Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

New York: Please Thank Senators for their Opposition to Micro-stamping Bill

Friday, July 2, 2010

Although the New York State Senate laid aside Senate Bill 6005 and expunged the vote previously taken this session, the possibility remains that lawmakers will come back into session after the holiday weekend, meaning that S6005 could still be brought back up for a vote on the Senate floor.

S6005 would require all semi-automatic handguns delivered to any licensed firearm dealer in New York to mechanically stamp certain information about the firearm (such as the make, model and serial number) onto the cartridge case when the gun is discharged. This bill does not exempt models currently available, making all of these guns illegal for sale in New York unless they are redesigned by their manufacturers, which would vastly increase the cost of these firearms.

Micro-stamping is an unproven technology that is easily defeated with common household tools and the replacement of a few small parts.  If passed, the availability of semi-automatic handguns in New York will be in serious doubt, as manufacturers simply may choose not to build or sell firearms for purchase in the state. Of course, that is the ultimate goal of this legislation.  Make no mistake, this is a gun ban and it must be stopped.

If you haven’t done so already, we urge NRA members to contact the following Senators and THANK them for voting against S6005!

Name

District

Party

Phone

Email

State Senator Kenneth LaValle

1

R

518-455-3121

lavalle@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator John Flanagan

2

R

518-455-2071

flanagan@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Owen Johnson

4

R

518-455-3411

ojohnson@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Carl Marcellino

5

R

518-455-2390

marcelli@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Kemp Hannon

6

R

518-455-2200

hannon@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Charles Fuschillo, Jr.

8

R

518-455-3341

fuschill@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Dean Skelos

9

R

518-455-3171

skelos@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Martin Golden

22

R

518-455-2730

golden@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Andrew Lanza

24

R

518-455-3215

lanza@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator William Larkin

39

R

518-455-2770

larkin@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Vincent Leibell

40

R

518-455-3111

leibell@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Stephen Saland

41

R

518-455-2411

saland@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator John Bonacic

42

R

518-455-3181

bonacic@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Roy McDonald

43

R

518-455-2381

mcdonald@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Hugh Farley

44

R

518-455-2181

farley@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Elizabeth Little

45

R

518-455-2811

little@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Joseph Griffo

47

R

518-455-3334

griffo@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Darrel Aubertine

48

D

518-455-2761

aubertin@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator David Valesky

49

D

518-455-2838

valesky@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator John DeFrancisco

50

R

518-455-3511

jdefranc@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator James Seward

51

R

518-455-3131

seward@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Thomas Libous

52

R

518-455-2677

senator@senatorlibous.com

State Senator George Winner, Jr.

53

R

518-455-2091

winner@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Michael Nozzolio

54

R

518-455-2366

nozzolio@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator James Alesi

55

R

518-455-2015

alesi@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Joseph Robach

56

R

518-455-2909

robach@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Catharine Young

57

R

518-455-3563

cyoung@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator William Stachowski

58

D

518-455-2426

stachows@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Dale Volker

59

R

518-455-3471

volker@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Michael Ranzenhofer

61

R

518-455-3161

ranz@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator George Maziarz

62

R

518-455-2024

maziarz@senate.state.ny.us



TRENDING NOW
Maryland: Pro-Carry Legislation Pending Final Vote on House Floor

Monday, March 20, 2017

Maryland: Pro-Carry Legislation Pending Final Vote on House Floor

Today, the Maryland House of Delegates passed House Bill 1036 on second reading.

Ohio: Critical Self-Defense Law Takes Effect Today!

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Ohio: Critical Self-Defense Law Takes Effect Today!

Today, March 21, the provisions of the critical self-defense legislation, Sub. Senate Bill 199, go into effect.  Thanks to your active involvement last session, this bill was signed by Governor Kasich last December.  This law ...

Maryland: House Passes Pro-Carry Legislation

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Maryland: House Passes Pro-Carry Legislation

Yesterday, the Maryland House of Delegates passed House Bill 1036 by a 97-41 vote.

Illinois: Gun Seizure Bill Could be Heard by House at Any Time

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Illinois: Gun Seizure Bill Could be Heard by House at Any Time

The Illinois House of Representatives could consider House Bill 2354 at any time.

Are Ear Plugs Better Than a Suppressor?

Hunting  

News  

Friday, March 17, 2017

Are Ear Plugs Better Than a Suppressor?

On March 13, the gun control group, Americans for Responsible Solutions, posted a tweet claiming:  “FACT:  Silencers do not protect your hearing.”  An infographic accompanied the tweet with the additional claim “You know what protects ...

Idaho: Senate Passes Concealed Carry Amendment

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Idaho: Senate Passes Concealed Carry Amendment

Yesterday, March 20, the Idaho Senate passed House Bill 93 by a 35-0 vote.  Introduced by state Representative Don Cheatham (R-3B) and sponsored on the floor by state Senator Marv Hagedorn (R-14), HB 93 would amend current law ...

European Parliament Passes Stringent New Gun Controls

News  

Friday, March 17, 2017

European Parliament Passes Stringent New Gun Controls

On March 14, the European Union completed one of the final steps in imposing stringent new gun controls across the political bloc, when the European Parliament approved legislation to alter the EU Firearms Directive by ...

Nevada: Senate Passes Anti-Gun SB 115

Wednesday, March 22, 2017

Nevada: Senate Passes Anti-Gun SB 115

Yesterday, March 21, the Senate passed anti-gun Senate Bill 115 with a 12-9 vote.  SB 115 was sent to the Assembly for further consideration.  Sponsored by state Senator Moises Denis (D-2), SB 115 would expand the list ...

North Dakota: Constitutional/Permitless Carry Bill Passes Committee and Headed to Senate Floor

Monday, March 20, 2017

North Dakota: Constitutional/Permitless Carry Bill Passes Committee and Headed to Senate Floor

Today, the Senate Judiciary Committee recommended do-pass to House Bill 1169 by a 4-2 vote.  HB 1169 could go to the Senate floor as early as tomorrow.  Please contact your state Senator and politely urge them to ...

Pro-gun Bills Introduced to Reform FOPA, Protect Interstate Transport of Firearms for Lawful Use

Gun Laws  

News  

Friday, March 17, 2017

Pro-gun Bills Introduced to Reform FOPA, Protect Interstate Transport of Firearms for Lawful Use

Pro-gun members of Congress have introduced legislation to protect travelers who are transporting firearms interstate for lawful purposes.

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.