Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Massachusetts: Ivory Ban Legislation Pending in Legislature

Monday, April 20, 2015

Massachusetts: Ivory Ban Legislation Pending in Legislature

Please contact members of the respective committees and politely urge them to OPPOSE Senate Bill 440 and House Bill 1275!

S.440, sponsored by Senator Jason Lewis (D-Winchester), and its companion, H.1275, sponsored by Representative Lori Ehrlich (D-Marblehead), are two misguided bills that would prohibit the sale, offer for sale, lease, purchase, trade, barter, distribution or transfer of possession of ivory or ivory product in Massachusetts, absent limited exceptions.  These bills were introduced with the intent of curbing the poaching of elephants in Africa and helping to end the illegal ivory trade.  Unfortunately, they would not accomplish the purported objective and would only have a negative impact on those who possess lawfully acquired ivory.

Illegal trade in wildlife, as well as poaching for meat and products such as horns and tusks, takes its toll on the health and viability of wildlife populations.  Further, it undermines the tremendous sustainability achievements made possible by hunters and other wildlife conservationists in the United States and other parts of the world.  The NRA applauds serious efforts to stop poaching and the illegal ivory trade, but these pieces of legislation will not contribute to that goal.

S.440 and H.1275 would, however, negatively impact those who have no part in these illegal activities.  American collectors, sportsmen, hunters, and recreational shooters have legally purchased firearms that incorporate ivory features for decades.  These include some of America’s most historically significant and collectible guns.  Historically, the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service maintained the position that most ivory in the U.S. has been legally imported and that its sale in the U.S. did not materially contribute to the illegal ivory trade.  Nevertheless, under S.440 and H.1275, the import, sale, purchase, barter, and possession with intent to sell of any ivory (defined to include mammoth ivory), ivory product, rhinoceros horn, or rhinoceros horn product would be prohibited.  NRA is opposed to this legislation because, if implemented, it would prohibit the sale of property that had been acquired legally and in good faith.  Needless to say, property that cannot be sold is radically diminished in value.

While the NRA stands in opposition to the illegal ivory trade and poaching, banning the trade and sale of legally owned, pre-ban ivory will not save one elephant (much less mammoths, ivory from which is covered in the bills, even though the creatures themselves are long extinct).

Please use the information provided below to contact members of the Joint Committee on Judiciary and respectfully urge them to OPPOSE House Bill 1275 and contact members of the Joint Committee on Environment, Natural Resources and Agriculture and respectfully urge them to OPPOSE Senate Bill 440.

Joint Committee on Judiciary:

Senator William Brownsberger (D-Belmont), Chair
Phone: 617-722-1280
Email: William.Brownsberger@masenate.gov    

Senator John Keenan (D-Quincy), Vice Chair
Phone: 617-722-1494
Email: John.Keenan@masenate.gov      

Senator Sonia Chang-Diaz (D-Boston)
Phone: 617-722-1673
Email: Sonia.Chang-Diaz@masenate.gov              

Senator Cynthia Creem (D-Newton)
Phone: 617-722-1639
Email: Cynthia.Creem@masenate.gov  

Senator Patricia Jehlen (D-Somerville)
Phone: 617-722-1578
Email: Patricia.Jehlen@masenate.gov   

Senator Richard Ross (R-Wrentham)
Phone: 617-722-1555
Email: Richard.Ross@masenate.gov       

Representative John Fernandes (D-Milford), Chair
Phone: 617-722-2396
Email: John.Fernandes@mahouse.gov 

Representative Claire Cronin (D-Easton), Vice Chair
Phone: 617-722-2396
Email: Claire.Cronin@mahouse.gov        

Representative Colleen Garry (D-Dracut)
Phone: 617-722-2380
Email: Colleen.Garry@mahouse.gov      

Representative John Velis (D-Westfield)
Phone: 617-722-2582
Email: john.velis@mahouse.gov              

Representative Michael Day (D-Stoneham)
Phone: 617-722-2582
Email: Michael.Day@mahouse.gov         

Representative Paul Tucker (D-Salem)
Phone: 617-722-2400
Email: Paul.Tucker@mahouse.gov          

Representative James Lyons, Jr. (R-Andover)
Phone: 617-722-2460
Email: James.Lyons@mahouse.gov

Representative Jeffrey Roy (D-Franklin)
Phone: 617-722-2020
Email: Jeffrey.Roy@mahouse.gov

Representative Evandro Carvalho (D-Dorchester)
Phone: 617-722-2460
Email: Evandro.Carvalho@mahouse.gov              

Representative Carlos Gonzalez (D-Springfield)
Phone: 617-722-2080
Email: Carlos.Gonzalez@mahouse.gov  

Representative Sheila Harrington (R-Groton)
Phone: 617-722-2305
Email: Sheila.Harrington@mahouse.gov               

 

Environment, Natural Resources and Agriculture Committee:

Senator Anne Gobi (D-Spencer), Chair
Phone: 617-722-1540
Email: anne.gobi@masenate.gov            

Senator Michael Rush (D-West Roxbury), Vice Chair
Phone: 617-722-1348
Email: Mike.Rush@masenate.gov           

Senator James Eldridge (D-Acton)
Phone: 617-722-1120
Email: James.Eldridge@masenate.gov  

