Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Georgia: Self-Defense Under Attack

Tuesday, January 28, 2014

Barring postponement due to inclement weather, tomorrow at 3:00 p.m., the state Senate Judiciary Non-Civil Committee will hold a hearing on legislation that attacks your inherent right to self-defense.  Senate Bill 280, sponsored by state Senator Vincent Fort (D-39), would repeal an integral portion of Georgia’s self-defense law that allows an individual to defend themselves without a duty to retreat, putting your fundamental right to self-defense in jeopardy.
     
SB 280 is dangerous legislation that stands to empower and benefit violent criminals in their attacks on law-abiding citizens.  Law-abiding citizens should not fear criminal prosecution when they stand their ground and defend themselves without retreating from any place they have a legal right to be.  This type of senseless and politically motivated legislation puts the rights of the criminal before the rights of a potential victim, and must be stopped.

Please contact members of the Senate committee TODAY and urge them to oppose SB 280 as a misguided infringement on your right to self-defense.  Tell them that victims should have the protection of the law, NOT criminals!  This Senate committee members’ contact information is provided below:

Senate Judiciary Non-Civil Committee:

Senator Jesse Stone, Chairman
(404) 463-1314
jesse.stone@senate.ga.gov


Senator William T. Ligon, Jr., Vice-Chairman
(404) 656-0045
william.ligon@senate.ga.gov


Senator Curt Thompson, Secretary
(404) 463-1318
curt@curtthompson.com

       
Senator Joshua McKoon, Ex-Officio
(404) 463-3931
jrm2016@yahoo.com


Senator Charlie Bethel
(404) 651-7738
charlie.bethel@senate.ga.gov


Senator John Crosby
(404) 463-5258
John.Crosby@senate.ga.gov


Senator Vincent Fort
(404) 656-5091
vincent.fort@senate.ga.gov


Senator Hunter Hill
(404) 463-2518
Hunter.Hill@senate.ga.gov


Senator Ronald B. Ramsey, Sr.
(404) 463-2598
ronald.ramsey@senate.ga.gov

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.