Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Micro-Stamping Bill Dealt a Blow in the Empire State

Wednesday, June 16, 2010

Please Continue to Make Your Voices Heard!

In voting against S6005 yesterday, many lawmakers in the New York State Senate exercised common sense and acted according to the will of their constituents.  

S6005 would require all semi-automatic handguns delivered to any licensed firearms dealer in New York to mechanically stamp certain information about the firearm (such as the make, model and serial number) onto the cartridge case when the gun is discharged. This bill does not exempt models currently available, making all of these guns illegal for sale in New York unless they are redesigned by their manufacturers, which would vastly increase the cost of these firearms.

Micro-stamping is an unproven technology that is easily defeated with common household tools and the replacement of a few small parts.  If passed, the availability of semi-automatic handguns in New York will be in serious doubt, as manufacturers simply may choose not to build or sell firearms for purchase in the state. Of course, that is the ultimate goal of this legislation.  Make no mistake, this is a gun ban and it must be stopped. 

S6005 was brought to the floor late yesterday and supporters of micro-stamping failed to garner the 32 votes necessary to pass the bill, coming up two short.  As they came to the end of the roll call, leaders asked for the bill to be "laid aside," which means that it is still a threat.

While yesterday's vote was important, supporters of micro-stamping have vowed to see the bill become law. 
We urge NRA members to contact the following Senators and thank them for their careful consideration of this issue and to urge them for their continued opposition to S6005:

Name

District

Party

Phone

Email

State Senator Kenneth LaValle

1

R

518-455-3121

lavalle@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator John Flanagan

2

R

518-455-2071

flanagan@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Owen Johnson

4

R

518-455-3411

ojohnson@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Carl Marcellino

5

R

518-455-2390

marcelli@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Kemp Hannon

6

R

518-455-2200

hannon@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Charles Fuschillo, Jr.

8

R

518-455-3341

fuschill@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Dean Skelos

9

R

518-455-3171

skelos@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Andrew Lanza

24

R

518-455-3215

lanza@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator William Larkin

39

R

518-455-2770

larkin@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Vincent Leibell

40

R

518-455-3111

leibell@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Stephen Saland

41

R

518-455-2411

saland@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator John Bonacic

42

R

518-455-3181

bonacic@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Roy McDonald

43

R

518-455-2381

mcdonald@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Hugh Farley

44

R

518-455-2181

farley@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Elizabeth Little

45

R

518-455-2811

little@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Joseph Griffo

47

R

518-455-3334

griffo@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator John DeFrancisco

50

R

518-455-3511

jdefranc@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator James Seward

51

R

518-455-3131

seward@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Thomas Libous

52

R

518-455-2677

senator@senatorlibous.com

State Senator George Winner, Jr.

53

R

518-455-2091

winner@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Michael Nozzolio

54

R

518-455-2366

nozzolio@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator James Alesi

55

R

518-455-2015

alesi@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Joseph Robach

56

R

518-455-2909

robach@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Catharine Young

57

R

518-455-3563

cyoung@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Dale Volker

59

R

518-455-3471

volker@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Michael Ranzenhofer

61

R

518-455-3161

ranz@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator George Maziarz

62

R

518-455-2024

maziarz@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator Darrel Aubertine

48

D

518-455-2761

aubertin@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator David Valesky

49

D

518-455-2838

valesky@senate.state.ny.us

State Senator William Stachowski

58

D

518-455-2426

stachows@senate.state.ny.us

TRENDING NOW
Illinois: Senate Passes Legislation that will Close Gun Stores

Thursday, April 27, 2017

Illinois: Senate Passes Legislation that will Close Gun Stores

Today, the Illinois Senate passed an amended version of Senate Bill 1657 by a 30-21 vote.  As amended, SB 1657 would exempt big box stores from its restrictions.

Brace Yourself: ATF Reconsiders Obama-Era Policy on Stabilizing Braces

News  

Gun Laws  

Tuesday, April 25, 2017

Brace Yourself: ATF Reconsiders Obama-Era Policy on Stabilizing Braces

News broke this week that the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF) has reconsidered and “clarified” its Jan. 6, 2015 Open Letter on the use of stabilizing braces as shoulder stocks.

Research Shows Murders are Heavily Concentrated in Small Fraction of Counties

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, April 28, 2017

Research Shows Murders are Heavily Concentrated in Small Fraction of Counties

This week, a new report from the Crime Prevention Research Center (CPRC) revealed just how concentrated murders are in the U.S. Citing county level data from 2014, researchers determined that a small fraction of all counties are ...

West Virginia: Governor Signs Pro-Gun Bills into Law

Thursday, April 27, 2017

West Virginia: Governor Signs Pro-Gun Bills into Law

Late yesterday, Governor Jim Justice signed two important pro-gun bills into law.

NRA-ILA Leadership Forum: President Trump Vows Continued Fight for Freedom

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, April 28, 2017

NRA-ILA Leadership Forum: President Trump Vows Continued Fight for Freedom

That elections have consequences was made crystal clear at this week’s NRA Annual Meeting and Exhibits in Atlanta, GA.  For the first time since President Reagan spoke at the NRA Annual Meeting in 1983, a ...

Press Basks in Self-Pity as President Skips Media Event to Engage with America

News  

Friday, April 28, 2017

Press Basks in Self-Pity as President Skips Media Event to Engage with America

President Trump has a busy schedule this week. On Friday, he becomes the first sitting president since Ronald Reagan in 1983 to address the members of the National Rifle Association during our Annual Meeting and ...

Expanding NYPD Gun License Corruption Scandal Shows Need for Reform

News  

Friday, April 28, 2017

Expanding NYPD Gun License Corruption Scandal Shows Need for Reform

Further scandal hit the New York City Police Department’s License Division this week as federal prosecutors charged four individuals in two separate bribery conspiracies following a wide-ranging corruption investigation concerning the city’s issuance of handgun ...

News  

Monday, April 24, 2017

Lawsuit Filed Against California's Assault Weapons Control Act

The National Rifle Association Institute for Legislative Action (NRA-ILA) today announced it is supporting, along with the California Rifle and Pistol Association (CRPA), an important Second Amendment lawsuit challenging California’s newly expanded Assault Weapons Control ...

EU Council Adopts Gun Control Measures Passed by Parliament

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, April 28, 2017

EU Council Adopts Gun Control Measures Passed by Parliament

On Tuesday, the European Council met in Luxembourg and adopted wide-ranging restrictive revisions to the EU Firearms Directive. The move comes after negotiations between the European Parliament and Council led to a heavily-revised version of ...

Oregon: Anti-Gun Bill Headed to Senate Floor for Vote

Thursday, April 27, 2017

Oregon: Anti-Gun Bill Headed to Senate Floor for Vote

On Monday, May 1, Senate Bill 719 is scheduled for a Senate floor vote.  Based on a California law enacted in 2014, SB 719A would create a so-called “Extreme Risk Protection Order” (ERPO) that could ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.