Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Hunting

North Carolina’s “Puppy Mill” Bill to be Heard Soon!

Wednesday, April 22, 2009

Please Contact the House Agricultural Committee Today!

The House Agricultural Committee will soon vote on House Bill 733, a bill actively supported by the Humane Society of the United States (HSUS) and intended to put dog breeders and kennel owners out of business. 

HSUS says it is only trying to regulate massive, overcrowded “puppy mills,” but this is part of the same old lie.  The fact is that they want to ban all hunting in America, especially hunting with dogs, since it radically opposes animal ownership.  Don’t be fooled by the “hunting dog” exception in the bill.  It does not adequately protect hunters!  Kennel owners who own and train hunting dogs will be hauled into court under the provisions of the legislation and will be forced, at great cost, to put forward an affirmative defense pursuant to the exception.

Remember that HSUS’ President, Wayne Pacelle, told the Associated Press, “If we could shut down all sport hunting in a moment, we would.”  HSUS spends $120 million a year to lobby and litigate against hunters and animal owners.  Pacelle understands that an outright hunting ban is not realistic today so his group practices incrementalism.  He will take it piece by piece and he has said so publicly.

In other states, HSUS advocates for mandatory spay and neuter laws.  These require all dogs older than six months to be spayed or neutered unless the dog owner is fortunate and wealthy enough to obtain an annual “may issue” intact license from a local government official.  This legislation violates basic principles of private property rights and keeps hunting dog owners from doing what they’ve done for generations – pass along quality puppies to their friends and hunting partners while at the same time helping to recoup costs of care and training.  If HB 733 is enacted, rest assured HSUS will be back to North Carolina with even more radical proposals like this. 

HSUS radicals must be stopped in North Carolina!

It is imperative that you contact you’re the members of the House Agricultural Committee listed below TODAY and voice your opposition to HB733. 

Also, please contact the House leadership at http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/House/houseleadership.html and let them know of your of opposition.

State Representative Dewey L. Hill (D-20) Chairman
919-733-5830
Dewey.Hill@ncleg.net

State Representative Larry M. Bell (D-21) Vice Chair
919-733-5863
Larry.Bell@ncleg.net

State Representative R. Van Braxton (D-10) Vice Chair
919-715-3017
Van.Braxton@ncleg.net

State Representative William D. Brisson (D-22) Vice Chair
919-733-5772
William.Brisson@ncleg.net

State Representative Bill Faison (D-50) Vice Chair
919-715-3019
Bill.Faison@ncleg.net

State Representative David R. Lewis (R-53) Vice Chair
919-715-3015
David.Lewis@ncleg.net

State Representative Arthur Williams (D-6) Vice Chair
919-733-5906
Arthur.Williams@ncleg.net

State Representative Cary D. Allred (R-64)
919-733-5905
Cary.Allred@ncleg.net

State Representative Lorene Coates (D-77)
919-733-5784
Lorene.Coates@ncleg.net

State Representative N. Leo Daughtry (R-26)
919-733-5605
Leo.Daughtry@ncleg.net

State Representative W. David Guice (R-113)
919-715-4466
David.Guice@ncleg.net

State Representative Bryan R. Holloway (R-91)
919-733-5609
Bryan.Holloway@ncleg.net

State Representative James H. Langdon, Jr. (R-28)
919-733-5849
James.Langdon@ncleg.net

State Representative Darrell G. McCormick (R-92)
919-733-5654
Darrell.McCormick@ncleg.net

State Representative Annie W. Mobley (D-5)
919-733-5780
Annie.Mobley@ncleg.net

State Representative Edgar V. Starnes (R-87)
919-733-5931
Edgar.Starnes@ncleg.net

State Representative Fred F. Steen, II (R-76)
919-733-5881
Fred.Steen@ncleg.net

State Representative Cullie M. Tarleton (D-93)
919-733-7727
Cullie.Tarleton@ncleg.net

State Representative Joe P. Tolson (D-23)
919-715-3024
Joe.Tolson@ncleg.net

State Representative Russell E. Tucker (D-4)
919-715-3021
Russell.Tucker@ncleg.net

State Representative Alice Graham Underhill (D-3)
919-733-5853
Alice.Underhill@ncleg.net