Senator James Timilty (D-Walpole)\
Phone: 617 722-1222
Email: James.Timilty@masenate.gov     

Senator Thomas McGee (D-Lynn)
Phone: 617-722-1350
Email: Thomas.McGee@masenate.gov 

Senator Robert Hedlund (R-Weymouth)
Phone: 617-722-1646
Email: Robert.Hedlund@masenate.gov

Representative Paul Schmid, III (D-Westport), Chair
Phone: 617-722-2210
Email: Paul.Schmid@mahouse.gov         

Representative Brian Mannal (D-Barnstable), Vice Chair
Phone: 617-722-2210
Email: Brian.Mannal@mahouse.gov       

Representative Robert Koczera (D-New Bedford)
Phone: 617-722-2582
Email: Robert.Koczera@mahouse.gov   

Representative Carolyn Dykema (D-Holliston)
Phone: 617-722-2680
Email: Carolyn.Dykema@mahouse.gov 

Representative Mary Keefe (D-Worcester)
Phone: 617-722-2210
Email: Mary.Keefe@mahouse.gov          

Representative Christine Barber (D-Somerville)
Phone: 617-722-2430
Email: Christine.Barber@mahouse.gov 

Representative James Kelcourse (R-Amesbury)
Phone: 617-722-2130
Email: james.kelcourse@mahouse.gov 

Representative James Cantwell (D-Marshfield)
Phone: 617-722-2140
Email: James.Cantwell@mahouse.gov  

Representative Josh Cutler (D-Duxbury)
Phone: 617-722-2014
Email: Josh.Cutler@mahouse.gov           

Representative Jay Livingstone (D-Boston)
Phone: 617-722-2396
Email: Jay.Livingstone@mahouse.gov   

Representative Donald Berthiaume, Jr (R-Spencer)
Phone: 617-722-2090
Email: Donald.Berthiaume@mahouse.gov           

IN THIS ARTICLE
Massachusetts Ivory
TRENDING NOW
H.R. 127 – A Bill Designed to Express Hostility Toward Law-Abiding Gun Owners

News  

Thursday, February 11, 2021

H.R. 127 – A Bill Designed to Express Hostility Toward Law-Abiding Gun Owners

All gun control bills share the same basic goal: a world in which fewer people own firearms. Some bills simply ban certain types of firearms or ammunition outright. Others place obstacles in the path of ...

Anti-gun Senators and Mayors Push Biden on Executive Gun Controls

News  

Monday, February 22, 2021

Anti-gun Senators and Mayors Push Biden on Executive Gun Controls

Following a year filled with the COVID-19 pandemic and widespread civil unrest, Americans are in no rush to enact further gun controls. According to data from a January Gallup poll, 42 percent of Americans are satisfied ...

NRA Victory in Washington Court of Appeals

News  

Monday, February 22, 2021

NRA Victory in Washington Court of Appeals

The National Rifle Association's Institute for Legislative Action applauds a decision by the Washington Court of Appeals today that upheld the state's preemption law and struck down a pair of local ordinances that restricted the ...

Indiana: House Passes Right-To-Carry Bill

Monday, February 22, 2021

Indiana: House Passes Right-To-Carry Bill

Today, the House passed House Bill 1369 by a vote of 65-31 and sent it on to the Senate for further consideration.

Friday, February 5, 2021

Florida Alert! H.R. 127 - Federal Gun Control Proposal

Much is being said about H.R. 127 By Shelia Jackson Lee (D-TX) 117th Congress and we have had many folks contacting us seeking information. 

Biden Begins Gun Control Push

News  

Tuesday, February 16, 2021

Biden Begins Gun Control Push

On Sunday, President Biden used the three-year anniversary of the criminal attack in Parkland, Florida to call “on Congress to enact commonsense gun law reforms, including requiring background checks on all gun sales, banning assault weapons ...

Judge Allows Canadian Case that Seeks Mandatory “Smart Gun” Tech to Proceed

News  

Sunday, February 21, 2021

Judge Allows Canadian Case that Seeks Mandatory “Smart Gun” Tech to Proceed

This month, a judge hearing a lawsuit in a Canadian court against U.S. gun maker Smith & Wesson issued a decision that could pave the way for mandatory “smart gun” technology on firearms marketed and sold in ...

Canada’s Liberal Government: More Gun Control!

News  

Monday, February 22, 2021

Canada’s Liberal Government: More Gun Control!

Apparently acting on the impulse that the solution to one irrational gun control proposal is more of the same, Prime Minister Justin Trudeau’s Liberal government introduced a bill with new restrictions and prohibitions on February ...

Illinois: Bills Filed For Gun Registration & to Ban Gun Modifications & Private Transfers

Monday, February 22, 2021

Illinois: Bills Filed For Gun Registration & to Ban Gun Modifications & Private Transfers

Last week, anti-gun legislators filed bills to require registration for many common semi-automatic firearms, ban many firearm modifications, and increase the fee and red tape to apply for a FOID.

Tennessee: NRA-Supported Constitutional Carry Legislation Introduced for 2021 Legislative Session

Monday, February 22, 2021

Tennessee: NRA-Supported Constitutional Carry Legislation Introduced for 2021 Legislative Session

The 2021 fight for Constitutional Carry in the Volunteer State begins today.

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.