Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Hunting

North Carolina’s “Puppy Mill” Bill to be Heard Soon!

Wednesday, April 22, 2009

Please Contact the House Agricultural Committee Today!

The House Agricultural Committee will soon vote on House Bill 733, a bill actively supported by the Humane Society of the United States (HSUS) and intended to put dog breeders and kennel owners out of business. 

HSUS says it is only trying to regulate massive, overcrowded “puppy mills,” but this is part of the same old lie.  The fact is that they want to ban all hunting in America, especially hunting with dogs, since it radically opposes animal ownership.  Don’t be fooled by the “hunting dog” exception in the bill.  It does not adequately protect hunters!  Kennel owners who own and train hunting dogs will be hauled into court under the provisions of the legislation and will be forced, at great cost, to put forward an affirmative defense pursuant to the exception.

Remember that HSUS’ President, Wayne Pacelle, told the Associated Press, “If we could shut down all sport hunting in a moment, we would.”  HSUS spends $120 million a year to lobby and litigate against hunters and animal owners.  Pacelle understands that an outright hunting ban is not realistic today so his group practices incrementalism.  He will take it piece by piece and he has said so publicly.

In other states, HSUS advocates for mandatory spay and neuter laws.  These require all dogs older than six months to be spayed or neutered unless the dog owner is fortunate and wealthy enough to obtain an annual “may issue” intact license from a local government official.  This legislation violates basic principles of private property rights and keeps hunting dog owners from doing what they’ve done for generations – pass along quality puppies to their friends and hunting partners while at the same time helping to recoup costs of care and training.  If HB 733 is enacted, rest assured HSUS will be back to North Carolina with even more radical proposals like this. 

HSUS radicals must be stopped in North Carolina!

It is imperative that you contact you’re the members of the House Agricultural Committee listed below TODAY and voice your opposition to HB733. 

Also, please contact the House leadership at http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/House/houseleadership.html and let them know of your of opposition.

State Representative Dewey L. Hill (D-20) Chairman
919-733-5830
Dewey.Hill@ncleg.net

State Representative Larry M. Bell (D-21) Vice Chair
919-733-5863
Larry.Bell@ncleg.net

State Representative R. Van Braxton (D-10) Vice Chair
919-715-3017
Van.Braxton@ncleg.net

State Representative William D. Brisson (D-22) Vice Chair
919-733-5772
William.Brisson@ncleg.net

State Representative Bill Faison (D-50) Vice Chair
919-715-3019
Bill.Faison@ncleg.net

State Representative David R. Lewis (R-53) Vice Chair
919-715-3015
David.Lewis@ncleg.net

State Representative Arthur Williams (D-6) Vice Chair
919-733-5906
Arthur.Williams@ncleg.net

State Representative Cary D. Allred (R-64)
919-733-5905
Cary.Allred@ncleg.net

State Representative Lorene Coates (D-77)
919-733-5784
Lorene.Coates@ncleg.net

State Representative N. Leo Daughtry (R-26)
919-733-5605
Leo.Daughtry@ncleg.net

State Representative W. David Guice (R-113)
919-715-4466
David.Guice@ncleg.net

State Representative Bryan R. Holloway (R-91)
919-733-5609
Bryan.Holloway@ncleg.net

State Representative James H. Langdon, Jr. (R-28)
919-733-5849
James.Langdon@ncleg.net

State Representative Darrell G. McCormick (R-92)
919-733-5654
Darrell.McCormick@ncleg.net

State Representative Annie W. Mobley (D-5)
919-733-5780
Annie.Mobley@ncleg.net

State Representative Edgar V. Starnes (R-87)
919-733-5931
Edgar.Starnes@ncleg.net

State Representative Fred F. Steen, II (R-76)
919-733-5881
Fred.Steen@ncleg.net

State Representative Cullie M. Tarleton (D-93)
919-733-7727
Cullie.Tarleton@ncleg.net

State Representative Joe P. Tolson (D-23)
919-715-3024
Joe.Tolson@ncleg.net

State Representative Russell E. Tucker (D-4)
919-715-3021
Russell.Tucker@ncleg.net

