Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Anti-Gunners Launching Full-Scale Attack in Connecticut!

Tuesday, March 4, 2008

Please Contact the Joint Judiciary Committee Today!

The anti-gun push is on in Hartford. This week, two proposals very dangerous to gun owners were "raised" and could soon be considered by the Joint Judiciary Committee. 

Raised Bill No. 603 would require all ammunition sold in Connecticut to be coded with an individual serial number (ammunition serialization) and entered into a statewide database at the time of sale.  Encoded ammunition would be registered to the purchaser and would include the date of transaction, the purchaser’s name, date of birth, driver’s license number, and the serial number of the ammunition. Not only would this measure cause enormous increases in the cost of ammunition, but it could lead to the establishment of a database of ammunition consumers and ultimately the cessation of the sale of ammunition in Connecticut. 

If that weren't enough, this legislation actually exposes gun owners to risk of criminal prosecution without them even knowing it! There is no way for the ammunition consumer to be assured that the serial number imprinted on the box matches the serial number on the rounds inside.  Even if the industry can or will produce this ammunition exclusively for Connecticut, the consumers will be required to register ammunition purchases and then blindly trust that the number etched on the "base of the bullet projectile" is accurately represented on the box in which it is sold.  Since the "base of the bullet projectile" is necessarily obscured by the cartridge case, it is impossible for the consumer to know if he or she has accurately "registered" their purchase.  

Raised Bill No. 607 would seek to ban the sale of semi-automatic handguns not equipped with so-called "microstamping" technology.  Microstamping is a failed technology that would require identifying marks to be etched into the firing pin and breech face of a firearm.  The technology can easily be defeated with common household tools, has no public safety value, and adds substantially to the cost of the firearm. 

Raised Bill No. 607 doesn’t stop there!  It would also outlaw the private sale or transfer of long guns.

Please contact the individual members of the Joint Judiciary Committee TODAY and respectfully urge them to oppose Raised Bill No. 603 and Raised Bill No. 607!  The committee members can be contacted by phone at (860) 240-0100.

State Senator Andrew McDonald (D-27) – Co-Chair
Mcdonald@senatedems.ct.gov

State Representative Michael Lawlor (D-99) – Co-Chair

mlawlor99@juno.com

State Senator Mary Ann Handley (D-4) - Vice-Chair

Handley@senatedems.ct.gov

 

State Representative Gerald Fox (D-146) – Vice-Chair

Gerald.Fox@cga.ct.gov

 

State Senator John Kissel, (R-7) – Ranking Member

John.A.Kissel@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Arthur O'Neill (R-69) – Ranking Member

Arthur.ONeill@housegop.ct.gov

 

State Representative Al Adinolfi (R-103)

Al.Adinolfi@housegop.ct.gov

 

State Representative William Aman (R-14)

Bill.Aman@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Ryan Barry (D-12)

Ryan.Barry@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Jeffrey Berger (D-73)

Jeffrey.Berger@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Beth Bye (D-19)

Beth.Bye@cga.ct.gov

 

State Senator Sam Caligiuri (R-16)

Sam.Caligiuri@cga.ct.gov

 

State Senator Eric Coleman (D-2)

Eric.Coleman@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Patricia Dillon (D-92)

Patricia.Dillon@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Mary Fritz (D-90)

Mary.Fritz@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative John Geragosian (D-25)

John.Geragosian@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Janice Giegler (R-138)

Janice.Giegler@housegop.ct.gov

 

State Representative Bob Godfrey (D-110)

Bob.Godfrey@cga.ct.gov

 

State Senator Edwin Gomes (D-23)

Gomes@senatedems.ct.gov

 

State Representative Minnie Gonzalez (D-3)

Minnie.Gonzalez@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Kenneth Green (D-1)

Kenneth.Green@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Gail Hamm (D-34)

Gail.Hamm@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative William Hamzy (R-78)

William.Hamzy@housegop.ct.gov

 

State Representative Ernest Hewett (D-39)

Ernest.Hewett@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Debra Lee Hovey (R-112)

DebraLee.Hovey@housegop.ct.gov

 

State Representative Bryan Hurlburt (D-53)

Bryan.Hurlburt@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Themis Klarides (R-114)

Themis.Klarides@housegop.ct.gov

 

State Representative David Labriola (R-131)

David.Labriola@housegop.ct.gov

 

State Representative Faith McMahon (D-15)

Faith.McMahon@cga.ct.gov

 

State Senator Edward Meyer (D-12)

Meyer@senatedems.ct.gov

 

State Representative Bruce Morris (D-140)

