Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Connecticut: Microstamping and Ammunition Serialization (Registration) Bills to be Heard in Committee Next Week!

Thursday, March 13, 2008

Please Contact the Joint Judiciary Committee Today!

The anti-gun push is on in Hartford. This week, two proposals very dangerous to gun owners were "raised" and have now placed on the Joint Judiciary Committee’s schedule to be heard on Monday, March 17 at 12:00 p.m.

Raised Bill No. 603 would require all ammunition sold in Connecticut to be coded with an individual serial number (ammunition serialization) and entered into a statewide database at the time of sale.  Encoded ammunition would be registered to the purchaser and would include the date of transaction, the purchaser’s name, date of birth, driver’s license number, and the serial number of the ammunition. All unserialized ammunition would have to be forfeited.  Not only would this measure cause enormous increases in the cost of ammunition, but it could lead to the establishment of a database of ammunition consumers and ultimately the cessation of the sale of ammunition in Connecticut. 

If that weren't enough, this legislation actually exposes gun owners to risk of criminal prosecution without them even knowing it! There is no way for the ammunition consumer to be assured that the serial number imprinted on the box matches the serial number on the rounds inside.  Even if the industry can or will produce this ammunition exclusively for Connecticut, the consumers will be required to register ammunition purchases and then blindly trust that the number etched on the "base of the bullet projectile" is accurately represented on the box in which it is sold.  Since the "base of the bullet projectile" is necessarily obscured by the cartridge case, it is impossible for the consumer to know if he or she has accurately "registered" their purchase.  

Raised Bill No. 607 would seek to ban the sale of semi-automatic handguns not equipped with so-called "microstamping" technology.  Microstamping is a failed technology that would require identifying marks to be etched into the firing pin and breech face of a firearm.  The technology can easily be defeated with common household tools, has no public safety value, and adds substantially to the cost of the firearm. 

Raised Bill No. 607 doesn’t stop there!  It would also outlaw the private sale or transfer of long guns.

Please contact the individual members of the Joint Judiciary Committee TODAY and respectfully urge them to oppose Raised Bill No. 603 and Raised Bill No. 607!  The committee members can be contacted by phone at (860) 240-0100.  Finally, please share this alert with your family, friends, and fellow gun owners and encourage them to do the same.

State Senator Andrew McDonald (D-27) – Co-Chair
Mcdonald@senatedems.ct.gov

State Representative Michael Lawlor (D-99) – Co-Chair

mlawlor99@juno.com

State Senator Mary Ann Handley (D-4) - Vice-Chair

Handley@senatedems.ct.gov

 

State Representative Gerald Fox (D-146) – Vice-Chair

Gerald.Fox@cga.ct.gov

 

State Senator John Kissel, (R-7) – Ranking Member

John.A.Kissel@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Arthur O'Neill (R-69) – Ranking Member

Arthur.ONeill@housegop.ct.gov

 

State Representative Al Adinolfi (R-103)

Al.Adinolfi@housegop.ct.gov

 

State Representative William Aman (R-14)

Bill.Aman@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Ryan Barry (D-12)

Ryan.Barry@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Jeffrey Berger (D-73)

Jeffrey.Berger@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Beth Bye (D-19)

Beth.Bye@cga.ct.gov

 

State Senator Sam Caligiuri (R-16)

Sam.Caligiuri@cga.ct.gov

 

State Senator Eric Coleman (D-2)

Eric.Coleman@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Patricia Dillon (D-92)

Patricia.Dillon@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Mary Fritz (D-90)

Mary.Fritz@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative John Geragosian (D-25)

John.Geragosian@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Janice Giegler (R-138)

Janice.Giegler@housegop.ct.gov

 

State Representative Bob Godfrey (D-110)

Bob.Godfrey@cga.ct.gov

 

State Senator Edwin Gomes (D-23)

Gomes@senatedems.ct.gov

 

State Representative Minnie Gonzalez (D-3)

Minnie.Gonzalez@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Kenneth Green (D-1)

Kenneth.Green@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Gail Hamm (D-34)

Gail.Hamm@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative William Hamzy (R-78)

William.Hamzy@housegop.ct.gov

 

State Representative Ernest Hewett (D-39)

Ernest.Hewett@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Debra Lee Hovey (R-112)

DebraLee.Hovey@housegop.ct.gov

 

State Representative Bryan Hurlburt (D-53)

Bryan.Hurlburt@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Themis Klarides (R-114)

Themis.Klarides@housegop.ct.gov

 

State Representative David Labriola (R-131)

David.Labriola@housegop.ct.gov

 

State Representative Faith McMahon (D-15)

