NRA Explore
APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Florida Alert: Want to Buy AMMO? Take an Anger Management Course First

Tuesday, March 19, 2013

DATE:   March 19, 2013
TO:       USF & NRA Members and Friends
FROM:  Marion P. Hammer
             USF Executive Director
             NRA Past President

Under a bill proposed by Senator Audrey Gibson (D-Jacksonville), a person could not purchase any firearms ammunition without presenting a certificate showing that the would be purchaser had completed an Anger Management Course -- which must be renewed every ten years.  Representative Perry Thurston (D-Ft. Lauderdale and also the House Minority Leader)filed the companion bill in the state House.

That is but one of nearly fifty gun control bills filed by Florida Legislators -- all Democrats working to ban your freedom, your rights and your ability to defend yourself and your family. 

SOME OF THE WORST SENATE BILLS

SB-136  Self-defense (Castle Doctrine/Stand Your Ground)
SB-314 Repeal Privacy of Firearm Owners/Doctors
SB-344  Assault or Battery on a Utility Worker
SB-362  Use of Deadly Force (Castle Doctrine/Stand Your Ground)
SB-374  Authority for Gun Control by Local Governments
SB-622 Repeal of Castle Doctrine
SB-1000 Regulation of Firearms
SB-1018 To Allow Local Governments to Adopt Gun
SB-1208  Taxes on Guns & Ammunition
SB-1234 Special 4% Tax on Firearms And Ammunition
SB-1272 Prohibit Firearms Sales at Gun Shows
SB-1426 Trespassing on Railroad Property
SB-1488  Licensure to Carry a Concealed Weapon or Firearm
SB-1582 Assault Weapons/Culpable Negligence
SB-1640 Firearms "Universal Background Check Act"
SB-1670 Assault Weapons and Magazine Ban
SB 1678 Anger Management/Sale of Ammunition

To send an e-mail urging Senate Members to OPPOSE these bills use the e-mail addresses below.

(Block and Copy All email addresses into the "Send To" box of an Email)

Senate E-mail Addresses:

abruzzo.joseph.web@flsenate.gov,
altman.thad.web@flsenate.gov,
bean.aaron.web@flsenate.gov,
benacquisto.lizbeth.web@flsenate.gov,
bradley.rob.web@flsenate.gov,
brandes.jeff.web@flsenate.gov,
braynon.oscar.web@flsenate.gov,
bullard.dwight.web@flsenate.gov,
clemens.jeff.web@flsenate.gov,
dean.charles.web@flsenate.gov,
detert.nancy.web@flsenate.gov,
portilla.miguel.web@flsenate.gov,
evers.greg.web@flsenate.gov,
flores.anitere.web@flsenate.gov,
gaetz.don.web@flsenate.gov,
galvano.bill.web@flsenate.gov,
garcia.rene.web@flsenate.gov,
gardiner.andy.web@flsenate.gov,
gibson.audrey.web@flsenate.gov,
grimsley.denise.web@flsenate.gov,
hays.alan.web@flsenate.gov,
hukill.dorothy.web@flsenate.gov,
joyner.arthenia.web@flsenate.gov,
latvala.jack.web@flsenate.gov,
lee.tom.web@flsenate.gov,
legg.john.web@ flsenate.gov,
margolis.gwen.web@flsenate.gov,
montford.bill.web@flsenate.gov,
negron.joe.web@flsenate.gov,
richter.garrett.web@flsenate.gov,
ring.jeremy.web@flsenate.gov,
sachs.maria.web@flsenate.gov,
simmons.david.web@flsenate.gov,
simpson.wilton.web@flsenate.gov,
smith.chris.web@flsenate.gov,
sobel.eleanor.web@flsenate.gov,
soto.darren.web@flsenate.gov,
stargel.kelli.web@flsenate.gov,
thompson.geraldine.web@flsenate.gov,
thrasher.john.web@flsenate.gov


SOME OF THE WORST HOUSE BILLS

HB-97  Authority for Gun Control by local governments
HB-123 Use of Deadly Force (Castle Doctrine/Stand Your Ground)
HB-325 Sales Taxes on Guns & Ammunition/School Safety
HB-327 Creates Trust Fund for Guns & Ammunition Taxes
HB-331 Self-defense (Castle Doctrine/Stand Your Ground)
HB-501 Possession or Discharge of Firearm
HB 511 Assault or Battery on Utility Worker
HB-799 Use of Force in Self-Defense
HB-993 Authority for Gun Control by local governments
HB-1051 Prohibits Firearms Sales at Gun Shows
HB-1209  Special 4% Tax on Firearms And Ammunition
HB-4009 To Repeal of Castle Doctrine
HB-4017 To Repeal Privacy of Firearm Owners/Doctors
HB-1229  Anger Management Course Required to Buy
HB-1343 "Universal Background Check Act"


To send an e-mail urging House Members to OPPOSE these bills use the e-mail addresses below.