State Representative Alice Graham Underhill (D-3)
919-733-5853
Alice.Underhill@ncleg.net

State Representative Edith D. Warren (D-8)
919-715-3023
Edith.Warren@ncleg.net

State Representative Michael H. Wray (D-27)
919-733-5662
Michael.Wray@ncleg.net

TRENDING NOW
Now With More Banning! Dianne Feinstein Introduces “Updated” Federal “Assault Weapons” Ban (S. 66)

News  

Friday, January 11, 2019

Now With More Banning! Dianne Feinstein Introduces “Updated” Federal “Assault Weapons” Ban (S. 66)

On Wednesday, longtime gun control extremist Dianne Feinstein (D-CA) introduced the latest version of her perennial bid to rid America of its most popular types of rifles, as well as the standard capacity magazines that ...

Wisconsin: Governor Evers Starts Session with Gun Control Push

Monday, January 14, 2019

Wisconsin: Governor Evers Starts Session with Gun Control Push

With the 2019 Wisconsin Legislative Session convened, Governor Tony Evers and Attorney General Josh Kaul are already working with legislators to pass sweeping gun control.

Canada’s Gun Control Advocates Boast Handgun Ban is “Within Reach”

News  

Friday, January 11, 2019

Canada’s Gun Control Advocates Boast Handgun Ban is “Within Reach”

On August 28, 2018, Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau instructed Bill Blair, his minister of Border Security and Organized Crime Reduction, to examine the feasibility of “a full ban on handguns and assault weapons in ...

Monster Mistake, Take Two?

News  

Hunting  

Friday, January 11, 2019

Monster Mistake, Take Two?

Capitulating to radical, anti-gun extremism has become acceptable to some within the business community in recent years, especially for companies that seem to care little about our rights protected by the U.S. Constitution.  We’ve seen banks ...

Background Checks: No Impact on Criminals

News  

Friday, January 11, 2019

Background Checks: No Impact on Criminals

We have seen a generation of gun-grabbers rise and fall. The new generation of gun-grabbers are pushing for the same tired and baseless policies that won’t so much as inconvenience criminals. We understand the emotional ...

Tell Your Members of Congress to Oppose “Universal” Background Check Bills

Take Action  

News  

Thursday, January 10, 2019

Tell Your Members of Congress to Oppose “Universal” Background Check Bills

This week two bills were introduced in Congress to impose so-called “universal” background checks. The bills, H.R. 8 and S. 42, are being misleadingly described as simply requiring background checks on all sales of firearms, but this is ...

Oregon: Anti-Gun Bills Pre-Filed, Legislature to Convene Monday

Friday, January 11, 2019

Oregon: Anti-Gun Bills Pre-Filed, Legislature to Convene Monday

The 2019 Oregon Legislative Session will convene on Monday, January 14th, and anti-gun legislators have already pre-filed numerous bills to infringe upon your rights and more bills are expected in the coming weeks.

Illinois: Firearm Registration & Dealer Licensing Bill May Reach New Governor’s Desk

Friday, January 11, 2019

Illinois: Firearm Registration & Dealer Licensing Bill May Reach New Governor’s Desk

On January 10th, Illinois state Senate President John Cullerton removed a hold on a bill potentially to make the unprecedented move of attempting to send a bill passed by the previous legislature to a newly ...

Washington: 2019 Session Convened, Committee Hearings Scheduled

Monday, January 14, 2019

Washington: 2019 Session Convened, Committee Hearings Scheduled

The 2019 Washington Legislative Session convened today, January 14th, and anti-gun legislators have already pre-filed and scheduled hearings for bills that will infringe upon your Second Amendment rights.

Indiana: Lake County Commissioners to Vote on Firearm Discharge Ordinance

Tuesday, January 15, 2019

Indiana: Lake County Commissioners to Vote on Firearm Discharge Ordinance

On January 16th at 10:00AM, the Lake County Board of Commissioners will be voting on whether to approve the proposed amendment to Ordinance No. 1314B previously passed by the County Council to restrict the discharge of firearms ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.