Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

North Carolina: House Judiciary III Committee to Hear Bill That Violates Due Process This Week

Monday, April 27, 2015

North Carolina: House Judiciary III Committee to Hear Bill That Violates Due Process This Week

The House Judiciary III Committee is scheduled to meet on Wednesday, April 29, at 12:30pm, and the calendar includes an anti-gun bill that needs to be defeated.  House Bill 801, if enacted, would go beyond current law in requiring anyone with a Civil No-Contact Order filed against them to surrender their firearms for the duration of the order, and prohibit them from even touching any firearms or ammunition. Civil No-Contact Orders may be filed by virtually anyone, not only those in a domestic relationship.

These orders are NOT the same as Domestic Violence Protection Orders, which include due process before one may lose the constitutionally protected right to possess firearms.  Civil No-Contact Orders can be issued ex parte, which means the person the order is filed against may not be present in order to challenge the order’s validity.

Virtually anyone can file to have a Civil No-Contact Order entered against virtually anyone else.  This goes far beyond the limited relationships defined in federal law that result in a firearm prohibition when a Domestic Violence Protection Order is issued.  Under federal law, only protective orders between "intimate partners" would lead to losing the right to possess firearms.  And, again, such orders MUST include due process, and cannot be issued ex parte, so that the person against whom the order is filed will be able to challenge it before it is put in place.

Please contact members of the House Judiciary III Committee TODAY, and urge them to oppose HB 801 as an unconstitutional and unnecessary attack on our Right to Keep and Bear Arms!

House Judiciary III Committee:

Representative Ted Davis Jr. (R-19), Chair
(919) 733-5786
Ted.davis@ncleg.net  

Representative Sarah Stevens (R-90), Chair
(919) 715-1883
Sarah.stevens@ncleg.net  

Representative Nathan Baskerville (D-32), Vice-Chair
(919) 733-5824
Nathan.baskerville@ncleg.net  

Representative Duane Hall (D-11), Vice-Chair
(919) 733-5755
Duane.hall@ncleg.net  

Representative Pricey Harrison (D-57), Vice-Chair
(919) 733-5771
Pricey.harrison@ncleg.net  

Representative Rena W. Turner (R-84), Vice-Chair
(919) 733-5661
Rena.turner@ncleg.net  

Representative John R. Bell IV (R-10)
(919) 715-3017
John.bell@ncleg.net  

Representative Rayne Brown (R-81)
(919) 715-0873
Rayne.brown@ncleg.net  

Representative George G. Cleveland (R-14)
(919) 715-6707
George.cleveland@ncleg.net  

Representative Jean Farmer-Butterfield (D-24)
(919) 733-5898
Jean.farmer-butterfield@ncleg.net  

Representative Kelly E. Hastings (R-110)
(919) 715-2002
Kelly.hastings@ncleg.net  

Representative D. Craig Horn (R-68)
(919) 733-2406
Craig.horn@ncleg.net  

Representative Verla Insko (D-56)
(919) 733-7208
Verla.insko@ncleg.net  

Representative Michael Speciale (R-3)
(919) 733-5853
Michael.speciale@ncleg.net  

Representative Lee Zachary (R-73)
(919) 715-8361
Lee.zachary@ncleg.net  

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.