Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

NRA-Backed Legislation Advancing in Mississippi!

Friday, February 20, 2009

Two important pieces of NRA-backed legislation have passed the Senate and could be considered by the House Judiciary B Committee at any time. 

Senate Bill 2036 sponsored by State Senator Merle Flowers (R) would amend the state's emergency powers laws to create additional protections for law-abiding citizens against the confiscation of privately-owned firearms during a future state of emergency or natural disaster.  

Senate Bill 2306, also introduced by Flowers, repeals a prohibition in the state's Right-to-Carry law on permit holders possessing handguns in certain parks. The current statute makes no distinction between national, state or local parks.  Unless this bill passes, permit holders in Mississippi and reciprocal states will not benefit from the recent rule change adopted by the Department of the Interior allowing them to carry in national parks located within the state's boundaries

Please contact members of the House Judiciary B Committee via email and urge them to support SB 2036 & SB 2306.  Contact information can be found below.

State Representative Willie Bailey (D-49), Chairman
Email wbailey@house.ms.gov 

State Representative Bob Evans (D-91), Vice-Chairman
Email: bevans@house.ms.gov

State Representative Noal Akins (R-12)
Email: nakins@house.ms.gov

State Representative Sidney Bondurant (R-24)
Email: sbondurant@house.ms.gov

State Representative Cecil Brown (D-66)
Email: cbrown@house.ms.gov

State Representative Kimberly Campbell Buck (D-72)
Email: kcampbell@house.ms.gov

State Representative Clara Burnett (D-9)
Email: cburnett@house.ms.gov

State Representative Alyce G. Clarke (D-69)
Email: aclarke@house.ms.gov

State Representative Mark DuVall (D-19)
Email: mduvall@house.ms.gov

State Representative Jim Ellington (R-73)
Email: mduvall@house.ms.gov

State Representative Harvey Fillingane (R-101)
Email: hfillingane@house.ms.gov

State Representative Frances Fredericks (D-119)
Email: ffredericks@house.ms.gov

State Representative Joe C. Gardner (D-11)
Email: jgardner@house.ms.gov

State Representative Brandon Jones (D-111)
Email: bjones@house.ms.gov

State Representative Sherra Hillman Lane (D-96)
Email: slane@house.ms.gov

State Representative W. T. Mayhall, Jr. (R-40)
Email: tmayhall@house.ms.gov

State Representative John Mayo (D-25)
Email: jmayo@house.ms.gov

State Representative Warner F. McBride (D-10)
Email: wmcbride@house.ms.gov

State Representative Sam C. Mims, V (R-97)
Email: smims@house.ms.gov

State Representative Alex Monsour (R-54)
Email: amonsour@house.ms.gov

State Representative John L. Moore (R-60)
Email: jmoore@house.ms.gov

State Representative Willie J. Perkins, Sr. (D-32)
Email: wperkins@house.ms.gov

State Representative Ferr Smith (D-27)
Email: fsmith@house.ms.gov

State Representative Jeffrey C. Smith (D-39)
Email: jsmith@house.ms.gov

State Representative Adrienne Wooten (D-71)
Email: awooten@house.ms.gov

TRENDING NOW

Saturday, April 21, 2018

Florida Alert: YETI Drops NRA Foundation

For years YETI Coolers have been a hot item for sportsmen at the Friends of NRA Foundation Banquet and Auction events around the country.  Suddenly, without prior notice, YETI has declined to do business with The ...

Dick’s Sporting Goods/Field & Stream to Destroy Firearms Inventory

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, April 20, 2018

Dick’s Sporting Goods/Field & Stream to Destroy Firearms Inventory

Dick’s Sporting Goods took their campaign to alienate law-abiding gun owners to an extraordinary new level last week. The beleaguered retailer announced that in addition to removing certain types of semi-automatic rifles from their stores, the company ...

Illinois: Committee Passes Bill to Allow Local Infringement of Second Amendment

Wednesday, April 18, 2018

Illinois: Committee Passes Bill to Allow Local Infringement of Second Amendment

The Illinois state Senate could vote on legislation to allow localities to infringe upon Second Amendment rights as early as today.  Senate Bill 2314 was moved to third reading after it had passed the Senate ...

Another Group of Anti-Gun Celebrities Forms!  In Other News, The Sun Rose Today.

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, April 20, 2018

Another Group of Anti-Gun Celebrities Forms! In Other News, The Sun Rose Today.

In case you were worried there were not enough anti-gun organizations working to eradicate the rights of law-abiding gun owners, a new one has formed, and it’s called NoRA.  Get it?  The name implies that the ...

NRA Salutes “the Gunny” and Mourns the Passing of an American Patriot

News  

Friday, April 20, 2018

NRA Salutes “the Gunny” and Mourns the Passing of an American Patriot

America, and the NRA, lost a true friend and a staunch defender of freedom with the passing of R. Lee Ermey on April 15 from complications of pneumonia. He was 74 years old. 

Bailed-out Banks Launch Coordinated Attack on Law-abiding Gun Owners

News  

Friday, April 13, 2018

Bailed-out Banks Launch Coordinated Attack on Law-abiding Gun Owners

There is growing evidence that some of America’s financial elite want to create a world in which America’s public policy decisions emanate from corporate boardrooms in Manhattan rather than from citizens and their elected officials.  ...

Keep Calm and Carry On: Pro-Gun Sentiment Reasserts Itself in Wake of Antigun Blitz

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, April 20, 2018

Keep Calm and Carry On: Pro-Gun Sentiment Reasserts Itself in Wake of Antigun Blitz

Like the long-delayed coming of spring to the Mid-Atlantic, evidence is appearing that Americans are regaining their senses and reverting to an instinctual embrace of freedom after a withering barrage of some the nastiest and most ugly ...

Rhode Island: 19 Gun Bills to be Heard in House Judiciary Committee Tuesday

Thursday, April 19, 2018

Rhode Island: 19 Gun Bills to be Heard in House Judiciary Committee Tuesday

A marathon gun bill hearing is on tap for next Tuesday night in Providence, and NRA and local pro-Second Amendment groups are calling for all-hands-on-deck.

New Jersey: Senate Committee Approves Gun Control Bills

Wednesday, April 18, 2018

New Jersey: Senate Committee Approves Gun Control Bills

On Monday, the Senate Law & Public Safety Committee approved several gun control bills during a hearing that stretched over five hours. 

Unfriendly Skies: Delta CEO Claims Bashing NRA Members is Good Business

News  

Friday, April 13, 2018

Unfriendly Skies: Delta CEO Claims Bashing NRA Members is Good Business

In the wake of the Parkland, Florida, murders, there has been an unusual amount of anti-gun and anti-NRA commentary by private corporations with plenty of problems of their own.   In February, Delta announced it was ending a ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.