Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Anti-Gun Legislation to be Heard In Connecticut!

Friday, February 22, 2008

Please Contact Members of the Public Safety and Security Committee Today!

As early as next week, members of the Public Safety and Security Committee could vote on Raised Bill No. 178, a State Police backed measure that would extend the length of time allowed for the processing of a pistol license from eight weeks to twelve weeks.   

The bill also seeks to add yet another obstacle to the process of hosting gun shows.  Promoters are already required to notify local police 30 days in advance of when the event will take place. If passed, gun show promoters will have to seek approval from the State Police as well.   

Please contact the Public Safety and Security Committee and urge them to oppose Raised Bill No. 178!

Members of the Public Safety and Security Committee

Senator Andrea Stillman – Co-Chair (D-20)
Stillman@senatedems.ct.gov

Representative Stephen Dargan – Co-Chair (D-115)
Stephen.Dargan@cga.ct.gov

Representative Tom Reynolds – Vice Chair (D-42)
Tom.Reynolds@cga.ct.gov

Senator Eileen Daily – Vice Chair (D-33)
Daily@senatedems.ct.gov

Senator Anthony Guglielmo – Ranking Member (R-35)
Anthony.Guglielmo@cga.ct.gov

Representative Raymond Kalinowski – Ranking Member (R-100)
Raymond.Kalinowski@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Penny Bacchiochi (R-52)
Penny.Bacchiochi@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Elizabeth Boukus (D-22)
Betty.Boukus@cga.ct.gov

Representative Charles Clemons (D-124)
Charles.Clemons@cga.ct.gov

Representative Christopher Caruso (D-126)
Chris.Caruso@cga.ct.gov

Representative Kevin DelGobbo (R-70)
Kevin.DelGobbo@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Louis Esposito (D-116)
Lou.Esposito@cga.ct.gov

Representative Ruth Fahrbach (R-61)
Ruth.Fahrbach@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Minnie Gonzalez (D-03)
Minnie.Gonzalez@cga.ct.gov

Representative Leonard Greene (R-105)
Len.Greene@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Ernest Hewett (D-39)
Ernest.Hewett@cga.ct.gov

Representative Karen Jarmoc (D-59)
Karen.Jarmoc@cga.ct.gov

Representative Shawn Johnston (D-51)
Shawn.Johnston@cga.ct.gov

Representative Joan Lewis (D-08)
Joan.Lewis@cga.ct.gov

Representative Steven Mikutel (D-45)
Steve.Mikutel@cga.ct.gov

Representative Linda Orange (D-48)
Linda.Orange@cga.ct.gov

Representative Jim Shapiro (D-144)
Jim.Shapiro@cga.ct.gov

Representative Kevin Witkos (R-17)
Kevin.Witkos@cga.ct.gov

TRENDING NOW
Illinois Committee Passes Bill to Increase Cost of FOID 1000

Tuesday, May 21, 2019

Illinois Committee Passes Bill to Increase Cost of FOID 1000

On May 21st, the Illinois state House Judiciary Committee voted 12-7 to pass House Amendment 1 to Senate Bill 1966.  While it has not yet been scheduled for further action, the House may take it ...

Washington: Lawsuit Against I-1639 Proceeds After Motion To Dismiss Denied

Tuesday, May 21, 2019

Washington: Lawsuit Against I-1639 Proceeds After Motion To Dismiss Denied

On May 20th, the United States District Court for the Western District of Washington rejected a motion by the government defendants to dismiss the lawsuit filed by NRA and the SAF against Washington’s gun control ...

Out of Style: Levi’s Fawns Over Shannon Watts in Pantmaker’s Latest Gun Control Effort

News  

Friday, May 17, 2019

Out of Style: Levi’s Fawns Over Shannon Watts in Pantmaker’s Latest Gun Control Effort

At the National Retail Federation’s 2018 convention in New York City, Levi Strauss & Co. Brand President James Curleigh told those assembled that the multinational pants manufacturer intends to be the “most relevant lifestyle brand.” Evidently, part ...

California: Firearm Excise Tax Bill Fails to Meet Fiscal Deadline While Other Gun Control Bills Move Forward

Monday, May 20, 2019

California: Firearm Excise Tax Bill Fails to Meet Fiscal Deadline While Other Gun Control Bills Move Forward

Last week, the Assembly and Senate Appropriations Committees took up their respective suspense files ahead of the Friday, May 17, fiscal deadline. Some of the more egregious gun bills failed to meet the deadline including ...

California: DOJ Submits Proposed Regulations Regarding Upcoming Ammunition Transfer Background Check Requirements to Office of Administrative Law

Wednesday, May 22, 2019

California: DOJ Submits Proposed Regulations Regarding Upcoming Ammunition Transfer Background Check Requirements to Office of Administrative Law

Beginning July 1, 2019, all ammunition transactions in the state of California will be subject to a background check requirement.  But in order to implement this requirement, the California Department of Justice (“DOJ”) must first ...

Gov. Abbott Signs NRA-Backed Tenants' Rights Bill

News  

Friday, May 17, 2019

Gov. Abbott Signs NRA-Backed Tenants' Rights Bill

The National Rifle Association Institute for Legislative Action (NRA-ILA) applauded Gov. Greg Abbott on Thursday for signing NRA-backed legislation that protects tenants’ rights by prohibiting “no firearms” clauses in residential leases.   

Working Together to Save the Second Amendment Part II: State Success Stories

News  

Hunting  

Tuesday, May 21, 2019

Working Together to Save the Second Amendment Part II: State Success Stories

When I started with NRA in 1995, most of the attention our organization received was over legislative efforts in Congress. Firearm-related legislation at the federal level obviously has an impact on far more law-abiding gun ...

Trump Administration, Other Pro-Gun Heavyweights Lend Support on Pending Supreme Court Case

News  

Friday, May 17, 2019

Trump Administration, Other Pro-Gun Heavyweights Lend Support on Pending Supreme Court Case

As NRA-ILA Executive Director Chris W. Cox reported in March, the U.S. Supreme Court has taken up a challenge by an NRA state affiliate to a New York City gun control scheme that effectively prohibits lawfully ...

Hear Ye, Hear Ye, Only What We Want Ye to Hear

News  

Friday, May 17, 2019

Hear Ye, Hear Ye, Only What We Want Ye to Hear

Can we finally put the claim that “gun violence” research is underfunded to rest? The Bloomberg Professor of American Health at the Bloomberg School of Public Health at Johns Hopkins University, Daniel Webster, and his colleagues at the Hopkins ...

Retired Justice Stevens Continues Crusade Against Guns

News  

Friday, May 17, 2019

Retired Justice Stevens Continues Crusade Against Guns

Retired Supreme Court Justice John Paul Stevens does not believe a law-abiding citizen has a right to possess firearms under the Second Amendment, and he wants to make sure everyone knows it. He made his ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.