Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Anti-Gunners Launching Full-Scale Attack in Connecticut!

Tuesday, March 4, 2008

Please Contact the Joint Judiciary Committee Today!

The anti-gun push is on in Hartford. This week, two proposals very dangerous to gun owners were "raised" and could soon be considered by the Joint Judiciary Committee. 

Raised Bill No. 603 would require all ammunition sold in Connecticut to be coded with an individual serial number (ammunition serialization) and entered into a statewide database at the time of sale.  Encoded ammunition would be registered to the purchaser and would include the date of transaction, the purchaser’s name, date of birth, driver’s license number, and the serial number of the ammunition. Not only would this measure cause enormous increases in the cost of ammunition, but it could lead to the establishment of a database of ammunition consumers and ultimately the cessation of the sale of ammunition in Connecticut. 

If that weren't enough, this legislation actually exposes gun owners to risk of criminal prosecution without them even knowing it! There is no way for the ammunition consumer to be assured that the serial number imprinted on the box matches the serial number on the rounds inside.  Even if the industry can or will produce this ammunition exclusively for Connecticut, the consumers will be required to register ammunition purchases and then blindly trust that the number etched on the "base of the bullet projectile" is accurately represented on the box in which it is sold.  Since the "base of the bullet projectile" is necessarily obscured by the cartridge case, it is impossible for the consumer to know if he or she has accurately "registered" their purchase.  

Raised Bill No. 607 would seek to ban the sale of semi-automatic handguns not equipped with so-called "microstamping" technology.  Microstamping is a failed technology that would require identifying marks to be etched into the firing pin and breech face of a firearm.  The technology can easily be defeated with common household tools, has no public safety value, and adds substantially to the cost of the firearm. 

Raised Bill No. 607 doesn’t stop there!  It would also outlaw the private sale or transfer of long guns.

Please contact the individual members of the Joint Judiciary Committee TODAY and respectfully urge them to oppose Raised Bill No. 603 and Raised Bill No. 607!  The committee members can be contacted by phone at (860) 240-0100.

State Senator Andrew McDonald (D-27) – Co-Chair
Mcdonald@senatedems.ct.gov

State Representative Michael Lawlor (D-99) – Co-Chair

mlawlor99@juno.com

State Senator Mary Ann Handley (D-4) - Vice-Chair

Handley@senatedems.ct.gov

 

State Representative Gerald Fox (D-146) – Vice-Chair

Gerald.Fox@cga.ct.gov

 

State Senator John Kissel, (R-7) – Ranking Member

John.A.Kissel@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Arthur O'Neill (R-69) – Ranking Member

Arthur.ONeill@housegop.ct.gov

 

State Representative Al Adinolfi (R-103)

Al.Adinolfi@housegop.ct.gov

 

State Representative William Aman (R-14)

Bill.Aman@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Ryan Barry (D-12)

Ryan.Barry@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Jeffrey Berger (D-73)

Jeffrey.Berger@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Beth Bye (D-19)

Beth.Bye@cga.ct.gov

 

State Senator Sam Caligiuri (R-16)

Sam.Caligiuri@cga.ct.gov

 

State Senator Eric Coleman (D-2)

Eric.Coleman@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Patricia Dillon (D-92)

Patricia.Dillon@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Mary Fritz (D-90)

Mary.Fritz@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative John Geragosian (D-25)

John.Geragosian@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Janice Giegler (R-138)

Janice.Giegler@housegop.ct.gov

 

State Representative Bob Godfrey (D-110)

Bob.Godfrey@cga.ct.gov

 

State Senator Edwin Gomes (D-23)

Gomes@senatedems.ct.gov

 

State Representative Minnie Gonzalez (D-3)

Minnie.Gonzalez@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Kenneth Green (D-1)

Kenneth.Green@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Gail Hamm (D-34)

Gail.Hamm@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative William Hamzy (R-78)

William.Hamzy@housegop.ct.gov

 

State Representative Ernest Hewett (D-39)

Ernest.Hewett@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Debra Lee Hovey (R-112)

DebraLee.Hovey@housegop.ct.gov

 

State Representative Bryan Hurlburt (D-53)

Bryan.Hurlburt@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Themis Klarides (R-114)

Themis.Klarides@housegop.ct.gov

 

State Representative David Labriola (R-131)

David.Labriola@housegop.ct.gov

 

State Representative Faith McMahon (D-15)

Faith.McMahon@cga.ct.gov

 

State Senator Edward Meyer (D-12)

Meyer@senatedems.ct.gov

 

State Representative Bruce Morris (D-140)

Bruce.Morris@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Tim O’Brien (D-24)

tim@timobrien.org

 

State Representative Melissa Olson (D-46)