Bruce.Morris@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Tim O’Brien (D-24)

tim@timobrien.org

 

State Representative Melissa Olson (D-46)

Melissa.Olson@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Claudia Powers (R-151)

Claudia.Powers@housegop.ct.gov

 

State Senator Andrew Roraback (R-30)

Andrew.Roraback@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative T.R. Rowe (R-123)

TR.Rowe@housegop.ct.gov

 

State Representative Joseph Serra (D-33)

Joseph.Serra@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative James Spallone (D-36)

James.Spallone@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Christopher Stone (D-9)

Christopher.Stone@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Joseph Taborsak (D-109)

Joseph.Taborsak@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative William Tong (D-147)

William.Tong@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Toni Walker (D-93)

Toni.Walker@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Elissa Wright (D-41)
Elissa.Wright@cga.ct.gov

 

TRENDING NOW
Shoddy Science and Shaky Assumptions: Court Invalidates California’s Handgun Ad Ban on First Amendment Grounds

News  

Friday, September 21, 2018

Shoddy Science and Shaky Assumptions: Court Invalidates California’s Handgun Ad Ban on First Amendment Grounds

Earlier this month, a federal court invalidated California’s ban on premises advertising relating to handguns (but not other firearms), disparaging the state’s proffered justification for the law as nothing more than “mere speculation and conjecture.” 

New Industry Statistics Underscore Popularity of “America’s Rifle”

News  

Friday, September 21, 2018

New Industry Statistics Underscore Popularity of “America’s Rifle”

Senator Dianne Feinstein has spent the last 26 years pushing gun control at the federal level and earlier this month demonstrated her willingness to distort facts and Supreme Court precedent in her ongoing effort to ...

Gun Control Twist: Saving One Life “Does Not Justify” Right-to-Carry

News  

Friday, September 21, 2018

Gun Control Twist: Saving One Life “Does Not Justify” Right-to-Carry

Gun control advocates often use some version of the phrase “if it saves one life” in order to justify their ineffective proposals. This week, the anti-gun editorial page of the Chicago Sun-Times offered a different ...

Bloomberg Presidential Run? Maybe. Bloomberg Effort to Buy the Midterms? Definitely.

News  

Friday, September 21, 2018

Bloomberg Presidential Run? Maybe. Bloomberg Effort to Buy the Midterms? Definitely.

Billionaire gun control financier and former-New York City Mayor Michael Bloomberg is once again floating a presidential run.

Pennsylvania: Potential for Gun Control as Legislators Come Back to Harrisburg

Monday, September 24, 2018

Pennsylvania: Potential for Gun Control as Legislators Come Back to Harrisburg

This week, with the Pennsylvania House of Representatives coming back from their summer break, it is possible that House Bill 2227 may be up for a vote.  HB 2227 would allow the seizure of firearms with little or no access to due ...

Outrageous! NC University Forces Student to Remove NRA Flag from Dorm Window

News  

Wednesday, September 19, 2018

Outrageous! NC University Forces Student to Remove NRA Flag from Dorm Window

Elon University student forced to remove NRA banner from his dorm room window.

Levi’s Teams with Billionaire Michael Bloomberg to Attack Gun Rights

News  

Friday, September 7, 2018

Levi’s Teams with Billionaire Michael Bloomberg to Attack Gun Rights

Levi Strauss & Co. established its brand in the mid-19th century by selling durable clothing to working-class Americans. As Levi’s signature jeans gained popularity amongst a wider set in the middle of the last century, ...

Monday, September 17, 2018

Florida Alert! Galvano Committee Gets $200K from ‘EVERYTOWN’ Group

Incoming Florida Senate President Bill Galvano calls himself a Republican but is rumored to be the one who colluded with anti-gun Democrats to engineer the gun control package included in SB-7026 this past session. SB-7026 ...

Gun Control Activist Urges Canadian Audience to Get Involved in U.S. Politics

News  

Friday, September 14, 2018

Gun Control Activist Urges Canadian Audience to Get Involved in U.S. Politics

For someone who has previously falsely accused the NRA of funneling foreign money into domestic politics, it must be that David Hogg either forgot he was in Canada recently or failed to appreciate that it’s also illegal ...

Anti-gun Senator Accompanied by “Unprecedented” Security Detail While Traveling in California

News  

Friday, September 14, 2018

Anti-gun Senator Accompanied by “Unprecedented” Security Detail While Traveling in California

Sen. Kamala Harris (D-CA) is no fan of the Second Amendment. As California attorney general, she sided with local officials who refused to issue concealed carry permits to qualified, law-abiding applicants unless they could demonstrate an extraordinary ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.