Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

Maryland: REMINDER, Ivory Ban Hearing this Wednesday

Monday, March 2, 2015

Maryland: REMINDER, Ivory Ban Hearing this Wednesday

On Wednesday, March 4, at 1:15 p.m., the Maryland House Judiciary Committee is scheduled to hear House Bill 713.  HB 713 was introduced with the supposed intent of curbing poaching and helping to end the illegal ivory trade.  Unfortunately, HB 713 would accomplish neither of these purported objectives.  The bill would, however, harm those who have no part in these activities; firearm owners, sportsmen, hunters, recreational shooters and gun collectors who have legally purchased firearms (and knives, jewelry and other items) that have incorporated ivory features for decades. 

House Bill 713 would significantly diminish the value of legally obtained firearms containing any ivory, even if that ivory was legally purchased or is a bona fide antique.  This is even stricter than recent federal proposals to further restrict domestic sales of ivory.  If implemented, the proposed ban would make sales of legally acquired ivory and horn products a misdemeanor, with second or subsequent offenses punishable as a felony.

Please plan to attend the hearing on Wednesday and testify in opposition to this bill.  If you are not able to attend, please contact members of the House Judiciary Committee and politely urge them to oppose House Bill 713.  Contact information and location for the House Judiciary Committee is provided below.

House Office Building, Room 101
6 Bladen Street, Annapolis, MD 21401


House Judiciary Committee:

Delegate Joseph F. Vallario, Jr. (D-23B), Chair
Email: joseph.vallario@house.state.md.us
Phone: (410)-841-3488

Delegate Kathleen M. Dumais (D-15), Vice Chair
Email: kathleen.dumais@house.state.md.us
Phone: 410-841-3052

Delegate Curt Anderson (D-43)
Email: curt.anderson@house.state.md.us
Phone: 410-841-3291

Delegate Vanessa E. Atterbeary (D-13)
Email: Vanessa.Atterbeary@house.state.md.us
Phone: 410-841-3471

Delegate Will Campos (D-47B)
Email: Will.Campos@house.state.md.us
Phone: 410-841-3340

Delegate Jill P. Carter (D-41)
Email: jill.carter@house.state.md.us
Phone: 410-841-3268

Delegate John W. E. Cluster, Jr. (R-8)
Email: john.cluster@house.state.md.us
Phone: 410-841-3526

Delegate Frank M. Conaway, Jr. (D-40)
Email: frank.conaway@house.state.md.us
Phone: 410-841-3189

Delegate William Folden (R-3B)
Email: William.Folden@house.state.md.us
Phone: 410-841-3240

Delegate Glen Glass (R-34A)
Email: glen.glass@house.state.md.us
Phone: 410-841-3280

Delegate Jay Jalisi (D-10)
Email: Jay.Jalisi@house.state.md.us
Phone: 410-841-3358

Delegate Trent Kittleman (R-9A)
Email: Trent.Kittleman@house.state.md.us
Phone: 410-841-3556

Delegate Susan K. McComas (R-34B)
Email: susan.mccomas@house.state.md.us
Phone: 410-841-3272

Delegate David Moon (D-20)
Email: David.Moon@house.state.md.us
Phone: 410-841-3474

Delegate Marice Morales (D-19)
Email: Marice.Morales@house.state.md.us
Phone: 410-841-3528

Delegate Neil Parrott (R-2A)
Email: neil.parrott@house.state.md.us
Phone: 410-841-3636

Delegate Deborah C. Rey (R-29B)
Email: Deborah.Rey@house.state.md.us
Phone: 410-841-3227

Delegate Samuel I. Rosenberg (D-41)
Email: samuel.rosenberg@house.state.md.us
Phone: 410-841-3297

Delegate William C. Smith, Jr.(D-20)
Email: Will.Smith@house.state.md.us
Phone: 410-841-3493

Delegate Charles E. Sydnor, III (D-44B)
Email: Charles.Sydnor@house.state.md.us
Phone: 410-841-3802

Delegate Geraldine Valentino-Smith (D-23A)
Email: geraldine.valentino.smith@house.state.md.us
Phone: 410-841-33101

Delegate Brett Wilson (R-2B)
Email: brett.wilson@house.state.md.us
Phone: 410-841-3125

Maryland Ivory

More Like This From Around The NRA


Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.