Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Critical Florida Action Alert: If You Want To Keep Your Right To Self-Defense You Must Act Now

Monday, March 24, 2008

ACT NOW – House Bill 503 “Guns-Locked-In-Cars Bill” Headed to House Floor, and your State Representative needs to hear from you toady, urging him or her to support HB 503!

 

Date:       March 24, 2008
TO:         USF & NRA Member and Friends
FROM:   Marion P. Hammer
               USF Executive Director
               NRA Past President

House Bill 503 by Rep. Greg Evers (R-Milton) will be heard on the HOUSE FLOOR Wednesday, March 26th.

For three years we have fought corporate giants and big business bullies.  They want ban firearms and prohibit you from parking in public access parking lots if you have a firearm locked in your car or truck for protection while traveling to and from shopping, work, or wherever your daily routine takes you. 

This is a WAR for your safety and your firearms freedom.  Your right to have a firearm in your car or truck when you are parked in a parking lot is on the line. Whether or not your firearm rights live or die comes down to House Floor action on Wednesday.

As Representative Stan Mayfield, recently said:

"Everyone keeps calling it the guns-to-work bill.  The fact of the matter is it's the guns-locked-up-in-your-car bill."

The bill protects your right to have a firearm locked in your vehicle for self-defense and other lawful purposes when it is parked in a business parking lot.

It is time to start sending emails to ALL members of the Florida House to let them know how important this bill is to law-abiding gun owners who carry firearms in their vehicles for protection and other lawful purposes.

Please immediately send an email to ALL members of the House and URGE THEM TO SUPPORT HB-503.  Then
CALL YOUR Representative's Tallahassee office and urge them to support HB-503 (Below the list of email addresses is a link to Find Your Representative where you can get the phone number.)

Below is a list of the email addresses of those you need to contact

IN THE SUBJECT LINE OF YOUR EMAIL PUT:

PLEASE SUPPORT HB-503 the "Guns-locked-up-in-your-car bill"


(To send one email to all committee members at the same time, block or highlight the entire list and then copy and paste the block into the address section of the email.  A colon or semi-colon could be needed after each name depending upon the email system you are using.)

