Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Hunting

North Carolina’s “Puppy Mill” Bill to be Heard Soon!

Wednesday, April 22, 2009

Please Contact the House Agricultural Committee Today!

The House Agricultural Committee will soon vote on House Bill 733, a bill actively supported by the Humane Society of the United States (HSUS) and intended to put dog breeders and kennel owners out of business. 

HSUS says it is only trying to regulate massive, overcrowded “puppy mills,” but this is part of the same old lie.  The fact is that they want to ban all hunting in America, especially hunting with dogs, since it radically opposes animal ownership.  Don’t be fooled by the “hunting dog” exception in the bill.  It does not adequately protect hunters!  Kennel owners who own and train hunting dogs will be hauled into court under the provisions of the legislation and will be forced, at great cost, to put forward an affirmative defense pursuant to the exception.

Remember that HSUS’ President, Wayne Pacelle, told the Associated Press, “If we could shut down all sport hunting in a moment, we would.”  HSUS spends $120 million a year to lobby and litigate against hunters and animal owners.  Pacelle understands that an outright hunting ban is not realistic today so his group practices incrementalism.  He will take it piece by piece and he has said so publicly.

In other states, HSUS advocates for mandatory spay and neuter laws.  These require all dogs older than six months to be spayed or neutered unless the dog owner is fortunate and wealthy enough to obtain an annual “may issue” intact license from a local government official.  This legislation violates basic principles of private property rights and keeps hunting dog owners from doing what they’ve done for generations – pass along quality puppies to their friends and hunting partners while at the same time helping to recoup costs of care and training.  If HB 733 is enacted, rest assured HSUS will be back to North Carolina with even more radical proposals like this. 

HSUS radicals must be stopped in North Carolina!

It is imperative that you contact you’re the members of the House Agricultural Committee listed below TODAY and voice your opposition to HB733. 

Also, please contact the House leadership at http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/House/houseleadership.html and let them know of your of opposition.

State Representative Dewey L. Hill (D-20) Chairman
919-733-5830
Dewey.Hill@ncleg.net

State Representative Larry M. Bell (D-21) Vice Chair
919-733-5863
Larry.Bell@ncleg.net

State Representative R. Van Braxton (D-10) Vice Chair
919-715-3017
Van.Braxton@ncleg.net

State Representative William D. Brisson (D-22) Vice Chair
919-733-5772
William.Brisson@ncleg.net

State Representative Bill Faison (D-50) Vice Chair
919-715-3019
Bill.Faison@ncleg.net

State Representative David R. Lewis (R-53) Vice Chair
919-715-3015
David.Lewis@ncleg.net

State Representative Arthur Williams (D-6) Vice Chair
919-733-5906
Arthur.Williams@ncleg.net

State Representative Cary D. Allred (R-64)
919-733-5905
Cary.Allred@ncleg.net

State Representative Lorene Coates (D-77)
919-733-5784
Lorene.Coates@ncleg.net

State Representative N. Leo Daughtry (R-26)
919-733-5605
Leo.Daughtry@ncleg.net

State Representative W. David Guice (R-113)
919-715-4466
David.Guice@ncleg.net

State Representative Bryan R. Holloway (R-91)
919-733-5609
Bryan.Holloway@ncleg.net

State Representative James H. Langdon, Jr. (R-28)
919-733-5849
James.Langdon@ncleg.net

State Representative Darrell G. McCormick (R-92)
919-733-5654
Darrell.McCormick@ncleg.net

State Representative Annie W. Mobley (D-5)
919-733-5780
Annie.Mobley@ncleg.net

State Representative Edgar V. Starnes (R-87)
919-733-5931
Edgar.Starnes@ncleg.net

State Representative Fred F. Steen, II (R-76)
919-733-5881
Fred.Steen@ncleg.net

State Representative Cullie M. Tarleton (D-93)
919-733-7727
Cullie.Tarleton@ncleg.net

State Representative Joe P. Tolson (D-23)
919-715-3024
Joe.Tolson@ncleg.net

State Representative Russell E. Tucker (D-4)
919-715-3021
Russell.Tucker@ncleg.net

