Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

**ALERT ROUND 9 ** More Help Needed To Stop Gun Registration

Saturday, March 13, 2010

Please email your State Representative Today!

TO:           USF & NRA Members and Friends
FROM:      Marion P. Hammer
                 USF Executive Director
                 NRA Past President

House Bill 315 by Representative Mike Horner (R) has ALSO been scheduled to be heard on the House floor Tuesday March 16, 2010

HB-315 is a bill to STOP Florida adoption agencies from forcing potential adoptive parents to register their firearms with the agency as a condition of adoption.  Further, it will stop agencies from forcing these parents to follow gun control regulations regarding storage of firearms and ammunition created by the agency.

This outrageous behavior has been going on too long and it is time to stop it once and for all.

Representative Mike Horner's bill will stop this gun registration and regulation.

You must act quickly.  URGENT!  The House Must Hear From You!

PLEASE IMMEDIATELY EMAIL THESE Members of the Florida House

In the subject line put: 

SUPPORT HB-315 -- Stop Gun Registration by Adoption Agencies

(Block or Highlight and Copy All email addresses into the "Send To" box)

Sandy.Adams@myfloridahouse.gov,
Janet.Adkins@myfloridahouse.gov,
Kevin.Ambler@myfloridahouse.gov,
Tom.Anderson@myfloridahouse.gov,
Gary.Aubuchon@myfloridahouse.gov,
Leonard.Bembry@myfloridahouse.gov,
Ellyn.Bogdanoff@myfloridahouse.gov,
Esteban.Bovo@myfloridahouse.gov,
Debbie.Boyd@myfloridahouse.gov,
Rachel.Burgin@myfloridahouse.gov,
Dean.Cannon@myfloridahouse.gov,
Jennifer.Carroll@myfloridahouse.gov,
Marti.Coley@myfloridahouse.gov,
Larry.Cretul@myfloridahouse.gov,
Steve.Crisafulli@myfloridahouse.gov,
Faye.Culp@myfloridahouse.gov,
Carl.Domino@myfloridahouse.gov,
Chris.Dorworth@myfloridahouse.gov,
Brad.Drake@myfloridahouse.gov,
Eric.Eisnaugle@myfloridahouse.gov,
Greg.Evers@myfloridahouse.gov,
Anitere.Flores@myfloridahouse.gov,
Clay.Ford@myfloridahouse.gov,
Erik.Fresen@myfloridahouse.gov,
Jim.Frishe@myfloridahouse.gov,
Bill.Galvano@myfloridahouse.gov,
Rich.Glorioso@myfloridahouse.gov,
Eddy.Gonzalez@myfloridahouse.gov,
Tom.Grady@myfloridahouse.gov,
Denise.Grimsley@myfloridahouse.gov,
Adam.Hasner@myfloridahouse.gov,
Alan.Hays@myfloridahouse.gov,
Doug.Holder@myfloridahouse.gov,
Ed.Homan@myfloridahouse.gov,
Ed.Hooper@myfloridahouse.gov,
Mike.Horner@myfloridahouse.gov,
Matt.Hudson@myfloridahouse.gov,
Dorothy.Hukill@myfloridahouse.gov,
Kurt.Kelly@myfloridahouse.gov,
Paige.Kreegel@myfloridahouse.gov,
John.Legg@myfloridahouse.gov,
Marcelo.Llorente@myfloridahouse.gov,
Carlos.Lopez-cantera@myfloridahouse.gov,
Debbie.Mayfield@myfloridahouse.gov,
Charles.McBurney@myfloridahouse.gov,
Seth.Mckeel@myfloridahouse.gov,
Dave.Murzin@myfloridahouse.gov,
Peter.Nehr@myfloridahouse.gov,
Bryan.Nelson@myfloridahouse.gov,
Marlene.Otoole@myfloridahouse.gov,
Mark.Pafford@myfloridahouse.gov,
Jimmy.Patronis@myfloridahouse.gov,
Pat.Patterson@myfloridahouse.gov,
Scott.Plakon@myfloridahouse.gov,
JC.Planas@myfloridahouse.gov,
Ralph.Poppell@myfloridahouse.gov,
Steve.Precourt@myfloridahouse.gov,
Bill.Proctor@myfloridahouse.gov,
Lake.Ray@myfloridahouse.gov,
Ron.Reagan@myfloridahouse.gov,
Ronald.Renuart@myfloridahouse.gov,
David.Rivera@myfloridahouse.gov,
Julio.Robaina@myfloridahouse.gov,
Ken.Roberson@myfloridahouse.gov,
Ray.Sansom@myfloridahouse.gov,
Ron.Saunders@myfloridahouse.gov,
Robert.Schenck@myfloridahouse.gov,
Ron.Schultz@myfloridahouse.gov,
William.Snyder@myfloridahouse.gov,
Darren.Soto@myfloridahouse.gov,
Kelli.Stargel@myfloridahouse.gov,
Nick.Thompson@myfloridahouse.gov,
Baxter.Troutman@myfloridahouse.gov,
Charles.VanZant@myfloridahouse.gov,
Will.Weatherford@myfloridahouse.gov,
Mike.Weinstein@myfloridahouse.gov,
Trudi.Williams@myfloridahouse.gov,
John.Wood@myfloridahouse.gov,
Ritch.Workman@myfloridahouse.gov,
Juan.Zapata@myfloridahouse.gov,


