Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Anti-Gunners Launching Full-Scale Attack in Connecticut!

Tuesday, March 4, 2008

Please Contact the Joint Judiciary Committee Today!

The anti-gun push is on in Hartford. This week, two proposals very dangerous to gun owners were "raised" and could soon be considered by the Joint Judiciary Committee. 

Raised Bill No. 603 would require all ammunition sold in Connecticut to be coded with an individual serial number (ammunition serialization) and entered into a statewide database at the time of sale.  Encoded ammunition would be registered to the purchaser and would include the date of transaction, the purchaser’s name, date of birth, driver’s license number, and the serial number of the ammunition. Not only would this measure cause enormous increases in the cost of ammunition, but it could lead to the establishment of a database of ammunition consumers and ultimately the cessation of the sale of ammunition in Connecticut. 

If that weren't enough, this legislation actually exposes gun owners to risk of criminal prosecution without them even knowing it! There is no way for the ammunition consumer to be assured that the serial number imprinted on the box matches the serial number on the rounds inside.  Even if the industry can or will produce this ammunition exclusively for Connecticut, the consumers will be required to register ammunition purchases and then blindly trust that the number etched on the "base of the bullet projectile" is accurately represented on the box in which it is sold.  Since the "base of the bullet projectile" is necessarily obscured by the cartridge case, it is impossible for the consumer to know if he or she has accurately "registered" their purchase.  

Raised Bill No. 607 would seek to ban the sale of semi-automatic handguns not equipped with so-called "microstamping" technology.  Microstamping is a failed technology that would require identifying marks to be etched into the firing pin and breech face of a firearm.  The technology can easily be defeated with common household tools, has no public safety value, and adds substantially to the cost of the firearm. 

Raised Bill No. 607 doesn’t stop there!  It would also outlaw the private sale or transfer of long guns.

Please contact the individual members of the Joint Judiciary Committee TODAY and respectfully urge them to oppose Raised Bill No. 603 and Raised Bill No. 607!  The committee members can be contacted by phone at (860) 240-0100.

State Senator Andrew McDonald (D-27) – Co-Chair
Mcdonald@senatedems.ct.gov

State Representative Michael Lawlor (D-99) – Co-Chair

mlawlor99@juno.com

State Senator Mary Ann Handley (D-4) - Vice-Chair

Handley@senatedems.ct.gov

 

State Representative Gerald Fox (D-146) – Vice-Chair

Gerald.Fox@cga.ct.gov

 

State Senator John Kissel, (R-7) – Ranking Member

John.A.Kissel@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Arthur O'Neill (R-69) – Ranking Member

Arthur.ONeill@housegop.ct.gov

 

State Representative Al Adinolfi (R-103)

Al.Adinolfi@housegop.ct.gov

 

State Representative William Aman (R-14)

Bill.Aman@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Ryan Barry (D-12)

Ryan.Barry@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Jeffrey Berger (D-73)

Jeffrey.Berger@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Beth Bye (D-19)

Beth.Bye@cga.ct.gov

 

State Senator Sam Caligiuri (R-16)

Sam.Caligiuri@cga.ct.gov

 

State Senator Eric Coleman (D-2)

Eric.Coleman@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Patricia Dillon (D-92)

Patricia.Dillon@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Mary Fritz (D-90)

Mary.Fritz@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative John Geragosian (D-25)

John.Geragosian@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Janice Giegler (R-138)

Janice.Giegler@housegop.ct.gov

 

State Representative Bob Godfrey (D-110)

Bob.Godfrey@cga.ct.gov

 

State Senator Edwin Gomes (D-23)

Gomes@senatedems.ct.gov

 

State Representative Minnie Gonzalez (D-3)

Minnie.Gonzalez@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Kenneth Green (D-1)

Kenneth.Green@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Gail Hamm (D-34)

Gail.Hamm@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative William Hamzy (R-78)

William.Hamzy@housegop.ct.gov

 

State Representative Ernest Hewett (D-39)

Ernest.Hewett@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Debra Lee Hovey (R-112)

DebraLee.Hovey@housegop.ct.gov

 

State Representative Bryan Hurlburt (D-53)

Bryan.Hurlburt@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Themis Klarides (R-114)

Themis.Klarides@housegop.ct.gov

 

State Representative David Labriola (R-131)

David.Labriola@housegop.ct.gov

 

State Representative Faith McMahon (D-15)

Faith.McMahon@cga.ct.gov

 

State Senator Edward Meyer (D-12)

Meyer@senatedems.ct.gov

 

State Representative Bruce Morris (D-140)

