Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Connecticut: Microstamping and Ammunition Serialization (Registration) Bills to be Heard in Committee Next Week!

Thursday, March 13, 2008

Please Contact the Joint Judiciary Committee Today!

The anti-gun push is on in Hartford. This week, two proposals very dangerous to gun owners were "raised" and have now placed on the Joint Judiciary Committee’s schedule to be heard on Monday, March 17 at 12:00 p.m.

Raised Bill No. 603 would require all ammunition sold in Connecticut to be coded with an individual serial number (ammunition serialization) and entered into a statewide database at the time of sale.  Encoded ammunition would be registered to the purchaser and would include the date of transaction, the purchaser’s name, date of birth, driver’s license number, and the serial number of the ammunition. All unserialized ammunition would have to be forfeited.  Not only would this measure cause enormous increases in the cost of ammunition, but it could lead to the establishment of a database of ammunition consumers and ultimately the cessation of the sale of ammunition in Connecticut. 

If that weren't enough, this legislation actually exposes gun owners to risk of criminal prosecution without them even knowing it! There is no way for the ammunition consumer to be assured that the serial number imprinted on the box matches the serial number on the rounds inside.  Even if the industry can or will produce this ammunition exclusively for Connecticut, the consumers will be required to register ammunition purchases and then blindly trust that the number etched on the "base of the bullet projectile" is accurately represented on the box in which it is sold.  Since the "base of the bullet projectile" is necessarily obscured by the cartridge case, it is impossible for the consumer to know if he or she has accurately "registered" their purchase.  

Raised Bill No. 607 would seek to ban the sale of semi-automatic handguns not equipped with so-called "microstamping" technology.  Microstamping is a failed technology that would require identifying marks to be etched into the firing pin and breech face of a firearm.  The technology can easily be defeated with common household tools, has no public safety value, and adds substantially to the cost of the firearm. 

Raised Bill No. 607 doesn’t stop there!  It would also outlaw the private sale or transfer of long guns.

Please contact the individual members of the Joint Judiciary Committee TODAY and respectfully urge them to oppose Raised Bill No. 603 and Raised Bill No. 607!  The committee members can be contacted by phone at (860) 240-0100.  Finally, please share this alert with your family, friends, and fellow gun owners and encourage them to do the same.

State Senator Andrew McDonald (D-27) – Co-Chair
Mcdonald@senatedems.ct.gov

State Representative Michael Lawlor (D-99) – Co-Chair

mlawlor99@juno.com

State Senator Mary Ann Handley (D-4) - Vice-Chair

Handley@senatedems.ct.gov

 

State Representative Gerald Fox (D-146) – Vice-Chair

Gerald.Fox@cga.ct.gov

 

State Senator John Kissel, (R-7) – Ranking Member

John.A.Kissel@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Arthur O'Neill (R-69) – Ranking Member

Arthur.ONeill@housegop.ct.gov

 

State Representative Al Adinolfi (R-103)

Al.Adinolfi@housegop.ct.gov

 

State Representative William Aman (R-14)

Bill.Aman@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Ryan Barry (D-12)

Ryan.Barry@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Jeffrey Berger (D-73)

Jeffrey.Berger@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Beth Bye (D-19)

Beth.Bye@cga.ct.gov

 

State Senator Sam Caligiuri (R-16)

Sam.Caligiuri@cga.ct.gov

 

State Senator Eric Coleman (D-2)

Eric.Coleman@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Patricia Dillon (D-92)

Patricia.Dillon@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Mary Fritz (D-90)

Mary.Fritz@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative John Geragosian (D-25)

John.Geragosian@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Janice Giegler (R-138)

Janice.Giegler@housegop.ct.gov

 

State Representative Bob Godfrey (D-110)

Bob.Godfrey@cga.ct.gov

 

State Senator Edwin Gomes (D-23)

Gomes@senatedems.ct.gov

 

State Representative Minnie Gonzalez (D-3)

Minnie.Gonzalez@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Kenneth Green (D-1)

Kenneth.Green@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Gail Hamm (D-34)

Gail.Hamm@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative William Hamzy (R-78)

William.Hamzy@housegop.ct.gov

 

State Representative Ernest Hewett (D-39)

Ernest.Hewett@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Debra Lee Hovey (R-112)

DebraLee.Hovey@housegop.ct.gov

 

State Representative Bryan Hurlburt (D-53)

Bryan.Hurlburt@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Themis Klarides (R-114)

Themis.Klarides@housegop.ct.gov

 

State Representative David Labriola (R-131)

David.Labriola@housegop.ct.gov

 

State Representative Faith McMahon (D-15)

Faith.McMahon@cga.ct.gov

 

State Senator Edward Meyer (D-12)

Meyer@senatedems.ct.gov

 

State Representative Bruce Morris (D-140)

