Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Alabama’s “Worker Protection” Bill Still Needs Your Help!

Friday, February 26, 2010

Please Contact the House Commerce Committee Today!

Yesterday, the Alabama Senate passed Senate Bill 360 by a vote of 26 to 2.  The bill now heads to the House where it awaits a committee assignment.  A special word of thanks to State Senator Roger Bedford (D-6), the bill’s sponsor, for his tireless efforts to pass this important piece of legislation.

SB360 would permit a law-abiding individual to store firearms in a locked motor vehicle while parked on a publicly accessible parking lot controlled by an employer or a business that he or she frequents. This bill would protect your right to keep a firearm in your car for self-defense, hunting, or target shooting before or after work.  An amendment to remove an exemption from SB360 failed by a 14 to 11 vote.   

The House version of SB360, House Bill 364, is still pending action in the House Commerce Committee.

Please contact the members of the House Commerce Committee TODAY and respectfully urge them to support HB364 and pass it out of committee.  Committee information can be found below.

Finally, we would like to express our deepest condolences to the family of
State Representative Warren Beck (R-87) for their loss.  Representative Beck was a strong Second Amendment supporter and he will be missed.   


State Representative Frank McDaniel (D-26), Chairman
State House Phone: (334) 242-7697
District Phone: (256) 582 – 0619
Email:  Frank.McDaniel@alhouse.gov OR legislator@mclo.org

State Representative Alan Harper (D-61), Vice Chairman
State House Phone: (334) 242-7732
Email:  Alan.Harper@alhouse.gov OR aharper@nctv.com

State Representative Gerald Allen (R-62)
State House Phone: (334) 242-7758
Email: Gerald.Allen@alhouse.gov

State Representative DuWayne Bridges (R-38)
State House Phone: (334) 242-7600
Email: DuWayne.Bridges@alhouse.gov

State Representative Bill Dukes (D-08)
State House Phone: (334) 242-7689
District Phone: (256) 260-2146
Email: Bill.Dukes@alhouse.gov OR info@mocold.com

State Representative James Fields (D-12)
State House Phone: (334) 242-7600
Email: James.Fields@alhouse.gov

State Representative David Grimes (R-73)
State House Phone: (334) 242-7707
Email:  David.Grimes@alhouse.gov OR repgrimes@birch.net

State Representative Earl Hilliard (D-60)
State House: (334) 242-7684
Email: Earl.Hilliard@alhouse.gov

State Representative A.J. McCampbell (D-71)
State House: (334) 242-7747
District Phone: (334) 652-6531
Email: AJ.McCampbell@alhouse.gov

State Representative Rod Scott (D-55)
State House: (334) 242-7752
Email: Rod.Scott@alhouse.gov OR scotthrod@yahoo.com

State Representative Lesley Vance (D-80)
Phone: (334) 242-7687
Email: Lesley.Vance@alhouse.gov

State Representative Pebblin Warren (D-82)
State House: (334) 242-7734
Email: Pebblin.Warren@alhouse.gov OR tiger9127@bellsouth.net

State Representative Jack Williams (R-47)
State House Phone: (334) 242-7600
Email: Jack.Williams@alhouse.gov OR jack@jackwilliams.org

State Representative Greg Wren (R-75)
State House Phone: (334) 242-7764
District Phone: (334) 395-0123
Email: Greg.Wren@alhouse.gov OR repgregwren@yahoo.com

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.