Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Tennessee: NRA-Backed Bills Become Law!

Monday, June 15, 2009

Expect Right-to-Carry in Parks to be opposed on the Local Level.
Call Local Legislators Today!

On Tuesday, June 12, House Bill 390 and House Bill 716 became law.

House Bill 390, sponsored by State Representative Henry Fincher (D-42) and State Senator Doug Jackson (D-25), allows handgun carry permit holders to possess or carry a rifle or shotgun with a loaded magazine -- provided the firearm does not have a round in the chamber -- while in a private motor vehicle.

House Bill 716, sponsored by State Representative Frank Niceley (R-17) and State Senator Mae Beavers (R-17), allows any resident who has a valid handgun carry permit to possess a handgun within the boundaries of any state park.  It also allows for permit holders to carry into local parks on September 1, as long as the locality does not opt-out of the law by resolution before that date. Tennessee now joins 31 other states that allow some form of state park carry.

Tennessee’s Metropolitan Council of Nashville and Davidson County has already filed an ordinance that is scheduled to have its first reading tomorrow, Tuesday, June 16 at 6:30 p.m. in the Council Chambers at the Metropolitan Courthouse at One Public Square in Nashville.  Bill No. BL2009-489 brought forth by metro council member Jerry Maynard would prohibit handguns within Metropolitan Government parks (http://www.nashville.gov/parks/locations/parks.htm).  The prohibition on carrying in some local parks will create a confusing patchwork of laws throughout the state.
 

If you cannot attend tomorrow night’s hearing, please contact the Metro Council members listed below (http://www.nashville.gov/council/council_roster.htm) and ask them to reject any prohibitions on carry by law-abiding permit holders in Davidson County parks.  Metro Council members can also be reached through their feedback website at http://www.nashville.gov/council/feedback.aspx.  Please contact Metro Council even if you do not live in Davidson County, as you may frequent one of its beautiful parks.  Please also take the time to contact Mayor Karl Dean’s office, as he has been adamant in support of prohibiting concealed carry in local parks.

Mayor's Office
Mayor Karl Dean  http://www.nashville.gov/mayor/
100 Metro Courthouse
Nashville, TN 37201
Phone (615) 862-6000
FAX (615) 862-6040
Email:  mayor@nashville.gov

Members of the Metropolitan Council 
Diane Neighbors, Vice Mayor and President
(615) 880-3357 and (615) 226-6073
Email:  diane.neighbors@nashville.gov 

Council Members At Large
Tim Garrett
(615) 859-1047 or (615) 351-4175
Email:  Tim.Garrett@nashville.gov

Megan Barry
(615) 291-6737
Email:  Megan.Barry@nashville.gov

Charlie Tygard
(615) 256-7146 or (615) 243-3295
Email:  Charlie.Tygard@nashville.gov

Ronnie Steine
(615) 862-6780 or (615)385-9757
Email:  Ronnie.Steine@nashville.gov

Jerry Maynard
(615) 862-6780
Email:  Jerry.Maynard@nashville.gov

District Council Members
Lonnell Matthews  District 1
(615) 291-6701 or (615) 876-2319
Email:  lonnell.matthews@nashville.gov

Frank Harrison  District 2
(615) 228-7693
Email:  frank.Harrison@nashville.gov

Walter Hunt  District 3
(615) 876-3367
Email:  whuntnash@aol.com

Michael Craddock  District 4
(615) 226-0521
Email:  Michael.craddock@nashville.gov 

Pam Murray  District 5
(615) 248-3556
Email:  pam.murray@nashville.gov 

Mike Jameson  District 6
(615) 227-5940
Email:  mike.jameson@nashville.gov 

Erik Cole  District 7
(615) 627-0956 or (615) 228-1337
Email:  erik.cole@nashville.gov

Karen Bennett  District 8
(615) 228-8107 or (615) 291-6708
Email:  Karen.Bennett@nashville.gov

Jim Forkum  District 9
(615) 868-4164
Email:  jim.forkum@nashville.gov 

Rip Ryman  District 10
(615) 859-0409
Email:  rim.ryman@nashville.gov 

Darren Jernigan  District 11
(615) 291-6711 of (615) 847-8483
Email:  Darren.Jernigan@nashville.gov 

Jim Gotto  District 12
(615) 883-3087
Email:  jim.gotto@nashville.gov

Carl Burch  District 13
(615) 883-3695
Email:  carl.burch@nashville.gov

Bruce Stanley  District 14
(615) 889-6697
Email:  bruce.Stanley@nashville.gov 

Phil Claiborne  District 15
(615) 291-6715 or (615) 889-2907
Email:  phil.Claiborne@nashville.gov 

Anna Page  District 16
(615) 291-6716
Email:  anna.page@nashville.gov 

Sandra Moore  District 17
(615) 386-9246
Email:  Sandra.moore@nashville.gov 

Kristine LaLonde  District 18
(615) 291-6718 or (615) 292-5461
Email:  Kristine.lalonde@nashville.gov

Erica Gilmore  District 19
(615) 862-6780
Email:  Erica.Gilmore@nashville.gov

Buddy Baker  District 20
(615) 356-0714
Email:  buddy.baker@nashville.gov 

Edith Langster  District 21
(615) 862-6780
Email:  edith.langster@nashville.gov

Eric Crafton  District 22
(615) 352-7808
Email:  eric.crafton@nashville.gov

Emily Evans  District 23
(615) 356-6294
Email:  Emily.evans@nashville.gov

Jason Holleman  District 24
(615) 773-6253 or (615) 269-6365
Email:  Jason.holleman@nashville.gov

