Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

NRA-Backed Legislation Advancing in Mississippi!

Friday, February 20, 2009

Two important pieces of NRA-backed legislation have passed the Senate and could be considered by the House Judiciary B Committee at any time. 

Senate Bill 2036 sponsored by State Senator Merle Flowers (R) would amend the state's emergency powers laws to create additional protections for law-abiding citizens against the confiscation of privately-owned firearms during a future state of emergency or natural disaster.  

Senate Bill 2306, also introduced by Flowers, repeals a prohibition in the state's Right-to-Carry law on permit holders possessing handguns in certain parks. The current statute makes no distinction between national, state or local parks.  Unless this bill passes, permit holders in Mississippi and reciprocal states will not benefit from the recent rule change adopted by the Department of the Interior allowing them to carry in national parks located within the state's boundaries

Please contact members of the House Judiciary B Committee via email and urge them to support SB 2036 & SB 2306.  Contact information can be found below.

State Representative Willie Bailey (D-49), Chairman
Email wbailey@house.ms.gov 

State Representative Bob Evans (D-91), Vice-Chairman
Email: bevans@house.ms.gov

State Representative Noal Akins (R-12)
Email: nakins@house.ms.gov

State Representative Sidney Bondurant (R-24)
Email: sbondurant@house.ms.gov

State Representative Cecil Brown (D-66)
Email: cbrown@house.ms.gov

State Representative Kimberly Campbell Buck (D-72)
Email: kcampbell@house.ms.gov

State Representative Clara Burnett (D-9)
Email: cburnett@house.ms.gov

State Representative Alyce G. Clarke (D-69)
Email: aclarke@house.ms.gov

State Representative Mark DuVall (D-19)
Email: mduvall@house.ms.gov

State Representative Jim Ellington (R-73)
Email: mduvall@house.ms.gov

State Representative Harvey Fillingane (R-101)
Email: hfillingane@house.ms.gov

State Representative Frances Fredericks (D-119)
Email: ffredericks@house.ms.gov

State Representative Joe C. Gardner (D-11)
Email: jgardner@house.ms.gov

State Representative Brandon Jones (D-111)
Email: bjones@house.ms.gov

State Representative Sherra Hillman Lane (D-96)
Email: slane@house.ms.gov

State Representative W. T. Mayhall, Jr. (R-40)
Email: tmayhall@house.ms.gov

State Representative John Mayo (D-25)
Email: jmayo@house.ms.gov

State Representative Warner F. McBride (D-10)
Email: wmcbride@house.ms.gov

State Representative Sam C. Mims, V (R-97)
Email: smims@house.ms.gov

State Representative Alex Monsour (R-54)
Email: amonsour@house.ms.gov

State Representative John L. Moore (R-60)
Email: jmoore@house.ms.gov

State Representative Willie J. Perkins, Sr. (D-32)
Email: wperkins@house.ms.gov

State Representative Ferr Smith (D-27)
Email: fsmith@house.ms.gov

State Representative Jeffrey C. Smith (D-39)
Email: jsmith@house.ms.gov

State Representative Adrienne Wooten (D-71)
Email: awooten@house.ms.gov

TRENDING NOW
Washington: Trigger Modification Ban Passes Committee

Tuesday, January 16, 2018

Washington: Trigger Modification Ban Passes Committee

Earlier today, the Washington state Senate Law & Justice Committee passed Senate Bill 5992 out of committee with a 4-3 vote. As drafted, this legislation has overreaching language that would ban modifications commonly made to ...

Washington: Substitute Version of Gun Control Bill Passes House Committee

Friday, January 19, 2018

Washington: Substitute Version of Gun Control Bill Passes House Committee

Yesterday, the House Judiciary Committee passed Substitute House Bill 1122 out of committee on a 7-6 vote.  This bill, which would require gun owners to lock up their firearms or potentially face criminal charges, will ...

Crossing the Line – Firearm Preemption Protection Under Attack

News  

Friday, January 19, 2018

Crossing the Line – Firearm Preemption Protection Under Attack

Gun control groups are fond of describing preemption as a doctrine whereby a state has stripped local governments of their power to regulate guns.

Australia: Queensland’s Labor Party Government Targets MP for Gun Control Heresy

News  

Friday, January 19, 2018

Australia: Queensland’s Labor Party Government Targets MP for Gun Control Heresy

The sorry state of gun politics in Australia was put into stark relief recently, after Liberal National Party (LNP) Queensland Legislative Assembly MP Anthony Perrett took a principled stand in favor of his constituents’ gun rights.

Eighteen States, Law Enforcement, Doctors, and Firearm Rights Groups File Amicus Briefs in Lawsuit Challenging California 10+ Magazine Ban

Tuesday, January 16, 2018

Eighteen States, Law Enforcement, Doctors, and Firearm Rights Groups File Amicus Briefs in Lawsuit Challenging California 10+ Magazine Ban

On Friday, January 12, several amicus briefs were filed in the NRA and CRPA supported lawsuit challenging California’s restrictions against magazines capable of holding more than 10 rounds. The lawsuit, titled Duncan v. Becerra, challenges California’s ...

Arizona: Signature Gathering Underway For Hunting Ban Initiative

Hunting  

Friday, January 19, 2018

Arizona: Signature Gathering Underway For Hunting Ban Initiative

The Humane Society of the United States (HSUS) and their front-group “Arizonans for Wildlife” are currently gathering signatures for a ballot initiative that would ban the hunting and trapping of mountain lions and bobcats in ...

Washington: House Judiciary to Hear Gun Control Bills

Thursday, January 18, 2018

Washington: House Judiciary to Hear Gun Control Bills

On Thursday, January 25th at 1:30PM, the House Judiciary Committee is scheduled to hear several sweeping gun control bills.  NRA Members and Second Amendment supporters are strongly encouraged to attend the committee hearing to voice your opposition ...

Hawaii: Trigger Modification Ban Introduced in the Senate

Thursday, January 18, 2018

Hawaii: Trigger Modification Ban Introduced in the Senate

Today, Senator Karl Rhoads (D-13) introduced legislation that would ban modifications commonly made to firearms by law-abiding citizens.  SB 2046 is currently pending a committee referral.  Please contact your Senator today and urge them to OPPOSE this ...

Democrats' Exciting New Hope Adheres to Tired Old Anti-Gun Dogma

News  

Friday, January 12, 2018

Democrats' Exciting New Hope Adheres to Tired Old Anti-Gun Dogma

Democrats searching for a standard-bearer in the 2020 presidential election lit on long-time entertainment, media, and publishing figure Oprah Winfrey this week, following a speech Winfrey gave at a televised Hollywood extravaganza.

Indiana: Rifle Hunting Bill Passes Senate

Hunting  

Friday, January 19, 2018

Indiana: Rifle Hunting Bill Passes Senate

On Thursday, January 18th, Senate Bill 20 passed the Indiana state Senate by a vote of 47-2 and will now move to the House.  

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.