Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Minnesota Anti-Gun Bills Pending Action!

Friday, March 7, 2008

House File 3324, sponsored by State Representative Michael Paymar and Senate File 2989 introduced by State Senator Yvonne Prettner Solon would require detailed buyer AND seller information on gun sales for inclusion in a database.  Because all gun show sales are included, the bill extends to pistols, rifles and shotguns.  Just as bad, the bills expand Minnesota’s waiting period to 7 business days, meaning gun buyers could have to wait as many as 10 days after, accounting for weekend days!  

This needless legislation simply creates more bureaucratic red tape for law-abiding gun owners and does nothing to address criminals buying guns on the black market.  HF 3324 has been assigned to the Public Safety and Civil Justice Committee, but it has not been scheduled for a hearing yet.  Please contact the committee members and respectfully ask them to oppose these harassing and ineffective bills. 

 

Phone Number
(651) area code

E-mail Address

Chair: State Representative Michael Paymar (DFL)

296-4199

rep.michael.paymar@house.mn

Vice Chair: State Representative Dave Olin (DFL)

296-9635

rep.dave.olin@house.mn

Lead-GOP: State Representative Steve Smith (R)

296-9188

rep.steve.smith@house.mn

State Representative Karla Bigham (DFL)

296-4342

rep.karla.bigham@house.mn

State Representative Mark Buesgens (R)

296-5185

rep.mark.buesgens@house.mn

State Representative Tony Cornish (R)

296-4240

rep.tony.cornish@house.mn

State Representative Augustine "Willie" Dominguez (DFL)

296-8659

rep.augustine.dominguez@house.mn

State Representative Rob Eastlund (R)

296-5364

rep.rob.eastlund@house.mn

State Representative Larry Haws (DFL)

296-6612

rep.larry.haws@house.mn

State Representative Debra Hilstrom (DFL)

296-3709

rep.debra.hilstrom@house.mn

State Representative Paul Kohls (R)

296-4282

rep.paul.kohls@house.mn

State Representative John Lesch (DFL)

296-4224

rep.john.lesch@house.mn

State Representative Tina Liebling (DFL)

296-0573

rep.tina.liebling@house.mn

State Representative Leon Lillie (DFL)

296-1188

rep.leon.lillie@house.mn

State Representative Joe Mullery (DFL)

296-4262

rep.joe.mullery@house.mn

State Representative Mary Murphy (DFL)

296-2676

rep.mary.murphy@house.mn

State Representative Kurt Zellers (R)

296-5502

rep.kurt.zellers@house.mn

ex-officio State Representative Lyndon Carlson (DFL)

296-4255

rep.lyndon.carlson@house.mn

ex-officio State Representative Loren Solberg (DFL)

296-2365

rep.loren.solberg@house.mn

TRENDING NOW
Obama Says Goodbye to America’s Gun Owners with (a Likely Short-lived) Lead Ammo Ban

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

Obama Says Goodbye to America’s Gun Owners with (a Likely Short-lived) Lead Ammo Ban

Gun owners knew that Barack Obama would not leave quietly. The only question was what else was coming.  

New Hampshire: Constitutional/Permitless Carry Bill Passes Senate!

Thursday, January 19, 2017

New Hampshire: Constitutional/Permitless Carry Bill Passes Senate!

Today, Senate Bill 12, legislation eliminating the requirement to obtain a permit in order to lawfully carry, passed the Senate without amendment, by a 13-10 vote.  SB 12 will now go to the House of ...

Gun Owners Welcome Donald J. Trump as President of the United States

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

Gun Owners Welcome Donald J. Trump as President of the United States

Gun owners across the nation breathed a sigh of relief as Donald J. Trump was sworn in Friday morning as the 45th president of the United States.

Federal Appeals Court: Chicago Violates Second Amendment … Again

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

Federal Appeals Court: Chicago Violates Second Amendment … Again

On Wednesday, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit found that Chicago had once again violated the Second Amendment, this time with its regulations for gun ranges.

Your Members of Congress Need to Hear from You on the Hearing Protection Act of 2017

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Your Members of Congress Need to Hear from You on the Hearing Protection Act of 2017

On Monday, Sen. Mike Crapo (R-ID) – joined by co-sponsors Sens. Jerry Moran (R-KS) and Rand Paul (R-KY) – introduced S. 59, the Hearing Protection Act of 2017 (HPA). Similar legislation was introduced in the ...

New York Times Relies on Gun Prohibitionist Propaganda, Stigmatizes Suicide

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

New York Times Relies on Gun Prohibitionist Propaganda, Stigmatizes Suicide

In a December 5, 2015, front page editorial, the New York Times finally admitted what discerning readers had long understood – that the paper advocates the prohibition and confiscation of certain types of now-lawfully possessed firearms. ...

Alert: WA State Proposes Draconian Gun Ban Bills

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Alert: WA State Proposes Draconian Gun Ban Bills

Inspired, perhaps, by Oscar Wilde (“Moderation is a fatal thing. Nothing succeeds like excess”), Washington State Attorney General Bob Ferguson has announced two new sweeping gun control bills, with Sen. David Frockt (D-Seattle) and Rep. ...

Web Scraping: A Means to Push the Anti-Gun Agenda

News  

Friday, January 20, 2017

Web Scraping: A Means to Push the Anti-Gun Agenda

You may have read recently about a “breaking analysis” that includes numbers derived from a “mass shooting tracker,” which purports to present to the world, real world cases in which mass shootings have occurred.  One ...

National Concealed Carry Reciprocity Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

National Concealed Carry Reciprocity Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them

On January 3rd, Congressman Richard Hudson (R-N.C.8th) introduced H.R. 38, the Concealed Carry Reciprocity Act of 2017, which simply allows lawful firearm carriers from any state to carry a concealed firearm in any other state. The bill ...

Thursday, January 19, 2017

Florida Urgent Alert! Self-defense Bill up in Senate Judiciary on Tuesday 1/24/2017

A critical self-defense bill will be heard by the Senate Judiciary Committee on Tuesday, January 24, 2017, between 2:00-4:00pm.  SB-128 Burden of Proof by Senator Rob Bradley restores the presumption of innocence in self-defense cases ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.