Bruce.Morris@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Tim O’Brien (D-24)

tim@timobrien.org

 

State Representative Melissa Olson (D-46)

Melissa.Olson@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Claudia Powers (R-151)

Claudia.Powers@housegop.ct.gov

 

State Senator Andrew Roraback (R-30)

Andrew.Roraback@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative T.R. Rowe (R-123)

TR.Rowe@housegop.ct.gov

 

State Representative Joseph Serra (D-33)

Joseph.Serra@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative James Spallone (D-36)

James.Spallone@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Christopher Stone (D-9)

Christopher.Stone@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Joseph Taborsak (D-109)

Joseph.Taborsak@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative William Tong (D-147)

William.Tong@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Toni Walker (D-93)

Toni.Walker@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Elissa Wright (D-41)
Elissa.Wright@cga.ct.gov

TRENDING NOW
Seattle Gun Tax Fails to Generate Projected Revenue, Succeeds in Burdening Rights

News  

Gun Laws  

Friday, March 24, 2017

Seattle Gun Tax Fails to Generate Projected Revenue, Succeeds in Burdening Rights

On March 16, 2017, the Seattle Times reported that Seattle city officials were reluctant to release data on the revenue generated by the city’s firearms and ammunition tax, citing taxpayer confidentiality concerns. Less than a ...

Wisconsin: Important Right to Carry Bill Introduced

Tuesday, March 28, 2017

Wisconsin: Important Right to Carry Bill Introduced

Today, LRB 2039/1 was introduced to the Wisconsin State Legislature.  This Right to Carry bill would allow for the concealed carry of a firearm without a concealed carry license anywhere in the state where an ...

Trump’s Supreme Court Nominee Embraces Heller and Originalism During Senate Hearings

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, March 24, 2017

Trump’s Supreme Court Nominee Embraces Heller and Originalism During Senate Hearings

Judge Neil M. Gorsuch, President Trump’s pick to replace the late Justice Antonin Scalia on the U.S. Supreme court, asserted during his confirmation hearings this week that Scalia’s landmark Second Amendment opinion in District of ...

The Washington Post Gives Gun Control Group and U.S. Senator Three Pinocchios on Suppressors

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, March 24, 2017

The Washington Post Gives Gun Control Group and U.S. Senator Three Pinocchios on Suppressors

Last week, we wrote about Americans for Responsible Solutions’ irresponsible misinformation about The Hearing Protection Act on Twitter.  Apparently, we weren’t the only ones who took notice of ARS’s complete disregard for the facts on ...

California: One Gun a Month Bill Pulled from Senate Public Safety Hearing

Tuesday, March 28, 2017

California: One Gun a Month Bill Pulled from Senate Public Safety Hearing

Today, Tuesday, March 28, anti-gun SB 497, was scheduled to be heard in the Senate Public Safety Committee.  At the last minute, the bill was pulled from today's agenda. Thank you to all who contacted the ...

Virginia Action Needed: Governor McAuliffe Vetoes Self-Defense Bills

Monday, March 27, 2017

Virginia Action Needed: Governor McAuliffe Vetoes Self-Defense Bills

Following their passage in the Virginia General Assembly, Governor Terry McAuliffe vetoed multiple self-defense bills; Senate Bill 1299, Senate Bill 1300, House Bill 1852, and House Bill 1853. 

Texas: Senate Passes SB 16, LTC Fee Reduction Bill, by Overwhelming Vote

Tuesday, March 28, 2017

Texas: Senate Passes SB 16, LTC Fee Reduction Bill, by Overwhelming Vote

On Monday, the Texas Senate voted to pass Senate Bill 16, NRA-backed legislation sponsored by State Sen. Robert Nichols (R-Jacksonville) and Joan Huffman (R-Houston), on a 26-5 vote.

News  

Monday, March 27, 2017

NRA Applauds Texas State Senate for Passing SB 16

The National Rifle Association Institute for Legislative Action applauds the Texas Senate today for passing Senate Bill 16, legislation that substantially reduces License To Carry fees in the Lone Star state.

California: Anti-Gun Bill Limiting Firearm Purchases to be Heard in Senate Public Safety on Tuesday, March 28

Friday, March 24, 2017

California: Anti-Gun Bill Limiting Firearm Purchases to be Heard in Senate Public Safety on Tuesday, March 28

On Tuesday, March 28, anti-gun SB 497, is scheduled to be heard in the Senate Public Safety Committee.  SB 497 would expand the existing one handgun a month law to include ALL guns.  

More Firearms, More Firearms Owners, Fewer Fatal Accidents

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, March 24, 2017

More Firearms, More Firearms Owners, Fewer Fatal Accidents

The National Safety Council released the 2017 edition of its annual Injury Facts report this week, and it contains welcome news about firearm safety. 

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.