Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Tennessee: School Security Act of 2013 Passes Out of Committee

Thursday, April 4, 2013

Yesterday, the House Civil Justice Committee considered House Bill 6, the School Security Act of 2013, and by a voice vote, passed HB 6 in committee.  Sponsored by state Representative Eric Watson (R-22), HB 6 was amended to allow a person employed or assigned to a Local Education Agency to possess and carry a firearm on the grounds of that school if they are current or former law enforcement.  The individual would also be required to have a Tennessee Handgun Carry Permit (HCP) and the written authorization of the director of schools.

Having an armed presence is the last line of defense from a future threat on our schoolchildren.  On multiple occasions, an armed security guard or faculty member has prevented a school shooting from either happening or becoming worse.  One of the most notable cases was Pearl High School in Mississippi in 1997.  A shooter who had already killed two and wounded seven was disarmed by the assistant principal, Joel Myrick, after Joel had retrieved his pistol from his truck.  Had an armed individual already been present, this incident could have ended much sooner.  Certainly another gun control law is not going to protect our school teachers or students. 

House Bill 6 has been referred to the House Education Committee and will be heard on Tuesday, April 9.  Its companion, Senate Bill 570, passed in the Senate Education Committee yesterday and is scheduled for consideration by the Senate Judiciary Committee on Tuesday, April 9.  Please contact members of both committees and politely urge them to support House Bill 6 and Senate Bill 570.

Contact information for House Education Committee and Senate Judiciary Committee is provided below:

House Education Committee considering HB 6:

Representative Harry Brooks (Chairman)
(615) 741-6879
Rep.harry.brooks@capitol.tn.gov

Representative John Forgety (Vice-Chairman)
(615) 741-1725
Rep.john.forgety@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Kevin Brooks
(615) 741-1350
Rep.kevin.brooks@capitol.tn.gov

Representative John DeBerry Jr.
(615) 741-2239
Rep.john.deberry@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Lois DeBerry
(615) 741-3830
Rep.lois.deberry@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Bill Dunn
(615) 741-1721
Rep.bill.dunn@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Roger Kane
(615) 741-4110
Rep.roger.kane@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Ron Lollar
(615) 741-7084
Rep.ron.lollar@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Harold Love, Jr.
(615) 741-3831
Rep.harold.love@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Debra Moody
(615) 741-3774
Rep.debra.moody@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Joe Pitts
(615) 741-2043
Rep.joe.pitts@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Dawn White
(615) 741-6849
Rep.dawn.white@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Mark White
(615) 741-4415
Mark.white@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Ryan Williams
(615) 741-1875
Rep.ryan.williams@capitol.tn.gov

Senate Judiciary Committee considering SB 570:

Senator Brian Kelsey (Chairman)
615-741-3036
sen.brian.kelsey@capitol.tn.gov

Senator Doug Overbey (First Vice Chairman)
615-741-0981
sen.doug.overbey@capitol.tn.gov

Senator Stacey Campfield (Second Vice Chairman)
615-741-1766
sen.stacey.campfield@capitol.tn.gov

Senator Mike Bell
615-741-1946
sen.mike.bell@capitol.tn.gov

Senator Lowe Finney
615-741-1810
sen.lowe.finney@capitol.tn.gov

Senator Ophelia Ford
615-741-1767
sen.ophelia.ford@capitol.tn.gov

Senator Todd Gardenhire
615-741-6682
sen.todd.gardenhire@capitol.tn.gov

Senator Mark Green
615-741-2374
sen.mark.green@capitol.tn.gov

Senator John Stevens
(615) 741-4576
sen.john.stevens@capitol.tn.gov

IN THIS ARTICLE
Tennessee school safety
TRENDING NOW
Maryland: Pro-Carry Legislation Pending Final Vote on House Floor

Monday, March 20, 2017

Maryland: Pro-Carry Legislation Pending Final Vote on House Floor

Today, the Maryland House of Delegates passed House Bill 1036 on second reading.

Ohio: Critical Self-Defense Law Takes Effect Today!

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Ohio: Critical Self-Defense Law Takes Effect Today!

Today, March 21, the provisions of the critical self-defense legislation, Sub. Senate Bill 199, go into effect.  Thanks to your active involvement last session, this bill was signed by Governor Kasich last December.  This law ...

Maryland: House Passes Pro-Carry Legislation

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Maryland: House Passes Pro-Carry Legislation

Yesterday, the Maryland House of Delegates passed House Bill 1036 by a 97-41 vote.

Illinois: Gun Seizure Bill Could be Heard by House at Any Time

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Illinois: Gun Seizure Bill Could be Heard by House at Any Time

The Illinois House of Representatives could consider House Bill 2354 at any time.

Arkansas Action Needed: Anti-Gun Bill Which Undermines Concealed Carry Headed to House

Thursday, March 23, 2017

Arkansas Action Needed: Anti-Gun Bill Which Undermines Concealed Carry Headed to House

Today, the Arkansas Senate passed Senate Bill 724, an anti-gun bill which undermines some of the key advancements made with the passage and enactment of House Bill 1249.  SB 724 is now headed to the ...

Idaho: Senate Passes Concealed Carry Amendment

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Idaho: Senate Passes Concealed Carry Amendment

Yesterday, March 20, the Idaho Senate passed House Bill 93 by a 35-0 vote.  Introduced by state Representative Don Cheatham (R-3B) and sponsored on the floor by state Senator Marv Hagedorn (R-14), HB 93 would amend current law ...

Utah: Governor Signs Self-Defense Legislation into Law

Thursday, March 23, 2017

Utah: Governor Signs Self-Defense Legislation into Law

Tonight, Governor Gary Herbert signed House Bill 198 into law.

Nevada: Senate Passes Anti-Gun SB 115

Wednesday, March 22, 2017

Nevada: Senate Passes Anti-Gun SB 115

Yesterday, March 21, the Senate passed anti-gun Senate Bill 115 with a 12-9 vote.  SB 115 was sent to the Assembly for further consideration.  Sponsored by state Senator Moises Denis (D-2), SB 115 would expand the list ...

Texas: Two Important Handgun Carry Bills to be Considered in Senate and House Next Week

Thursday, March 23, 2017

Texas: Two Important Handgun Carry Bills to be Considered in Senate and House Next Week

On Monday, March 27, the Texas Senate will convene after 2:00pm and is expected to take up and consider Senate Bill 16, NRA-backed legislation sponsored by State Sen. Robert Nichols (R-Jacksonville) and Joan Huffman (R-Houston).

Are Ear Plugs Better Than a Suppressor?

Hunting  

News  

Friday, March 17, 2017

Are Ear Plugs Better Than a Suppressor?

On March 13, the gun control group, Americans for Responsible Solutions, posted a tweet claiming:  “FACT:  Silencers do not protect your hearing.”  An infographic accompanied the tweet with the additional claim “You know what protects ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.