Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Tennessee: School Security Act of 2013 Passes Out of Committee

Thursday, April 4, 2013

Yesterday, the House Civil Justice Committee considered House Bill 6, the School Security Act of 2013, and by a voice vote, passed HB 6 in committee.  Sponsored by state Representative Eric Watson (R-22), HB 6 was amended to allow a person employed or assigned to a Local Education Agency to possess and carry a firearm on the grounds of that school if they are current or former law enforcement.  The individual would also be required to have a Tennessee Handgun Carry Permit (HCP) and the written authorization of the director of schools.

Having an armed presence is the last line of defense from a future threat on our schoolchildren.  On multiple occasions, an armed security guard or faculty member has prevented a school shooting from either happening or becoming worse.  One of the most notable cases was Pearl High School in Mississippi in 1997.  A shooter who had already killed two and wounded seven was disarmed by the assistant principal, Joel Myrick, after Joel had retrieved his pistol from his truck.  Had an armed individual already been present, this incident could have ended much sooner.  Certainly another gun control law is not going to protect our school teachers or students. 

House Bill 6 has been referred to the House Education Committee and will be heard on Tuesday, April 9.  Its companion, Senate Bill 570, passed in the Senate Education Committee yesterday and is scheduled for consideration by the Senate Judiciary Committee on Tuesday, April 9.  Please contact members of both committees and politely urge them to support House Bill 6 and Senate Bill 570.

Contact information for House Education Committee and Senate Judiciary Committee is provided below:

House Education Committee considering HB 6:

Representative Harry Brooks (Chairman)
(615) 741-6879
Rep.harry.brooks@capitol.tn.gov

Representative John Forgety (Vice-Chairman)
(615) 741-1725
Rep.john.forgety@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Kevin Brooks
(615) 741-1350
Rep.kevin.brooks@capitol.tn.gov

Representative John DeBerry Jr.
(615) 741-2239
Rep.john.deberry@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Lois DeBerry
(615) 741-3830
Rep.lois.deberry@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Bill Dunn
(615) 741-1721
Rep.bill.dunn@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Roger Kane
(615) 741-4110
Rep.roger.kane@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Ron Lollar
(615) 741-7084
Rep.ron.lollar@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Harold Love, Jr.
(615) 741-3831
Rep.harold.love@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Debra Moody
(615) 741-3774
Rep.debra.moody@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Joe Pitts
(615) 741-2043
Rep.joe.pitts@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Dawn White
(615) 741-6849
Rep.dawn.white@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Mark White
(615) 741-4415
Mark.white@capitol.tn.gov

Representative Ryan Williams
(615) 741-1875
Rep.ryan.williams@capitol.tn.gov

Senate Judiciary Committee considering SB 570:

Senator Brian Kelsey (Chairman)
615-741-3036
sen.brian.kelsey@capitol.tn.gov

Senator Doug Overbey (First Vice Chairman)
615-741-0981
sen.doug.overbey@capitol.tn.gov

Senator Stacey Campfield (Second Vice Chairman)
615-741-1766
sen.stacey.campfield@capitol.tn.gov

Senator Mike Bell
615-741-1946
sen.mike.bell@capitol.tn.gov

Senator Lowe Finney
615-741-1810
sen.lowe.finney@capitol.tn.gov

Senator Ophelia Ford
615-741-1767
sen.ophelia.ford@capitol.tn.gov

Senator Todd Gardenhire
615-741-6682
sen.todd.gardenhire@capitol.tn.gov

Senator Mark Green
615-741-2374
sen.mark.green@capitol.tn.gov

Senator John Stevens
(615) 741-4576
sen.john.stevens@capitol.tn.gov

IN THIS ARTICLE
Tennessee school safety
TRENDING NOW

News  

Tuesday, July 17, 2018

Federal Court Upholds Decision to Block California’s Magazine Ban

A three-judge panel of the 9th Circuit issued a ruling in the case of Duncan v. Becerra on Tuesday upholding a lower court’s decision to suspend enforcement of California’s restriction on the possession of magazines ...

Washington: Seattle City Council Passes Ordinance Making Firearms Unavailable for Self-Defense

Monday, July 16, 2018

Washington: Seattle City Council Passes Ordinance Making Firearms Unavailable for Self-Defense

On July 9th, the Seattle City Council passed a mandatory firearm storage ordinance to restrict the self-defense rights of Seattle residents.  The ordinance, if signed by Mayor Jenny Durkan, will impose a one-size-fits-all method of storing firearms as ...

Anti-gun Efforts to Expand U.N. Regulations to Ammunition Continue

News  

Friday, July 6, 2018

Anti-gun Efforts to Expand U.N. Regulations to Ammunition Continue

Shortly before 4:00am last Saturday morning, the two week long Third Review Conference (RevCon3) on the Programme of Action to Prevent, Combat, and Eradicate the Illicit Trade in Small Arms and Light Weapons in All ...

Justice Scalia Made Clear the Second Amendment and Heller Prohibit “Assault Weapon” Bans

News  

Second Amendment  

Gun Laws  

Friday, July 13, 2018

Justice Scalia Made Clear the Second Amendment and Heller Prohibit “Assault Weapon” Bans

On July 9, Sen. Chris Murphy (D-Conn.) offered the following ham-handed statement in an attempted attack on President Donald Trump’s U.S. Supreme Court nominee, D.C. Circuit Judge Brett Kavanaugh. Brett Kavanaugh is a true Second Amendment radical. ...

Illinois: Governor Signs Two Gun Control Bills

Tuesday, July 17, 2018

Illinois: Governor Signs Two Gun Control Bills

On July 17th, Governor Bruce Rauner signed House Bill 2354 and Senate Bill 3256 into law.

Anti-gun Propaganda Infiltrates History Channel’s Navy SEAL Drama “Six”

News  

Friday, July 20, 2018

Anti-gun Propaganda Infiltrates History Channel’s Navy SEAL Drama “Six”

With shows like “Tales of the Gun” and “Mail Call” with R. Lee Ermey, the History Channel has often served as a place where gun owners can enjoy entertainment free from the anti-gun political messaging ...

Washington: NRA and SAF File Lawsuit Against City of Seattle

Friday, July 20, 2018

Washington: NRA and SAF File Lawsuit Against City of Seattle

On Friday, July 20th, the NRA and the Second Amendment Foundation filed a lawsuit against the City of Seattle, Mayor Jenny Durkan, and others, to invalidate the mandatory firearm storage ordinance that was recently passed by ...

Federal Appellate Court Upholds Decision to Block California’s Magazine Surrender Requirement

News  

Friday, July 20, 2018

Federal Appellate Court Upholds Decision to Block California’s Magazine Surrender Requirement

Last summer, we reported on the welcome news that a federal court had blocked California’s plan to require owners of “large capacity” magazines to surrender or otherwise rid themselves of their formerly-lawful property. As the judge in ...

California: Federal Court Upholds Decision to Block California’s Magazine Ban

Thursday, July 19, 2018

California: Federal Court Upholds Decision to Block California’s Magazine Ban

A three-judge panel of the 9th Circuit issued a ruling in the case of Duncan v. Becerra on Tuesday upholding a lower court’s decision to suspend enforcement of California’s restriction on the possession of magazines ...

Moms Demand Action Reportedly Told Candidate Not to Talk about Support for Gun Ban

News  

Friday, July 20, 2018

Moms Demand Action Reportedly Told Candidate Not to Talk about Support for Gun Ban

Another chapter in the lengthy tale of gun control duplicity was written last week. On July 10, The Washington Free Beacon published a report of a video of Democratic nominee for New York’s rural upstate 21st congressional district Tedra ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.