Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Florida Alert: Want to Buy AMMO? Take an Anger Management Course First

Tuesday, March 19, 2013

DATE:   March 19, 2013
TO:       USF & NRA Members and Friends
FROM:  Marion P. Hammer
             USF Executive Director
             NRA Past President

Under a bill proposed by Senator Audrey Gibson (D-Jacksonville), a person could not purchase any firearms ammunition without presenting a certificate showing that the would be purchaser had completed an Anger Management Course -- which must be renewed every ten years.  Representative Perry Thurston (D-Ft. Lauderdale and also the House Minority Leader)filed the companion bill in the state House.

That is but one of nearly fifty gun control bills filed by Florida Legislators -- all Democrats working to ban your freedom, your rights and your ability to defend yourself and your family. 

SOME OF THE WORST SENATE BILLS

SB-136  Self-defense (Castle Doctrine/Stand Your Ground)
SB-314 Repeal Privacy of Firearm Owners/Doctors
SB-344  Assault or Battery on a Utility Worker
SB-362  Use of Deadly Force (Castle Doctrine/Stand Your Ground)
SB-374  Authority for Gun Control by Local Governments
SB-622 Repeal of Castle Doctrine
SB-1000 Regulation of Firearms
SB-1018 To Allow Local Governments to Adopt Gun
SB-1208  Taxes on Guns & Ammunition
SB-1234 Special 4% Tax on Firearms And Ammunition
SB-1272 Prohibit Firearms Sales at Gun Shows
SB-1426 Trespassing on Railroad Property
SB-1488  Licensure to Carry a Concealed Weapon or Firearm
SB-1582 Assault Weapons/Culpable Negligence
SB-1640 Firearms "Universal Background Check Act"
SB-1670 Assault Weapons and Magazine Ban
SB 1678 Anger Management/Sale of Ammunition

To send an e-mail urging Senate Members to OPPOSE these bills use the e-mail addresses below.

(Block and Copy All email addresses into the "Send To" box of an Email)

Senate E-mail Addresses:

abruzzo.joseph.web@flsenate.gov,
altman.thad.web@flsenate.gov,
bean.aaron.web@flsenate.gov,
benacquisto.lizbeth.web@flsenate.gov,
bradley.rob.web@flsenate.gov,
brandes.jeff.web@flsenate.gov,
braynon.oscar.web@flsenate.gov,
bullard.dwight.web@flsenate.gov,
clemens.jeff.web@flsenate.gov,
dean.charles.web@flsenate.gov,
detert.nancy.web@flsenate.gov,
portilla.miguel.web@flsenate.gov,
evers.greg.web@flsenate.gov,
flores.anitere.web@flsenate.gov,
gaetz.don.web@flsenate.gov,
galvano.bill.web@flsenate.gov,
garcia.rene.web@flsenate.gov,
gardiner.andy.web@flsenate.gov,
gibson.audrey.web@flsenate.gov,
grimsley.denise.web@flsenate.gov,
hays.alan.web@flsenate.gov,
hukill.dorothy.web@flsenate.gov,
joyner.arthenia.web@flsenate.gov,
latvala.jack.web@flsenate.gov,
lee.tom.web@flsenate.gov,
legg.john.web@ flsenate.gov,
margolis.gwen.web@flsenate.gov,
montford.bill.web@flsenate.gov,
negron.joe.web@flsenate.gov,
richter.garrett.web@flsenate.gov,
ring.jeremy.web@flsenate.gov,
sachs.maria.web@flsenate.gov,
simmons.david.web@flsenate.gov,
simpson.wilton.web@flsenate.gov,
smith.chris.web@flsenate.gov,
sobel.eleanor.web@flsenate.gov,
soto.darren.web@flsenate.gov,
stargel.kelli.web@flsenate.gov,
thompson.geraldine.web@flsenate.gov,
thrasher.john.web@flsenate.gov


SOME OF THE WORST HOUSE BILLS

HB-97  Authority for Gun Control by local governments
HB-123 Use of Deadly Force (Castle Doctrine/Stand Your Ground)
HB-325 Sales Taxes on Guns & Ammunition/School Safety
HB-327 Creates Trust Fund for Guns & Ammunition Taxes
HB-331 Self-defense (Castle Doctrine/Stand Your Ground)
HB-501 Possession or Discharge of Firearm
HB 511 Assault or Battery on Utility Worker
HB-799 Use of Force in Self-Defense
HB-993 Authority for Gun Control by local governments
HB-1051 Prohibits Firearms Sales at Gun Shows
HB-1209  Special 4% Tax on Firearms And Ammunition
HB-4009 To Repeal of Castle Doctrine
HB-4017 To Repeal Privacy of Firearm Owners/Doctors
HB-1229  Anger Management Course Required to Buy
HB-1343 "Universal Background Check Act"


To send an e-mail urging House Members to OPPOSE these bills use the e-mail addresses below.

