Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Tennessee: Pro-Gun Legislation Continues to Advance in General Assembly

Thursday, March 20, 2014

This week, multiple NRA-supported bills continued to make their way through the Tennessee General Assembly.  On Tuesday, the Senate Judiciary Committee unanimously passed Senate Bill 2031 and Senate Bill 1672.  Additionally, the Senate Judiciary Committee postponed two other bills -- Senate Bill 1612 and Senate Bill 1774 -- to next week’s committee calendar.

Yesterday, the House Civil Justice Subcommittee passed House Bill 1399, House Bill 1400 and House Bill 1480.  Also yesterday, the House Finance, Ways and Means Subcommittee passed House Bill 1407.

Your action is needed to help pass numerous pro-gun bills.  Please contact committee members and respectfully ask for their support for the following legislation which is scheduled to be considered in their respective committees:

Senate Bill 2031, sponsored by state Senator Joey Hensley (R-28), would remove all grandfathered local ordinances and resolutions enacted before April 8, 1986 relating to the prohibition or regulation of possession, transportation or storage of firearms and firearm ammunition by Handgun Carry Permit (HCP) holders.  The House companion to SB 2031, HB 1483, has already passed in the Tennessee House of Representatives.  SB 2031 has been referred to the Senate Calendar Committee to be scheduled for a Senate floor vote.

Senate Bill 1672 and House Bill 1400, sponsored by state Senator Steve Southerland (R-1) and state Representative Tilman Goins (R-10) respectively, would extend the term or validity of a Tennessee HCP from four to five years.  SB 1672 has been referred to the Senate Finance, Ways and Means Committee due to its positive Fiscal Note.  HB 1400 has been moved to the House Civil Justice Committee.

Senate Bill 1612 and House Bill 1399, sponsored by state Senator Mark Green (R-22) and state Representative Judd Matheny (R-47) respectively, would strengthen the current state firearms preemption statute by giving all authority relating to firearms laws and regulations to the General Assembly.  SB 1612 is scheduled to be heard next week in the Senate Judiciary Committee.  HB 1399 has been referred to the House Civil Justice Committee.

Senate Bill 1774 and House Bill 1480, sponsored by state Senator Mike Bell (R-9) and state Representative Jeremy Faison (R-11) respectively, would allow a law-abiding gun owner to carry a firearm in his or her own vehicle without a handgun carry permit (HCP).  SB 1774 is scheduled to be heard next week in the Senate Judiciary Committee.  HB 1480 has been referred to the House Civil Justice Committee.

House Bill 1407, sponsored by state Representative Tilman Goins (R-10), would allow a HCP holder to carry lawfully a firearm in all state, county and municipal parks.  HB 1407 has been referred to the House Finance, Ways and Means Committee.

Please contact your state Senator and respectfully urge them to vote “YES” on SB 2031. Contact information for your state Senator can be found here.

There is a lot of action in the General Assembly on pro-Second Amendment legislation.  It is important that members of various committees hear from you in support of these bills!  Please contact the committee members below and respectfully urge them to vote “YES” on the following bills:

 

Senate Finance, Ways and Means Committee: SB 1672

Senate Judiciary Committee: SB 1612 and SB 1774

House Civil Justice Committee: HB 1399, HB 1400 and HB 1480

House Finance, Ways and Means Committee: HB 1407

Contact information for all members of these committees is provided below.

  

Senate Finance, Ways and Means Committee:
Senator Randy McNally (R-5), Chairman
(615) 741-6806
Sen.randy.mcnally@capitol.tn.gov
 
Senator Douglas Henry (D-21)
(615) 741-3291
Sen.douglas.henry@capitol.tn.gov
 
Senator Bo Watson (R-11)
(615) 741-3227
Sen.bo.watson@capitol.tn.gov
 
Senator Doug Overbey (R-2)
(615) 741-0981
Sen.doug.overbey@capitol.tn.gov
 
Senator Steven Dickerson (R-20)
(615) 741-6679
Sen.steven.dickerson@capitol.tn.gov
 
