Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Massachusetts: Ivory Ban Legislation Pending in Legislature

Monday, April 20, 2015

Massachusetts: Ivory Ban Legislation Pending in Legislature

Please contact members of the respective committees and politely urge them to OPPOSE Senate Bill 440 and House Bill 1275!

S.440, sponsored by Senator Jason Lewis (D-Winchester), and its companion, H.1275, sponsored by Representative Lori Ehrlich (D-Marblehead), are two misguided bills that would prohibit the sale, offer for sale, lease, purchase, trade, barter, distribution or transfer of possession of ivory or ivory product in Massachusetts, absent limited exceptions.  These bills were introduced with the intent of curbing the poaching of elephants in Africa and helping to end the illegal ivory trade.  Unfortunately, they would not accomplish the purported objective and would only have a negative impact on those who possess lawfully acquired ivory.

Illegal trade in wildlife, as well as poaching for meat and products such as horns and tusks, takes its toll on the health and viability of wildlife populations.  Further, it undermines the tremendous sustainability achievements made possible by hunters and other wildlife conservationists in the United States and other parts of the world.  The NRA applauds serious efforts to stop poaching and the illegal ivory trade, but these pieces of legislation will not contribute to that goal.

S.440 and H.1275 would, however, negatively impact those who have no part in these illegal activities.  American collectors, sportsmen, hunters, and recreational shooters have legally purchased firearms that incorporate ivory features for decades.  These include some of America’s most historically significant and collectible guns.  Historically, the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service maintained the position that most ivory in the U.S. has been legally imported and that its sale in the U.S. did not materially contribute to the illegal ivory trade.  Nevertheless, under S.440 and H.1275, the import, sale, purchase, barter, and possession with intent to sell of any ivory (defined to include mammoth ivory), ivory product, rhinoceros horn, or rhinoceros horn product would be prohibited.  NRA is opposed to this legislation because, if implemented, it would prohibit the sale of property that had been acquired legally and in good faith.  Needless to say, property that cannot be sold is radically diminished in value.

While the NRA stands in opposition to the illegal ivory trade and poaching, banning the trade and sale of legally owned, pre-ban ivory will not save one elephant (much less mammoths, ivory from which is covered in the bills, even though the creatures themselves are long extinct).

Please use the information provided below to contact members of the Joint Committee on Judiciary and respectfully urge them to OPPOSE House Bill 1275 and contact members of the Joint Committee on Environment, Natural Resources and Agriculture and respectfully urge them to OPPOSE Senate Bill 440.

Joint Committee on Judiciary:

Senator William Brownsberger (D-Belmont), Chair
Phone: 617-722-1280
Email: William.Brownsberger@masenate.gov    

Senator John Keenan (D-Quincy), Vice Chair
Phone: 617-722-1494
Email: John.Keenan@masenate.gov      

Senator Sonia Chang-Diaz (D-Boston)
Phone: 617-722-1673
Email: Sonia.Chang-Diaz@masenate.gov              

Senator Cynthia Creem (D-Newton)
Phone: 617-722-1639
Email: Cynthia.Creem@masenate.gov  

Senator Patricia Jehlen (D-Somerville)
Phone: 617-722-1578
Email: Patricia.Jehlen@masenate.gov   

Senator Richard Ross (R-Wrentham)
Phone: 617-722-1555
Email: Richard.Ross@masenate.gov       

Representative John Fernandes (D-Milford), Chair
Phone: 617-722-2396
Email: John.Fernandes@mahouse.gov 

Representative Claire Cronin (D-Easton), Vice Chair
Phone: 617-722-2396
Email: Claire.Cronin@mahouse.gov        

Representative Colleen Garry (D-Dracut)
Phone: 617-722-2380
Email: Colleen.Garry@mahouse.gov      

Representative John Velis (D-Westfield)
Phone: 617-722-2582
Email: john.velis@mahouse.gov              

Representative Michael Day (D-Stoneham)
Phone: 617-722-2582
Email: Michael.Day@mahouse.gov         

Representative Paul Tucker (D-Salem)
Phone: 617-722-2400
Email: Paul.Tucker@mahouse.gov          

Representative James Lyons, Jr. (R-Andover)
Phone: 617-722-2460
Email: James.Lyons@mahouse.gov

Representative Jeffrey Roy (D-Franklin)
Phone: 617-722-2020
Email: Jeffrey.Roy@mahouse.gov

Representative Evandro Carvalho (D-Dorchester)
Phone: 617-722-2460
Email: Evandro.Carvalho@mahouse.gov              

Representative Carlos Gonzalez (D-Springfield)
Phone: 617-722-2080
Email: Carlos.Gonzalez@mahouse.gov  

Representative Sheila Harrington (R-Groton)
Phone: 617-722-2305
Email: Sheila.Harrington@mahouse.gov               

 

Environment, Natural Resources and Agriculture Committee:

Senator Anne Gobi (D-Spencer), Chair
Phone: 617-722-1540
Email: anne.gobi@masenate.gov            

Senator Michael Rush (D-West Roxbury), Vice Chair
Phone: 617-722-1348
Email: Mike.Rush@masenate.gov           

Senator James Eldridge (D-Acton)
Phone: 617-722-1120
Email: James.Eldridge@masenate.gov  

Senator James Timilty (D-Walpole)\
Phone: 617 722-1222
Email: James.Timilty@masenate.gov     

Senator Thomas McGee (D-Lynn)
Phone: 617-722-1350
Email: Thomas.McGee@masenate.gov 

