Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Hunting

North Carolina’s “Puppy Mill” Bill to be Heard Soon!

Wednesday, April 22, 2009

Please Contact the House Agricultural Committee Today!

The House Agricultural Committee will soon vote on House Bill 733, a bill actively supported by the Humane Society of the United States (HSUS) and intended to put dog breeders and kennel owners out of business. 

HSUS says it is only trying to regulate massive, overcrowded “puppy mills,” but this is part of the same old lie.  The fact is that they want to ban all hunting in America, especially hunting with dogs, since it radically opposes animal ownership.  Don’t be fooled by the “hunting dog” exception in the bill.  It does not adequately protect hunters!  Kennel owners who own and train hunting dogs will be hauled into court under the provisions of the legislation and will be forced, at great cost, to put forward an affirmative defense pursuant to the exception.

Remember that HSUS’ President, Wayne Pacelle, told the Associated Press, “If we could shut down all sport hunting in a moment, we would.”  HSUS spends $120 million a year to lobby and litigate against hunters and animal owners.  Pacelle understands that an outright hunting ban is not realistic today so his group practices incrementalism.  He will take it piece by piece and he has said so publicly.

In other states, HSUS advocates for mandatory spay and neuter laws.  These require all dogs older than six months to be spayed or neutered unless the dog owner is fortunate and wealthy enough to obtain an annual “may issue” intact license from a local government official.  This legislation violates basic principles of private property rights and keeps hunting dog owners from doing what they’ve done for generations – pass along quality puppies to their friends and hunting partners while at the same time helping to recoup costs of care and training.  If HB 733 is enacted, rest assured HSUS will be back to North Carolina with even more radical proposals like this. 

HSUS radicals must be stopped in North Carolina!

It is imperative that you contact you’re the members of the House Agricultural Committee listed below TODAY and voice your opposition to HB733. 

Also, please contact the House leadership at http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/House/houseleadership.html and let them know of your of opposition.

State Representative Dewey L. Hill (D-20) Chairman
919-733-5830
Dewey.Hill@ncleg.net

State Representative Larry M. Bell (D-21) Vice Chair
919-733-5863
Larry.Bell@ncleg.net

State Representative R. Van Braxton (D-10) Vice Chair
919-715-3017
Van.Braxton@ncleg.net

State Representative William D. Brisson (D-22) Vice Chair
919-733-5772
William.Brisson@ncleg.net

State Representative Bill Faison (D-50) Vice Chair
919-715-3019
Bill.Faison@ncleg.net

State Representative David R. Lewis (R-53) Vice Chair
919-715-3015
David.Lewis@ncleg.net

State Representative Arthur Williams (D-6) Vice Chair
919-733-5906
Arthur.Williams@ncleg.net

State Representative Cary D. Allred (R-64)
919-733-5905
Cary.Allred@ncleg.net

State Representative Lorene Coates (D-77)
919-733-5784
Lorene.Coates@ncleg.net

State Representative N. Leo Daughtry (R-26)
919-733-5605
Leo.Daughtry@ncleg.net

State Representative W. David Guice (R-113)
919-715-4466
David.Guice@ncleg.net

State Representative Bryan R. Holloway (R-91)
919-733-5609
Bryan.Holloway@ncleg.net

State Representative James H. Langdon, Jr. (R-28)
919-733-5849
James.Langdon@ncleg.net

State Representative Darrell G. McCormick (R-92)
919-733-5654
Darrell.McCormick@ncleg.net

State Representative Annie W. Mobley (D-5)
919-733-5780
Annie.Mobley@ncleg.net

State Representative Edgar V. Starnes (R-87)
919-733-5931
Edgar.Starnes@ncleg.net

State Representative Fred F. Steen, II (R-76)
919-733-5881
Fred.Steen@ncleg.net

State Representative Cullie M. Tarleton (D-93)
919-733-7727
Cullie.Tarleton@ncleg.net