Senator Lowe Finney (D-27)
(615) 741-1810
Sen.lowe.finney@capitol.tn.gov 
 
Senator Ferrell Haile (R-18)
(615) 741-1999
Sen.ferrell.haile@capitol.tn.gov
 
Senator Joey Hensley (R-28)
(615) 741-3100
Sen.joey.hensley@capitol.tn.gov
 
Senator Bill Ketron (R-13)
(615) 741-6853
Sen.bill.ketron@capitol.tn.gov
 
Senator Jim Kyle (D-30)
(615) 741-4167
Sen.jim.kyle@capitol.tn.gov 

 
Senator Mark Norris (R-32)
(615) 741-1967
Sen.mark.norris@capitol.tn.gov
 
 
Senate Judiciary Committee:
Senator Brian Kelsey (R-31), Chairman
(615) 741-3036
Sen.brian.kelsey@capitol.tn.gov
 
Senator Doug Overbey (R-22)
(615) 741-0981
Sen.doug.overbey@capitol.tn.gov
 
Senator Stacey Campfield (R-7)
(615) 741-1766
Sen.stacey.campfield@capitol.tn.gov
 
Senator Mike Bell (R-9)
(615) 741-1946
Sen.mike.bell@capitol.tn.gov
 
Senator Lowe Finney (D-27)
(615) 741-1810
Sen.lowe.finney@capitol.tn.gov 
 
Senator Ophelia Ford (D-29)
(615) 741-1767
Sen.ophelia.ford@capitol.tn.gov 
 
Senator Todd Gardenhire (R-10)
(615) 741-6682
Sen.todd.gardenhire@capitol.tn.gov
 
Senator Mark Green (R-22)
(615) 741-2374
Sen.mark.green@capitol.tn.gov
 
Senator John Stevens (R-24)
(615) 741-4576
Sen.john.stevens@capitol.tn.gov
 
 
House Civil Justice Committee:
Representative Jon Lundberg (R-1), Chairman
(615) 741-7623
Rep.jon.lundberg@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Rick Womick (R-34)
(615) 741-2804
Rep.rick.womick@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Mike Carter (R-29)
(615) 741-3025
Rep.mike.carter@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Jim Coley (R-97)
(615) 741-8201
Rep.jim.coley@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative John J. DeBerry JR. (D-90)
(615) 741-2239
Rep.john.deberry@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Vance Dennis (R-71)
(615) 741-2190
Rep.vance.dennis@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Andrew Farmer (R-17)
(615) 741-4419
Rep.andrew.farmer@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Ryan A. Haynes (R-14)
(615) 741-2264
Rep.ryan.haynes@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Sherry Jones (D-59)
(615) 741-2035
Rep.sherry.jones@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Mike Stewart (D-52)
(615) 741-2184
Rep.mike.stewart@capitol.tn.gov
 
 
House Finance, Ways and Means Committee:
Representative Charles Michael Sargent (R-61), Chairman
(615) 741-6808
Rep.charles.sargent@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative David Alexander (D-39)
(615) 741-8695
Rep.david.alexander@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Joe Armstrong (D-15)
(615) 741-0768
Rep.joe.armstrong@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Kevin Brooks (R-24)
(615) 741-1350
Rep.kevin.brooks@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Kent Calfee (R-32)
(615) 741-7658
Rep.kent.calfee@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Karen D. Camper (D-87)
(615) 741-1898
Rep.karen.camper@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Mike Carter (R-29)
(615) 741-3025
Rep.mike.carter@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Barbara Ward Cooper (D-86)
(615) 741-4295
Rep.barbara.cooper@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Craig Fitzhugh (D-82)
(615) 741-2134
Rep.craig.fitzhugh@capitol.tn.gov

 
Representative Steve Hall (R-18)
(615) 741-2287
Rep.steve.hall@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Mike Harrison (R-9)
(615) 741-7480
Rep.mike.harrison@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative David B. Hawk (R-5)
(615) 741-7482
Rep.david.hawk@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Matthew Hill (R-7)
(615) 741-2251
Rep.matthew.hill@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Curtis Johnson (R-68)
(615) 741-4341
Rep.curtis.johnson@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Gerald McCormick (R-26)
(615) 741-2548
Rep.gerald.mccormick@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Steve McDaniel (R-72)
(615) 741-0750
Rep.steve.mcdaniel@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Larry J. Miller (D-88)
(615) 741-4453
Rep.larry.miller@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Gary Odom (D-55)
(615) 741-4410
Rep.gary.odom@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Dennis Edward Roach (R-35)
(615) 741-2534
Rep.dennis.roach@capitol.tn.gov
 
