Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Tennessee: Pro-Gun Legislation Continues to Advance in General Assembly

Thursday, March 20, 2014

This week, multiple NRA-supported bills continued to make their way through the Tennessee General Assembly.  On Tuesday, the Senate Judiciary Committee unanimously passed Senate Bill 2031 and Senate Bill 1672.  Additionally, the Senate Judiciary Committee postponed two other bills -- Senate Bill 1612 and Senate Bill 1774 -- to next week’s committee calendar.

Yesterday, the House Civil Justice Subcommittee passed House Bill 1399, House Bill 1400 and House Bill 1480.  Also yesterday, the House Finance, Ways and Means Subcommittee passed House Bill 1407.

Your action is needed to help pass numerous pro-gun bills.  Please contact committee members and respectfully ask for their support for the following legislation which is scheduled to be considered in their respective committees:

Senate Bill 2031, sponsored by state Senator Joey Hensley (R-28), would remove all grandfathered local ordinances and resolutions enacted before April 8, 1986 relating to the prohibition or regulation of possession, transportation or storage of firearms and firearm ammunition by Handgun Carry Permit (HCP) holders.  The House companion to SB 2031, HB 1483, has already passed in the Tennessee House of Representatives.  SB 2031 has been referred to the Senate Calendar Committee to be scheduled for a Senate floor vote.

Senate Bill 1672 and House Bill 1400, sponsored by state Senator Steve Southerland (R-1) and state Representative Tilman Goins (R-10) respectively, would extend the term or validity of a Tennessee HCP from four to five years.  SB 1672 has been referred to the Senate Finance, Ways and Means Committee due to its positive Fiscal Note.  HB 1400 has been moved to the House Civil Justice Committee.

Senate Bill 1612 and House Bill 1399, sponsored by state Senator Mark Green (R-22) and state Representative Judd Matheny (R-47) respectively, would strengthen the current state firearms preemption statute by giving all authority relating to firearms laws and regulations to the General Assembly.  SB 1612 is scheduled to be heard next week in the Senate Judiciary Committee.  HB 1399 has been referred to the House Civil Justice Committee.

Senate Bill 1774 and House Bill 1480, sponsored by state Senator Mike Bell (R-9) and state Representative Jeremy Faison (R-11) respectively, would allow a law-abiding gun owner to carry a firearm in his or her own vehicle without a handgun carry permit (HCP).  SB 1774 is scheduled to be heard next week in the Senate Judiciary Committee.  HB 1480 has been referred to the House Civil Justice Committee.

House Bill 1407, sponsored by state Representative Tilman Goins (R-10), would allow a HCP holder to carry lawfully a firearm in all state, county and municipal parks.  HB 1407 has been referred to the House Finance, Ways and Means Committee.

Please contact your state Senator and respectfully urge them to vote “YES” on SB 2031. Contact information for your state Senator can be found here.

There is a lot of action in the General Assembly on pro-Second Amendment legislation.  It is important that members of various committees hear from you in support of these bills!  Please contact the committee members below and respectfully urge them to vote “YES” on the following bills:

 

Senate Finance, Ways and Means Committee: SB 1672

Senate Judiciary Committee: SB 1612 and SB 1774

House Civil Justice Committee: HB 1399, HB 1400 and HB 1480

House Finance, Ways and Means Committee: HB 1407

Contact information for all members of these committees is provided below.

  

Senate Finance, Ways and Means Committee:
Senator Randy McNally (R-5), Chairman
(615) 741-6806
Sen.randy.mcnally@capitol.tn.gov
 
Senator Douglas Henry (D-21)
(615) 741-3291
Sen.douglas.henry@capitol.tn.gov
 
Senator Bo Watson (R-11)
(615) 741-3227
Sen.bo.watson@capitol.tn.gov
 
Senator Doug Overbey (R-2)
(615) 741-0981
Sen.doug.overbey@capitol.tn.gov
 
Senator Steven Dickerson (R-20)
(615) 741-6679
Sen.steven.dickerson@capitol.tn.gov
 
