Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Micro-stamping Legislation Placed on Committee Agenda in New York

Friday, April 29, 2011

On Tuesday, May 3, the Assembly Committee on Codes will hear Assembly Bill 1157.  Introduced by state Assemblyman Michelle Schimel (D-16), A1157 would make micro-stamping mandatory on all new semi-automatic pistols sold after January 1, 2013. 

A1157 would require all semi-automatic pistols delivered to any licensed firearms dealer in New York to mechanically stamp an alpha-numeric or geometric code that would identify the make, model and serial number onto the cartridge case when the gun is discharged.  This bill would require models currently available to be redesigned by their manufacturers to have a micro-stamping component, which would vastly increase the cost of these firearms.

Micro-stamping is an unproven technology that is easily defeated with common household tools and the replacement of a few small parts.  If passed, the availability of semi-automatic handguns in New York will be in serious doubt, as manufacturers simply may choose not to build or sell firearms for purchase in the state.  Of course, that is the ultimate goal of this legislation.  Make no mistake, this is a gun ban and it must be stopped.

Please contact members of the Assembly Codes Committee and respectfully ask them to OPPOSE A1157.  Contact information for this committee is listed below.

Assembly Codes Committee:

Assemblyman Joseph Lentol (D-50), Chairman
(518) 455-4477
LentolJ@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Philip Boyle (R-8)
(518) 455-4611
BoyleP@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman James Brennan (D-44)
(518) 455-5377
BrennaJ@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Vivian Cook (D-32)
(518) 455-4203
CookV@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Steven Cymbrowitz (D-45)
(518) 455-5214
CymbroS@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Joe Giglio (R-149)
(518) 455-5241
GiglioJ@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Al Graf (R-5)
(518) 455-5937
GrafA@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Hakeem Jeffries (D-57)
(518) 455-5325
JeffriesH@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Tony Jordan (R-112)
(518) 455-5404
JordanJ@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Rory Lancman (D-25)
(518) 455-5479
LancmanR@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Charles Lavine (D-13)
(518) 455-5456
LavineC@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Michael Montesano (R-15)
(518) 455-4684
MontesanoM@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Daniel O'Donnell (D-69)
(518) 455-5603
OdonnellD@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman N. Nick Perry (D-58)
(518) 455-4166
PerryN@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman J. Gary Pretlow (D-87)
(518) 455-5291
PretloJ@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Edward Ra (R-21)
(518) 455-4627
rae@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Robin Schimminger (D-140)
(518) 455-4767
SchimmR@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Michele Titus (D-31)
(518) 455-5668
TitusM@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Lou Tobacco (R-62)
(518) 455-4495
TobaccoL@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Helene Weinstein (D-41)
(518) 455-5462
WeinsteinH@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Keith L.T. Wright (D-70)
(518) 455-4793
WrightK@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Kenneth Zebrowski (D-94)
(518) 455-5735
ZebrowskiK@assembly.state.ny.us

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.