Representative Johnny Shaw (D-80)
(615) 741-4538
Rep.johnny.shaw@capitol.tn.gov
 

TRENDING NOW
Illinois: Committee Passes Bill to Allow Local Infringement of Second Amendment

Wednesday, April 18, 2018

Illinois: Committee Passes Bill to Allow Local Infringement of Second Amendment

The Illinois state Senate could vote on legislation to allow localities to infringe upon Second Amendment rights as early as today.  Senate Bill 2314 was moved to third reading after it had passed the Senate ...

UK Officials Continue to Push Knife/Gun/Cleaning Products Control

News  

Friday, April 13, 2018

UK Officials Continue to Push Knife/Gun/Cleaning Products Control

The UK’s descent into absurdity continued this week as officials announced new efforts to crack down on knives and other potentially dangerous objects. The renewed interest in banning sharp objects stems from a recent spate of killings in London. ...

Unfriendly Skies: Delta CEO Claims Bashing NRA Members is Good Business

News  

Friday, April 13, 2018

Unfriendly Skies: Delta CEO Claims Bashing NRA Members is Good Business

In the wake of the Parkland, Florida, murders, there has been an unusual amount of anti-gun and anti-NRA commentary by private corporations with plenty of problems of their own.   In February, Delta announced it was ending a ...

Pennsylvania: Semi-Auto Ban Legislation to be Introduced

Wednesday, February 28, 2018

Pennsylvania: Semi-Auto Ban Legislation to be Introduced

This week, Senator Wayne Fontana (D-Allegheny) started circulating a co-sponsorship memorandum soliciting members of the Pennsylvania state Senate to support a proposal to ban commonly owned semi-automatic firearms and standard capacity magazines in Pennsylvania.  Please ...

Illinois: Committees to Hear Gun Control

Tuesday, April 17, 2018

Illinois: Committees to Hear Gun Control

Today, the Illinois state House Judiciary-Criminal Committee will be considering a floor amendment that was added to House Bill 1470 to ration the exercise of Second Amendment rights. In addition, the state Senate Judiciary Committee will consider bills that would ...

Trial Judge Mocks the Late Justice Scalia While Upholding Expansive Gun Ban

Second Amendment  

News  

Friday, April 13, 2018

Trial Judge Mocks the Late Justice Scalia While Upholding Expansive Gun Ban

Gun owners have seen many outrageous instances of courts dismissing the importance, if not the very existence, of the individual right to keep and bear arms. But Judge William G. Young of the U.S. District ...

Bailed-out Banks Launch Coordinated Attack on Law-abiding Gun Owners

News  

Friday, April 13, 2018

Bailed-out Banks Launch Coordinated Attack on Law-abiding Gun Owners

There is growing evidence that some of America’s financial elite want to create a world in which America’s public policy decisions emanate from corporate boardrooms in Manhattan rather than from citizens and their elected officials.  ...

The Opposite of Data-Driven Public Policy

News  

Friday, April 13, 2018

The Opposite of Data-Driven Public Policy

The Governor of Vermont, Phil Scott, signed gun control measures earlier this week – adding restrictive new laws including age restrictions on firearms purchases, bans on “high-capacity” (read: standard capacity) magazines, bans on bump stocks, and ...

New Jersey: Senate Committee Approves Gun Control Bills

Wednesday, April 18, 2018

New Jersey: Senate Committee Approves Gun Control Bills

On Monday, the Senate Law & Public Safety Committee approved several gun control bills during a hearing that stretched over five hours. 

Washington: Seattle to Consider Legislation to Make Firearms Unavailable for Self-Defense

Tuesday, March 27, 2018

Washington: Seattle to Consider Legislation to Make Firearms Unavailable for Self-Defense

Seattle Mayor Jenny Durkan and Councilmember M. Lorena González have announced their intention to introduce legislation to impose a one-size-fits-all method of storing firearms as well as punishing victims of theft by requiring reporting of lost or ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.