Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Hunting

Delaware: “Landowner Liability Protection Act” Delayed by Trial Lawyers in Committee!

Friday, April 25, 2008

Please Contact Committee Members Today!

This week, a scheduled vote on House Bill 341, the “Landowner Liability Protection Act,” in the House Housing & Community Affairs Committee was delayed because of opposition from the Delaware Trial Lawyers Association.  HB 341, sponsored by State Representative William Carson (D-28), would ensure that landowners who allow public hunting access incur no liability for property damage or personal injuries caused by hunters -- regardless of whether the damage occurs on or off the landowner's property.  This proposal affirms the basic American principle of individual responsibility.  A landowner should not be held liable for the actions of a hunter---and any reasonable trial lawyer knows it! 

If House Bill 341 is not enacted, landowners will continue to deny access to hunters for fear of being sued.  Please contact the members of the House Housing & Community Affairs Committee TODAY and respectfully urge them to support this crucial piece of legislation.  

House Housing & Community Affairs Committee

State Representative Daniel B. Short (R-39), Chairman
Daniel.Short@state.de.us
302-744-4172

State Representative Donna D. Stone (R-32), Vice-Chairman
Donna.Stone@state.de.us
302-744-4253

State Representative Gerald L. Brady (D-4)
gerald.brady@state.de.us
302-744-4351

State Representative V. George Carey (R-36)
302-744-4119

State Representative Gregory A. Hastings (R-41)
greg.hastings@state.de.us

State Representative Gerald W. Hocker  (R-38)
Gerald.Hocker@state.de.us
302-744-4381

State Representative Deborah Hudson (R-12)
Deborah.Hudson@state.de.us
302-744-4249

State Representative Gregory F. Lavelle (R-11)
Greg.Lavelle@state.de.us
302-577-8475

State Representative Valerie Longhurst (D-15)
Valerie.Longhurst@state.de.us
302-744-4351

State Representative Hazel D. Plant (D-2)
Hazel.Plant@state.de.us
302-744-4351

State Representative Bryon H. Short (D-7)
Bryon.Short@state.de.us
302-744-4120

State Representative Robert J. Valihura Jr. (R-10)
valihura@aol.com

State Representative John J. Viola (D-26
John.Viola@state.de.us
302-577-8474

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.