Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Hunting

North Carolina’s “Puppy Mill” Bill to be Heard Soon!

Wednesday, April 22, 2009

Please Contact the House Agricultural Committee Today!

The House Agricultural Committee will soon vote on House Bill 733, a bill actively supported by the Humane Society of the United States (HSUS) and intended to put dog breeders and kennel owners out of business. 

HSUS says it is only trying to regulate massive, overcrowded “puppy mills,” but this is part of the same old lie.  The fact is that they want to ban all hunting in America, especially hunting with dogs, since it radically opposes animal ownership.  Don’t be fooled by the “hunting dog” exception in the bill.  It does not adequately protect hunters!  Kennel owners who own and train hunting dogs will be hauled into court under the provisions of the legislation and will be forced, at great cost, to put forward an affirmative defense pursuant to the exception.

Remember that HSUS’ President, Wayne Pacelle, told the Associated Press, “If we could shut down all sport hunting in a moment, we would.”  HSUS spends $120 million a year to lobby and litigate against hunters and animal owners.  Pacelle understands that an outright hunting ban is not realistic today so his group practices incrementalism.  He will take it piece by piece and he has said so publicly.

In other states, HSUS advocates for mandatory spay and neuter laws.  These require all dogs older than six months to be spayed or neutered unless the dog owner is fortunate and wealthy enough to obtain an annual “may issue” intact license from a local government official.  This legislation violates basic principles of private property rights and keeps hunting dog owners from doing what they’ve done for generations – pass along quality puppies to their friends and hunting partners while at the same time helping to recoup costs of care and training.  If HB 733 is enacted, rest assured HSUS will be back to North Carolina with even more radical proposals like this. 

HSUS radicals must be stopped in North Carolina!

It is imperative that you contact you’re the members of the House Agricultural Committee listed below TODAY and voice your opposition to HB733. 

Also, please contact the House leadership at http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/House/houseleadership.html and let them know of your of opposition.

State Representative Dewey L. Hill (D-20) Chairman
919-733-5830
Dewey.Hill@ncleg.net

State Representative Larry M. Bell (D-21) Vice Chair
919-733-5863
Larry.Bell@ncleg.net

State Representative R. Van Braxton (D-10) Vice Chair
919-715-3017
Van.Braxton@ncleg.net

State Representative William D. Brisson (D-22) Vice Chair
919-733-5772
William.Brisson@ncleg.net

State Representative Bill Faison (D-50) Vice Chair
919-715-3019
Bill.Faison@ncleg.net

State Representative David R. Lewis (R-53) Vice Chair
919-715-3015
David.Lewis@ncleg.net

State Representative Arthur Williams (D-6) Vice Chair
919-733-5906
Arthur.Williams@ncleg.net

State Representative Cary D. Allred (R-64)
919-733-5905
Cary.Allred@ncleg.net

State Representative Lorene Coates (D-77)
919-733-5784
Lorene.Coates@ncleg.net

State Representative N. Leo Daughtry (R-26)
919-733-5605
Leo.Daughtry@ncleg.net

State Representative W. David Guice (R-113)
919-715-4466
David.Guice@ncleg.net

State Representative Bryan R. Holloway (R-91)
919-733-5609
Bryan.Holloway@ncleg.net

State Representative James H. Langdon, Jr. (R-28)
919-733-5849
James.Langdon@ncleg.net

State Representative Darrell G. McCormick (R-92)
919-733-5654
Darrell.McCormick@ncleg.net

State Representative Annie W. Mobley (D-5)
919-733-5780
Annie.Mobley@ncleg.net

State Representative Edgar V. Starnes (R-87)
919-733-5931
Edgar.Starnes@ncleg.net

State Representative Fred F. Steen, II (R-76)
919-733-5881
Fred.Steen@ncleg.net

State Representative Cullie M. Tarleton (D-93)
919-733-7727
Cullie.Tarleton@ncleg.net

State Representative Joe P. Tolson (D-23)
919-715-3024
Joe.Tolson@ncleg.net

State Representative Russell E. Tucker (D-4)
919-715-3021
Russell.Tucker@ncleg.net

State Representative Alice Graham Underhill (D-3)
919-733-5853
Alice.Underhill@ncleg.net

State Representative Edith D. Warren (D-8)
919-715-3023
Edith.Warren@ncleg.net

State Representative Michael H. Wray (D-27)
919-733-5662
Michael.Wray@ncleg.net

TRENDING NOW

Saturday, April 21, 2018

Florida Alert: YETI Drops NRA Foundation

For years YETI Coolers have been a hot item for sportsmen at the Friends of NRA Foundation Banquet and Auction events around the country.  Suddenly, without prior notice, YETI has declined to do business with The ...

