Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

**ALERT ROUND 9 ** More Help Needed To Stop Gun Registration

Saturday, March 13, 2010

Please email your State Representative Today!

TO:           USF & NRA Members and Friends
FROM:      Marion P. Hammer
                 USF Executive Director
                 NRA Past President

House Bill 315 by Representative Mike Horner (R) has ALSO been scheduled to be heard on the House floor Tuesday March 16, 2010

HB-315 is a bill to STOP Florida adoption agencies from forcing potential adoptive parents to register their firearms with the agency as a condition of adoption.  Further, it will stop agencies from forcing these parents to follow gun control regulations regarding storage of firearms and ammunition created by the agency.

This outrageous behavior has been going on too long and it is time to stop it once and for all.

Representative Mike Horner's bill will stop this gun registration and regulation.

You must act quickly.  URGENT!  The House Must Hear From You!

PLEASE IMMEDIATELY EMAIL THESE Members of the Florida House

In the subject line put: 

SUPPORT HB-315 -- Stop Gun Registration by Adoption Agencies

(Block or Highlight and Copy All email addresses into the "Send To" box)

Sandy.Adams@myfloridahouse.gov,
Janet.Adkins@myfloridahouse.gov,
Kevin.Ambler@myfloridahouse.gov,
Tom.Anderson@myfloridahouse.gov,
Gary.Aubuchon@myfloridahouse.gov,
Leonard.Bembry@myfloridahouse.gov,
Ellyn.Bogdanoff@myfloridahouse.gov,
Esteban.Bovo@myfloridahouse.gov,
Debbie.Boyd@myfloridahouse.gov,
Rachel.Burgin@myfloridahouse.gov,
Dean.Cannon@myfloridahouse.gov,
Jennifer.Carroll@myfloridahouse.gov,
Marti.Coley@myfloridahouse.gov,
Larry.Cretul@myfloridahouse.gov,
Steve.Crisafulli@myfloridahouse.gov,
Faye.Culp@myfloridahouse.gov,
Carl.Domino@myfloridahouse.gov,
Chris.Dorworth@myfloridahouse.gov,
Brad.Drake@myfloridahouse.gov,
Eric.Eisnaugle@myfloridahouse.gov,
Greg.Evers@myfloridahouse.gov,
Anitere.Flores@myfloridahouse.gov,
Clay.Ford@myfloridahouse.gov,
Erik.Fresen@myfloridahouse.gov,
Jim.Frishe@myfloridahouse.gov,
Bill.Galvano@myfloridahouse.gov,
Rich.Glorioso@myfloridahouse.gov,
Eddy.Gonzalez@myfloridahouse.gov,
Tom.Grady@myfloridahouse.gov,
Denise.Grimsley@myfloridahouse.gov,
Adam.Hasner@myfloridahouse.gov,
Alan.Hays@myfloridahouse.gov,
Doug.Holder@myfloridahouse.gov,
Ed.Homan@myfloridahouse.gov,
Ed.Hooper@myfloridahouse.gov,
Mike.Horner@myfloridahouse.gov,
Matt.Hudson@myfloridahouse.gov,
Dorothy.Hukill@myfloridahouse.gov,
Kurt.Kelly@myfloridahouse.gov,
Paige.Kreegel@myfloridahouse.gov,
John.Legg@myfloridahouse.gov,
Marcelo.Llorente@myfloridahouse.gov,
Carlos.Lopez-cantera@myfloridahouse.gov,
Debbie.Mayfield@myfloridahouse.gov,
Charles.McBurney@myfloridahouse.gov,
Seth.Mckeel@myfloridahouse.gov,
Dave.Murzin@myfloridahouse.gov,
Peter.Nehr@myfloridahouse.gov,
Bryan.Nelson@myfloridahouse.gov,
Marlene.Otoole@myfloridahouse.gov,
Mark.Pafford@myfloridahouse.gov,
Jimmy.Patronis@myfloridahouse.gov,
Pat.Patterson@myfloridahouse.gov,
Scott.Plakon@myfloridahouse.gov,
JC.Planas@myfloridahouse.gov,
Ralph.Poppell@myfloridahouse.gov,
Steve.Precourt@myfloridahouse.gov,
Bill.Proctor@myfloridahouse.gov,
Lake.Ray@myfloridahouse.gov,
Ron.Reagan@myfloridahouse.gov,
Ronald.Renuart@myfloridahouse.gov,
David.Rivera@myfloridahouse.gov,
Julio.Robaina@myfloridahouse.gov,
Ken.Roberson@myfloridahouse.gov,
Ray.Sansom@myfloridahouse.gov,
Ron.Saunders@myfloridahouse.gov,
Robert.Schenck@myfloridahouse.gov,
Ron.Schultz@myfloridahouse.gov,
William.Snyder@myfloridahouse.gov,
Darren.Soto@myfloridahouse.gov,
Kelli.Stargel@myfloridahouse.gov,
Nick.Thompson@myfloridahouse.gov,
Baxter.Troutman@myfloridahouse.gov,
Charles.VanZant@myfloridahouse.gov,
Will.Weatherford@myfloridahouse.gov,
Mike.Weinstein@myfloridahouse.gov,
Trudi.Williams@myfloridahouse.gov,
John.Wood@myfloridahouse.gov,
Ritch.Workman@myfloridahouse.gov,
Juan.Zapata@myfloridahouse.gov,


BACKGROUND

Adoption agencies in Florida are effectively profiling prospective adoptive parents who own firearms.

Agencies have been treating applicants for adoption, who chose to exercise the constitutional right to own a firearm, differently than non-firearms owning applicants.

As a condition of adoption, prospective parents who own firearms must agree to regulations and restriction imposed by the agency.