State Representative Joe P. Tolson (D-23)
919-715-3024
Joe.Tolson@ncleg.net

State Representative Russell E. Tucker (D-4)
919-715-3021
Russell.Tucker@ncleg.net

State Representative Alice Graham Underhill (D-3)
919-733-5853
Alice.Underhill@ncleg.net

State Representative Edith D. Warren (D-8)
919-715-3023
Edith.Warren@ncleg.net

State Representative Michael H. Wray (D-27)
919-733-5662
Michael.Wray@ncleg.net

TRENDING NOW
Levi’s Teams with Billionaire Michael Bloomberg to Attack Gun Rights

News  

Friday, September 7, 2018

Levi’s Teams with Billionaire Michael Bloomberg to Attack Gun Rights

Levi Strauss & Co. established its brand in the mid-19th century by selling durable clothing to working-class Americans. As Levi’s signature jeans gained popularity amongst a wider set in the middle of the last century, ...

Round Two: Gun Rights Groups Prevail (Again) in Second Challenge to Firearm Restrictions in Delaware’s State Parks, Forests

News  

Gun Laws  

Friday, October 12, 2018

Round Two: Gun Rights Groups Prevail (Again) in Second Challenge to Firearm Restrictions in Delaware’s State Parks, Forests

Gun rights groups, including the NRA’s Delaware affiliate, the Delaware State Sportsmen’s Association, scored an encore legal victory this week when the Superior Court of the State of Delaware invalidated parts of newly promulgated regulations ...

Who’s BS’ing Now? Gonzalez Argues for Gun Confiscation but Insists She’s “Pro Second Amendment”

News  

Friday, October 12, 2018

Who’s BS’ing Now? Gonzalez Argues for Gun Confiscation but Insists She’s “Pro Second Amendment”

Gun control advocates are constantly looking for the right messenger to push an agenda that boils down to law-abiding Americans giving up their freedoms, their security, and their property without expectation of affecting the behavior ...

Jamie Lee Curtis “Proves” She is Not Anti-gun by Stating her Support for Banning Guns?!?!

News  

Friday, October 12, 2018

Jamie Lee Curtis “Proves” She is Not Anti-gun by Stating her Support for Banning Guns?!?!

Actors and actresses should generally stick to what they know best; repeating the lines others have written for them. Jamie Lee Curtis recently decided to try to explain, in her own words, how much she ...

South Carolina: Governor McMaster Signs Pro-Gun Bill

Monday, May 22, 2017

South Carolina: Governor McMaster Signs Pro-Gun Bill

Last Friday, May 19, Governor Henry McMaster (R) signed H. 3429 into law.  This bill went into effect upon the Governor’s approval.

Nevada: Governor Sandoval Signs AB 118!

Monday, May 22, 2017

Nevada: Governor Sandoval Signs AB 118!

Today, May 22, Governor Brian Sandoval signed important pro-gun legislation, Assembly Bill 118, into law.  AB 118, sponsored by Assemblyman Skip Daly, will allow members of the military and those who have received an honorable ...

Senator from Tennessee or Times Square? Bloomberg Hosts Manhattan Fundraiser for Phil Bredesen

News  

Thursday, October 11, 2018

Senator from Tennessee or Times Square? Bloomberg Hosts Manhattan Fundraiser for Phil Bredesen

Is Phil Bredesen running for U.S. Senate to represent Memphis or Manhattan? Rocky Top or Rockefeller Center? Appalachia or the Big Apple? Tennessee voters might wonder after billionaire gun control financier and former-New York City ...

President’s Column | Your Vote Outweighs Their Millions: Make Your Voice Heard Nov. 6

News  

Wednesday, October 17, 2018

President’s Column | Your Vote Outweighs Their Millions: Make Your Voice Heard Nov. 6

My fellow NRA members, we stand at the edge of the precipice of one of the most important elections of our lives. That is the reality we face, and we face it just days from ...

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

Gun Laws  

Thursday, January 1, 2015

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

CAUTION: Federal and state firearms laws are subject to frequent change. This summary is not to be considered as legal advice or a restatement of law.

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.