Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Massachusetts: Ivory Ban Legislation Pending in Legislature

Monday, April 20, 2015

Massachusetts: Ivory Ban Legislation Pending in Legislature

Please contact members of the respective committees and politely urge them to OPPOSE Senate Bill 440 and House Bill 1275!

S.440, sponsored by Senator Jason Lewis (D-Winchester), and its companion, H.1275, sponsored by Representative Lori Ehrlich (D-Marblehead), are two misguided bills that would prohibit the sale, offer for sale, lease, purchase, trade, barter, distribution or transfer of possession of ivory or ivory product in Massachusetts, absent limited exceptions.  These bills were introduced with the intent of curbing the poaching of elephants in Africa and helping to end the illegal ivory trade.  Unfortunately, they would not accomplish the purported objective and would only have a negative impact on those who possess lawfully acquired ivory.

Illegal trade in wildlife, as well as poaching for meat and products such as horns and tusks, takes its toll on the health and viability of wildlife populations.  Further, it undermines the tremendous sustainability achievements made possible by hunters and other wildlife conservationists in the United States and other parts of the world.  The NRA applauds serious efforts to stop poaching and the illegal ivory trade, but these pieces of legislation will not contribute to that goal.

S.440 and H.1275 would, however, negatively impact those who have no part in these illegal activities.  American collectors, sportsmen, hunters, and recreational shooters have legally purchased firearms that incorporate ivory features for decades.  These include some of America’s most historically significant and collectible guns.  Historically, the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service maintained the position that most ivory in the U.S. has been legally imported and that its sale in the U.S. did not materially contribute to the illegal ivory trade.  Nevertheless, under S.440 and H.1275, the import, sale, purchase, barter, and possession with intent to sell of any ivory (defined to include mammoth ivory), ivory product, rhinoceros horn, or rhinoceros horn product would be prohibited.  NRA is opposed to this legislation because, if implemented, it would prohibit the sale of property that had been acquired legally and in good faith.  Needless to say, property that cannot be sold is radically diminished in value.

While the NRA stands in opposition to the illegal ivory trade and poaching, banning the trade and sale of legally owned, pre-ban ivory will not save one elephant (much less mammoths, ivory from which is covered in the bills, even though the creatures themselves are long extinct).

Please use the information provided below to contact members of the Joint Committee on Judiciary and respectfully urge them to OPPOSE House Bill 1275 and contact members of the Joint Committee on Environment, Natural Resources and Agriculture and respectfully urge them to OPPOSE Senate Bill 440.

Joint Committee on Judiciary:

Senator William Brownsberger (D-Belmont), Chair
Phone: 617-722-1280
Email: William.Brownsberger@masenate.gov    

Senator John Keenan (D-Quincy), Vice Chair
Phone: 617-722-1494
Email: John.Keenan@masenate.gov      

Senator Sonia Chang-Diaz (D-Boston)
Phone: 617-722-1673
Email: Sonia.Chang-Diaz@masenate.gov              

Senator Cynthia Creem (D-Newton)
Phone: 617-722-1639
Email: Cynthia.Creem@masenate.gov  

Senator Patricia Jehlen (D-Somerville)
Phone: 617-722-1578
Email: Patricia.Jehlen@masenate.gov   

Senator Richard Ross (R-Wrentham)
Phone: 617-722-1555
Email: Richard.Ross@masenate.gov       

Representative John Fernandes (D-Milford), Chair
Phone: 617-722-2396
Email: John.Fernandes@mahouse.gov 

Representative Claire Cronin (D-Easton), Vice Chair
Phone: 617-722-2396
Email: Claire.Cronin@mahouse.gov        

Representative Colleen Garry (D-Dracut)
Phone: 617-722-2380
Email: Colleen.Garry@mahouse.gov      

Representative John Velis (D-Westfield)
Phone: 617-722-2582
Email: john.velis@mahouse.gov              

Representative Michael Day (D-Stoneham)
Phone: 617-722-2582
Email: Michael.Day@mahouse.gov         

Representative Paul Tucker (D-Salem)
Phone: 617-722-2400
Email: Paul.Tucker@mahouse.gov          

Representative James Lyons, Jr. (R-Andover)
Phone: 617-722-2460
Email: James.Lyons@mahouse.gov

Representative Jeffrey Roy (D-Franklin)
Phone: 617-722-2020
Email: Jeffrey.Roy@mahouse.gov

Representative Evandro Carvalho (D-Dorchester)
Phone: 617-722-2460
Email: Evandro.Carvalho@mahouse.gov              

Representative Carlos Gonzalez (D-Springfield)
Phone: 617-722-2080
Email: Carlos.Gonzalez@mahouse.gov  

Representative Sheila Harrington (R-Groton)
Phone: 617-722-2305
Email: Sheila.Harrington@mahouse.gov               

 

Environment, Natural Resources and Agriculture Committee:

Senator Anne Gobi (D-Spencer), Chair
Phone: 617-722-1540
Email: anne.gobi@masenate.gov            

Senator Michael Rush (D-West Roxbury), Vice Chair
Phone: 617-722-1348
Email: Mike.Rush@masenate.gov           

Senator James Eldridge (D-Acton)
Phone: 617-722-1120
Email: James.Eldridge@masenate.gov  

Senator James Timilty (D-Walpole)\
Phone: 617 722-1222
Email: James.Timilty@masenate.gov     

Senator Thomas McGee (D-Lynn)
Phone: 617-722-1350
Email: Thomas.McGee@masenate.gov 

