Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

California: Anti-Gun Resolution Fails to Receive Approval from San Diego City Council Committee

Friday, March 15, 2013

Thanks to your telephone calls AND e-mails, an anti-gun resolution that would have urged Congress to support U.S. Senator Dianne Feinstein's anti-gun S. 140, "Assault Weapons Ban of 2013" failed to receive approval from the San Diego City Council Public Safety and Neighborhood Services Committee.  Unfortunately, this fight is not over.  Despite not receiving approval from this committee, the full City Council could still decide to vote in favor of this anti-gun resolution.

Please call AND e-mail Councilmember Lorie Zapf and Mark Kersey to thank them for supporting law-abiding gun owners by voting to oppose this worthless and offensive resolution.  Ask them to continue to support gun owners by opposing this “assault weapons” resolution.  Both Councilmember Lorie Zapf and Mark Kersey can be reached by telephone at (619) 236-6616 and their e-mails are provided below.

Please forward this alert to your family, friends and fellow gun owners in San Diego and urge them to continue to call AND e-mail their city councilmember in opposition to Councilmember Alvarez’s anti-gun resolution should it come before the full city council.  Remind them that the last federal “assault weapons” ban did nothing to reduce California’s gun-related violence, and only hurt law-abiding gun owners.  This revamped “Assault Weapons Ban of 2013” will only result in the same.  The general telephone number for the San Diego City Council is (619) 236-6616 and their e-mail addresses are provided below.


District 1
Council President Pro Tem Sherri Lightner
Email: sherrilightner@sandiego.gov

District 2
Councilmember Kevin Faulconer
Email: kevinfaulconer@sandiego.gov

District 3
Council President Todd Gloria
Email: toddgloria@sandiego.gov

District 4

District 5
Councilmember Mark Kersey
Email: markkersey@sandiego.gov

District 6
Councilmember Lorie Zapf
Email: loriezapf@sandiego.gov

District 7
Councilmember Scott Sherman
Email: scottsherman@sandiego.gov

District 8
Councilmember David Alvarez
Email: davidalvarez@sandiego.gov

District 9
Councilmember Marti Emerald
Email: martiemerald@sandiego.gov


Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.