Dick’s Sporting Goods/Field & Stream to Destroy Firearms Inventory

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, April 20, 2018

Dick’s Sporting Goods/Field & Stream to Destroy Firearms Inventory

Dick’s Sporting Goods took their campaign to alienate law-abiding gun owners to an extraordinary new level last week. The beleaguered retailer announced that in addition to removing certain types of semi-automatic rifles from their stores, the company ...

Another Group of Anti-Gun Celebrities Forms!  In Other News, The Sun Rose Today.

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, April 20, 2018

Another Group of Anti-Gun Celebrities Forms! In Other News, The Sun Rose Today.

In case you were worried there were not enough anti-gun organizations working to eradicate the rights of law-abiding gun owners, a new one has formed, and it’s called NoRA.  Get it?  The name implies that the ...

NRA Statement on Passage of the National Defense Authorization Act

News  

Tuesday, December 12, 2017

NRA Statement on Passage of the National Defense Authorization Act

National Rifle Association Institute for Legislative Action executive director, Chris W. Cox, released the following statement on Tuesday regarding President Donald Trump's signature on the National Defense Authorization Act

NRA Salutes “the Gunny” and Mourns the Passing of an American Patriot

News  

Friday, April 20, 2018

NRA Salutes “the Gunny” and Mourns the Passing of an American Patriot

America, and the NRA, lost a true friend and a staunch defender of freedom with the passing of R. Lee Ermey on April 15 from complications of pneumonia. He was 74 years old. 

Keep Calm and Carry On: Pro-Gun Sentiment Reasserts Itself in Wake of Antigun Blitz

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, April 20, 2018

Keep Calm and Carry On: Pro-Gun Sentiment Reasserts Itself in Wake of Antigun Blitz

Like the long-delayed coming of spring to the Mid-Atlantic, evidence is appearing that Americans are regaining their senses and reverting to an instinctual embrace of freedom after a withering barrage of some the nastiest and most ugly ...

California: Legislation Requiring Background Checks on Barrels and Other Parts Up For Hearing!

Sunday, April 22, 2018

California: Legislation Requiring Background Checks on Barrels and Other Parts Up For Hearing!

Several pro- and anti-gun bills are scheduled to be heard in their respective committees on Monday, April 23 and Tuesday, April 24.  Please contact the members of the respective committee and urge them to SUPPORT ...

Illinois: Committee Passes Bill to Allow Local Infringement of Second Amendment

Wednesday, April 18, 2018

Illinois: Committee Passes Bill to Allow Local Infringement of Second Amendment

The Illinois state Senate could vote on legislation to allow localities to infringe upon Second Amendment rights as early as today.  Senate Bill 2314 was moved to third reading after it had passed the Senate ...

Unfriendly Skies: Delta CEO Claims Bashing NRA Members is Good Business

News  

Friday, April 13, 2018

Unfriendly Skies: Delta CEO Claims Bashing NRA Members is Good Business

In the wake of the Parkland, Florida, murders, there has been an unusual amount of anti-gun and anti-NRA commentary by private corporations with plenty of problems of their own.   In February, Delta announced it was ending a ...

Illinois: Senate to Consider Overriding Veto on Dealer Licensing Bills

Monday, April 23, 2018

Illinois: Senate to Consider Overriding Veto on Dealer Licensing Bills

With the April 25th deadline approaching, the Illinois state Senate is expected soon to consider overriding Gov. Bruce Rauner’s veto on legislation that would drive your local gun stores out of business with onerous red tape ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.