Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Tennessee: School Security Act of 2013 Passes Out of Committee

Thursday, April 4, 2013

Yesterday, the House Civil Justice Committee considered House Bill 6, the School Security Act of 2013, and by a voice vote, passed HB 6 in committee.  Sponsored by state Representative Eric Watson (R-22), HB 6 was amended to allow a person employed or assigned to a Local Education Agency to possess and carry a firearm on the grounds of that school if they are current or former law enforcement.  The individual would also be required to have a Tennessee Handgun Carry Permit (HCP) and the written authorization of the director of schools.

Having an armed presence is the last line of defense from a future threat on our schoolchildren.  On multiple occasions, an armed security guard or faculty member has prevented a school shooting from either happening or becoming worse.  One of the most notable cases was Pearl High School in Mississippi in 1997.  A shooter who had already killed two and wounded seven was disarmed by the assistant principal, Joel Myrick, after Joel had retrieved his pistol from his truck.  Had an armed individual already been present, this incident could have ended much sooner.  Certainly another gun control law is not going to protect our school teachers or students. 

House Bill 6 has been referred to the House Education Committee and will be heard on Tuesday, April 9.  Its companion, Senate Bill 570, passed in the Senate Education Committee yesterday and is scheduled for consideration by the Senate Judiciary Committee on Tuesday, April 9.  Please contact members of both committees and politely urge them to support House Bill 6 and Senate Bill 570.

Contact information for House Education Committee and Senate Judiciary Committee is provided below:

House Education Committee considering HB 6:

Representative Harry Brooks (Chairman)
(615) 741-6879
Rep.harry.brooks@capitol.tn.gov

Representative John Forgety (Vice-Chairman)
(615) 741-1725
Rep.john.forgety@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Kevin Brooks
(615) 741-1350
Rep.kevin.brooks@capitol.tn.gov

Representative John DeBerry Jr.
(615) 741-2239
Rep.john.deberry@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Lois DeBerry
(615) 741-3830
Rep.lois.deberry@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Bill Dunn
(615) 741-1721
Rep.bill.dunn@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Roger Kane
(615) 741-4110
Rep.roger.kane@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Ron Lollar
(615) 741-7084
Rep.ron.lollar@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Harold Love, Jr.
(615) 741-3831
Rep.harold.love@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Debra Moody
(615) 741-3774
Rep.debra.moody@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Joe Pitts
(615) 741-2043
Rep.joe.pitts@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Dawn White
(615) 741-6849
Rep.dawn.white@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Mark White
(615) 741-4415
Mark.white@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Ryan Williams
(615) 741-1875
Rep.ryan.williams@capitol.tn.gov

Senate Judiciary Committee considering SB 570:

Senator Brian Kelsey (Chairman)
615-741-3036
sen.brian.kelsey@capitol.tn.gov

Senator Doug Overbey (First Vice Chairman)
615-741-0981
sen.doug.overbey@capitol.tn.gov

Senator Stacey Campfield (Second Vice Chairman)
615-741-1766
sen.stacey.campfield@capitol.tn.gov

Senator Mike Bell
615-741-1946
sen.mike.bell@capitol.tn.gov

Senator Lowe Finney
615-741-1810
sen.lowe.finney@capitol.tn.gov

Senator Ophelia Ford
615-741-1767
sen.ophelia.ford@capitol.tn.gov

Senator Todd Gardenhire
615-741-6682
sen.todd.gardenhire@capitol.tn.gov

Senator Mark Green
615-741-2374
sen.mark.green@capitol.tn.gov

Senator John Stevens
(615) 741-4576
sen.john.stevens@capitol.tn.gov

IN THIS ARTICLE
Tennessee school safety
TRENDING NOW
Kentucky: Committee to Consider Firearm Seizures Without Due Process

Friday, November 15, 2019

Kentucky: Committee to Consider Firearm Seizures Without Due Process

On Friday, November 22nd, the Kentucky state Interim Joint Committee on Judiciary will consider so called “red-flag laws.” Though no legislation has been introduced, such laws usually allow for Second Amendment rights to be suspended ...

NRA's Statement on Second Amendment Sanctuaries

News  

Friday, December 6, 2019

NRA's Statement on Second Amendment Sanctuaries

Read the NRA's statement on Second Amendment sanctuaries. “It is the tyrannical nature of politicians that triggers sanctuary, not the other way around...”

Member Spotlight: Meet the hunter who stands up to those who call her a ‘murderer'

Hunting  

News  

Monday, December 9, 2019

Member Spotlight: Meet the hunter who stands up to those who call her a ‘murderer'

America’s hunters are increasingly under fire by political extremists. Hunter and philanthropic consultant Britt Longoria has been at the center of an online hate campaign by animal rights extremists who don’t understand where their food ...

Bloomberg Bought Virginia Legislators Introduce Confiscatory Gun Ban

News  

Monday, November 25, 2019

Bloomberg Bought Virginia Legislators Introduce Confiscatory Gun Ban

Michael Bloomberg’s bought and paid for Virginia legislators have wasted no time introducing legislation that would make the Old Dominion’s gun laws worse than those of the billionaire’s home state of New York.

Massachusetts: Hearing on Bill to Mandate Doctors Push State’s Anti-Gun Agenda

Saturday, December 7, 2019

Massachusetts: Hearing on Bill to Mandate Doctors Push State’s Anti-Gun Agenda

On December 10th, the Massachusetts Joint Committee on Public Health will hear House Bill 2005 to impose a mandatory requirement for doctors to ask patients about firearms in their homes and for the type of ...

Saturday, December 7, 2019

Florida Alert! NRA's Statement on Second Amendment Sanctuary Cities & Counties

We know a lot of you don't cruise the Internet so we thought this message was important enough to send it directly to you. 

Crooked California: Bad Gun Control Laws Once Again Foster Official Corruption

News  

Monday, December 9, 2019

Crooked California: Bad Gun Control Laws Once Again Foster Official Corruption

In news that will not shock gun rights supporters, the anti-gun utopia of California has provided further evidence that unjust gun control laws invite official corruption. According to a press release from the U.S. Attorney’s ...

Pro-Gun Bill Introduced to Protect Lawful Gun Carriers from Federal-State Legal Trap

News  

Monday, December 9, 2019

Pro-Gun Bill Introduced to Protect Lawful Gun Carriers from Federal-State Legal Trap

Earlier this year, U.S. Sen. Mike Rounds (R-SD) introduced a bill that would protect persons lawfully carrying firearms under state law, including in those states that do not require a carry permit, from being snared ...

Background Checks for Family Members?! Bloomberg-Bought Virginia Legislature Seeks to Ban Private Firearms Transfers

Friday, December 6, 2019

Background Checks for Family Members?! Bloomberg-Bought Virginia Legislature Seeks to Ban Private Firearms Transfers

Michael Bloomberg’s bought-and-paid-for new Virginia majorities have wasted no time introducing an extremist bill that would make the Commonwealth one of the most hostile states for law-abiding gun owners.

Virginia Police Chief Advocates Ban on All Guns at U.S. House “Assault Weapons” Hearing

News  

Friday, September 27, 2019

Virginia Police Chief Advocates Ban on All Guns at U.S. House “Assault Weapons” Hearing

On Sept. 25, the Democrat-led U.S. House Judiciary Committee held a 3 ½ hour “hearing” entitled “Protecting America From Assault Weapons.” That framing of the issue underscored the erroneous notion that Americans need protection from ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.