NRA Explore
APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Kansas: Two Pro-Gun Bills Advance in Topeka

Thursday, March 7, 2013

The Kansas Senate Ethics, Elections and Local Government Committee approved Senate Bill 45, which would prohibit taxpayer funds from being used to promote gun control in any fashion.  SB 45 is now eligible for final approval in the state Senate.  SB 45, introduced by the Senate Federal and State Affairs Committee, is a common sense reform that would help preserve the rights of taxpayers to ensure that public funds are not used to pursue a political agenda against legal products.  Other states allow taxpayer funds to finance expensive advertisement campaigns that demonize perfectly legal products – from everyday consumer products, to firearms and ammunition.   SB 45 would prohibit this practice in Kansas and ensure that public money is not used to put  the rights of law-abiding gun owners in the crosshairs of an agency with a political agenda.  Please contact your state Senator and politely urge his or her support for Senate Bill 45.

In other pro-gun action, the House Federal and State Affairs Committee has scheduled a hearing for legislation that would expand the rights of law-abiding gun owners.  Senate Bill 21, introduced by the Senate Federal and State Affairs Committee, would make a number of technical, but significant improvements to the state Right-to-Carry laws.  This bill has already cleared the Senate and will be heard in the House committee on Wednesday, March 13 at 9:00 am.

SB 21 is a Right-to-Carry reform that would make a number of important changes.  The most substantial change would allow for universal recognition of non-resident carry permits.  In other words, any law-abiding visitor from out-of-state with a valid state-issued carry permit would be allowed to carry a concealed handgun in Kansas.  This change would not only benefit concealed carry permit holders in other states but it will also make it more likely that other states will recognize Kansas’ carry permit.

Also under SB 21, new Kansas residents who hold a valid concealed carry permit from their previous state of residence would be able to instantly apply for a Kansas permit instead of waiting to acquire their official Kansas resident status.  New residents would be granted a temporary “180-day receipt” to carry on their old permit while their application is considered and processed.  The state Attorney General would also be able to create a list of states which meet or exceed Kansas’ requirements and that would automatically qualify for recognition for issuance of a Kansas permit.

Please contact members of the House Federal and State Affairs Committee and urge them to support SB 21 when it is heard next week.  Your NRA-ILA will continue to update you as more details become available.

House Federal and State Affairs Committee:

Representative Arlen Siegfried – Chairman
Phone: 785 368-7166
Email:arlen.siegfreid@house.ks.gov

Representative Steve Brunk – Vice Chairman
Phone: 785 296-7645
Email:steve.brunk@house.ks.gov

Representative Louis Ruiz
Phone: 785 296-7122
Email:louis.ruiz@house.ks.gov

Representative Larry Campbell
Phone: 785 296-7632
Email:larry.campbell@house.ks.gov

Representative J.R. Claeys
Phone: 785 296-7670
Email:jrclaeys@house.ks.gov

Representative Susan Concannon
Phone: 785 296-7677
Email:susan.concannon@house.ks.gov

Representative Ken Corbet
Phone: 785 296-7679
Email:ken.corbet@house.ks.gov

Representative Travis Couture-Lovelady
Phone: 785 296-4683
Email:travis.couture-lovelady@house.ks.gov

Representative Willie Dove
Phone: 785 296-7670
Email:willie.dove@house.ks.gov

Representative John Ewy
Phone: 785 296-7105
Email:john.ewy@house.ks.gov

Representative Shanti Ghandi
Phone: 785 296-7672
Email:shanti.gandhi@house.ks.gov

Representative Broderick Henderson
Phone: 785 296-7697
Email:broderick.henderson@house.ks.gov

Representative Brett Hildabrand
Phone: 785 296-7659
Email:brett.hildabrand@house.ks.gov

Representative Michael Houser
Phone: 785 296-7679
Email:michael.houser@house.ks.gov

Representative Robert Montgomery
Phone: 785 296-7677
Email:bob.montgomery@house.ks.gov

Representative Emily Perry
Phone: 785 296-7669
Email:emily.perry@house.ks.gov

Representative Mike Peterson
Phone: 785 296-7371
Email:michael.peterson@house.ks.gov

Representative Reid Petty
Phone: 785 296-7676
Email:reid.petty@house.ks.gov

Representative Marty Read
Phone: 785 296-7310
Email:marty.read@house.ks.gov

Representative Allan Rothlisberg
Phone: 785 296-7653
Email:allan.rothlisberg@house.ks.gov

Representative Annie Tietze
Phone: 785 296-7668
Email:annie.tietze@house.ks.gov

Representative Ponka-We Victors
Phone: 785 296-7651
Email:ponka-we.victors@house.ks.gov

Representative Troy Waymaster
Phone: 785 296-7672
Email:troy.waymaster@house.ks.gov

TRENDING NOW

Friday, August 28, 2015

Smoke and Mirrors: Seattle Sales Tax

This week, the NRA, the National Shooting Sports Foundation, the Second Amendment Foundation (SAF), firearms retailers, and private ...

Friday, August 28, 2015

Federal Court Finds Due Process Violation in NY County's Confiscated Gun Policy

This week, a federal court ruled that the Nassau County Sheriff’s Department could not rely on its "retention ...

News  

Friday, August 28, 2015

Call Guinness, New Record in Gun Control Stupidity

Despite the best efforts of the Brady Campaign and Michael Bloomberg's Everytown, a small group in suburban Chicago ...

News  

Friday, August 28, 2015

White House, Media Mislead on Crime Trends, Ignore Evidence that Could Save More Lives

Tragedy strikes – and the White House immediately shifts into exploitation mode, trying to use raw emotion to ...

News  

Friday, August 21, 2015

A Decade Later, Remember New Orleans … Gun Confiscation Can (and Has) Happened in America

August 29th marks the 10-year anniversary of when Hurricane Katrina struck New Orleans, La. The memory of the ...

Wednesday, August 26, 2015

California: Los Angeles Will be Sued to Invalidate Newly Passed Ordinance Banning So-Called “Large-Capacity Magazines”

The NRA is supporting a lawsuit challenging the ordinance.  After a two year delay, the Los Angeles City ...

News  

Friday, August 28, 2015

Research Findings a Blow to Anti-gun Academics

For decades, anti-gun academics have attacked firearms and firearm owners by conducting “research” that purportedly offers insight into ...

News  

Friday, August 28, 2015

Walmart Discontinues Selling America’s Most Popular Rifle

Americans acquiring the most popular rifle in the country will now be doing so only from traditional firearm ...

News  

Wednesday, August 26, 2015

Weird Science

As gun owners see all too often, a favored tactic of the gun control crowd is to provide ...

Hunting  

Tuesday, August 25, 2015

Texas: Will You Vote to Protect Your Right to Hunt and Fish in November?

All too often people take for granted basic freedoms until it is too late.  The right to hunt ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.