Faith.McMahon@cga.ct.gov

 

State Senator Edward Meyer (D-12)

Meyer@senatedems.ct.gov

 

State Representative Bruce Morris (D-140)

Bruce.Morris@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Tim O’Brien (D-24)

tim@timobrien.org

 

State Representative Melissa Olson (D-46)

Melissa.Olson@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Claudia Powers (R-151)

Claudia.Powers@housegop.ct.gov

 

State Senator Andrew Roraback (R-30)

Andrew.Roraback@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative T.R. Rowe (R-123)

TR.Rowe@housegop.ct.gov

 

State Representative Joseph Serra (D-33)

Joseph.Serra@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative James Spallone (D-36)

James.Spallone@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Christopher Stone (D-9)

Christopher.Stone@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Joseph Taborsak (D-109)

Joseph.Taborsak@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative William Tong (D-147)

William.Tong@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Toni Walker (D-93)

Toni.Walker@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Elissa Wright (D-41)
Elissa.Wright@cga.ct.gov

TRENDING NOW
Supreme Court Asked to Review Maryland's Gun Ban

News  

Friday, July 21, 2017

Supreme Court Asked to Review Maryland's Gun Ban

A group of Maryland citizens, with the support of the National Rifle Association, filed a petition to the United States Supreme Court on Friday seeking to reverse a Court of Appeals ruling that stripped some of America’s most ...

The Danger Of A “Not In My Backyard” Mentality On Shooting Ranges

News  

Wednesday, July 19, 2017

The Danger Of A “Not In My Backyard” Mentality On Shooting Ranges

Muscatine County, Iowa, is home to about 40,000 people, and like too many places around the country, gun owners there have no public range where they can practice or compete safely. That may be changing, ...

Court to Texas College Professors: Your Irrational Fear of Gun Owners Is Not Legally Addressable

News  

Wednesday, July 12, 2017

Court to Texas College Professors: Your Irrational Fear of Gun Owners Is Not Legally Addressable

Last Thursday, a federal judge in Austin, Texas, dismissed a lawsuit by several professors who sought to block the University of Texas from implementing a state law that provides for the lawful carrying of concealed ...

Former Bloomberg Lackey Comes Clean on True Anti-gun Agenda

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, July 21, 2017

Former Bloomberg Lackey Comes Clean on True Anti-gun Agenda

Back when Mark Glaze was executive director of Michael Bloomberg’s Mayors Against Illegal Guns, and later Everytown for Gun Safety, he went to great lengths to portray his master’s anti-gun positions as moderate. Glaze used ...

One More Reason Gun Owners Should Be Celebrated

News  

Second Amendment  

Thursday, July 20, 2017

One More Reason Gun Owners Should Be Celebrated

The safety record of America’s gun owners is nothing short of stunning. 

CMP Sales of 1911s One Step Closer With House Passage of 2018 NDAA

Friday, July 14, 2017

CMP Sales of 1911s One Step Closer With House Passage of 2018 NDAA

On Friday, the U.S. House of Representatives passed H.R. 2810, the National Defense Authorization Act (NDAA) for Fiscal Year 2018. Included in the bill is a provision that would make U.S. Army surplus 1911 .45 ACP ...

The Need for National Reciprocity

News  

Friday, July 21, 2017

The Need for National Reciprocity

A report from the Crime Prevention Research Center estimates that the number of concealed carry permits issued last year was the largest increase ever – continuing a four year trend of record setting increases in ...

“She Persisted” – Gun Owner Fights Unlawful “No Return” Gun Policy

News  

Friday, July 21, 2017

“She Persisted” – Gun Owner Fights Unlawful “No Return” Gun Policy

On July 17, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit confirmed that law enforcement officials in New York acted unlawfully with respect to guns confiscated from a Nassau County woman in 2012.  

California:  "Assault Weapon" Regulations Take 3: CA DOJ Resubmits Regulations

Friday, July 21, 2017

California: "Assault Weapon" Regulations Take 3: CA DOJ Resubmits Regulations

Today, July 21, the California Department of Justice (“DOJ”), without warning or any notification,  submitted another set of proposed regulations for the registration of newly classified “assault weapons” to the Office of Administrative Law.  As ...

California: Anti-Gun Bills to be Heard in Assembly Appropriations Committee on Wednesday, July 19

Monday, July 17, 2017

California: Anti-Gun Bills to be Heard in Assembly Appropriations Committee on Wednesday, July 19

On Wednesday, July 19, anti-gun bills SB 464 and SB 497 are scheduled to be heard in the Assembly Appropriations Committee at 9AM in State Capitol room 4202.  Assembly Bill 424 remains eligible for third ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.