Florida House of Representatives
Sandy.Adams@myfloridahouse.gov
Thad.Altman@myfloridahouse.gov
Kevin.Ambler@myfloridahouse.gov
Tom.Anderson@myfloridahouse.gov
Frank.Attkisson@myfloridahouse.gov
Gary.Aubuchon@myfloridahouse.gov
Loranne.Ausley@myfloridahouse.gov
Aaron.Bean@myfloridahouse.gov
Dorothy.Bendross-mindingall@myfloridahouse.gov
Ellyn.Bogdanoff@myfloridahouse.gov
Marty.Bowen@myfloridahouse.gov
Debbie.Boyd@myfloridahouse.gov
Mary.Brandenburg@myfloridahouse.gov
Ronald.Brise@myfloridahouse.gov
Donald.Brown@myfloridahouse.gov
Susan.Bucher@myfloridahouse.gov
Edward.Bullard@myfloridahouse.gov
Dean.Cannon@myfloridahouse.gov
Jennifer.Carroll@myfloridahouse.gov
Charles.Chestnut@myfloridahouse.gov
Marti.Coley@myfloridahouse.gov
Larry.Cretul@myfloridahouse.gov
Faye.Culp@myfloridahouse.gov
Joyce.Cusack@myfloridahouse.gov
Don.Davis@myfloridahouse.gov
Carl.Domino@myfloridahouse.gov
Chris.Dorworth@myfloridahouse.gov
Greg.Evers@myfloridahouse.gov
Terry.Fields@myfloridahouse.gov
Keith.Fitzgerald@myfloridahouse.gov
Anitere.Flores@myfloridahouse.gov
Clay.Ford@myfloridahouse.gov
Jim.Frishe@myfloridahouse.gov
Bill.Galvano@myfloridahouse.gov
Luis.Garcia@myfloridahouse.gov
Rene.Garcia@myfloridahouse.gov
Andy.Gardiner@myfloridahouse.gov
Dan.Gelber@myfloridahouse.gov
Joe.Gibbons@myfloridahouse.gov
Audrey.Gibson@myfloridahouse.gov
Hugh.Gibson@myfloridahouse.gov
Rich.Glorioso@myfloridahouse.gov
Eddy.Gonzalez@myfloridahouse.gov
Michael.Grant@myfloridahouse.gov
Denise.Grimsley@myfloridahouse.gov
Gayle.Harrell@myfloridahouse.gov
Adam.Hasner@myfloridahouse.gov
Alan.Hays@myfloridahouse.gov
Bill.Heller@myfloridahouse.gov
Doug.Holder@myfloridahouse.gov
Ed.Homan@myfloridahouse.gov
Ed.Hooper@myfloridahouse.gov
Matt.Hudson@myfloridahouse.gov
Dorothy.Hukill@myfloridahouse.gov
Evan.Jenne@myfloridahouse.gov
Stan.Jordan@myfloridahouse.gov
Kurt.Kelly@myfloridahouse.gov
Will.Kendrick@myfloridahouse.gov
Martin.Kiar@myfloridahouse.gov
Dick.Kravitz@myfloridahouse.gov
Paige.Kreegel@myfloridahouse.gov
Rick.Kriseman@myfloridahouse.gov
John.Legg@myfloridahouse.gov
Marcelo.Llorente@myfloridahouse.gov
Janet.Long@myfloridahouse.gov
Carlos.Lopez-cantera@myfloridahouse.gov
Richard.Machek@myfloridahouse.gov
Stan.Mayfield@myfloridahouse.gov
Charles.McBurney@myfloridahouse.gov
Seth.Mckeel@myfloridahouse.gov
Matt.Meadows@myfloridahouse.gov
Dave.Murzin@myfloridahouse.gov
Mitch.Needelman@myfloridahouse.gov
Peter.Nehr@myfloridahouse.gov
Bryan.Nelson@myfloridahouse.gov
Jimmy.Patronis@myfloridahouse.gov
Pat.Patterson@myfloridahouse.gov
Frank.Peterman@myfloridahouse.gov
Joe.Pickens@myfloridahouse.gov
JC.Planas@myfloridahouse.gov
Ralph.Poppell@myfloridahouse.gov
Ari.Porth@myfloridahouse.gov
Steve.Precourt@myfloridahouse.gov
Bill.Proctor@myfloridahouse.gov
Scott.Randolph@myfloridahouse.gov
Ron.Reagan@myfloridahouse.gov
Betty.Reed@myfloridahouse.gov
Curtis.Richardson@myfloridahouse.gov
Garrett.Richter@myfloridahouse.gov
David.Rivera@myfloridahouse.gov
Julio.Robaina@myfloridahouse.gov
Yolly.Roberson@myfloridahouse.gov
Dennis.Ross@myfloridahouse.gov
Marco.Rubio@myfloridahouse.gov
Maria.Sachs@myfloridahouse.gov
Franklin.Sands@myfloridahouse.gov
Ray.Sansom@myfloridahouse.gov
Tony.Sasso@myfloridahouse.gov
Ron.Saunders@myfloridahouse.gov
Robert.Schenck@myfloridahouse.gov
Ron.Schultz@myfloridahouse.gov
Elaine.Schwartz@myfloridahouse.gov
Michael.Scionti@myfloridahouse.gov
Jack.Seiler@myfloridahouse.gov
David.Simmons@myfloridahouse.gov
Kelly.Skidmore@myfloridahouse.gov
William.Snyder@myfloridahouse.gov
Darren.Soto@myfloridahouse.gov
Priscilla.Taylor@myfloridahouse.gov
Geraldine.Thompson@myfloridahouse.gov
Nick.Thompson@myfloridahouse.gov
Perry.Thurston@myfloridahouse.gov
Trey.Traviesa@myfloridahouse.gov
Baxter.Troutman@myfloridahouse.gov
Shelley.Vana@myfloridahouse.gov
Jim.Waldman@myfloridahouse.gov
Will.Weatherford@myfloridahouse.gov
Trudi.Williams@myfloridahouse.gov
Juan.Zapata@myfloridahouse.gov


To find your Representative’s telephone number, please click here.
 
For more information on this critical issue, please click
here.

BACKGROUND:

The bill will stop business entities from searching private vehicles and violating the constitutional rights of customers and employees.

