Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

**ALERT ROUND 9 ** More Help Needed To Stop Gun Registration

Saturday, March 13, 2010

Please email your State Representative Today!

TO:           USF & NRA Members and Friends
FROM:      Marion P. Hammer
                 USF Executive Director
                 NRA Past President

House Bill 315 by Representative Mike Horner (R) has ALSO been scheduled to be heard on the House floor Tuesday March 16, 2010

HB-315 is a bill to STOP Florida adoption agencies from forcing potential adoptive parents to register their firearms with the agency as a condition of adoption.  Further, it will stop agencies from forcing these parents to follow gun control regulations regarding storage of firearms and ammunition created by the agency.

This outrageous behavior has been going on too long and it is time to stop it once and for all.

Representative Mike Horner's bill will stop this gun registration and regulation.

You must act quickly.  URGENT!  The House Must Hear From You!

PLEASE IMMEDIATELY EMAIL THESE Members of the Florida House

In the subject line put: 

SUPPORT HB-315 -- Stop Gun Registration by Adoption Agencies

(Block or Highlight and Copy All email addresses into the "Send To" box)

Sandy.Adams@myfloridahouse.gov,
Janet.Adkins@myfloridahouse.gov,
Kevin.Ambler@myfloridahouse.gov,
Tom.Anderson@myfloridahouse.gov,
Gary.Aubuchon@myfloridahouse.gov,
Leonard.Bembry@myfloridahouse.gov,
Ellyn.Bogdanoff@myfloridahouse.gov,
Esteban.Bovo@myfloridahouse.gov,
Debbie.Boyd@myfloridahouse.gov,
Rachel.Burgin@myfloridahouse.gov,
Dean.Cannon@myfloridahouse.gov,
Jennifer.Carroll@myfloridahouse.gov,
Marti.Coley@myfloridahouse.gov,
Larry.Cretul@myfloridahouse.gov,
Steve.Crisafulli@myfloridahouse.gov,
Faye.Culp@myfloridahouse.gov,
Carl.Domino@myfloridahouse.gov,
Chris.Dorworth@myfloridahouse.gov,
Brad.Drake@myfloridahouse.gov,
Eric.Eisnaugle@myfloridahouse.gov,
Greg.Evers@myfloridahouse.gov,
Anitere.Flores@myfloridahouse.gov,
Clay.Ford@myfloridahouse.gov,
Erik.Fresen@myfloridahouse.gov,
Jim.Frishe@myfloridahouse.gov,
Bill.Galvano@myfloridahouse.gov,
Rich.Glorioso@myfloridahouse.gov,
Eddy.Gonzalez@myfloridahouse.gov,
Tom.Grady@myfloridahouse.gov,
Denise.Grimsley@myfloridahouse.gov,
Adam.Hasner@myfloridahouse.gov,
Alan.Hays@myfloridahouse.gov,
Doug.Holder@myfloridahouse.gov,
Ed.Homan@myfloridahouse.gov,
Ed.Hooper@myfloridahouse.gov,
Mike.Horner@myfloridahouse.gov,
Matt.Hudson@myfloridahouse.gov,
Dorothy.Hukill@myfloridahouse.gov,
Kurt.Kelly@myfloridahouse.gov,
Paige.Kreegel@myfloridahouse.gov,
John.Legg@myfloridahouse.gov,
Marcelo.Llorente@myfloridahouse.gov,
Carlos.Lopez-cantera@myfloridahouse.gov,
Debbie.Mayfield@myfloridahouse.gov,
Charles.McBurney@myfloridahouse.gov,
Seth.Mckeel@myfloridahouse.gov,
Dave.Murzin@myfloridahouse.gov,
Peter.Nehr@myfloridahouse.gov,
Bryan.Nelson@myfloridahouse.gov,
Marlene.Otoole@myfloridahouse.gov,
Mark.Pafford@myfloridahouse.gov,
Jimmy.Patronis@myfloridahouse.gov,
Pat.Patterson@myfloridahouse.gov,
Scott.Plakon@myfloridahouse.gov,
JC.Planas@myfloridahouse.gov,
Ralph.Poppell@myfloridahouse.gov,
Steve.Precourt@myfloridahouse.gov,
Bill.Proctor@myfloridahouse.gov,
Lake.Ray@myfloridahouse.gov,
Ron.Reagan@myfloridahouse.gov,
Ronald.Renuart@myfloridahouse.gov,
David.Rivera@myfloridahouse.gov,
Julio.Robaina@myfloridahouse.gov,
Ken.Roberson@myfloridahouse.gov,
Ray.Sansom@myfloridahouse.gov,
Ron.Saunders@myfloridahouse.gov,
Robert.Schenck@myfloridahouse.gov,
Ron.Schultz@myfloridahouse.gov,
William.Snyder@myfloridahouse.gov,
Darren.Soto@myfloridahouse.gov,
Kelli.Stargel@myfloridahouse.gov,
Nick.Thompson@myfloridahouse.gov,
Baxter.Troutman@myfloridahouse.gov,
Charles.VanZant@myfloridahouse.gov,
Will.Weatherford@myfloridahouse.gov,
Mike.Weinstein@myfloridahouse.gov,
Trudi.Williams@myfloridahouse.gov,
John.Wood@myfloridahouse.gov,
Ritch.Workman@myfloridahouse.gov,
Juan.Zapata@myfloridahouse.gov,


BACKGROUND

Adoption agencies in Florida are effectively profiling prospective adoptive parents who own firearms.

