Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Tennessee: NRA-Backed Bills Become Law!

Monday, June 15, 2009

Expect Right-to-Carry in Parks to be opposed on the Local Level.
Call Local Legislators Today!

On Tuesday, June 12, House Bill 390 and House Bill 716 became law.

House Bill 390, sponsored by State Representative Henry Fincher (D-42) and State Senator Doug Jackson (D-25), allows handgun carry permit holders to possess or carry a rifle or shotgun with a loaded magazine -- provided the firearm does not have a round in the chamber -- while in a private motor vehicle.

House Bill 716, sponsored by State Representative Frank Niceley (R-17) and State Senator Mae Beavers (R-17), allows any resident who has a valid handgun carry permit to possess a handgun within the boundaries of any state park.  It also allows for permit holders to carry into local parks on September 1, as long as the locality does not opt-out of the law by resolution before that date. Tennessee now joins 31 other states that allow some form of state park carry.

Tennessee’s Metropolitan Council of Nashville and Davidson County has already filed an ordinance that is scheduled to have its first reading tomorrow, Tuesday, June 16 at 6:30 p.m. in the Council Chambers at the Metropolitan Courthouse at One Public Square in Nashville.  Bill No. BL2009-489 brought forth by metro council member Jerry Maynard would prohibit handguns within Metropolitan Government parks (http://www.nashville.gov/parks/locations/parks.htm).  The prohibition on carrying in some local parks will create a confusing patchwork of laws throughout the state.
 

If you cannot attend tomorrow night’s hearing, please contact the Metro Council members listed below (http://www.nashville.gov/council/council_roster.htm) and ask them to reject any prohibitions on carry by law-abiding permit holders in Davidson County parks.  Metro Council members can also be reached through their feedback website at http://www.nashville.gov/council/feedback.aspx.  Please contact Metro Council even if you do not live in Davidson County, as you may frequent one of its beautiful parks.  Please also take the time to contact Mayor Karl Dean’s office, as he has been adamant in support of prohibiting concealed carry in local parks.

Mayor's Office
Mayor Karl Dean  http://www.nashville.gov/mayor/
100 Metro Courthouse
Nashville, TN 37201
Phone (615) 862-6000
FAX (615) 862-6040
Email:  mayor@nashville.gov

Members of the Metropolitan Council 
Diane Neighbors, Vice Mayor and President
(615) 880-3357 and (615) 226-6073
Email:  diane.neighbors@nashville.gov 

Council Members At Large
Tim Garrett
(615) 859-1047 or (615) 351-4175
Email:  Tim.Garrett@nashville.gov

Megan Barry
(615) 291-6737
Email:  Megan.Barry@nashville.gov

Charlie Tygard
(615) 256-7146 or (615) 243-3295
Email:  Charlie.Tygard@nashville.gov

Ronnie Steine
(615) 862-6780 or (615)385-9757
Email:  Ronnie.Steine@nashville.gov

Jerry Maynard
(615) 862-6780
Email:  Jerry.Maynard@nashville.gov

District Council Members
Lonnell Matthews  District 1
(615) 291-6701 or (615) 876-2319
Email:  lonnell.matthews@nashville.gov

Frank Harrison  District 2
(615) 228-7693
Email:  frank.Harrison@nashville.gov

Walter Hunt  District 3
(615) 876-3367
Email:  whuntnash@aol.com

Michael Craddock  District 4
(615) 226-0521
Email:  Michael.craddock@nashville.gov 

Pam Murray  District 5
(615) 248-3556
Email:  pam.murray@nashville.gov 

Mike Jameson  District 6
(615) 227-5940
Email:  mike.jameson@nashville.gov 

Erik Cole  District 7
(615) 627-0956 or (615) 228-1337
Email:  erik.cole@nashville.gov

Karen Bennett  District 8
(615) 228-8107 or (615) 291-6708
Email:  Karen.Bennett@nashville.gov

Jim Forkum  District 9
(615) 868-4164
Email:  jim.forkum@nashville.gov 

Rip Ryman  District 10
(615) 859-0409
Email:  rim.ryman@nashville.gov 

Darren Jernigan  District 11
(615) 291-6711 of (615) 847-8483
Email:  Darren.Jernigan@nashville.gov 

Jim Gotto  District 12
(615) 883-3087
Email:  jim.gotto@nashville.gov

Carl Burch  District 13
(615) 883-3695
Email:  carl.burch@nashville.gov

Bruce Stanley  District 14
(615) 889-6697
Email:  bruce.Stanley@nashville.gov 

Phil Claiborne  District 15
(615) 291-6715 or (615) 889-2907
Email:  phil.Claiborne@nashville.gov 

Anna Page  District 16
(615) 291-6716
Email:  anna.page@nashville.gov 

Sandra Moore  District 17
(615) 386-9246
Email:  Sandra.moore@nashville.gov 

Kristine LaLonde  District 18
(615) 291-6718 or (615) 292-5461
Email:  Kristine.lalonde@nashville.gov