At least one agency requires prospective parents who own a firearm or firearms, to store the firearms and ammunition separately in locked cabinets – rendering the right of self-defense and defense of family virtually impossible.

Further, applicants who own firearms are required to register their firearms and ammunition with the agency. 

The agency not only requires applicants to separately list the firearms and the ammunition they own on a form created by the agency, but also requires them to report to the agency exactly where the firearms and ammunition are stored.

These agencies have set themselves above the law and have ignored the statutes.

State law regulates the safe storage of firearms.  F.S. 790.174, regulates how firearms must be stored and provides criminal penalties when firearms are accessed by minors due to a failure to store firearms safely.

State law prohibits agencies from attempting to regulate firearms.  F.S. 790.33 prohibits any regulation of firearms except by the Legislature.  The Legislature exclusively occupies the whole field of regulation of firearms and ammunition.

State law prohibits registration of firearms.  F.S. 790.335 prohibits the compiling of and retention of lists of firearms owners and firearms.  Forms required by some adoption agencies constitute a registry of firearms and firearms owners.

Under 790.335(4)(a), office managers and officials who are a party to the collection and storage of firearms registration documents commit a felony of the third degree.

Under 790.335(4)(c) these agencies or organizations, as licensed agencies acting on behalf of the government, who register firearms are subject to a fine of up to $5 million.

While some adoption agencies have attempted to claim their firearms regulations and forms were authorized or required by DCF, DCF actually repealed those regulations in April, 2008.

This bill makes it clear that adoption agencies may not condition adoption on a person's exercise of a constitutional right or a person's willingness to disclose private information concerning lawful firearms ownership – nor may adoption agencies impose restrictions on firearms ownership.

This bill codifies in law that adoption agencies may not violate rights, profile or discriminate against firearms owners who seek to foster or adopt children.

Prospective parents seeking to adopt and make a home for a child are particularly vulnerable to abusive tactics of agency officials and personnel who appear to have a predisposition against firearms owners.

Forcing prospective parents to submit to requirements that usurp their legal rights and violate their privacy is nothing short of coercion.  It must be stopped.
TRENDING NOW
Illinois: House Committee Passes Bill to Close Local Gun Dealers

Tuesday, May 16, 2017

Illinois: House Committee Passes Bill to Close Local Gun Dealers

The House Judiciary Committee passed Senate Bill 1657 by a 7-6 vote.

Washington: NRA Files Amicus Brief in Challenge to Kitsap County Anti-Gun Ordinance

Monday, May 22, 2017

Washington: NRA Files Amicus Brief in Challenge to Kitsap County Anti-Gun Ordinance

Last week, attorneys on behalf of the NRA filed an amicus brief in Kitsap County v. Kitsap Rifle and Revolver Club (Kitsap II), the case which challenges Kitsap County’s firearm discharge ban and range licensing scheme.  Kitsap Rifle and ...

Maryland: Governor Hogan Signs Apprentice Hunting Legislation into Law

Thursday, May 4, 2017

Maryland: Governor Hogan Signs Apprentice Hunting Legislation into Law

Today, Maryland Governor Larry Hogan signed House Bill 1427 into law.

Nevada: Governor Sandoval Signs AB 118!

Monday, May 22, 2017

Nevada: Governor Sandoval Signs AB 118!

Today, May 22, Governor Brian Sandoval signed important pro-gun legislation, Assembly Bill 118, into law.  AB 118, sponsored by Assemblyman Skip Daly, will allow members of the military and those who have received an honorable ...

California: AB 424 Passes Assembly - Appropriations Committees to Consider Suspense Items

Tuesday, May 23, 2017

California: AB 424 Passes Assembly - Appropriations Committees to Consider Suspense Items

Friday, May 26th is the deadline for the fiscal committees to pass bills to the floor from the chamber of origin.  On Thursday, May 25, the Senate AppropriationsCommittee is scheduled to consider Senate Bill 464 and Senate Bill 497. ...

Kansas: Senate Committee Passes Gun Free Zone Legislation, Again

Tuesday, May 23, 2017

Kansas: Senate Committee Passes Gun Free Zone Legislation, Again

Last week, the Senate Committee of the Whole referred an amended version of House Bill 2278 back to the Senate Ways and Means Committee.

From My Cold Wet Hands: Humorless Scold Targets Squirt Guns

News  

Friday, May 19, 2017

From My Cold Wet Hands: Humorless Scold Targets Squirt Guns

We have yet to reach Memorial Day, but the fun police have already set their sights on at least one cherished summer childhood activity. In an article for Pupsugar.com, titled, “Why Kids Should Never Play ...

California: Don’t Miss our May 25th Webinar to Discuss the Newest DOJ Draft “Assault Weapons” Regulations

Wednesday, May 24, 2017

California: Don’t Miss our May 25th Webinar to Discuss the Newest DOJ Draft “Assault Weapons” Regulations

Tomorrow, Thursday, May 25, at 12:00 pm (PT), NRA’s legal team will be hosting a free webinar to discuss the recently submitted “assault weapon” regulations.   

Court's Commonsense Conclusion: "There Was a Gun" Isn't Enough to Justify Issuing a Restraining Order

Second Amendment  

Friday, May 19, 2017

Court's Commonsense Conclusion: "There Was a Gun" Isn't Enough to Justify Issuing a Restraining Order

The Supreme Court of North Dakota confirmed this week that simply possessing a handgun while on one’s own private property cannot support a finding of "disorderly conduct" under the state’s disorderly conduct restraining order law. ...

California: Draft "Assault Weapon" Regulation Language Now Available

Thursday, May 18, 2017

California: Draft "Assault Weapon" Regulation Language Now Available

Today, May 18, a draft copy of the "Assault Weapon" regulations has been made available

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.