Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Arkansas “Castle Doctrine” Legislation to be Heard by Committee!

Friday, March 9, 2007

 

The Arkansas State House Judiciary Committee may soon take up House Bill 1027, introduced by Representative Mike Burris (D-26).  HB1027, the "Castle Doctrine" self-defense bill (also referred to as the "Stand Your Ground Law"), simply states that if a criminal breaks into your home, your occupied vehicle or your place of business, or you are attacked in a place where you have a legal right to be, you do not have a “duty to retreat.” The bill also provides protection from criminal prosecution and civil litigation for those who defend themselves from criminal attack. 

 

Please take the time to contact the committee members today and respectfully urge them to protect your right to self-defense by voting in favor of HB1027.

 

State Representative Robert Jeffrey (D-7)
870-837-2446
jeffreyr@arkleg.state.ar.us

State Representative Mark Pate (D-49)
501-268-6900

State Representative Will Bond (D-44)
501-982-9081
bondw@arkleg.state.ar.us

State Representative Chris Thyer (D-74)
870-932-2000
thyerc@arkleg.state.ar.us


State Representative David Johnson (D-38)
501-372-6555
johnsond@arkleg.state.ar.us

State Representative John Paul Wells (D-84)
479-963-3227
wellsj@arkleg.state.ar.us

State Representative Steve Harrelson (D-1)
870-772-5482
steve@steveharrelson.com


State Representative Lamont Cornwell (D-28)
501-778-7327
cornwelll@arkleg.state.ar.us

State Representative Robert Moore (D-12)
870-877-9339
moorer@arkleg.state.ar.us

State Representative Joan Cash (D-75)
870-886-6663
cashj@arkleg.state.ar.us

State Representative Earnest Brown (D-16)
870-534-6332
browne@arkleg.state.ar.us

State Representative Tommy Lee Baker (D-55)
870-563-8277
bakert@arkleg.state.ar.us


State Representative Kathy Webb (D-37)
501-412-6443
webbk@arkleg.state.ar.us

State Representative Jon Woods (D-93)
479-200-3100
woodsj@arkleg.state.ar.us


State Representative David Powers (D-3)
870-777-9822
powersd@arkleg.state.ar.us


State Representative Jerry Brown (D-57)
870-238-3132
brownj@arkleg.state.ar.us

State Representative Tracy Pennartz (D-65)
479-285-4800
pennartzt@arkleg.state.ar.us

State Representative Aaron Burkes (R-95)
479-877-0412

State Representative Charolette Wagner (D-77)
870-561-4600
wagnerc@arkleg.state.ar.us


State Representative Steven Breedlove (D-67)
479-996-6040
breedloves@arkleg.state.ar.us

 

TRENDING NOW
The Washington Post Gives Gun Control Group and U.S. Senator Three Pinocchios on Suppressors

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, March 24, 2017

The Washington Post Gives Gun Control Group and U.S. Senator Three Pinocchios on Suppressors

Last week, we wrote about Americans for Responsible Solutions’ irresponsible misinformation about The Hearing Protection Act on Twitter.  Apparently, we weren’t the only ones who took notice of ARS’s complete disregard for the facts on ...

Seattle Gun Tax Fails to Generate Projected Revenue, Succeeds in Burdening Rights

News  

Gun Laws  

Friday, March 24, 2017

Seattle Gun Tax Fails to Generate Projected Revenue, Succeeds in Burdening Rights

On March 16, 2017, the Seattle Times reported that Seattle city officials were reluctant to release data on the revenue generated by the city’s firearms and ammunition tax, citing taxpayer confidentiality concerns. Less than a ...

Trump’s Supreme Court Nominee Embraces Heller and Originalism During Senate Hearings

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, March 24, 2017

Trump’s Supreme Court Nominee Embraces Heller and Originalism During Senate Hearings

Judge Neil M. Gorsuch, President Trump’s pick to replace the late Justice Antonin Scalia on the U.S. Supreme court, asserted during his confirmation hearings this week that Scalia’s landmark Second Amendment opinion in District of ...

Oklahoma: Multiple Pro-Gun Bills Passed Out of the House

Friday, March 24, 2017

Oklahoma: Multiple Pro-Gun Bills Passed Out of the House

This week, the Oklahoma House of Representatives passed multiple pro-gun bills, including House Bill 1721, House Bill 2323, and House Bill 2322. 

Continuing to Fight in California

Friday, March 24, 2017

Continuing to Fight in California

We are excited to inform you of our new California specific webpage – Stand and Fight California.   On this page you will find State Legislation, Legal Updates, and How to Get Involved, among other California ...

More Firearms, More Firearms Owners, Fewer Fatal Accidents

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, March 24, 2017

More Firearms, More Firearms Owners, Fewer Fatal Accidents

The National Safety Council released the 2017 edition of its annual Injury Facts report this week, and it contains welcome news about firearm safety. 

Arkansas Action Needed: Anti-Gun Bill Which Undermines Concealed Carry Headed to House

Thursday, March 23, 2017

Arkansas Action Needed: Anti-Gun Bill Which Undermines Concealed Carry Headed to House

Today, the Arkansas Senate passed Senate Bill 724, an anti-gun bill which undermines some of the key advancements made with the passage and enactment of House Bill 1249.  SB 724 is now headed to the ...

Illinois: Gun Seizure Bill Could be Heard by House at Any Time

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Illinois: Gun Seizure Bill Could be Heard by House at Any Time

The Illinois House of Representatives could consider House Bill 2354 at any time.

Utah: Governor Signs Self-Defense Legislation into Law

Thursday, March 23, 2017

Utah: Governor Signs Self-Defense Legislation into Law

Tonight, Governor Gary Herbert signed House Bill 198 into law.

Maryland: House Passes Pro-Carry Legislation

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Maryland: House Passes Pro-Carry Legislation

Yesterday, the Maryland House of Delegates passed House Bill 1036 by a 97-41 vote.

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.