Senator Robert Hedlund (R-Weymouth)
Phone: 617-722-1646
Email: Robert.Hedlund@masenate.gov

Representative Paul Schmid, III (D-Westport), Chair
Phone: 617-722-2210
Email: Paul.Schmid@mahouse.gov         

Representative Brian Mannal (D-Barnstable), Vice Chair
Phone: 617-722-2210
Email: Brian.Mannal@mahouse.gov       

Representative Robert Koczera (D-New Bedford)
Phone: 617-722-2582
Email: Robert.Koczera@mahouse.gov   

Representative Carolyn Dykema (D-Holliston)
Phone: 617-722-2680
Email: Carolyn.Dykema@mahouse.gov 

Representative Mary Keefe (D-Worcester)
Phone: 617-722-2210
Email: Mary.Keefe@mahouse.gov          

Representative Christine Barber (D-Somerville)
Phone: 617-722-2430
Email: Christine.Barber@mahouse.gov 

Representative James Kelcourse (R-Amesbury)
Phone: 617-722-2130
Email: james.kelcourse@mahouse.gov 

Representative James Cantwell (D-Marshfield)
Phone: 617-722-2140
Email: James.Cantwell@mahouse.gov  

Representative Josh Cutler (D-Duxbury)
Phone: 617-722-2014
Email: Josh.Cutler@mahouse.gov           

Representative Jay Livingstone (D-Boston)
Phone: 617-722-2396
Email: Jay.Livingstone@mahouse.gov   

Representative Donald Berthiaume, Jr (R-Spencer)
Phone: 617-722-2090
Email: Donald.Berthiaume@mahouse.gov           

IN THIS ARTICLE
Massachusetts Ivory
TRENDING NOW
Your Members of Congress Need to Hear from You on the Hearing Protection Act of 2017

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Your Members of Congress Need to Hear from You on the Hearing Protection Act of 2017

On Monday, Sen. Mike Crapo (R-ID) – joined by co-sponsors Sens. Jerry Moran (R-KS) and Rand Paul (R-KY) – introduced S. 59, the Hearing Protection Act of 2017 (HPA). Similar legislation was introduced in the ...

National Concealed Carry Reciprocity Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

National Concealed Carry Reciprocity Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them

On January 3rd, Congressman Richard Hudson (R-N.C.8th) introduced H.R. 38, the Concealed Carry Reciprocity Act of 2017, which simply allows lawful firearm carriers from any state to carry a concealed firearm in any other state. The bill ...

Alert: WA State Proposes Draconian Gun Ban Bills

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Alert: WA State Proposes Draconian Gun Ban Bills

Inspired, perhaps, by Oscar Wilde (“Moderation is a fatal thing. Nothing succeeds like excess”), Washington State Attorney General Bob Ferguson has announced two new sweeping gun control bills, with Sen. David Frockt (D-Seattle) and Rep. ...

Supreme Court Asked to Review California’s Restrictive Carry Regime

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Supreme Court Asked to Review California’s Restrictive Carry Regime

On Thursday, the NRA-supported case Peruta v. California took an important step towards restoring the right to bear arms in California.  The plaintiffs in the case, California gun owners and the California Rifle and Pistol ...

The NRA Bids Farewell to Roy Innis, Civil Rights Champion: June 6, 1934 – Jan. 8, 2017

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

The NRA Bids Farewell to Roy Innis, Civil Rights Champion: June 6, 1934 – Jan. 8, 2017

America lost a civil rights icon and a true free thinker with the death of Roy Innis on Jan. 8. For the NRA, his departure was personal. Mr. Innis served on the NRA’s Board of ...

Increase in Violent Crime: National Trend Driven by Local Politics?

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Increase in Violent Crime: National Trend Driven by Local Politics?

The FBI released its Preliminary Semiannual Uniform Crime Report earlier this week and the bad news is that violent crime increased for the second consecutive year.

Virginia: Senate Committee to Hear Numerous Gun Bills Tomorrow

Tuesday, January 17, 2017

Virginia: Senate Committee to Hear Numerous Gun Bills Tomorrow

Tomorrow, January 18, the Senate Courts of Justice is expected to hear and possibly vote on several firearm-related bills.

NRA Applauds the Introduction of the Hearing Protection Act, H.R. 367

News  

Hunting  

Monday, January 9, 2017

NRA Applauds the Introduction of the Hearing Protection Act, H.R. 367

FAIRFAX, Va. – The National Rifle Association Institute for Legislative Action (NRA-ILA) applauded Congressmen Jeff Duncan (SC) and John Carter (TX-31) on Monday for introducing the Hearing Protection Act, an important bill that gives gun owners and sportsmen ...

Jeff Sessions’ Devotion to the Constitution Shines Through in Contentious Confirmation Hearing

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Jeff Sessions’ Devotion to the Constitution Shines Through in Contentious Confirmation Hearing

On January 10 and 11, the U.S. Senate Judiciary Committee held the confirmation hearing for President-elect Donald Trump’s nominee for United States Attorney General, Sen. Jeff Sessions (R-Ala.). Throughout his distinguished career in public service, ...

Kansas: Bill Introduced Attempting to Repeal Pro-Self-Defense Law

Tuesday, January 17, 2017

Kansas: Bill Introduced Attempting to Repeal Pro-Self-Defense Law

In 2013, the Kansas Legislature passed the Public Building Security Act, pro-gun legislation that amended the Personal and Family Protection Act. 

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.