Sean McGuire  District 25
(615) 291-6725 or (615) 260-2634
Email:  sean.mcguire@nashville.gov

Greg Adkins  District 26
(615) 832-2767
Email:  greg.Adkins@nashville.gov

Randy Foster  District 27
(615) 834-0562
Email:  randy.foster@nashville.gov

Duane Dominy  District 28
(615) 291-6728 or (615) 831-0774
Email:  duane.dominy@nashville.gov

Vivian Wilhoite  District 29
(615) 589-2003
Email:  Vivian.wilhoite@nashville.gov 

Jim Hodge  District 30
(615) 255-2703 ext. 17
Email:  jim.hodge@nashville.gov

Parker Toler  District 31
(615) 376-2952 or (615) 373-1512
Email:  parker.toler@nashville.gov

Sam Coleman  District 32
(615) 641-5168
Email:  sam.coleman@nashville.gov

Robert Duvall  District 33
(615) 291-6733
Email:  Robert.duvall@nashville.gov

Carter Todd  District 34
(615) 316-6186 or (615) 292-2309
Email:  carter.todd@nashville.gov

Bo Mitchell  District 35
(615) 477-6718
Email:  bo.Mitchell@nashville.gov

TRENDING NOW
Washington: Trigger Modification Ban Passes Committee

Tuesday, January 16, 2018

Washington: Trigger Modification Ban Passes Committee

Earlier today, the Washington state Senate Law & Justice Committee passed Senate Bill 5992 out of committee with a 4-3 vote. As drafted, this legislation has overreaching language that would ban modifications commonly made to ...

Washington: Substitute Version of Gun Control Bill Passes House Committee

Friday, January 19, 2018

Washington: Substitute Version of Gun Control Bill Passes House Committee

Yesterday, the House Judiciary Committee passed Substitute House Bill 1122 out of committee on a 7-6 vote.  This bill, which would require gun owners to lock up their firearms or potentially face criminal charges, will ...

Crossing the Line – Firearm Preemption Protection Under Attack

News  

Friday, January 19, 2018

Crossing the Line – Firearm Preemption Protection Under Attack

Gun control groups are fond of describing preemption as a doctrine whereby a state has stripped local governments of their power to regulate guns.

Australia: Queensland’s Labor Party Government Targets MP for Gun Control Heresy

News  

Friday, January 19, 2018

Australia: Queensland’s Labor Party Government Targets MP for Gun Control Heresy

The sorry state of gun politics in Australia was put into stark relief recently, after Liberal National Party (LNP) Queensland Legislative Assembly MP Anthony Perrett took a principled stand in favor of his constituents’ gun rights.

Eighteen States, Law Enforcement, Doctors, and Firearm Rights Groups File Amicus Briefs in Lawsuit Challenging California 10+ Magazine Ban

Tuesday, January 16, 2018

Eighteen States, Law Enforcement, Doctors, and Firearm Rights Groups File Amicus Briefs in Lawsuit Challenging California 10+ Magazine Ban

On Friday, January 12, several amicus briefs were filed in the NRA and CRPA supported lawsuit challenging California’s restrictions against magazines capable of holding more than 10 rounds. The lawsuit, titled Duncan v. Becerra, challenges California’s ...

Washington: House Judiciary to Hear Gun Control Bills

Thursday, January 18, 2018

Washington: House Judiciary to Hear Gun Control Bills

On Thursday, January 25th at 1:30PM, the House Judiciary Committee is scheduled to hear several sweeping gun control bills.  NRA Members and Second Amendment supporters are strongly encouraged to attend the committee hearing to voice your opposition ...

Arizona: Signature Gathering Underway For Hunting Ban Initiative

Hunting  

Friday, January 19, 2018

Arizona: Signature Gathering Underway For Hunting Ban Initiative

The Humane Society of the United States (HSUS) and their front-group “Arizonans for Wildlife” are currently gathering signatures for a ballot initiative that would ban the hunting and trapping of mountain lions and bobcats in ...

Hawaii: Trigger Modification Ban Introduced in the Senate

Thursday, January 18, 2018

Hawaii: Trigger Modification Ban Introduced in the Senate

Today, Senator Karl Rhoads (D-13) introduced legislation that would ban modifications commonly made to firearms by law-abiding citizens.  SB 2046 is currently pending a committee referral.  Please contact your Senator today and urge them to OPPOSE this ...

Democrats' Exciting New Hope Adheres to Tired Old Anti-Gun Dogma

News  

Friday, January 12, 2018

Democrats' Exciting New Hope Adheres to Tired Old Anti-Gun Dogma

Democrats searching for a standard-bearer in the 2020 presidential election lit on long-time entertainment, media, and publishing figure Oprah Winfrey this week, following a speech Winfrey gave at a televised Hollywood extravaganza.

Washington: CPL Permit Confidentiality Bill Introduced

Wednesday, January 17, 2018

Washington: CPL Permit Confidentiality Bill Introduced

Last week, Washington legislators introduced an NRA-backed bill to protect the private, personal information of Washington's concealed pistol license holders from public records requests.  Senate Bill 6173, sponsored by Senator Dean Takko (D-19), and House Bill ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.