State Representative Edith D. Warren (D-8)
919-715-3023
Edith.Warren@ncleg.net

State Representative Michael H. Wray (D-27)
919-733-5662
Michael.Wray@ncleg.net

TRENDING NOW
Out of Style: Levi’s Fawns Over Shannon Watts in Pantmaker’s Latest Gun Control Effort

News  

Friday, May 17, 2019

Out of Style: Levi’s Fawns Over Shannon Watts in Pantmaker’s Latest Gun Control Effort

At the National Retail Federation’s 2018 convention in New York City, Levi Strauss & Co. Brand President James Curleigh told those assembled that the multinational pants manufacturer intends to be the “most relevant lifestyle brand.” Evidently, part ...

Illinois Committee Passes Bill to Increase Cost of FOID 1000

Tuesday, May 21, 2019

Illinois Committee Passes Bill to Increase Cost of FOID 1000

On May 21st, the Illinois state House Judiciary Committee voted 12-7 to pass House Amendment 1 to Senate Bill 1966.  While it has not yet been scheduled for further action, the House may take it ...

Washington: Lawsuit Against I-1639 Proceeds After Motion To Dismiss Denied

Tuesday, May 21, 2019

Washington: Lawsuit Against I-1639 Proceeds After Motion To Dismiss Denied

On May 20th, the United States District Court for the Western District of Washington rejected a motion by the government defendants to dismiss the lawsuit filed by NRA and the SAF against Washington’s gun control ...

Trump Administration, Other Pro-Gun Heavyweights Lend Support on Pending Supreme Court Case

News  

Friday, May 17, 2019

Trump Administration, Other Pro-Gun Heavyweights Lend Support on Pending Supreme Court Case

As NRA-ILA Executive Director Chris W. Cox reported in March, the U.S. Supreme Court has taken up a challenge by an NRA state affiliate to a New York City gun control scheme that effectively prohibits lawfully ...

Hear Ye, Hear Ye, Only What We Want Ye to Hear

News  

Friday, May 17, 2019

Hear Ye, Hear Ye, Only What We Want Ye to Hear

Can we finally put the claim that “gun violence” research is underfunded to rest? The Bloomberg Professor of American Health at the Bloomberg School of Public Health at Johns Hopkins University, Daniel Webster, and his colleagues at the Hopkins ...

Gov. Abbott Signs NRA-Backed Tenants' Rights Bill

News  

Friday, May 17, 2019

Gov. Abbott Signs NRA-Backed Tenants' Rights Bill

The National Rifle Association Institute for Legislative Action (NRA-ILA) applauded Gov. Greg Abbott on Thursday for signing NRA-backed legislation that protects tenants’ rights by prohibiting “no firearms” clauses in residential leases.   

Retired Justice Stevens Continues Crusade Against Guns

News  

Friday, May 17, 2019

Retired Justice Stevens Continues Crusade Against Guns

Retired Supreme Court Justice John Paul Stevens does not believe a law-abiding citizen has a right to possess firearms under the Second Amendment, and he wants to make sure everyone knows it. He made his ...

California: Firearm Excise Tax Bill Fails to Meet Fiscal Deadline While Other Gun Control Bills Move Forward

Monday, May 20, 2019

California: Firearm Excise Tax Bill Fails to Meet Fiscal Deadline While Other Gun Control Bills Move Forward

Last week, the Assembly and Senate Appropriations Committees took up their respective suspense files ahead of the Friday, May 17, fiscal deadline. Some of the more egregious gun bills failed to meet the deadline including ...

Nevada: Omnibus Anti-Gun Bill Granted Waiver From Deadlines

Saturday, May 18, 2019

Nevada: Omnibus Anti-Gun Bill Granted Waiver From Deadlines

As previously alerted, yesterday was the deadline for legislation to pass out of the policy committee in the second chamber.  A waiver was granted for Assembly Bill 291, exempting the bill from the deadlines.  This waiver ...

Illinois: Committee To Receive FOID Cost Increase Legislation

Friday, May 17, 2019

Illinois: Committee To Receive FOID Cost Increase Legislation

On May 21st, the Illinois state House of Representatives Rules Committee will hear House Amendment 1 to Senate Bill 1966 and send it to the Judiciary Committee for further consideration.  HA 1 to SB 1966 would ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.