Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Hunting

Your Help is Needed Today to Protect Arkansas’ Hunting Heritage!

Monday, March 16, 2009

Please Contact the Members of the House State Agencies & Governmental Affairs Committee!

The Arkansas General Assembly is wrapping up this year’s legislative session, and one of NRA’s top priorities -- Senate Joint Resolution 3 -- needs your support! 

SJR 3, introduced by pro-gun State Senator Steve Faris (D-27), seeks to amend the Constitution of the State of Arkansas to recognize that citizens of the state have a right to hunt and fish.  Passage of SJR 3 would allow the citizens of Arkansas to vote on this amendment, which would ensure that the right to hunt (as well as fish) will be protected for future generations. 

SJR 3 is the culmination of years of hard work by Senator Faris and NRA, and we are committed to passing this amendment this year.  While the Arkansas Game & Fish Commission has opposed similar proposals in the past, this year, after careful negotiations, the Commission has removed its objections. 

The House State Agencies & Governmental Affairs Committee will soon consider SJR 3.  It is critical that NRA members and fellow sportsmen contact the Committee TODAY and respectfully urge them to support SJR 3.  Contact information can be found below.

State Representative R. D. "Rick" Saunders (D-24), Chairperson
saundersr@arkleg.state.ar.us

State Representative Eddie L. Cheatham (D-9), Vice Chairperson
cheathame@arkleg.state.ar.us

State Representative Lindsley Smith (D-92)
smithl@arkleg.state.ar.us

State Representative Steve Harrelson (D-1)
steve@steveharrelson.com

State Representative Gene Shelby (D-25)
shelbyg@arkleg.state.ar.us

State Representative Ed Garner (R-41)
garnere@arkleg.state.ar.us

State Representative Clark Hall (D-13)
hallc@arkleg.state.ar.us

State Representative Donna Hutchinson (R-98)
hutchinsond@arkleg.state.ar.us

State Representative Larry Cowling (D-2)
cowlingl@arkleg.state.ar.us

State Representative Dan Greenberg (R-31)
rep.greenberg@gmail.com

State Representative Duncan Baird (R-95)
bairdd@arkleg.state.ar.us

State Representative Andrea Lea (R-68)
leaa@arkleg.state.ar.us

State Representative Jonathan Dismang (R-49)
dismang49@hotmail.com

State Representative Butch Wilkins (D-74)
wilkinsb@arkleg.state.ar.us

State Representative Uvalde Lindsey (D-88)
uvalde.lindsey@gmail.com

State Representative Linda S. Tyler (D-45)
tylerl@arkleg.state.ar.us

State Representative Karen S. Hopper (R-81)
hopperk@arkleg.state.ar.us

State Representative Davy Carter (R-48)
davy.carter@gmail.com

State Representative Tiffany Rogers (D-14)
rogerst@arkleg.state.ar.us

State Representative Mary L. Slinkard (R-100)
slinkardm@arkleg.state.ar.us

TRENDING NOW
Maine: Firearm Seizure Bill Heads To Judiciary Committee

Wednesday, April 17, 2019

Maine: Firearm Seizure Bill Heads To Judiciary Committee

On April 22nd, the Maine Judiciary Committee will hold a hearing on Legislative Document 1312, which would allow for firearms to be seized and Second Amendment rights to be suspended without due process. 

California: DOJ Issues “Notice of Modification” to Proposed Ammunition Background Check Regulations

Thursday, April 18, 2019

California: DOJ Issues “Notice of Modification” to Proposed Ammunition Background Check Regulations

Today, the California Department of Justice issued a “Notice of Modification” to their proposed regulations regarding the soon to be implemented ammunition background check procedures. As a result of these changes, a second 15-day public ...

Idaho: Governor Signs Important Self-Defense Legislation into Law

Wednesday, April 3, 2019

Idaho: Governor Signs Important Self-Defense Legislation into Law

Yesterday, Governor Brad Little signed important self-defense legislation, House Bill 206, into law.

NRA Statement on New York City's Desperate Attempt to Avoid Supreme Court Review

News  

Friday, April 12, 2019

NRA Statement on New York City's Desperate Attempt to Avoid Supreme Court Review

NRA reacts to New York City's attempt to avoid having the NRA-supported Supreme Court case N.Y. State Rifle & Pistol Association, et al. v. City of N.Y., et al heard in DC. 

Another Day, Another Hearing with Anti-Gun Democrats Grandstanding on Firearms

News  

Friday, April 12, 2019

Another Day, Another Hearing with Anti-Gun Democrats Grandstanding on Firearms

On Wednesday, the House Financial Services Committee held a hearing it called, “Holding Megabanks Accountable: A Review of Global Systemically Important Banks 10 years after the Financial Crisis.” If you are wondering what that could ...

Swiss to Vote on Implementation of EU Gun Controls

News  

Friday, April 12, 2019

Swiss to Vote on Implementation of EU Gun Controls

On May 19, Swiss citizens will go to the polls to vote in a referendum that will determine whether the peaceful mountain nation will acquiesce to the mandates of the European Firearms Directive. The Swiss have a proud ...

Texas: House to Consider Reform Measure Protecting the Right-to-Carry During Emergencies

Tuesday, April 16, 2019

Texas: House to Consider Reform Measure Protecting the Right-to-Carry During Emergencies

Tomorrow, the Texas House is scheduled to vote on House Bill 1177, NRA-backed legislation sponsored by Rep. Dade Phelan (R-Beaumont), which protects citizens from being charged with a crime for carrying a handgun without a License To ...

Get the Hect Outta Here: Police Chief Suspended After Students Complain About Pro-Gun "Likes"

News  

Friday, April 12, 2019

Get the Hect Outta Here: Police Chief Suspended After Students Complain About Pro-Gun "Likes"

Smith and Mount Holyoke Colleges are two liberal arts institutions for women in the western part of Massachusetts. Both share a campus police department that until recently was overseen by Chief Daniel Hect, who took command ...

Oregon: Gun Control Package Sent To Another Committee

Wednesday, April 17, 2019

Oregon: Gun Control Package Sent To Another Committee

Thanks to NRA members and Second Amendment supporters who contacted their state Senators in opposition, Senate Bill 978 has been sent to the Oregon Senate Committee on Rules instead of directly to the Senate floor ...

Canadian Senate Committee Rejects Handgun Ban Amendment; Issues Bill C-71 Report

News  

Friday, April 12, 2019

Canadian Senate Committee Rejects Handgun Ban Amendment; Issues Bill C-71 Report

Early this week, Canada’s Standing Senate Committee on National Security and Defence (SECD) met to review and vote on Bill C-71, the Liberal Government’s gun control measure, section by section. This review follows several days of testimony ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.