Senator Lowe Finney (D-27)
(615) 741-1810
Sen.lowe.finney@capitol.tn.gov 
 
Senator Ferrell Haile (R-18)
(615) 741-1999
Sen.ferrell.haile@capitol.tn.gov
 
Senator Joey Hensley (R-28)
(615) 741-3100
Sen.joey.hensley@capitol.tn.gov
 
Senator Bill Ketron (R-13)
(615) 741-6853
Sen.bill.ketron@capitol.tn.gov
 
Senator Jim Kyle (D-30)
(615) 741-4167
Sen.jim.kyle@capitol.tn.gov 

 
Senator Mark Norris (R-32)
(615) 741-1967
Sen.mark.norris@capitol.tn.gov
 
 
Senate Judiciary Committee:
Senator Brian Kelsey (R-31), Chairman
(615) 741-3036
Sen.brian.kelsey@capitol.tn.gov
 
Senator Doug Overbey (R-22)
(615) 741-0981
Sen.doug.overbey@capitol.tn.gov
 
Senator Stacey Campfield (R-7)
(615) 741-1766
Sen.stacey.campfield@capitol.tn.gov
 
Senator Mike Bell (R-9)
(615) 741-1946
Sen.mike.bell@capitol.tn.gov
 
Senator Lowe Finney (D-27)
(615) 741-1810
Sen.lowe.finney@capitol.tn.gov 
 
Senator Ophelia Ford (D-29)
(615) 741-1767
Sen.ophelia.ford@capitol.tn.gov 
 
Senator Todd Gardenhire (R-10)
(615) 741-6682
Sen.todd.gardenhire@capitol.tn.gov
 
Senator Mark Green (R-22)
(615) 741-2374
Sen.mark.green@capitol.tn.gov
 
Senator John Stevens (R-24)
(615) 741-4576
Sen.john.stevens@capitol.tn.gov
 
 
House Civil Justice Committee:
Representative Jon Lundberg (R-1), Chairman
(615) 741-7623
Rep.jon.lundberg@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Rick Womick (R-34)
(615) 741-2804
Rep.rick.womick@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Mike Carter (R-29)
(615) 741-3025
Rep.mike.carter@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Jim Coley (R-97)
(615) 741-8201
Rep.jim.coley@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative John J. DeBerry JR. (D-90)
(615) 741-2239
Rep.john.deberry@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Vance Dennis (R-71)
(615) 741-2190
Rep.vance.dennis@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Andrew Farmer (R-17)
(615) 741-4419
Rep.andrew.farmer@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Ryan A. Haynes (R-14)
(615) 741-2264
Rep.ryan.haynes@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Sherry Jones (D-59)
(615) 741-2035
Rep.sherry.jones@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Mike Stewart (D-52)
(615) 741-2184
Rep.mike.stewart@capitol.tn.gov
 
 
House Finance, Ways and Means Committee:
Representative Charles Michael Sargent (R-61), Chairman
(615) 741-6808
Rep.charles.sargent@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative David Alexander (D-39)
(615) 741-8695
Rep.david.alexander@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Joe Armstrong (D-15)
(615) 741-0768
Rep.joe.armstrong@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Kevin Brooks (R-24)
(615) 741-1350
Rep.kevin.brooks@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Kent Calfee (R-32)
(615) 741-7658
Rep.kent.calfee@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Karen D. Camper (D-87)
(615) 741-1898
Rep.karen.camper@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Mike Carter (R-29)
(615) 741-3025
Rep.mike.carter@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Barbara Ward Cooper (D-86)
(615) 741-4295
Rep.barbara.cooper@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Craig Fitzhugh (D-82)
(615) 741-2134
Rep.craig.fitzhugh@capitol.tn.gov

 
Representative Steve Hall (R-18)
(615) 741-2287
Rep.steve.hall@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Mike Harrison (R-9)
(615) 741-7480
Rep.mike.harrison@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative David B. Hawk (R-5)
(615) 741-7482
Rep.david.hawk@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Matthew Hill (R-7)
(615) 741-2251
Rep.matthew.hill@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Curtis Johnson (R-68)
(615) 741-4341
Rep.curtis.johnson@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Gerald McCormick (R-26)
(615) 741-2548
Rep.gerald.mccormick@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Steve McDaniel (R-72)
(615) 741-0750
Rep.steve.mcdaniel@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Larry J. Miller (D-88)
(615) 741-4453
Rep.larry.miller@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Gary Odom (D-55)
(615) 741-4410
Rep.gary.odom@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Dennis Edward Roach (R-35)
(615) 741-2534
Rep.dennis.roach@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Johnny Shaw (D-80)
(615) 741-4538
Rep.johnny.shaw@capitol.tn.gov
 

