Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Anti-Gun Legislation to be Heard In Connecticut!

Friday, February 22, 2008

Please Contact Members of the Public Safety and Security Committee Today!

As early as next week, members of the Public Safety and Security Committee could vote on Raised Bill No. 178, a State Police backed measure that would extend the length of time allowed for the processing of a pistol license from eight weeks to twelve weeks.   

The bill also seeks to add yet another obstacle to the process of hosting gun shows.  Promoters are already required to notify local police 30 days in advance of when the event will take place. If passed, gun show promoters will have to seek approval from the State Police as well.   

Please contact the Public Safety and Security Committee and urge them to oppose Raised Bill No. 178!

Members of the Public Safety and Security Committee

Senator Andrea Stillman – Co-Chair (D-20)
Stillman@senatedems.ct.gov

Representative Stephen Dargan – Co-Chair (D-115)
Stephen.Dargan@cga.ct.gov

Representative Tom Reynolds – Vice Chair (D-42)
Tom.Reynolds@cga.ct.gov

Senator Eileen Daily – Vice Chair (D-33)
Daily@senatedems.ct.gov

Senator Anthony Guglielmo – Ranking Member (R-35)
Anthony.Guglielmo@cga.ct.gov

Representative Raymond Kalinowski – Ranking Member (R-100)
Raymond.Kalinowski@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Penny Bacchiochi (R-52)
Penny.Bacchiochi@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Elizabeth Boukus (D-22)
Betty.Boukus@cga.ct.gov

Representative Charles Clemons (D-124)
Charles.Clemons@cga.ct.gov

Representative Christopher Caruso (D-126)
Chris.Caruso@cga.ct.gov

Representative Kevin DelGobbo (R-70)
Kevin.DelGobbo@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Louis Esposito (D-116)
Lou.Esposito@cga.ct.gov

Representative Ruth Fahrbach (R-61)
Ruth.Fahrbach@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Minnie Gonzalez (D-03)
Minnie.Gonzalez@cga.ct.gov

Representative Leonard Greene (R-105)
Len.Greene@housegop.ct.gov

Representative Ernest Hewett (D-39)
Ernest.Hewett@cga.ct.gov

Representative Karen Jarmoc (D-59)
Karen.Jarmoc@cga.ct.gov

Representative Shawn Johnston (D-51)
Shawn.Johnston@cga.ct.gov

Representative Joan Lewis (D-08)
Joan.Lewis@cga.ct.gov

Representative Steven Mikutel (D-45)
Steve.Mikutel@cga.ct.gov

Representative Linda Orange (D-48)
Linda.Orange@cga.ct.gov

Representative Jim Shapiro (D-144)
Jim.Shapiro@cga.ct.gov

Representative Kevin Witkos (R-17)
Kevin.Witkos@cga.ct.gov

TRENDING NOW
The Danger Of A “Not In My Backyard” Mentality On Shooting Ranges

News  

Wednesday, July 19, 2017

The Danger Of A “Not In My Backyard” Mentality On Shooting Ranges

Muscatine County, Iowa, is home to about 40,000 people, and like too many places around the country, gun owners there have no public range where they can practice or compete safely. That may be changing, ...

Court to Texas College Professors: Your Irrational Fear of Gun Owners Is Not Legally Addressable

News  

Wednesday, July 12, 2017

Court to Texas College Professors: Your Irrational Fear of Gun Owners Is Not Legally Addressable

Last Thursday, a federal judge in Austin, Texas, dismissed a lawsuit by several professors who sought to block the University of Texas from implementing a state law that provides for the lawful carrying of concealed ...

California: Anti-Gun Bills to be Heard in Assembly Appropriations Committee on Wednesday, July 19

Monday, July 17, 2017

California: Anti-Gun Bills to be Heard in Assembly Appropriations Committee on Wednesday, July 19

On Wednesday, July 19, anti-gun bills SB 464 and SB 497 are scheduled to be heard in the Assembly Appropriations Committee at 9AM in State Capitol room 4202.  Assembly Bill 424 remains eligible for third ...

CMP Sales of 1911s One Step Closer With House Passage of 2018 NDAA

Friday, July 14, 2017

CMP Sales of 1911s One Step Closer With House Passage of 2018 NDAA

On Friday, the U.S. House of Representatives passed H.R. 2810, the National Defense Authorization Act (NDAA) for Fiscal Year 2018. Included in the bill is a provision that would make U.S. Army surplus 1911 .45 ACP ...

One More Reason Gun Owners Should Be Celebrated

News  

Second Amendment  

Thursday, July 20, 2017

One More Reason Gun Owners Should Be Celebrated

The safety record of America’s gun owners is nothing short of stunning. 

Gun Control Groups: Good at Gloating, Bad at Counting on Advancing National Reciprocity Effort

Friday, July 14, 2017

Gun Control Groups: Good at Gloating, Bad at Counting on Advancing National Reciprocity Effort

Apparently, Michael Bloomberg is good at counting money but not so good at counting votes. This week, Breitbart reported that Everytown for Gun Safety, Michael Bloomberg’s gun ban conglomerate, was claiming a “win” for congressional ...

California:  "Assault Weapon" Regulations Take 3: CA DOJ Resubmits Regulations

Friday, July 21, 2017

California: "Assault Weapon" Regulations Take 3: CA DOJ Resubmits Regulations

Today, July 21, the California Department of Justice (“DOJ”), without warning or any notification,  submitted another set of proposed regulations for the registration of newly classified “assault weapons” to the Office of Administrative Law.  As ...

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

Gun Laws  

Thursday, January 1, 2015

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

CAUTION: Federal and state firearms laws are subject to frequent change. This summary is not to be considered as legal advice or a restatement of law.

Run, Hide, Perish – Survival Do’s and Don’ts from Across the Pond

News  

Friday, July 14, 2017

Run, Hide, Perish – Survival Do’s and Don’ts from Across the Pond

The United States Department of Homeland Security (DHS) advises persons at risk of harm from an active shooter to “Run, Hide, Fight” (in that order), recommending “fight” – incapacitating or “attempt[ing] to take the active ...

California: DOJ Releases Proposed Regulations Regarding Ammunition Vendor Licensing

Tuesday, July 18, 2017

California: DOJ Releases Proposed Regulations Regarding Ammunition Vendor Licensing

On Friday, July 14th, the California Department of Justice, Bureau of Firearms (“DOJ”) claims to have released its anticipated proposed regulations for the issuance of ammunition vendor licenses.  Under the Administrative Procedure Act, a government ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.