Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Hunting

Olympia Considering End to Department of Fish & Wildlife! Hunters and Sportsmen MUST Contact their Legislators Immediately!

Thursday, February 25, 2010

The Senate budget released this week would zero out the Washington Department of Fish & Wildlife (WDFW) budget and transfer all WDFW functions to the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) in a merger of the two agencies.  Further, it would reduce by $10.5 million the amount spent on the functions that have been handled by WDFW.

To those involved in the shooting sports, the net result of such a transfer of authority would likely be devastating.  Gun owners and sportsmen have been fighting DNR for years with regard to shooting and hunting on DNR land.  Leadership in DNR is, at best, indifferent to the interests of sportsmen and, more likely, hostile and antagonistic.

The majority of hunters and sportsmen in Washington State agreed last year to surcharges on their licenses to keep important WDFW functions in place.  Every hunting (and fishing) program and every dedicated fund is at risk for reduction or termination.  Sportsmen’s support of the department could be wiped out if the Senate Budget is allowed to advance with the merger language in it. 

It is critical that hunters and sportsmen contact the members of the Senate Ways & Means Committee immediately!  Tell them to OPPOSE THE MERGER OF WDFW INTO DNR!  Please leave messages for your Senator and Representatives, as well.

Following are the email addresses for the 22 members of the Senate Ways & Means Committee, including Senator Rodney Tom who is the author of the merger effort:

State Senator Margarita Prentice (Chair) - prentice.margarita@leg.wa.gov
State Senator Karen Fraser (Vice-Chair, Capital Budget) - fraser.karen@leg.wa.gov
State Senator Rodney Tom (Vice Chair, Operating Budget) - tom.rodney@leg.wa.gov
State Senator Joseph Zarelli (Ranking Minority) - zarelli.joseph@leg.wa.gov
State Senator Dale Brandland - brandland.dale@leg.wa.gov
State Senator Mike Carrell - carrell.michael@leg.wa.gov
State Senator Darlene Fairley - fairley.darlene@leg.wa.gov
State Senator Mike Hewitt - hewitt.mike@leg.wa.gov
State Senator Steve Hobbs - hobbs.steve@leg.wa.gov
State Senator Jim Honeyford - honeyford.jim@leg.wa.gov
State Senator Karen Keiser - keiser.karen@leg.wa.gov
State Senator Adam Kline - kline.adam@leg.wa.gov
State Senator Jeanne Kohl-Welles - kohl-welles.jeanne@leg.wa.gov
State Senator Joe McDermott - mcdermott.joe@leg.wa.gov
State Senator Ed Murray - murray.edward@leg.wa.gov
State Senator Eric Oemig - oemig.eric@leg.wa.gov
State Senator Linda Evans Parlette - parlette.linda@leg.wa.gov
State Senator Cheryl Pflug - pflug.cheryl@leg.wa.gov
State Senator Craig Pridemore - pridemore.craig@leg.wa.gov
State Senator Debbie Regala - regala.debbie@leg.wa.gov
State Senator Phil Rockefeller - rockefeller.phil@leg.wa.gov
State Senator Mark Schoesler - schoesler.mark@leg.wa.gov  

Your Senator and his or her email address can be found here: https://dlr.leg.wa.gov/MemberEmail/Default.aspx?Chamber=S

The toll-free Legislative Hotline number for those wanting to leave a phone message for their legislators is (800)562-6000.

Please call and email these legislators immediately!  A Ways & Means vote on the Senate Budget with the merger language could occur as early as tomorrow morning.

TRENDING NOW
Video: Arrogant Illinois State Senator Proposes Confiscating Guns

News  

Friday, June 21, 2019

Video: Arrogant Illinois State Senator Proposes Confiscating Guns

Anti-gun lawmakers, including some of those vying for the 2020 Democratic presidential nomination, are becoming increasingly open about their desire to confiscate firearms from law-abiding citizens and jail those who don’t comply. Perhaps taking a cue from their strident ...

A Tale of Two Rallies

News  

Friday, June 21, 2019

A Tale of Two Rallies

The 2020 presidential contest is now underway in earnest. On Tuesday, President Trump officially kicked off his reelection campaign to a packed house at the 20,000 seat Amway Center in Orlando, FL. Earlier that day, ...

California DOJ Proposes “Emergency” Regulations Requiring Federally  Compliant IDs for All Firearm and Ammunition Transfers

Tuesday, June 18, 2019

California DOJ Proposes “Emergency” Regulations Requiring Federally Compliant IDs for All Firearm and Ammunition Transfers

Yesterday, the California Department of Justice officially submitted proposed “emergency” regulations that, if adopted, would require federally compliant California driver license or identification cards whenever attempting to purchase a firearm and, beginning July 1, 2019, ...

Governor Abbott Signs Ten Pro-Second Amendment Bills into Law

Monday, June 17, 2019

Governor Abbott Signs Ten Pro-Second Amendment Bills into Law

Governor Greg Abbott has now signed all of the NRA-supported legislation which the Texas Legislature sent him during the 2019 session.

Bloomberg Course: Certified in Advocacy

News  

Friday, June 21, 2019

Bloomberg Course: Certified in Advocacy

We did it. We “earned” a course certificate for the Bloomberg School’s massive open online course titled “Reducing Gun Violence in America: Evidence for Change.” After six grueling weeks we have heard what Michael Bloomberg’s ...

California: NRA and CRPA Submit Opposition to DOJ’s Proposed “Emergency” Regulations Requiring Federally Compliant IDs for Firearm and Ammunition Transactions

Thursday, June 20, 2019

California: NRA and CRPA Submit Opposition to DOJ’s Proposed “Emergency” Regulations Requiring Federally Compliant IDs for Firearm and Ammunition Transactions

As reported earlier, the California Department of Justice recently proposed “emergency” regulations that, if adopted, would require federally compliant IDs whenever attempting to purchase a firearm and, beginning July 1, 2019, any ammunition in the ...

New Jersey: Legislature Passes Smart Gun Legislation

Friday, June 21, 2019

New Jersey: Legislature Passes Smart Gun Legislation

On Thursday, both chambers of the New Jersey Legislature passed “smart gun” legislation despite this technology being more science fiction than reality.

Don’t Say They Didn’t Warn You: Left Leaning Voices Question Democrats’ Anti-Gun Proposals, Fervor

News  

Friday, June 7, 2019

Don’t Say They Didn’t Warn You: Left Leaning Voices Question Democrats’ Anti-Gun Proposals, Fervor

If the 2020 Democrat presidential primary is any indication, that party’s base and donor class will accept nothing less from their nominee than commitments to sweeping gun control. And the contenders appear happy to accommodate ...

California: CRPA and NRA Victory!  Federal Court Issues Preliminary Injunction Against Del Mar’s Attempt to Ban Gun Shows

Wednesday, June 19, 2019

California: CRPA and NRA Victory! Federal Court Issues Preliminary Injunction Against Del Mar’s Attempt to Ban Gun Shows

On Monday, June 17, the California Rifle and Pistol Association attorneys with the support of NRA and others, secured a major victory in the fight against Del Mar’s attempt from banning gun shows.

Oregon: Session Nears End, Senators Prevent a Quorum

Thursday, June 20, 2019

Oregon: Session Nears End, Senators Prevent a Quorum

Today, the Oregon Senate Minority Caucus left the Capitol building and are refusing to attend floor sessions in order to prevent a quorum on certain pieces of legislation.  Because of this, anti-gun legislators are now threatening ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.