(Block and Copy All email addresses into the "Send To" box of an Email)

House E-mail Addresses:

janet.adkins@myfloridahouse.gov,
larry.ahern@myfloridahouse.gov,
ben.albritton@myfloridahouse.gov,
bruce.antone@myfloridahouse.gov,
frank.artiles@myfloridahouse.gov,
dennis.baxley@myfloridahouse.gov,
lori.berman@myfloridahouse.gov,
Halsey.Beshears@myfloridahouse.gov,
michael.bileca@myfloridahouse.gov,
jim.boyd@myfloridahouse.gov,
Randolph.Bracy@myfloridahouse.gov,
jason.brodeur@myfloridahouse.gov,
doug.broxson@myfloridahouse.gov,
matt.caldwell@myfloridahouse.gov,
daphne.campbell@myfloridahouse.gov
Karen.CastorDentel@myfloridahouse.gov,
gwyn.clarke-reed@myfloridahouse.gov,
Mike.Clelland@myfloridahouse.gov,
marti.coley@myfloridahouse.gov,
Neil.Combee@myfloridahouse.gov,
richard.corcoran@myfloridahouse.gov,
steve.crisafulli@myfloridahouse.gov,
janet.cruz@myfloridahouse.gov,
Travis.Cummings@myfloridahouse.gov,
Mark.Danish@myfloridahouse.gov,
daniel.davis@myfloridahouse.gov,
jose.diaz@myfloridahouse.gov,
Manny.Diaz@myfloridahouse.gov,
Dwight.Dudley@myfloridahouse.gov,
Dane.Eagle@myfloridahouse.gov,
Katie.Edwards@myfloridahouse.gov,
mike.fasano@myfloridahouse.gov,
Heather.Fitzenhagen@myfloridahouse.gov,
clay.ford@myfloridahouse.gov,
erik.fresen@myfloridahouse.gov,
reggie.fullwood@myfloridahouse.gov,
matt.gaetz@myfloridahouse.gov,
joe.gibbons@myfloridahouse.gov,
eddy.gonzalez@myfloridahouse.gov,
tom.goodson@myfloridahouse.gov,
james.grant@myfloridahouse.gov,
bill.hager@myfloridahouse.gov,
gayle.harrell@myfloridahouse.gov,
doug.holder@myfloridahouse.gov,
Dave.Hood@myfloridahouse.gov,
ed.hooper@myfloridahouse.gov,
matt.hudson@myfloridahouse.gov,
Travis.Hutson@myfloridahouse.gov,
clay.ingram@myfloridahouse.gov,
mia.jones@myfloridahouse.gov,
Shevrin.Jones@myfloridahouse.gov,
Dave.Kerner@myfloridahouse.gov,
Mike.LaRosa@myfloridahouse.gov,
Larry.Lee@myfloridahouse.gov,
MaryLynn.Magar@myfloridahouse.gov,
debbie.mayfield@myfloridahouse.gov,
charles.mcburney@myfloridahouse.gov,
Kionne.McGhee@myfloridahouse.gov,
seth.mckeel@myfloridahouse.gov,
larry.metz@myfloridahouse.gov,
george.moraitis@myfloridahouse.gov,
Jared.Moskowitz@myfloridahouse.gov,
bryan.nelson@myfloridahouse.gov,
jeanette.nunez@myfloridahouse.gov,
marlene.otoole@myfloridahouse.gov,
jose.oliva@myfloridahouse.gov,
mark.pafford@myfloridahouse.gov,
kathleen.passidomo@myfloridahouse.gov,
jimmy.patronis@myfloridahouse.gov,
keith.perry@myfloridahouse.gov,
Kathleen.Peters@myfloridahouse.gov,
Cary.Pigman@myfloridahouse.gov,
ray.pilon@myfloridahouse.gov,
elizabeth.porter@myfloridahouse.gov,
Bobby.Powell@myfloridahouse.gov,
steve.precourt@myfloridahouse.gov,
Sharon.Pritchett@myfloridahouse.gov,
Jake.Raburn@myfloridahouse.gov,
kevin.rader@myfloridahouse.gov,
Ricardo.Rangel@myfloridahouse.gov,
Holly.Raschein@myfloridahouse.gov,
Dan.Raulerson@myfloridahouse.gov,
lake.ray@myfloridahouse.gov,
betty.reed@myfloridahouse.gov,
michelle.rehwinkel@myfloridahouse.gov,
ronald.renuart@myfloridahouse.gov,
David.Richardson@myfloridahouse.gov,
ken.roberson@myfloridahouse.gov,
Ray.Rodrigues@myfloridahouse.gov,
Jose.Rodriguez@myfloridahouse.gov,
hazelle.rogers@myfloridahouse.gov,
pat.rooney@myfloridahouse.gov,
darryl.rouson@myfloridahouse.gov,
David.Santiago@myfloridahouse.gov,
Joe.Saunders@myfloridahouse.gov,
robert.schenck@myfloridahouse.gov,
elaine.schwartz@myfloridahouse.gov,
irving.slosberg@myfloridahouse.gov,
jimmie.smith@myfloridahouse.gov,
Ross.Spano@myfloridahouse.gov,
cynthia.stafford@myfloridahouse.gov,
Richard.Stark@myfloridahouse.gov,
greg.steube@myfloridahouse.gov,
Linda.Stewart@myfloridahouse.gov,
Charlie.Stone@myfloridahouse.gov,
dwayne.taylor@myfloridahouse.gov,
perry.thurston@myfloridahouse.gov,
john.tobia@myfloridahouse.gov,
Victor.Torres@myfloridahouse.gov,
carlos.trujillo@myfloridahouse.gov,
charles.vanzant@myfloridahouse.gov,
jim.waldman@myfloridahouse.gov,
barbara.watson@myfloridahouse.gov,
Clovis.Watson@myfloridahouse.gov,
will.weatherford@myfloridahouse.gov,
alan.williams@myfloridahouse.gov,
john.wood@myfloridahouse.gov,
ritch.workman@myfloridahouse.gov,
dana.young@myfloridahouse.gov,
Carl.Zimmerman@myfloridahouse.gov

