Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

**ALERT ROUND 9 ** More Help Needed To Stop Gun Registration

Saturday, March 13, 2010

Please email your State Representative Today!

TO:           USF & NRA Members and Friends
FROM:      Marion P. Hammer
                 USF Executive Director
                 NRA Past President

House Bill 315 by Representative Mike Horner (R) has ALSO been scheduled to be heard on the House floor Tuesday March 16, 2010

HB-315 is a bill to STOP Florida adoption agencies from forcing potential adoptive parents to register their firearms with the agency as a condition of adoption.  Further, it will stop agencies from forcing these parents to follow gun control regulations regarding storage of firearms and ammunition created by the agency.

This outrageous behavior has been going on too long and it is time to stop it once and for all.

Representative Mike Horner's bill will stop this gun registration and regulation.

You must act quickly.  URGENT!  The House Must Hear From You!

PLEASE IMMEDIATELY EMAIL THESE Members of the Florida House

In the subject line put: 

SUPPORT HB-315 -- Stop Gun Registration by Adoption Agencies

(Block or Highlight and Copy All email addresses into the "Send To" box)

Sandy.Adams@myfloridahouse.gov,
Janet.Adkins@myfloridahouse.gov,
Kevin.Ambler@myfloridahouse.gov,
Tom.Anderson@myfloridahouse.gov,
Gary.Aubuchon@myfloridahouse.gov,
Leonard.Bembry@myfloridahouse.gov,
Ellyn.Bogdanoff@myfloridahouse.gov,
Esteban.Bovo@myfloridahouse.gov,
Debbie.Boyd@myfloridahouse.gov,
Rachel.Burgin@myfloridahouse.gov,
Dean.Cannon@myfloridahouse.gov,
Jennifer.Carroll@myfloridahouse.gov,
Marti.Coley@myfloridahouse.gov,
Larry.Cretul@myfloridahouse.gov,
Steve.Crisafulli@myfloridahouse.gov,
Faye.Culp@myfloridahouse.gov,
Carl.Domino@myfloridahouse.gov,
Chris.Dorworth@myfloridahouse.gov,
Brad.Drake@myfloridahouse.gov,
Eric.Eisnaugle@myfloridahouse.gov,
Greg.Evers@myfloridahouse.gov,
Anitere.Flores@myfloridahouse.gov,
Clay.Ford@myfloridahouse.gov,
Erik.Fresen@myfloridahouse.gov,
Jim.Frishe@myfloridahouse.gov,
Bill.Galvano@myfloridahouse.gov,
Rich.Glorioso@myfloridahouse.gov,
Eddy.Gonzalez@myfloridahouse.gov,
Tom.Grady@myfloridahouse.gov,
Denise.Grimsley@myfloridahouse.gov,
Adam.Hasner@myfloridahouse.gov,
Alan.Hays@myfloridahouse.gov,
Doug.Holder@myfloridahouse.gov,
Ed.Homan@myfloridahouse.gov,
Ed.Hooper@myfloridahouse.gov,
Mike.Horner@myfloridahouse.gov,
Matt.Hudson@myfloridahouse.gov,
Dorothy.Hukill@myfloridahouse.gov,
Kurt.Kelly@myfloridahouse.gov,
Paige.Kreegel@myfloridahouse.gov,
John.Legg@myfloridahouse.gov,
Marcelo.Llorente@myfloridahouse.gov,
Carlos.Lopez-cantera@myfloridahouse.gov,
Debbie.Mayfield@myfloridahouse.gov,
Charles.McBurney@myfloridahouse.gov,
Seth.Mckeel@myfloridahouse.gov,
Dave.Murzin@myfloridahouse.gov,
Peter.Nehr@myfloridahouse.gov,
Bryan.Nelson@myfloridahouse.gov,
Marlene.Otoole@myfloridahouse.gov,
Mark.Pafford@myfloridahouse.gov,
Jimmy.Patronis@myfloridahouse.gov,
Pat.Patterson@myfloridahouse.gov,
Scott.Plakon@myfloridahouse.gov,
JC.Planas@myfloridahouse.gov,
Ralph.Poppell@myfloridahouse.gov,
Steve.Precourt@myfloridahouse.gov,
Bill.Proctor@myfloridahouse.gov,
Lake.Ray@myfloridahouse.gov,
Ron.Reagan@myfloridahouse.gov,
Ronald.Renuart@myfloridahouse.gov,
David.Rivera@myfloridahouse.gov,
Julio.Robaina@myfloridahouse.gov,
Ken.Roberson@myfloridahouse.gov,
Ray.Sansom@myfloridahouse.gov,
Ron.Saunders@myfloridahouse.gov,
Robert.Schenck@myfloridahouse.gov,
Ron.Schultz@myfloridahouse.gov,
William.Snyder@myfloridahouse.gov,
Darren.Soto@myfloridahouse.gov,
Kelli.Stargel@myfloridahouse.gov,
Nick.Thompson@myfloridahouse.gov,
Baxter.Troutman@myfloridahouse.gov,
Charles.VanZant@myfloridahouse.gov,
Will.Weatherford@myfloridahouse.gov,
Mike.Weinstein@myfloridahouse.gov,
Trudi.Williams@myfloridahouse.gov,
John.Wood@myfloridahouse.gov,
Ritch.Workman@myfloridahouse.gov,
Juan.Zapata@myfloridahouse.gov,


BACKGROUND

Adoption agencies in Florida are effectively profiling prospective adoptive parents who own firearms.

Agencies have been treating applicants for adoption, who chose to exercise the constitutional right to own a firearm, differently than non-firearms owning applicants.

As a condition of adoption, prospective parents who own firearms must agree to regulations and restriction imposed by the agency.