BACKGROUND

Adoption agencies in Florida are effectively profiling prospective adoptive parents who own firearms.

Agencies have been treating applicants for adoption, who chose to exercise the constitutional right to own a firearm, differently than non-firearms owning applicants.

As a condition of adoption, prospective parents who own firearms must agree to regulations and restriction imposed by the agency.

At least one agency requires prospective parents who own a firearm or firearms, to store the firearms and ammunition separately in locked cabinets – rendering the right of self-defense and defense of family virtually impossible.

Further, applicants who own firearms are required to register their firearms and ammunition with the agency. 

The agency not only requires applicants to separately list the firearms and the ammunition they own on a form created by the agency, but also requires them to report to the agency exactly where the firearms and ammunition are stored.

These agencies have set themselves above the law and have ignored the statutes.

State law regulates the safe storage of firearms.  F.S. 790.174, regulates how firearms must be stored and provides criminal penalties when firearms are accessed by minors due to a failure to store firearms safely.

State law prohibits agencies from attempting to regulate firearms.  F.S. 790.33 prohibits any regulation of firearms except by the Legislature.  The Legislature exclusively occupies the whole field of regulation of firearms and ammunition.

State law prohibits registration of firearms.  F.S. 790.335 prohibits the compiling of and retention of lists of firearms owners and firearms.  Forms required by some adoption agencies constitute a registry of firearms and firearms owners.

Under 790.335(4)(a), office managers and officials who are a party to the collection and storage of firearms registration documents commit a felony of the third degree.

Under 790.335(4)(c) these agencies or organizations, as licensed agencies acting on behalf of the government, who register firearms are subject to a fine of up to $5 million.

While some adoption agencies have attempted to claim their firearms regulations and forms were authorized or required by DCF, DCF actually repealed those regulations in April, 2008.

This bill makes it clear that adoption agencies may not condition adoption on a person's exercise of a constitutional right or a person's willingness to disclose private information concerning lawful firearms ownership – nor may adoption agencies impose restrictions on firearms ownership.

This bill codifies in law that adoption agencies may not violate rights, profile or discriminate against firearms owners who seek to foster or adopt children.

Prospective parents seeking to adopt and make a home for a child are particularly vulnerable to abusive tactics of agency officials and personnel who appear to have a predisposition against firearms owners.