TRENDING NOW
Kentucky: Committee to Consider Firearm Seizures Without Due Process

Friday, November 15, 2019

Kentucky: Committee to Consider Firearm Seizures Without Due Process

On Friday, November 22nd, the Kentucky state Interim Joint Committee on Judiciary will consider so called “red-flag laws.” Though no legislation has been introduced, such laws usually allow for Second Amendment rights to be suspended ...

NRA's Statement on Second Amendment Sanctuaries

News  

Friday, December 6, 2019

NRA's Statement on Second Amendment Sanctuaries

Read the NRA's statement on Second Amendment sanctuaries. “It is the tyrannical nature of politicians that triggers sanctuary, not the other way around...”

Virginia Police Chief Advocates Ban on All Guns at U.S. House “Assault Weapons” Hearing

News  

Friday, September 27, 2019

Virginia Police Chief Advocates Ban on All Guns at U.S. House “Assault Weapons” Hearing

On Sept. 25, the Democrat-led U.S. House Judiciary Committee held a 3 ½ hour “hearing” entitled “Protecting America From Assault Weapons.” That framing of the issue underscored the erroneous notion that Americans need protection from ...

Bloomberg Bought Virginia Legislators Introduce Confiscatory Gun Ban

News  

Monday, November 25, 2019

Bloomberg Bought Virginia Legislators Introduce Confiscatory Gun Ban

Michael Bloomberg’s bought and paid for Virginia legislators have wasted no time introducing legislation that would make the Old Dominion’s gun laws worse than those of the billionaire’s home state of New York.

Background Checks for Family Members?! Bloomberg-Bought Virginia Legislature Seeks to Ban Private Firearms Transfers

Friday, December 6, 2019

Background Checks for Family Members?! Bloomberg-Bought Virginia Legislature Seeks to Ban Private Firearms Transfers

Michael Bloomberg’s bought-and-paid-for new Virginia majorities have wasted no time introducing an extremist bill that would make the Commonwealth one of the most hostile states for law-abiding gun owners.

Monday, August 19, 2019

Florida Alert! "Assault Weapons" Ban Amendment Bans ALL SEMIAUTOMATIC RIFLES AND SHOTGUNS

The so-called "assault weapons" ban that is proposed for a constitutional amendment to be on the 2020 Election Ballot bans the possession of: “any semiautomatic rifle or shotgun CAPABLE of holding more than ten (10) rounds ...

NRA Files Joint Legal Challenge Against Firearm Storage Initiative Petition

Wednesday, November 27, 2019

NRA Files Joint Legal Challenge Against Firearm Storage Initiative Petition

On Friday, the National Rifle Association announced the filing of a joint legal challenge with the Oregon Hunters Association to contest Oregon Initiative Petition 40, which seeks to impose sweeping restrictions on the storage of ...

Joe Biden Wants to Ban 9mm Pistols

News  

Monday, November 25, 2019

Joe Biden Wants to Ban 9mm Pistols

A week after he told voters that the Second Amendment doesn’t protect “a magazine with a hundred clips in it,” 2020 Democratic Presidential Candidate Joe Biden offered supporters more of his singular brand of anti-gun ...

Massachusetts: Hearing on Bill to Mandate Doctors Push State’s Anti-Gun Agenda

Saturday, December 7, 2019

Massachusetts: Hearing on Bill to Mandate Doctors Push State’s Anti-Gun Agenda

On December 10th, the Massachusetts Joint Committee on Public Health will hear House Bill 2005 to impose a mandatory requirement for doctors to ask patients about firearms in their homes and for the type of ...

NRA-Supported Case Heard by Supreme Court

News  

Tuesday, December 3, 2019

NRA-Supported Case Heard by Supreme Court

The National Rifle Association’s Institute for Legislative Action (NRA-ILA) says this week’s Supreme Court hearing on a New York City gun control law could ultimately strengthen the ability of law-abiding citizens to exercise their Second ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.