Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Tennessee: Pro-Gun Legislation Continues to Advance in General Assembly

Thursday, March 20, 2014

This week, multiple NRA-supported bills continued to make their way through the Tennessee General Assembly.  On Tuesday, the Senate Judiciary Committee unanimously passed Senate Bill 2031 and Senate Bill 1672.  Additionally, the Senate Judiciary Committee postponed two other bills -- Senate Bill 1612 and Senate Bill 1774 -- to next week’s committee calendar.

Yesterday, the House Civil Justice Subcommittee passed House Bill 1399, House Bill 1400 and House Bill 1480.  Also yesterday, the House Finance, Ways and Means Subcommittee passed House Bill 1407.

Your action is needed to help pass numerous pro-gun bills.  Please contact committee members and respectfully ask for their support for the following legislation which is scheduled to be considered in their respective committees:

Senate Bill 2031, sponsored by state Senator Joey Hensley (R-28), would remove all grandfathered local ordinances and resolutions enacted before April 8, 1986 relating to the prohibition or regulation of possession, transportation or storage of firearms and firearm ammunition by Handgun Carry Permit (HCP) holders.  The House companion to SB 2031, HB 1483, has already passed in the Tennessee House of Representatives.  SB 2031 has been referred to the Senate Calendar Committee to be scheduled for a Senate floor vote.

Senate Bill 1672 and House Bill 1400, sponsored by state Senator Steve Southerland (R-1) and state Representative Tilman Goins (R-10) respectively, would extend the term or validity of a Tennessee HCP from four to five years.  SB 1672 has been referred to the Senate Finance, Ways and Means Committee due to its positive Fiscal Note.  HB 1400 has been moved to the House Civil Justice Committee.

Senate Bill 1612 and House Bill 1399, sponsored by state Senator Mark Green (R-22) and state Representative Judd Matheny (R-47) respectively, would strengthen the current state firearms preemption statute by giving all authority relating to firearms laws and regulations to the General Assembly.  SB 1612 is scheduled to be heard next week in the Senate Judiciary Committee.  HB 1399 has been referred to the House Civil Justice Committee.

Senate Bill 1774 and House Bill 1480, sponsored by state Senator Mike Bell (R-9) and state Representative Jeremy Faison (R-11) respectively, would allow a law-abiding gun owner to carry a firearm in his or her own vehicle without a handgun carry permit (HCP).  SB 1774 is scheduled to be heard next week in the Senate Judiciary Committee.  HB 1480 has been referred to the House Civil Justice Committee.

House Bill 1407, sponsored by state Representative Tilman Goins (R-10), would allow a HCP holder to carry lawfully a firearm in all state, county and municipal parks.  HB 1407 has been referred to the House Finance, Ways and Means Committee.

Please contact your state Senator and respectfully urge them to vote “YES” on SB 2031. Contact information for your state Senator can be found here.

There is a lot of action in the General Assembly on pro-Second Amendment legislation.  It is important that members of various committees hear from you in support of these bills!  Please contact the committee members below and respectfully urge them to vote “YES” on the following bills:

 

Senate Finance, Ways and Means Committee: SB 1672

Senate Judiciary Committee: SB 1612 and SB 1774

House Civil Justice Committee: HB 1399, HB 1400 and HB 1480

House Finance, Ways and Means Committee: HB 1407

Contact information for all members of these committees is provided below.

  

Senate Finance, Ways and Means Committee:
Senator Randy McNally (R-5), Chairman
(615) 741-6806
Sen.randy.mcnally@capitol.tn.gov
 
Senator Douglas Henry (D-21)
(615) 741-3291
Sen.douglas.henry@capitol.tn.gov
 
Senator Bo Watson (R-11)
(615) 741-3227
Sen.bo.watson@capitol.tn.gov
 
Senator Doug Overbey (R-2)
(615) 741-0981
Sen.doug.overbey@capitol.tn.gov
 
Senator Steven Dickerson (R-20)
(615) 741-6679
Sen.steven.dickerson@capitol.tn.gov
 