Agencies have been treating applicants for adoption, who chose to exercise the constitutional right to own a firearm, differently than non-firearms owning applicants.

As a condition of adoption, prospective parents who own firearms must agree to regulations and restriction imposed by the agency.

At least one agency requires prospective parents who own a firearm or firearms, to store the firearms and ammunition separately in locked cabinets – rendering the right of self-defense and defense of family virtually impossible.

Further, applicants who own firearms are required to register their firearms and ammunition with the agency. 

The agency not only requires applicants to separately list the firearms and the ammunition they own on a form created by the agency, but also requires them to report to the agency exactly where the firearms and ammunition are stored.

These agencies have set themselves above the law and have ignored the statutes.

State law regulates the safe storage of firearms.  F.S. 790.174, regulates how firearms must be stored and provides criminal penalties when firearms are accessed by minors due to a failure to store firearms safely.

State law prohibits agencies from attempting to regulate firearms.  F.S. 790.33 prohibits any regulation of firearms except by the Legislature.  The Legislature exclusively occupies the whole field of regulation of firearms and ammunition.

State law prohibits registration of firearms.  F.S. 790.335 prohibits the compiling of and retention of lists of firearms owners and firearms.  Forms required by some adoption agencies constitute a registry of firearms and firearms owners.

Under 790.335(4)(a), office managers and officials who are a party to the collection and storage of firearms registration documents commit a felony of the third degree.

Under 790.335(4)(c) these agencies or organizations, as licensed agencies acting on behalf of the government, who register firearms are subject to a fine of up to $5 million.

While some adoption agencies have attempted to claim their firearms regulations and forms were authorized or required by DCF, DCF actually repealed those regulations in April, 2008.

This bill makes it clear that adoption agencies may not condition adoption on a person's exercise of a constitutional right or a person's willingness to disclose private information concerning lawful firearms ownership – nor may adoption agencies impose restrictions on firearms ownership.

This bill codifies in law that adoption agencies may not violate rights, profile or discriminate against firearms owners who seek to foster or adopt children.

Prospective parents seeking to adopt and make a home for a child are particularly vulnerable to abusive tactics of agency officials and personnel who appear to have a predisposition against firearms owners.

Forcing prospective parents to submit to requirements that usurp their legal rights and violate their privacy is nothing short of coercion.  It must be stopped.
TRENDING NOW
The Washington Post Gives Gun Control Group and U.S. Senator Three Pinocchios on Suppressors

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, March 24, 2017

The Washington Post Gives Gun Control Group and U.S. Senator Three Pinocchios on Suppressors

Last week, we wrote about Americans for Responsible Solutions’ irresponsible misinformation about The Hearing Protection Act on Twitter.  Apparently, we weren’t the only ones who took notice of ARS’s complete disregard for the facts on ...

Maryland: House Passes Pro-Carry Legislation

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Maryland: House Passes Pro-Carry Legislation

Yesterday, the Maryland House of Delegates passed House Bill 1036 by a 97-41 vote.

Ohio: Critical Self-Defense Law Takes Effect Today!

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Ohio: Critical Self-Defense Law Takes Effect Today!

Today, March 21, the provisions of the critical self-defense legislation, Sub. Senate Bill 199, go into effect.  Thanks to your active involvement last session, this bill was signed by Governor Kasich last December.  This law ...

Illinois: Gun Seizure Bill Could be Heard by House at Any Time

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Illinois: Gun Seizure Bill Could be Heard by House at Any Time

The Illinois House of Representatives could consider House Bill 2354 at any time.

Arkansas Action Needed: Anti-Gun Bill Which Undermines Concealed Carry Headed to House

Thursday, March 23, 2017

Arkansas Action Needed: Anti-Gun Bill Which Undermines Concealed Carry Headed to House

Today, the Arkansas Senate passed Senate Bill 724, an anti-gun bill which undermines some of the key advancements made with the passage and enactment of House Bill 1249.  SB 724 is now headed to the ...

Oklahoma: Multiple Pro-Gun Bills Passed Out of the House

Friday, March 24, 2017

Oklahoma: Multiple Pro-Gun Bills Passed Out of the House

This week, the Oklahoma House of Representatives passed multiple pro-gun bills, including House Bill 1721, House Bill 2323, and House Bill 2322. 

Trump’s Supreme Court Nominee Embraces Heller and Originalism During Senate Hearings

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, March 24, 2017

Trump’s Supreme Court Nominee Embraces Heller and Originalism During Senate Hearings

Judge Neil M. Gorsuch, President Trump’s pick to replace the late Justice Antonin Scalia on the U.S. Supreme court, asserted during his confirmation hearings this week that Scalia’s landmark Second Amendment opinion in District of ...

Continuing to Fight in California

Friday, March 24, 2017

Continuing to Fight in California

We are excited to inform you of our new California specific webpage – Stand and Fight California.   On this page you will find State Legislation, Legal Updates, and How to Get Involved, among other California ...

Utah: Governor Signs Self-Defense Legislation into Law

Thursday, March 23, 2017

Utah: Governor Signs Self-Defense Legislation into Law

Tonight, Governor Gary Herbert signed House Bill 198 into law.

Nevada: Senate Passes Anti-Gun SB 115

Wednesday, March 22, 2017

Nevada: Senate Passes Anti-Gun SB 115

Yesterday, March 21, the Senate passed anti-gun Senate Bill 115 with a 12-9 vote.  SB 115 was sent to the Assembly for further consideration.  Sponsored by state Senator Moises Denis (D-2), SB 115 would expand the list ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.