State Representative Alice Graham Underhill (D-3)
919-733-5853
Alice.Underhill@ncleg.net

State Representative Edith D. Warren (D-8)
919-715-3023
Edith.Warren@ncleg.net

State Representative Michael H. Wray (D-27)
919-733-5662
Michael.Wray@ncleg.net

TRENDING NOW
Washington: Trigger Modification Ban Passes Committee

Tuesday, January 16, 2018

Washington: Trigger Modification Ban Passes Committee

Earlier today, the Washington state Senate Law & Justice Committee passed Senate Bill 5992 out of committee with a 4-3 vote. As drafted, this legislation has overreaching language that would ban modifications commonly made to ...

Eighteen States, Law Enforcement, Doctors, and Firearm Rights Groups File Amicus Briefs in Lawsuit Challenging California 10+ Magazine Ban

Tuesday, January 16, 2018

Eighteen States, Law Enforcement, Doctors, and Firearm Rights Groups File Amicus Briefs in Lawsuit Challenging California 10+ Magazine Ban

On Friday, January 12, several amicus briefs were filed in the NRA and CRPA supported lawsuit challenging California’s restrictions against magazines capable of holding more than 10 rounds. The lawsuit, titled Duncan v. Becerra, challenges California’s ...

Democrats' Exciting New Hope Adheres to Tired Old Anti-Gun Dogma

News  

Friday, January 12, 2018

Democrats' Exciting New Hope Adheres to Tired Old Anti-Gun Dogma

Democrats searching for a standard-bearer in the 2020 presidential election lit on long-time entertainment, media, and publishing figure Oprah Winfrey this week, following a speech Winfrey gave at a televised Hollywood extravaganza.

Virginia: Gun Control Tops New Governor’s Agenda

News  

Friday, January 12, 2018

Virginia: Gun Control Tops New Governor’s Agenda

This week, Virginia Governor McAuliffe and Governor-Elect Ralph Northam outlined their top priorities for the upcoming legislative session, and highlighted expanded background checks for all firearm sales and other transfers (so-called “universal” background checks) as ...

Indiana: Gun Bills Filed

Saturday, January 13, 2018

Indiana: Gun Bills Filed

With the 2018 Indiana legislative session underway, a number of bills affecting your Second Amendment and hunting rights have been filed.

Washington: CPL Permit Confidentiality Bill Introduced

Wednesday, January 17, 2018

Washington: CPL Permit Confidentiality Bill Introduced

Last week, Washington legislators introduced an NRA-backed bill to protect the private, personal information of Washington's concealed pistol license holders from public records requests.  Senate Bill 6173, sponsored by Senator Dean Takko (D-19), and House Bill ...

Washington: Senate Law & Justice Committee to Hear Anti-Gun Bills Next Monday

Wednesday, January 10, 2018

Washington: Senate Law & Justice Committee to Hear Anti-Gun Bills Next Monday

On Monday, January 15th at 10:00AM, the Senate Law & Justice Committee is scheduled to hear multiple anti-gun bills.  Testimony will be limited during the hearing, so all NRA members and Second Amendment supporters are strongly ...

Washington: House Judiciary to Hear Gun Control Bills

Thursday, January 18, 2018

Washington: House Judiciary to Hear Gun Control Bills

On Thursday, January 25th at 1:30PM, the House Judiciary Committee is scheduled to hear several sweeping gun control bills.  NRA Members and Second Amendment supporters are strongly encouraged to attend the committee hearing to voice your opposition ...

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

Gun Laws  

Thursday, January 1, 2015

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

CAUTION: Federal and state firearms laws are subject to frequent change. This summary is not to be considered as legal advice or a restatement of law.

Washington: Substitute Versions of Gun Control Bills to Be Heard

Saturday, January 13, 2018

Washington: Substitute Versions of Gun Control Bills to Be Heard

Last night, anti-gun legislators introduced substitute bills for Senate Bill 5444 and Senate Bill 5463.  These substituted versions will replace the original bills that are scheduled for a public hearing on Monday, January 15th. NRA remains opposed ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.