in order to lawfully carry, passed the Senate without amendment, by a 13-10 vote.  SB 12 will now go to the House of ...

Federal Appeals Court: Chicago Violates Second Amendment … Again

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

Federal Appeals Court: Chicago Violates Second Amendment … Again

On Wednesday, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit found that Chicago had once again violated the Second Amendment, this time with its regulations for gun ranges.

Gun Owners Welcome Donald J. Trump as President of the United States

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

Gun Owners Welcome Donald J. Trump as President of the United States

Gun owners across the nation breathed a sigh of relief as Donald J. Trump was sworn in Friday morning as the 45th president of the United States.

Your Members of Congress Need to Hear from You on the Hearing Protection Act of 2017

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Your Members of Congress Need to Hear from You on the Hearing Protection Act of 2017

On Monday, Sen. Mike Crapo (R-ID) – joined by co-sponsors Sens. Jerry Moran (R-KS) and Rand Paul (R-KY) – introduced S. 59, the Hearing Protection Act of 2017 (HPA). Similar legislation was introduced in the ...

New York Times Relies on Gun Prohibitionist Propaganda, Stigmatizes Suicide

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

New York Times Relies on Gun Prohibitionist Propaganda, Stigmatizes Suicide

In a December 5, 2015, front page editorial, the New York Times finally admitted what discerning readers had long understood – that the paper advocates the prohibition and confiscation of certain types of now-lawfully possessed firearms. ...

Alert: WA State Proposes Draconian Gun Ban Bills

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Alert: WA State Proposes Draconian Gun Ban Bills

Inspired, perhaps, by Oscar Wilde (“Moderation is a fatal thing. Nothing succeeds like excess”), Washington State Attorney General Bob Ferguson has announced two new sweeping gun control bills, with Sen. David Frockt (D-Seattle) and Rep. ...

National Concealed Carry Reciprocity Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

National Concealed Carry Reciprocity Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them

On January 3rd, Congressman Richard Hudson (R-N.C.8th) introduced H.R. 38, the Concealed Carry Reciprocity Act of 2017, which simply allows lawful firearm carriers from any state to carry a concealed firearm in any other state. The bill ...

Thursday, January 19, 2017

Florida Urgent Alert! Self-defense Bill up in Senate Judiciary on Tuesday 1/24/2017

A critical self-defense bill will be heard by the Senate Judiciary Committee on Tuesday, January 24, 2017, between 2:00-4:00pm.  SB-128 Burden of Proof by Senator Rob Bradley restores the presumption of innocence in self-defense cases ...

Web Scraping: A Means to Push the Anti-Gun Agenda

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

Web Scraping: A Means to Push the Anti-Gun Agenda

You may have read recently about a “breaking analysis” that includes numbers derived from a “mass shooting tracker,” which purports to present to the world, real world cases in which mass shootings have occurred.  One ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.