(Block and Copy All email addresses into the "Send To" box of an Email)

House E-mail Addresses:

janet.adkins@myfloridahouse.gov,
larry.ahern@myfloridahouse.gov,
ben.albritton@myfloridahouse.gov,
bruce.antone@myfloridahouse.gov,
frank.artiles@myfloridahouse.gov,
dennis.baxley@myfloridahouse.gov,
lori.berman@myfloridahouse.gov,
Halsey.Beshears@myfloridahouse.gov,
michael.bileca@myfloridahouse.gov,
jim.boyd@myfloridahouse.gov,
Randolph.Bracy@myfloridahouse.gov,
jason.brodeur@myfloridahouse.gov,
doug.broxson@myfloridahouse.gov,
matt.caldwell@myfloridahouse.gov,
daphne.campbell@myfloridahouse.gov
Karen.CastorDentel@myfloridahouse.gov,
gwyn.clarke-reed@myfloridahouse.gov,
Mike.Clelland@myfloridahouse.gov,
marti.coley@myfloridahouse.gov,
Neil.Combee@myfloridahouse.gov,
richard.corcoran@myfloridahouse.gov,
steve.crisafulli@myfloridahouse.gov,
janet.cruz@myfloridahouse.gov,
Travis.Cummings@myfloridahouse.gov,
Mark.Danish@myfloridahouse.gov,
daniel.davis@myfloridahouse.gov,
jose.diaz@myfloridahouse.gov,
Manny.Diaz@myfloridahouse.gov,
Dwight.Dudley@myfloridahouse.gov,
Dane.Eagle@myfloridahouse.gov,
Katie.Edwards@myfloridahouse.gov,
mike.fasano@myfloridahouse.gov,
Heather.Fitzenhagen@myfloridahouse.gov,
clay.ford@myfloridahouse.gov,
erik.fresen@myfloridahouse.gov,
reggie.fullwood@myfloridahouse.gov,
matt.gaetz@myfloridahouse.gov,
joe.gibbons@myfloridahouse.gov,
eddy.gonzalez@myfloridahouse.gov,
tom.goodson@myfloridahouse.gov,
james.grant@myfloridahouse.gov,
bill.hager@myfloridahouse.gov,
gayle.harrell@myfloridahouse.gov,
doug.holder@myfloridahouse.gov,
Dave.Hood@myfloridahouse.gov,
ed.hooper@myfloridahouse.gov,
matt.hudson@myfloridahouse.gov,
Travis.Hutson@myfloridahouse.gov,
clay.ingram@myfloridahouse.gov,
mia.jones@myfloridahouse.gov,
Shevrin.Jones@myfloridahouse.gov,
Dave.Kerner@myfloridahouse.gov,
Mike.LaRosa@myfloridahouse.gov,
Larry.Lee@myfloridahouse.gov,
MaryLynn.Magar@myfloridahouse.gov,
debbie.mayfield@myfloridahouse.gov,
charles.mcburney@myfloridahouse.gov,
Kionne.McGhee@myfloridahouse.gov,
seth.mckeel@myfloridahouse.gov,
larry.metz@myfloridahouse.gov,
george.moraitis@myfloridahouse.gov,
Jared.Moskowitz@myfloridahouse.gov,
bryan.nelson@myfloridahouse.gov,
jeanette.nunez@myfloridahouse.gov,
marlene.otoole@myfloridahouse.gov,
jose.oliva@myfloridahouse.gov,
mark.pafford@myfloridahouse.gov,
kathleen.passidomo@myfloridahouse.gov,
jimmy.patronis@myfloridahouse.gov,
keith.perry@myfloridahouse.gov,
Kathleen.Peters@myfloridahouse.gov,
Cary.Pigman@myfloridahouse.gov,
ray.pilon@myfloridahouse.gov,
elizabeth.porter@myfloridahouse.gov,
Bobby.Powell@myfloridahouse.gov,
steve.precourt@myfloridahouse.gov,
Sharon.Pritchett@myfloridahouse.gov,
Jake.Raburn@myfloridahouse.gov,
kevin.rader@myfloridahouse.gov,
Ricardo.Rangel@myfloridahouse.gov,
Holly.Raschein@myfloridahouse.gov,
Dan.Raulerson@myfloridahouse.gov,
lake.ray@myfloridahouse.gov,
betty.reed@myfloridahouse.gov,
michelle.rehwinkel@myfloridahouse.gov,
ronald.renuart@myfloridahouse.gov,
David.Richardson@myfloridahouse.gov,
ken.roberson@myfloridahouse.gov,
Ray.Rodrigues@myfloridahouse.gov,
Jose.Rodriguez@myfloridahouse.gov,
hazelle.rogers@myfloridahouse.gov,
pat.rooney@myfloridahouse.gov,
darryl.rouson@myfloridahouse.gov,
David.Santiago@myfloridahouse.gov,
Joe.Saunders@myfloridahouse.gov,
robert.schenck@myfloridahouse.gov,
elaine.schwartz@myfloridahouse.gov,
irving.slosberg@myfloridahouse.gov,
jimmie.smith@myfloridahouse.gov,
Ross.Spano@myfloridahouse.gov,
cynthia.stafford@myfloridahouse.gov,
Richard.Stark@myfloridahouse.gov,
greg.steube@myfloridahouse.gov,
Linda.Stewart@myfloridahouse.gov,
Charlie.Stone@myfloridahouse.gov,
dwayne.taylor@myfloridahouse.gov,
perry.thurston@myfloridahouse.gov,
john.tobia@myfloridahouse.gov,
Victor.Torres@myfloridahouse.gov,
carlos.trujillo@myfloridahouse.gov,
charles.vanzant@myfloridahouse.gov,
jim.waldman@myfloridahouse.gov,
barbara.watson@myfloridahouse.gov,
Clovis.Watson@myfloridahouse.gov,
will.weatherford@myfloridahouse.gov,
alan.williams@myfloridahouse.gov,
john.wood@myfloridahouse.gov,
ritch.workman@myfloridahouse.gov,
dana.young@myfloridahouse.gov,
Carl.Zimmerman@myfloridahouse.gov