Senator Robert Hedlund (R-Weymouth)
Phone: 617-722-1646
Email: Robert.Hedlund@masenate.gov

Representative Paul Schmid, III (D-Westport), Chair
Phone: 617-722-2210
Email: Paul.Schmid@mahouse.gov         

Representative Brian Mannal (D-Barnstable), Vice Chair
Phone: 617-722-2210
Email: Brian.Mannal@mahouse.gov       

Representative Robert Koczera (D-New Bedford)
Phone: 617-722-2582
Email: Robert.Koczera@mahouse.gov   

Representative Carolyn Dykema (D-Holliston)
Phone: 617-722-2680
Email: Carolyn.Dykema@mahouse.gov 

Representative Mary Keefe (D-Worcester)
Phone: 617-722-2210
Email: Mary.Keefe@mahouse.gov          

Representative Christine Barber (D-Somerville)
Phone: 617-722-2430
Email: Christine.Barber@mahouse.gov 

Representative James Kelcourse (R-Amesbury)
Phone: 617-722-2130
Email: james.kelcourse@mahouse.gov 

Representative James Cantwell (D-Marshfield)
Phone: 617-722-2140
Email: James.Cantwell@mahouse.gov  

Representative Josh Cutler (D-Duxbury)
Phone: 617-722-2014
Email: Josh.Cutler@mahouse.gov           

Representative Jay Livingstone (D-Boston)
Phone: 617-722-2396
Email: Jay.Livingstone@mahouse.gov   

Representative Donald Berthiaume, Jr (R-Spencer)
Phone: 617-722-2090
Email: Donald.Berthiaume@mahouse.gov           

IN THIS ARTICLE
Massachusetts Ivory
TRENDING NOW
Washington: Trigger Modification Ban Passes Committee

Tuesday, January 16, 2018

Washington: Trigger Modification Ban Passes Committee

Earlier today, the Washington state Senate Law & Justice Committee passed Senate Bill 5992 out of committee with a 4-3 vote. As drafted, this legislation has overreaching language that would ban modifications commonly made to ...

Eighteen States, Law Enforcement, Doctors, and Firearm Rights Groups File Amicus Briefs in Lawsuit Challenging California 10+ Magazine Ban

Tuesday, January 16, 2018

Eighteen States, Law Enforcement, Doctors, and Firearm Rights Groups File Amicus Briefs in Lawsuit Challenging California 10+ Magazine Ban

On Friday, January 12, several amicus briefs were filed in the NRA and CRPA supported lawsuit challenging California’s restrictions against magazines capable of holding more than 10 rounds. The lawsuit, titled Duncan v. Becerra, challenges California’s ...

Democrats' Exciting New Hope Adheres to Tired Old Anti-Gun Dogma

News  

Friday, January 12, 2018

Democrats' Exciting New Hope Adheres to Tired Old Anti-Gun Dogma

Democrats searching for a standard-bearer in the 2020 presidential election lit on long-time entertainment, media, and publishing figure Oprah Winfrey this week, following a speech Winfrey gave at a televised Hollywood extravaganza.

Virginia: Gun Control Tops New Governor’s Agenda

News  

Friday, January 12, 2018

Virginia: Gun Control Tops New Governor’s Agenda

This week, Virginia Governor McAuliffe and Governor-Elect Ralph Northam outlined their top priorities for the upcoming legislative session, and highlighted expanded background checks for all firearm sales and other transfers (so-called “universal” background checks) as ...

Indiana: Gun Bills Filed

Saturday, January 13, 2018

Indiana: Gun Bills Filed

With the 2018 Indiana legislative session underway, a number of bills affecting your Second Amendment and hunting rights have been filed.

Washington: Substitute Versions of Gun Control Bills to Be Heard

Saturday, January 13, 2018

Washington: Substitute Versions of Gun Control Bills to Be Heard

Last night, anti-gun legislators introduced substitute bills for Senate Bill 5444 and Senate Bill 5463.  These substituted versions will replace the original bills that are scheduled for a public hearing on Monday, January 15th. NRA remains opposed ...

Washington: Senate Law & Justice Committee to Hear Anti-Gun Bills Next Monday

Wednesday, January 10, 2018

Washington: Senate Law & Justice Committee to Hear Anti-Gun Bills Next Monday

On Monday, January 15th at 10:00AM, the Senate Law & Justice Committee is scheduled to hear multiple anti-gun bills.  Testimony will be limited during the hearing, so all NRA members and Second Amendment supporters are strongly ...

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

Gun Laws  

Thursday, January 1, 2015

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

CAUTION: Federal and state firearms laws are subject to frequent change. This summary is not to be considered as legal advice or a restatement of law.

Washington: Gun Control Bill Scheduled for Vote in House Judiciary

Friday, January 12, 2018

Washington: Gun Control Bill Scheduled for Vote in House Judiciary

Next Thursday, January 18th, House Bill 1122 is scheduled for a vote in the House Judiciary Committee. Introduced by Representative Ruth Kagi (D-34) in 2017, HB 1122 received a public hearing last year and a ...

Massachusetts: Your Action Needed on Critical Preemption Bill

Tuesday, January 16, 2018

Massachusetts: Your Action Needed on Critical Preemption Bill

State Representative James Miceli (D-19th Middlesex) will be writing a letter to the Joint Committee on Public Safety and Homeland Security urging them to vote favorably on House Bill 1296 to improve firearms preemption laws ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.