At least one agency requires prospective parents who own a firearm or firearms, to store the firearms and ammunition separately in locked cabinets – rendering the right of self-defense and defense of family virtually impossible.

Further, applicants who own firearms are required to register their firearms and ammunition with the agency. 

The agency not only requires applicants to separately list the firearms and the ammunition they own on a form created by the agency, but also requires them to report to the agency exactly where the firearms and ammunition are stored.

These agencies have set themselves above the law and have ignored the statutes.

State law regulates the safe storage of firearms.  F.S. 790.174, regulates how firearms must be stored and provides criminal penalties when firearms are accessed by minors due to a failure to store firearms safely.

State law prohibits agencies from attempting to regulate firearms.  F.S. 790.33 prohibits any regulation of firearms except by the Legislature.  The Legislature exclusively occupies the whole field of regulation of firearms and ammunition.

State law prohibits registration of firearms.  F.S. 790.335 prohibits the compiling of and retention of lists of firearms owners and firearms.  Forms required by some adoption agencies constitute a registry of firearms and firearms owners.

Under 790.335(4)(a), office managers and officials who are a party to the collection and storage of firearms registration documents commit a felony of the third degree.

Under 790.335(4)(c) these agencies or organizations, as licensed agencies acting on behalf of the government, who register firearms are subject to a fine of up to $5 million.

While some adoption agencies have attempted to claim their firearms regulations and forms were authorized or required by DCF, DCF actually repealed those regulations in April, 2008.

This bill makes it clear that adoption agencies may not condition adoption on a person's exercise of a constitutional right or a person's willingness to disclose private information concerning lawful firearms ownership – nor may adoption agencies impose restrictions on firearms ownership.

This bill codifies in law that adoption agencies may not violate rights, profile or discriminate against firearms owners who seek to foster or adopt children.

Prospective parents seeking to adopt and make a home for a child are particularly vulnerable to abusive tactics of agency officials and personnel who appear to have a predisposition against firearms owners.

Forcing prospective parents to submit to requirements that usurp their legal rights and violate their privacy is nothing short of coercion.  It must be stopped.
TRENDING NOW
Washington: Trigger Modification Ban Passes Committee

Tuesday, January 16, 2018

Washington: Trigger Modification Ban Passes Committee

Earlier today, the Washington state Senate Law & Justice Committee passed Senate Bill 5992 out of committee with a 4-3 vote. As drafted, this legislation has overreaching language that would ban modifications commonly made to ...

Eighteen States, Law Enforcement, Doctors, and Firearm Rights Groups File Amicus Briefs in Lawsuit Challenging California 10+ Magazine Ban

Tuesday, January 16, 2018

Eighteen States, Law Enforcement, Doctors, and Firearm Rights Groups File Amicus Briefs in Lawsuit Challenging California 10+ Magazine Ban

On Friday, January 12, several amicus briefs were filed in the NRA and CRPA supported lawsuit challenging California’s restrictions against magazines capable of holding more than 10 rounds. The lawsuit, titled Duncan v. Becerra, challenges California’s ...

Democrats' Exciting New Hope Adheres to Tired Old Anti-Gun Dogma

News  

Friday, January 12, 2018

Democrats' Exciting New Hope Adheres to Tired Old Anti-Gun Dogma

Democrats searching for a standard-bearer in the 2020 presidential election lit on long-time entertainment, media, and publishing figure Oprah Winfrey this week, following a speech Winfrey gave at a televised Hollywood extravaganza.

Virginia: Gun Control Tops New Governor’s Agenda

News  

Friday, January 12, 2018

Virginia: Gun Control Tops New Governor’s Agenda

This week, Virginia Governor McAuliffe and Governor-Elect Ralph Northam outlined their top priorities for the upcoming legislative session, and highlighted expanded background checks for all firearm sales and other transfers (so-called “universal” background checks) as ...

Indiana: Gun Bills Filed

Saturday, January 13, 2018

Indiana: Gun Bills Filed

With the 2018 Indiana legislative session underway, a number of bills affecting your Second Amendment and hunting rights have been filed.

Washington: CPL Permit Confidentiality Bill Introduced

Wednesday, January 17, 2018

Washington: CPL Permit Confidentiality Bill Introduced

Last week, Washington legislators introduced an NRA-backed bill to protect the private, personal information of Washington's concealed pistol license holders from public records requests.  Senate Bill 6173, sponsored by Senator Dean Takko (D-19), and House Bill ...

Washington: Senate Law & Justice Committee to Hear Anti-Gun Bills Next Monday

Wednesday, January 10, 2018

Washington: Senate Law & Justice Committee to Hear Anti-Gun Bills Next Monday

On Monday, January 15th at 10:00AM, the Senate Law & Justice Committee is scheduled to hear multiple anti-gun bills.  Testimony will be limited during the hearing, so all NRA members and Second Amendment supporters are strongly ...

Washington: House Judiciary to Hear Gun Control Bills

Thursday, January 18, 2018

Washington: House Judiciary to Hear Gun Control Bills

On Thursday, January 25th at 1:30PM, the House Judiciary Committee is scheduled to hear several sweeping gun control bills.  NRA Members and Second Amendment supporters are strongly encouraged to attend the committee hearing to voice your opposition ...

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

Gun Laws  

Thursday, January 1, 2015

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

CAUTION: Federal and state firearms laws are subject to frequent change. This summary is not to be considered as legal advice or a restatement of law.

Washington: Substitute Versions of Gun Control Bills to Be Heard

Saturday, January 13, 2018

Washington: Substitute Versions of Gun Control Bills to Be Heard

Last night, anti-gun legislators introduced substitute bills for Senate Bill 5444 and Senate Bill 5463.  These substituted versions will replace the original bills that are scheduled for a public hearing on Monday, January 15th. NRA remains opposed ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.