Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Indiana Governor Mitch Daniels Signs NRA-Backed “Firearm Preemption Reform” and “Firearm Transport Permit Reform” Bills Into Law!

Wednesday, May 11, 2011

Yesterday, Governor Mitch Daniels signed the “Firearm Preemption Reform” bill and the “Firearm Transport Permit Reform” bill into law!

Senate Enrolled Act 292, the “Firearm Preemption Reform” bill, passed the General Assembly on the final day of Indiana’s legislative session.  SEA 292 passed by a 38 to 12 vote in the state Senate and a 77 to 21 margin in the state House.  Senate Bill 292 would mandate a strong and meaningful statewide standard for all firearm laws in Indiana. 

This bill was authored by state Senator Jim Tomes (R-49) and was coauthored by Senators Jim Smith (R-45), Scott Schneider (R-30), Jim Banks (R-17), Brent Waltz (R-36), Brent Steele (R-44), Dennis Kruse (R-14), John Waterman (R-39), Brandt Hershman (R-7), and NRA Board Member Senator Johnny Nugent (R-43).  The measure was sponsored in the House by state Representative Mike Speedy (R-90) and cosponsored by Representatives Sean Eberhart (R-57), Eric Koch (R-65), Heath VanNatter (R-38) and Terry Goodin (D-66).

Senate Enrolled Act 506, the “Firearm Transport Permit Reform” bill, passed in the Indiana Senate by an overwhelming bi-partisan 43 to 7 vote.  This bill then passed in the House of Representatives with comparably strong support in an 84 to 13 vote. This bill would make important reforms to Indiana’s current “transport permit” requirement.  It is currently illegal to transport a handgun in your vehicle without some form of state-issued permit for any reason unless driving from the point of purchase to your home or to your fixed place of business, or from your home or fixed place of business to a gunsmith for repair. 

SEA 506 was authored by state Senator Jim Tomes (R-49) and coauthored by Senators Dennis Kruse (R-14), Jim Smith (R-45), Scott Schneider (R-30), Brent Waltz (R-36), Michael Young (R-35), John Waterman (R-39), Travis Holdman (R-19), Jim Banks (R-17) and NRA Board Member Johnny Nugent (R-43). The measure was sponsored in the House by state Representative Heath VanNatter (R-38) and cosponsored by Representatives Sean Eberhart (R-57) and Robert Morris (R-84).

2011 marked one of the most successful pro-gun legislative sessions in the Hoosier State’s history, with five NRA-backed firearm bills passing in the Indiana General Assembly an being signed into law by Governor Mitch Daniels.

NRA Member communications make a big difference when public officials consider Second Amendment-related legislation!  Thank you for making your voices heard this session, and please consider taking time to thank Governor Daniels, Senate President Pro Tempore David Long (R-16), House Speaker Brian Bosma (R-88) and the authors and sponsors of these gun bills for supporting your Second Amendment rights!

Contact information can be found here for state Senators and here for Representatives.  To contact the Governor’s office please click here and follow the contact link in the middle of the page to send an e-mail. 

More Like This From Around The NRA


Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.