Forcing prospective parents to submit to requirements that usurp their legal rights and violate their privacy is nothing short of coercion.  It must be stopped.
TRENDING NOW
Washington: Attorney General Introduces Additional Gun Ban Legislation

Saturday, January 19, 2019

Washington: Attorney General Introduces Additional Gun Ban Legislation

Just months after pushing for the passage of Initiative 1639 to impose severe regulations on purchasing and possessing semi-automatic firearms, Attorney General Bob Ferguson has now introduced legislation that would outright ban commonly owned semi-automatic ...

Law for Thee But Not for Me: Pittsburgh Officials Defy DA’s Legal Advice in Gun Control Push

News  

Friday, January 18, 2019

Law for Thee But Not for Me: Pittsburgh Officials Defy DA’s Legal Advice in Gun Control Push

Pittsburgh City Council member Corey O’Connor wants local residents to relinquish important aspects of their Second Amendment rights. If they refuse, he would have it cost them their liberty and treasure. But O’Connor himself apparently ...

Keep Telling Your Members of Congress to Oppose “Universal” Background Check Bills

News  

Friday, January 18, 2019

Keep Telling Your Members of Congress to Oppose “Universal” Background Check Bills

On January 8, two bills were introduced in Congress to impose so-called "universal" background checks. The bills, H.R. 8 and S. 42, are being misleadingly described as simply requiring background checks on all sales of firearms, but this is ...

Who Are the Real Extremists?

News  

Friday, January 18, 2019

Who Are the Real Extremists?

NRA is often vilified by the gun-ban community and its supporters in the mainstream, legacy media as an “extremist” organization because of its steadfast defense of our Right to Keep and Bear Arms. A simple ...

New Mexico: Governor Lujan Grisham Highlights Gun Control In Opening Day Speech

Thursday, January 17, 2019

New Mexico: Governor Lujan Grisham Highlights Gun Control In Opening Day Speech

In her opening day speech to state lawmakers, New Mexico Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham called on them to pass various gun control proposals that she supported on the campaign trail and which have been filed in the ...

Now With More Banning! Dianne Feinstein Introduces “Updated” Federal “Assault Weapons” Ban (S. 66)

News  

Friday, January 11, 2019

Now With More Banning! Dianne Feinstein Introduces “Updated” Federal “Assault Weapons” Ban (S. 66)

On Wednesday, longtime gun control extremist Dianne Feinstein (D-CA) introduced the latest version of her perennial bid to rid America of its most popular types of rifles, as well as the standard capacity magazines that ...

Washington: Committee Hearings Scheduled on Anti-Gun Bills

Wednesday, January 16, 2019

Washington: Committee Hearings Scheduled on Anti-Gun Bills

Anti-gun bills will be heard on January 21st at 10:00AM by the Washington state Senate Committee on Law & Justice and by the House Committee on Civil Rights & Judiciary on January 22nd at 10:00AM.

Illinois: Gov. Pritzker Signs Firearm Registration & Dealer Licensing Bill

Thursday, January 17, 2019

Illinois: Gov. Pritzker Signs Firearm Registration & Dealer Licensing Bill

Today, Governor J.B. Pritzker signed Senate Bill 337 into law.  Passed by the previous legislature in 2018, SB 337 will establish a firearm registry and shut down your local gun stores with government red tape.  Senate ...

Wisconsin: Governor Evers Starts Session with Gun Control Push

Monday, January 14, 2019

Wisconsin: Governor Evers Starts Session with Gun Control Push

With the 2019 Wisconsin Legislative Session convened, Governor Tony Evers and Attorney General Josh Kaul are already working with legislators to pass sweeping gun control.

Virginia: Bills Defeated in Committee

Friday, January 18, 2019

Virginia: Bills Defeated in Committee

This week, the Virginia Senate Committee on Courts of Justice and the House Militia, Police and Public Safety Committee heard and voted to defeat many of Governor Ralph Northam’s requested gun control bills.

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.