Melissa.Olson@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Claudia Powers (R-151)

Claudia.Powers@housegop.ct.gov

 

State Senator Andrew Roraback (R-30)

Andrew.Roraback@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative T.R. Rowe (R-123)

TR.Rowe@housegop.ct.gov

 

State Representative Joseph Serra (D-33)

Joseph.Serra@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative James Spallone (D-36)

James.Spallone@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Christopher Stone (D-9)

Christopher.Stone@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Joseph Taborsak (D-109)

Joseph.Taborsak@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative William Tong (D-147)

William.Tong@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Toni Walker (D-93)

Toni.Walker@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Elissa Wright (D-41)
Elissa.Wright@cga.ct.gov

 

TRENDING NOW
Out of Style: Levi’s Fawns Over Shannon Watts in Pantmaker’s Latest Gun Control Effort

News  

Friday, May 17, 2019

Out of Style: Levi’s Fawns Over Shannon Watts in Pantmaker’s Latest Gun Control Effort

At the National Retail Federation’s 2018 convention in New York City, Levi Strauss & Co. Brand President James Curleigh told those assembled that the multinational pants manufacturer intends to be the “most relevant lifestyle brand.” Evidently, part ...

Trump Administration, Other Pro-Gun Heavyweights Lend Support on Pending Supreme Court Case

News  

Friday, May 17, 2019

Trump Administration, Other Pro-Gun Heavyweights Lend Support on Pending Supreme Court Case

As NRA-ILA Executive Director Chris W. Cox reported in March, the U.S. Supreme Court has taken up a challenge by an NRA state affiliate to a New York City gun control scheme that effectively prohibits lawfully ...

Gov. Abbott Signs NRA-Backed Tenants' Rights Bill

News  

Friday, May 17, 2019

Gov. Abbott Signs NRA-Backed Tenants' Rights Bill

The National Rifle Association Institute for Legislative Action (NRA-ILA) applauded Gov. Greg Abbott on Thursday for signing NRA-backed legislation that protects tenants’ rights by prohibiting “no firearms” clauses in residential leases.   

Retired Justice Stevens Continues Crusade Against Guns

News  

Friday, May 17, 2019

Retired Justice Stevens Continues Crusade Against Guns

Retired Supreme Court Justice John Paul Stevens does not believe a law-abiding citizen has a right to possess firearms under the Second Amendment, and he wants to make sure everyone knows it. He made his ...

Hear Ye, Hear Ye, Only What We Want Ye to Hear

News  

Friday, May 17, 2019

Hear Ye, Hear Ye, Only What We Want Ye to Hear

Can we finally put the claim that “gun violence” research is underfunded to rest? The Bloomberg Professor of American Health at the Bloomberg School of Public Health at Johns Hopkins University, Daniel Webster, and his colleagues at the Hopkins ...

NRA Supports Guns Save Life's Challenge to Illinois’s FOID Act

News  

Wednesday, May 15, 2019

NRA Supports Guns Save Life's Challenge to Illinois’s FOID Act

NRA is supporting a legal challenge to Illinois's FOID Act brought by Guns Save Life, an organization dedicated to defending the Second Amendment rights of Illinois residents. 

Illinois: Committee To Receive FOID Cost Increase Legislation

Friday, May 17, 2019

Illinois: Committee To Receive FOID Cost Increase Legislation

On May 21st, the Illinois state House of Representatives Rules Committee will hear House Amendment 1 to Senate Bill 1966 and send it to the Judiciary Committee for further consideration.  HA 1 to SB 1966 would ...

Governor Abbott Signs NRA-Backed Tenants' Rights Bill

Friday, May 17, 2019

Governor Abbott Signs NRA-Backed Tenants' Rights Bill

On Thursday, Governor Greg Abbott signed House Bill 302 by Representative Dennis Paul (R-Houston) & Senator Bryan Hughes (R-Mineola), NRA-supported legislation that prohibits “no firearms” clauses in residential leases.

NRA Applauds Attorneys General and Governors Amicus Brief in Supreme Court Challenge

News  

Thursday, May 16, 2019

NRA Applauds Attorneys General and Governors Amicus Brief in Supreme Court Challenge

NRA Applauds Attorney General and Governors Amicus Brief in Supreme Court Challenge.

Nevada: Omnibus Anti-Gun Bill Granted Waiver From Deadlines

Saturday, May 18, 2019

Nevada: Omnibus Anti-Gun Bill Granted Waiver From Deadlines

As previously alerted, yesterday was the deadline for legislation to pass out of the policy committee in the second chamber.  A waiver was granted for Assembly Bill 291, exempting the bill from the deadlines.  This waiver ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.