Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Minnesota Anti-Gun Bills Pending Action!

Friday, March 7, 2008

House File 3324, sponsored by State Representative Michael Paymar and Senate File 2989 introduced by State Senator Yvonne Prettner Solon would require detailed buyer AND seller information on gun sales for inclusion in a database.  Because all gun show sales are included, the bill extends to pistols, rifles and shotguns.  Just as bad, the bills expand Minnesota’s waiting period to 7 business days, meaning gun buyers could have to wait as many as 10 days after, accounting for weekend days!  

This needless legislation simply creates more bureaucratic red tape for law-abiding gun owners and does nothing to address criminals buying guns on the black market.  HF 3324 has been assigned to the Public Safety and Civil Justice Committee, but it has not been scheduled for a hearing yet.  Please contact the committee members and respectfully ask them to oppose these harassing and ineffective bills. 

 

Phone Number
(651) area code

E-mail Address

Chair: State Representative Michael Paymar (DFL)

296-4199

rep.michael.paymar@house.mn

Vice Chair: State Representative Dave Olin (DFL)

296-9635

rep.dave.olin@house.mn

Lead-GOP: State Representative Steve Smith (R)

296-9188

rep.steve.smith@house.mn

State Representative Karla Bigham (DFL)

296-4342

rep.karla.bigham@house.mn

State Representative Mark Buesgens (R)

296-5185

rep.mark.buesgens@house.mn

State Representative Tony Cornish (R)

296-4240

rep.tony.cornish@house.mn

State Representative Augustine "Willie" Dominguez (DFL)

296-8659

rep.augustine.dominguez@house.mn

State Representative Rob Eastlund (R)

296-5364

rep.rob.eastlund@house.mn

State Representative Larry Haws (DFL)

296-6612

rep.larry.haws@house.mn

State Representative Debra Hilstrom (DFL)

296-3709

rep.debra.hilstrom@house.mn

State Representative Paul Kohls (R)

296-4282

rep.paul.kohls@house.mn

State Representative John Lesch (DFL)

296-4224

rep.john.lesch@house.mn

State Representative Tina Liebling (DFL)

296-0573

rep.tina.liebling@house.mn

State Representative Leon Lillie (DFL)

296-1188

rep.leon.lillie@house.mn

State Representative Joe Mullery (DFL)

296-4262

rep.joe.mullery@house.mn

State Representative Mary Murphy (DFL)

296-2676

rep.mary.murphy@house.mn

State Representative Kurt Zellers (R)

296-5502

rep.kurt.zellers@house.mn

ex-officio State Representative Lyndon Carlson (DFL)

296-4255

rep.lyndon.carlson@house.mn

ex-officio State Representative Loren Solberg (DFL)

296-2365

rep.loren.solberg@house.mn

TRENDING NOW
Rep. Rob Bishop Introduces the "Lawful Purpose and Self Defense Act"

News  

Friday, May 26, 2017

Rep. Rob Bishop Introduces the "Lawful Purpose and Self Defense Act"

On Wednesday, May 24, 2017, Chairman of the House Committee on Natural Resources Rob Bishop (R-UT) introduced H.R. 2620, the "Lawful Purpose and Self Defense Act." This bill would remove ATF's authority to use the ...

Court's Commonsense Conclusion: "There Was a Gun" Isn't Enough to Justify Issuing a Restraining Order

Second Amendment  

Friday, May 19, 2017

Court's Commonsense Conclusion: "There Was a Gun" Isn't Enough to Justify Issuing a Restraining Order

The Supreme Court of North Dakota confirmed this week that simply possessing a handgun while on one’s own private property cannot support a finding of "disorderly conduct" under the state’s disorderly conduct restraining order law. ...

Concealed Carrying Hits New High, Underscores Need for National Law

News  

Friday, May 26, 2017

Concealed Carrying Hits New High, Underscores Need for National Law

Information collected by the Crime Prevention Research Center (CPRC) indicates an unprecedented surge in the number of concealed carry permits, with the largest one-year increase on record occurring between May 2016 and May 2017.

Legislation Reintroduced to Permanently Dismantle Obama-Era Enforcement Abuse

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, May 26, 2017

Legislation Reintroduced to Permanently Dismantle Obama-Era Enforcement Abuse

This week, Rep. Blaine Luetkemeyer (R-MO) reintroduced the Financial Institution Customer Protection Act, a bill aimed at permanently dismantling Operation Choke Point (OCP).  

Illinois: House Committee Passes Bill to Close Local Gun Dealers

Tuesday, May 16, 2017

Illinois: House Committee Passes Bill to Close Local Gun Dealers

The House Judiciary Committee passed Senate Bill 1657 by a 7-6 vote.

Abbott Signs Senate Bill 16, Bringing Texas License To Carry Fees Down to Among Lowest in Nation

News  

Thursday, May 25, 2017

Abbott Signs Senate Bill 16, Bringing Texas License To Carry Fees Down to Among Lowest in Nation

The National Rifle Association Institute for Legislative Action (NRA-ILA) today applauded Texas Gov. Greg Abbott for signing into law NRA-backed legislation that will make license to carry fees in Texas among the lowest in the ...

New Zealand Police Mislead Current and Prospective Gun Owners

News  

Thursday, May 25, 2017

New Zealand Police Mislead Current and Prospective Gun Owners

Back in April, NRA-ILA alerted readers to the results of the New Zealand Parliament Law and Order Committee’s “Inquiry into issues relating to the illegal possession of firearms in New Zealand,” which proposed that a ...

Nevada: Governor Sandoval Signs AB 118!

Monday, May 22, 2017

Nevada: Governor Sandoval Signs AB 118!

Today, May 22, Governor Brian Sandoval signed important pro-gun legislation, Assembly Bill 118, into law.  AB 118, sponsored by Assemblyman Skip Daly, will allow members of the military and those who have received an honorable ...

Public Health Researchers Use Common Gun Control Tactic to Mislead on “Children” and Guns

News  

Friday, May 26, 2017

Public Health Researchers Use Common Gun Control Tactic to Mislead on “Children” and Guns

It is one of the most well-worn tactics of those who advocate for gun control. Step one, acquire statistics on firearms injuries among children ages 0-14. Step two, combine these relatively low numbers with the ...

South Carolina: Governor McMaster Signs Pro-Gun Bill

Monday, May 22, 2017

South Carolina: Governor McMaster Signs Pro-Gun Bill

Last Friday, May 19, Governor Henry McMaster (R) signed H. 3429 into law.  This bill went into effect upon the Governor’s approval.

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.