TRENDING NOW
California: DOJ Issues “Notice of Modification” to Proposed Ammunition Background Check Regulations

Thursday, April 18, 2019

California: DOJ Issues “Notice of Modification” to Proposed Ammunition Background Check Regulations

Today, the California Department of Justice issued a “Notice of Modification” to their proposed regulations regarding the soon to be implemented ammunition background check procedures. As a result of these changes, a second 15-day public ...

Heeee’s Baaack: Bill Clinton Peddles Gun Control on a Wish and a Lie

News  

Friday, April 19, 2019

Heeee’s Baaack: Bill Clinton Peddles Gun Control on a Wish and a Lie

Proving there is no statute of limitations on political opportunism, this week former President Bill Clinton used the occasion of the twentieth anniversary of the tragic school shooting in Littleton, Colo. to pen an op-ed pushing ...

Maine: Firearm Seizure Bill Heads To Judiciary Committee

Wednesday, April 17, 2019

Maine: Firearm Seizure Bill Heads To Judiciary Committee

On April 22nd, the Maine Judiciary Committee will hold a hearing on Legislative Document 1312, which would allow for firearms to be seized and Second Amendment rights to be suspended without due process. 

Indiana: Important Self-Defense Bill Passes Legislature, On to Governor

Monday, April 22, 2019

Indiana: Important Self-Defense Bill Passes Legislature, On to Governor

On April 22nd, both chambers of the Indiana General Assembly voted to concur with the amendments made to House Bill 1284 during the conference committee process.  HB 1284 has been amended to now include many ...

New York Times Admits Privately-Funded “Gun Violence” Research is a Thing

News  

Friday, April 19, 2019

New York Times Admits Privately-Funded “Gun Violence” Research is a Thing

The New York Times – the “paper of record” – reports that “Gun Research is Suddenly Hot.” While we’re happy to see the Times has finally acknowledged that “gun research” can survive federal restrictions on taxpayer funded gun control ...

California: Legislature Returns from Spring Break

Sunday, April 21, 2019

California: Legislature Returns from Spring Break

The California Legislature returns from spring recess this week and seven different committees are considering bills that could impact your rights. 

Media Continues to Cause Distorted Fear of School Violence

News  

Friday, April 19, 2019

Media Continues to Cause Distorted Fear of School Violence

When it comes to the wellbeing of today’s youth, one would think that all could agree that provoking unnecessary fear should be avoided. That apparently is not the case, however, when it comes to pushing ...

News  

Monday, April 22, 2019

With Proposed Federal Legislation, Anti-gun Advocates Seek to Impose May-Issue Gun Ownership

In 1987, only ten states had concealed carry laws that treated the Right-to-Carry in a manner consistent with our constitutional right to bear arms. Understanding that the whims and prejudices of government officials are incompatible ...

President to Speak at 148th NRA Annual Meetings and Exhibits in Indianapolis, Indiana on April 26

News  

Monday, April 22, 2019

President to Speak at 148th NRA Annual Meetings and Exhibits in Indianapolis, Indiana on April 26

President Donald J. Trump and Vice President Mike Pence will address NRA members at the NRA Institute for Legislative Action (NRA-ILA) Leadership Forum on Friday, April 26, 2019 in Indianapolis, Indiana. The complete list of ...

Pittsburgh Residents Seek Preliminary Injunction Against Ban on Standard Capacity Magazines

News  

Wednesday, April 17, 2019

Pittsburgh Residents Seek Preliminary Injunction Against Ban on Standard Capacity Magazines

With support from the NRA, gun owners challenging Pittsburgh’s ban on publicly carrying loaded magazines capable of holding more than 10 rounds filed a motion today seeking a preliminary injunction. If the motion is granted, ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.