Senator Lowe Finney (D-27)
(615) 741-1810
Sen.lowe.finney@capitol.tn.gov 
 
Senator Ferrell Haile (R-18)
(615) 741-1999
Sen.ferrell.haile@capitol.tn.gov
 
Senator Joey Hensley (R-28)
(615) 741-3100
Sen.joey.hensley@capitol.tn.gov
 
Senator Bill Ketron (R-13)
(615) 741-6853
Sen.bill.ketron@capitol.tn.gov
 
Senator Jim Kyle (D-30)
(615) 741-4167
Sen.jim.kyle@capitol.tn.gov 

 
Senator Mark Norris (R-32)
(615) 741-1967
Sen.mark.norris@capitol.tn.gov
 
 
Senate Judiciary Committee:
Senator Brian Kelsey (R-31), Chairman
(615) 741-3036
Sen.brian.kelsey@capitol.tn.gov
 
Senator Doug Overbey (R-22)
(615) 741-0981
Sen.doug.overbey@capitol.tn.gov
 
Senator Stacey Campfield (R-7)
(615) 741-1766
Sen.stacey.campfield@capitol.tn.gov
 
Senator Mike Bell (R-9)
(615) 741-1946
Sen.mike.bell@capitol.tn.gov
 
Senator Lowe Finney (D-27)
(615) 741-1810
Sen.lowe.finney@capitol.tn.gov 
 
Senator Ophelia Ford (D-29)
(615) 741-1767
Sen.ophelia.ford@capitol.tn.gov 
 
Senator Todd Gardenhire (R-10)
(615) 741-6682
Sen.todd.gardenhire@capitol.tn.gov
 
Senator Mark Green (R-22)
(615) 741-2374
Sen.mark.green@capitol.tn.gov
 
Senator John Stevens (R-24)
(615) 741-4576
Sen.john.stevens@capitol.tn.gov
 
 
House Civil Justice Committee:
Representative Jon Lundberg (R-1), Chairman
(615) 741-7623
Rep.jon.lundberg@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Rick Womick (R-34)
(615) 741-2804
Rep.rick.womick@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Mike Carter (R-29)
(615) 741-3025
Rep.mike.carter@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Jim Coley (R-97)
(615) 741-8201
Rep.jim.coley@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative John J. DeBerry JR. (D-90)
(615) 741-2239
Rep.john.deberry@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Vance Dennis (R-71)
(615) 741-2190
Rep.vance.dennis@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Andrew Farmer (R-17)
(615) 741-4419
Rep.andrew.farmer@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Ryan A. Haynes (R-14)
(615) 741-2264
Rep.ryan.haynes@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Sherry Jones (D-59)
(615) 741-2035
Rep.sherry.jones@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Mike Stewart (D-52)
(615) 741-2184
Rep.mike.stewart@capitol.tn.gov
 
 
House Finance, Ways and Means Committee:
Representative Charles Michael Sargent (R-61), Chairman
(615) 741-6808
Rep.charles.sargent@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative David Alexander (D-39)
(615) 741-8695
Rep.david.alexander@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Joe Armstrong (D-15)
(615) 741-0768
Rep.joe.armstrong@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Kevin Brooks (R-24)
(615) 741-1350
Rep.kevin.brooks@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Kent Calfee (R-32)
(615) 741-7658
Rep.kent.calfee@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Karen D. Camper (D-87)
(615) 741-1898
Rep.karen.camper@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Mike Carter (R-29)
(615) 741-3025
Rep.mike.carter@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Barbara Ward Cooper (D-86)
(615) 741-4295
Rep.barbara.cooper@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Craig Fitzhugh (D-82)
(615) 741-2134
Rep.craig.fitzhugh@capitol.tn.gov

 
Representative Steve Hall (R-18)
(615) 741-2287
Rep.steve.hall@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Mike Harrison (R-9)
(615) 741-7480
Rep.mike.harrison@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative David B. Hawk (R-5)
(615) 741-7482
Rep.david.hawk@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Matthew Hill (R-7)
(615) 741-2251
Rep.matthew.hill@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Curtis Johnson (R-68)
(615) 741-4341
Rep.curtis.johnson@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Gerald McCormick (R-26)
(615) 741-2548
Rep.gerald.mccormick@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Steve McDaniel (R-72)
(615) 741-0750
Rep.steve.mcdaniel@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Larry J. Miller (D-88)
(615) 741-4453
Rep.larry.miller@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Gary Odom (D-55)
(615) 741-4410
Rep.gary.odom@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Dennis Edward Roach (R-35)
(615) 741-2534
Rep.dennis.roach@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Johnny Shaw (D-80)
(615) 741-4538
Rep.johnny.shaw@capitol.tn.gov
 