TRENDING NOW
California: Governor Brown Takes Action on Final Firearm-Related Bills

Monday, September 26, 2016

California: Governor Brown Takes Action on Final Firearm-Related Bills

Today, Governor Brown made his decision on the final firearm-related bills of the 2016 legislative session that made it to his desk.   Governor Brown vetoed two anti-gun bills, AB 450 and SB 1332, and signed ...

Not The Victim Hillary Needs

News  

Tuesday, September 27, 2016

Not The Victim Hillary Needs

This feature appears in the October ‘16 issue of NRA America’s 1st Freedom, one of the official journals of the National Rifle Association. “Why can’t everyone just have their DNA on file? Then it would ...

California: Referendum Update

Tuesday, September 27, 2016

California: Referendum Update

On behalf of the National Rifle Association (NRA), we would like to thank all of the volunteers and individuals who participated in the Veto Gunmageddon ballot referendum qualification effort.  Despite the tremendous efforts of all involved, ...

War on Terror or a War on Guns?

News  

Friday, September 23, 2016

War on Terror or a War on Guns?

Sadiq Khan, the mayor of London, was in New York City recently on an official visit. Commenting on the bombs that exploded while he was in town, he opined that such attacks are now simply ...

Show Your Support—NEW NRA Yard Signs Available!

News  

Friday, September 23, 2016

Show Your Support—NEW NRA Yard Signs Available!

Show your support for NRA and the Second Amendment this election cycle by purchasing an NRA yard sign.  With everything that is at stake this year, including the Presidency, the balance of the U.S. Senate ...

Virginia Politician and Clinton Backer Brands Trump Supporters as “Mentally Deficient”

News  

Friday, September 23, 2016

Virginia Politician and Clinton Backer Brands Trump Supporters as “Mentally Deficient”

With the presidential race tighter than ever as it heads into its final stretch, panicked Hillary Clinton supporters are desperate to find a way to discredit, not just Donald Trump, but anyone who would dare ...

Montana: Bloomberg Targeting Missoula – Your Action Needed NOW!

Friday, September 23, 2016

Montana: Bloomberg Targeting Missoula – Your Action Needed NOW!

On Monday, September 26, the Missoula City Council is scheduled to consider an ordinance that would only create a burden for law-abiding citizens and may turn them into criminals if they unknowingly violate the ordinance.

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

Gun Laws  

Thursday, January 1, 2015

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

CAUTION: Federal and state firearms laws are subject to frequent change. This summary is not to be considered as legal advice or a restatement of law.

News  

Friday, July 1, 2016

California Governor Signs Draconian Gun Control Package into Law

Fairfax, Va.— California Gov. Jerry Brown signed into law on Friday a package of gun bills that were rushed through the state legislature with no regard for proper process. The National Rifle Association Institute for ...

Pennsylvania: Semi-Automatic Rifle Hunting Legislation will go to the House Floor Next Week!

Hunting  

Friday, September 23, 2016

Pennsylvania: Semi-Automatic Rifle Hunting Legislation will go to the House Floor Next Week!

Next week, and important pro-hunting reform bill, Senate Bill 737, may be considered in the House of Representatives.  Please call your state Representative and urge them to vote in favor of Senate Bill 737!

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.