Your Second Amendment rights are at the very heart of this issue.

 

In addition to prohibiting searches of private vehicles in parking lots, the bill will also prevent businesses from asking customers or employees to disclose what personal private property is stored in a private vehicle and prevents action against customers and employees who refuse to divulge that private information.  Further, it prohibits action against a customer or employee based on information provided by a third party.

Some Florida businesses are trying to ban firearms in cars in parking lot used by customers and employees.  They are discriminating against people who exercise their constitutional rights – they are violating the constitutional rights of gun owners and Florida law.

Corporate giants have been trampling constitutional rights.  Some are even attempting to coerce and intimidate gun owners into giving up constitutional rights as a condition of employment. 

The bill protects your right have a firearm in your locked vehicle for lawful purposes and to park your vehicle in parking lots when shopping, working, or transacting business.

 

Please continue to check www.NRAILA.org for updates on House Bill 503.

TRENDING NOW
Maryland: Pro-Carry Legislation Pending Final Vote on House Floor

Monday, March 20, 2017

Maryland: Pro-Carry Legislation Pending Final Vote on House Floor

Today, the Maryland House of Delegates passed House Bill 1036 on second reading.

Ohio: Critical Self-Defense Law Takes Effect Today!

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Ohio: Critical Self-Defense Law Takes Effect Today!

Today, March 21, the provisions of the critical self-defense legislation, Sub. Senate Bill 199, go into effect.  Thanks to your active involvement last session, this bill was signed by Governor Kasich last December.  This law ...

Maryland: House Passes Pro-Carry Legislation

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Maryland: House Passes Pro-Carry Legislation

Yesterday, the Maryland House of Delegates passed House Bill 1036 by a 97-41 vote.

Illinois: Gun Seizure Bill Could be Heard by House at Any Time

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Illinois: Gun Seizure Bill Could be Heard by House at Any Time

The Illinois House of Representatives could consider House Bill 2354 at any time.

Arkansas Action Needed: Anti-Gun Bill Which Undermines Concealed Carry Headed to House

Thursday, March 23, 2017

Arkansas Action Needed: Anti-Gun Bill Which Undermines Concealed Carry Headed to House

Today, the Arkansas Senate passed Senate Bill 724, an anti-gun bill which undermines some of the key advancements made with the passage and enactment of House Bill 1249.  SB 724 is now headed to the ...

Idaho: Senate Passes Concealed Carry Amendment

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Idaho: Senate Passes Concealed Carry Amendment

Yesterday, March 20, the Idaho Senate passed House Bill 93 by a 35-0 vote.  Introduced by state Representative Don Cheatham (R-3B) and sponsored on the floor by state Senator Marv Hagedorn (R-14), HB 93 would amend current law ...

Nevada: Senate Passes Anti-Gun SB 115

Wednesday, March 22, 2017

Nevada: Senate Passes Anti-Gun SB 115

Yesterday, March 21, the Senate passed anti-gun Senate Bill 115 with a 12-9 vote.  SB 115 was sent to the Assembly for further consideration.  Sponsored by state Senator Moises Denis (D-2), SB 115 would expand the list ...

Utah: Governor Signs Self-Defense Legislation into Law

Thursday, March 23, 2017

Utah: Governor Signs Self-Defense Legislation into Law

Tonight, Governor Gary Herbert signed House Bill 198 into law.

Texas: Two Important Handgun Carry Bills to be Considered in Senate and House Next Week

Thursday, March 23, 2017

Texas: Two Important Handgun Carry Bills to be Considered in Senate and House Next Week

On Monday, March 27, the Texas Senate will convene after 2:00pm and is expected to take up and consider Senate Bill 16, NRA-backed legislation sponsored by State Sen. Robert Nichols (R-Jacksonville) and Joan Huffman (R-Houston).

Are Ear Plugs Better Than a Suppressor?

Hunting  

News  

Friday, March 17, 2017

Are Ear Plugs Better Than a Suppressor?

On March 13, the gun control group, Americans for Responsible Solutions, posted a tweet claiming:  “FACT:  Silencers do not protect your hearing.”  An infographic accompanied the tweet with the additional claim “You know what protects ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.