Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

California: Proposed Anti-Gun Ordinances Placed on the County Board of Supervisors Agenda for First Reading

Friday, March 1, 2013

Two anti-gun ordinances are on the San Francisco County Board of Supervisors Tuesday, March 5, agenda for a vote to pass these ordinances on first reading.   If enacted, these egregious ordinances will only result in innocent law-abiding citizens paying the price for the criminal activities of others and will do absolutely nothing to stop those criminal activities of others.   It is critical that you call AND e-mail your county Supervisor TODAY and urge him or her to OPPOSE these useless anti-gun ordinances.

File 130040 bans "the possession and sale of certain ammunition, including black talon ammunition and ammunition intended exclusively for law enforcement and military purposes."  San Francisco law already prohibits the sale of the ammunition listed in File 130040.  Unfortunately, this proposed ordinance would take that law a step further and ban the possession of these types of ammunition.

File 130039 requires the reporting of ammunition sales of 500 or more rounds.  This ordinance will also do nothing to stop criminal activities.  These reports will only have information on law-abiding competitive and recreational shooters, because they would be the only individuals who regularly buy ammunition in bulk to save money on the large quantities of ammunition they need to improve and maintain their skills.

Please call AND e-mail your county Supervisor TODAY and urge him or her to OPPOSE these useless anti-gun ordinances.   Ask them to instead focus on meaningful measures relating to school safety, mental health issues, marketing of violence as entertainment for our children and the collapse of federal prosecutions of violent criminals.  Don't forget to forward this alert to your family, friends and fellow gun owners in San Francisco County and urge them to do the same.

Please continue to check your e-mail and www.NRAILA.org for updates on this important issue.

Contact information for the county Supervisors is provided below:

District 1

Eric Mar

(415) 554-7410

Eric.L.Mar@sfgov.org

 

District 2

Mark Farrell

(415) 554-7752

Mark.Farrell@sfgov.org

 

District 3

David Chiu – President of the Board

(415) 554-7450

David.Chiu@sfgov.org

 

District 4

Katy Tang

Katy.Tang@sfgov.org

 

District 5

London Breed

(415) 554-7630

London.Breed@sfgov.org

 

District 6

Jane Kim

(415) 554-7970

Jane.Kim@sfgov.org

 

District 7

Norman Yee

(415) 554-6516

Norman.Yee@sfgov.org

 

District 8

Scott Wiener

(415) 554-6968

Scott.Wiener@sfgov.org

 

District 9

David Campos

(415) 554-5144

David.Campos@sfgov.org

 

District 10

Malia Cohen

(415) 554-7670

Malia.Cohen@sfgov.org

 

District 11

John Avalos

(415) 554-6975

John.Avalos@sfgov.org

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.