Bruce.Morris@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Tim O’Brien (D-24)

tim@timobrien.org

 

State Representative Melissa Olson (D-46)

Melissa.Olson@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Claudia Powers (R-151)

Claudia.Powers@housegop.ct.gov

 

State Senator Andrew Roraback (R-30)

Andrew.Roraback@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative T.R. Rowe (R-123)

TR.Rowe@housegop.ct.gov

 

State Representative Joseph Serra (D-33)

Joseph.Serra@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative James Spallone (D-36)

James.Spallone@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Christopher Stone (D-9)

Christopher.Stone@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Joseph Taborsak (D-109)

Joseph.Taborsak@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative William Tong (D-147)

William.Tong@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Toni Walker (D-93)

Toni.Walker@cga.ct.gov

 

State Representative Elissa Wright (D-41)
Elissa.Wright@cga.ct.gov

 

TRENDING NOW
Your Members of Congress Need to Hear from You on the Hearing Protection Act of 2017

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Your Members of Congress Need to Hear from You on the Hearing Protection Act of 2017

On Monday, Sen. Mike Crapo (R-ID) – joined by co-sponsors Sens. Jerry Moran (R-KS) and Rand Paul (R-KY) – introduced S. 59, the Hearing Protection Act of 2017 (HPA). Similar legislation was introduced in the ...

Alert: WA State Proposes Draconian Gun Ban Bills

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Alert: WA State Proposes Draconian Gun Ban Bills

Inspired, perhaps, by Oscar Wilde (“Moderation is a fatal thing. Nothing succeeds like excess”), Washington State Attorney General Bob Ferguson has announced two new sweeping gun control bills, with Sen. David Frockt (D-Seattle) and Rep. ...

New Hampshire: Constitutional/Permitless Carry Bill Passes Senate!

Thursday, January 19, 2017

New Hampshire: Constitutional/Permitless Carry Bill Passes Senate!

Today, Senate Bill 12, legislation eliminating the requirement to obtain a permit in order to lawfully carry, passed the Senate without amendment, by a 13-10 vote.  SB 12 will now go to the House of ...

National Concealed Carry Reciprocity Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

National Concealed Carry Reciprocity Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them

On January 3rd, Congressman Richard Hudson (R-N.C.8th) introduced H.R. 38, the Concealed Carry Reciprocity Act of 2017, which simply allows lawful firearm carriers from any state to carry a concealed firearm in any other state. The bill ...

Virginia: Senate Committee to Hear Numerous Gun Bills Tomorrow

Tuesday, January 17, 2017

Virginia: Senate Committee to Hear Numerous Gun Bills Tomorrow

Tomorrow, January 18, the Senate Courts of Justice is expected to hear and possibly vote on several firearm-related bills.

Kansas: Bill Introduced Attempting to Repeal Pro-Self-Defense Law

Tuesday, January 17, 2017

Kansas: Bill Introduced Attempting to Repeal Pro-Self-Defense Law

In 2013, the Kansas Legislature passed the Public Building Security Act, pro-gun legislation that amended the Personal and Family Protection Act. 

Supreme Court Asked to Review California’s Restrictive Carry Regime

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Supreme Court Asked to Review California’s Restrictive Carry Regime

On Thursday, the NRA-supported case Peruta v. California took an important step towards restoring the right to bear arms in California.  The plaintiffs in the case, California gun owners and the California Rifle and Pistol ...

NRA Statement on Nomination of Ryan Zinke to Secretary of the Interior

News  

Friday, December 16, 2016

NRA Statement on Nomination of Ryan Zinke to Secretary of the Interior

Chris W. Cox, executive director of the National Rifle Association's Institute for Legislative Action, issued the following statement on the nomination of Congressman Ryan Zinke to be the Secretary of the Interior

Indiana: Legislative Session Begins with Numerous Pro-Gun Bills Filed

Friday, January 13, 2017

Indiana: Legislative Session Begins with Numerous Pro-Gun Bills Filed

With the 2017 Indiana legislative session underway, we are happy to report that a number of pro-gun bills have been filed.

NRA Applauds the Introduction of the Hearing Protection Act, H.R. 367

News  

Hunting  

Monday, January 9, 2017

NRA Applauds the Introduction of the Hearing Protection Act, H.R. 367

FAIRFAX, Va. – The National Rifle Association Institute for Legislative Action (NRA-ILA) applauded Congressmen Jeff Duncan (SC) and John Carter (TX-31) on Monday for introducing the Hearing Protection Act, an important bill that gives gun owners and sportsmen ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.