TRENDING NOW
Levi’s Teams with Billionaire Michael Bloomberg to Attack Gun Rights

News  

Friday, September 7, 2018

Levi’s Teams with Billionaire Michael Bloomberg to Attack Gun Rights

Levi Strauss & Co. established its brand in the mid-19th century by selling durable clothing to working-class Americans. As Levi’s signature jeans gained popularity amongst a wider set in the middle of the last century, ...

Who’s BS’ing Now? Gonzalez Argues for Gun Confiscation but Insists She’s “Pro Second Amendment”

News  

Friday, October 12, 2018

Who’s BS’ing Now? Gonzalez Argues for Gun Confiscation but Insists She’s “Pro Second Amendment”

Gun control advocates are constantly looking for the right messenger to push an agenda that boils down to law-abiding Americans giving up their freedoms, their security, and their property without expectation of affecting the behavior ...

Jamie Lee Curtis “Proves” She is Not Anti-gun by Stating her Support for Banning Guns?!?!

News  

Friday, October 12, 2018

Jamie Lee Curtis “Proves” She is Not Anti-gun by Stating her Support for Banning Guns?!?!

Actors and actresses should generally stick to what they know best; repeating the lines others have written for them. Jamie Lee Curtis recently decided to try to explain, in her own words, how much she ...

Round Two: Gun Rights Groups Prevail (Again) in Second Challenge to Firearm Restrictions in Delaware’s State Parks, Forests

News  

Gun Laws  

Friday, October 12, 2018

Round Two: Gun Rights Groups Prevail (Again) in Second Challenge to Firearm Restrictions in Delaware’s State Parks, Forests

Gun rights groups, including the NRA’s Delaware affiliate, the Delaware State Sportsmen’s Association, scored an encore legal victory this week when the Superior Court of the State of Delaware invalidated parts of newly promulgated regulations ...

Senator from Tennessee or Times Square? Bloomberg Hosts Manhattan Fundraiser for Phil Bredesen

News  

Thursday, October 11, 2018

Senator from Tennessee or Times Square? Bloomberg Hosts Manhattan Fundraiser for Phil Bredesen

Is Phil Bredesen running for U.S. Senate to represent Memphis or Manhattan? Rocky Top or Rockefeller Center? Appalachia or the Big Apple? Tennessee voters might wonder after billionaire gun control financier and former-New York City ...

Politics over Data: The Rhode Island Working Group

News  

Friday, October 12, 2018

Politics over Data: The Rhode Island Working Group

Rhode Island Governor Gina Raimondo convened a task force focused on “gun safety” last April, comprised predominantly of members drawn from “the judiciary, the Attorney General’s Office, state and local law enforcement agencies, gun violence prevention ...

Bloomberg Finds Home in Today’s Democratic Party

News  

Friday, October 12, 2018

Bloomberg Finds Home in Today’s Democratic Party

In what observers have pegged as a preparatory step for a presidential run in 2020, on October 10 billionaire gun control financier and former-New York City Mayor Michael Bloomberg registered as a Democrat. Bloomberg ran as ...

Anti-gun Researcher Refutes His Own Anti-gun Conclusion

News  

Friday, October 5, 2018

Anti-gun Researcher Refutes His Own Anti-gun Conclusion

Doctor Garen Wintemute’s latest contribution to “the prevention of firearm violence” comes in the form of a Perspective column published in the New England Journal of Medicine. Wintemute, you may recall, is the Director of ...

Don’t Let Your State’s Governor Mansion Become a Gun-Free Home

News  

Wednesday, October 10, 2018

Don’t Let Your State’s Governor Mansion Become a Gun-Free Home

While Congressional elections will likely get the lion’s share of media coverage leading up to November 6, gun owners know that threats to our Right to Keep and Bear Arms do not only emanate from ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.