Erica Gilmore  District 19
(615) 862-6780
Email:  Erica.Gilmore@nashville.gov

Buddy Baker  District 20
(615) 356-0714
Email:  buddy.baker@nashville.gov 

Edith Langster  District 21
(615) 862-6780
Email:  edith.langster@nashville.gov

Eric Crafton  District 22
(615) 352-7808
Email:  eric.crafton@nashville.gov

Emily Evans  District 23
(615) 356-6294
Email:  Emily.evans@nashville.gov

Jason Holleman  District 24
(615) 773-6253 or (615) 269-6365
Email:  Jason.holleman@nashville.gov

Sean McGuire  District 25
(615) 291-6725 or (615) 260-2634
Email:  sean.mcguire@nashville.gov

Greg Adkins  District 26
(615) 832-2767
Email:  greg.Adkins@nashville.gov

Randy Foster  District 27
(615) 834-0562
Email:  randy.foster@nashville.gov

Duane Dominy  District 28
(615) 291-6728 or (615) 831-0774
Email:  duane.dominy@nashville.gov

Vivian Wilhoite  District 29
(615) 589-2003
Email:  Vivian.wilhoite@nashville.gov 

Jim Hodge  District 30
(615) 255-2703 ext. 17
Email:  jim.hodge@nashville.gov

Parker Toler  District 31
(615) 376-2952 or (615) 373-1512
Email:  parker.toler@nashville.gov

Sam Coleman  District 32
(615) 641-5168
Email:  sam.coleman@nashville.gov

Robert Duvall  District 33
(615) 291-6733
Email:  Robert.duvall@nashville.gov

Carter Todd  District 34
(615) 316-6186 or (615) 292-2309
Email:  carter.todd@nashville.gov

Bo Mitchell  District 35
(615) 477-6718
Email:  bo.Mitchell@nashville.gov

TRENDING NOW
Levi’s Teams with Billionaire Michael Bloomberg to Attack Gun Rights

News  

Friday, September 7, 2018

Levi’s Teams with Billionaire Michael Bloomberg to Attack Gun Rights

Levi Strauss & Co. established its brand in the mid-19th century by selling durable clothing to working-class Americans. As Levi’s signature jeans gained popularity amongst a wider set in the middle of the last century, ...

Who’s BS’ing Now? Gonzalez Argues for Gun Confiscation but Insists She’s “Pro Second Amendment”

News  

Friday, October 12, 2018

Who’s BS’ing Now? Gonzalez Argues for Gun Confiscation but Insists She’s “Pro Second Amendment”

Gun control advocates are constantly looking for the right messenger to push an agenda that boils down to law-abiding Americans giving up their freedoms, their security, and their property without expectation of affecting the behavior ...

Jamie Lee Curtis “Proves” She is Not Anti-gun by Stating her Support for Banning Guns?!?!

News  

Friday, October 12, 2018

Jamie Lee Curtis “Proves” She is Not Anti-gun by Stating her Support for Banning Guns?!?!

Actors and actresses should generally stick to what they know best; repeating the lines others have written for them. Jamie Lee Curtis recently decided to try to explain, in her own words, how much she ...

Round Two: Gun Rights Groups Prevail (Again) in Second Challenge to Firearm Restrictions in Delaware’s State Parks, Forests

News  

Gun Laws  

Friday, October 12, 2018

Round Two: Gun Rights Groups Prevail (Again) in Second Challenge to Firearm Restrictions in Delaware’s State Parks, Forests

Gun rights groups, including the NRA’s Delaware affiliate, the Delaware State Sportsmen’s Association, scored an encore legal victory this week when the Superior Court of the State of Delaware invalidated parts of newly promulgated regulations ...

Bloomberg Finds Home in Today’s Democratic Party

News  

Friday, October 12, 2018

Bloomberg Finds Home in Today’s Democratic Party

In what observers have pegged as a preparatory step for a presidential run in 2020, on October 10 billionaire gun control financier and former-New York City Mayor Michael Bloomberg registered as a Democrat. Bloomberg ran as ...

Politics over Data: The Rhode Island Working Group

News  

Friday, October 12, 2018

Politics over Data: The Rhode Island Working Group

Rhode Island Governor Gina Raimondo convened a task force focused on “gun safety” last April, comprised predominantly of members drawn from “the judiciary, the Attorney General’s Office, state and local law enforcement agencies, gun violence prevention ...

Senator from Tennessee or Times Square? Bloomberg Hosts Manhattan Fundraiser for Phil Bredesen

News  

Thursday, October 11, 2018

Senator from Tennessee or Times Square? Bloomberg Hosts Manhattan Fundraiser for Phil Bredesen

Is Phil Bredesen running for U.S. Senate to represent Memphis or Manhattan? Rocky Top or Rockefeller Center? Appalachia or the Big Apple? Tennessee voters might wonder after billionaire gun control financier and former-New York City ...

Federal Court Upholds N.J. Mag Ban, Reminds Gun Owners Importance of Federal Judiciary

News  

Friday, October 5, 2018

Federal Court Upholds N.J. Mag Ban, Reminds Gun Owners Importance of Federal Judiciary

Just in case gun owners needed another reason to back Judge Brett Kavanaugh’s nomination to the U.S. Supreme Court or to get energized ahead of the 2018 midterm elections, the U.S. District Court for the ...

Anti-gun Researcher Refutes His Own Anti-gun Conclusion

News  

Friday, October 5, 2018

Anti-gun Researcher Refutes His Own Anti-gun Conclusion

Doctor Garen Wintemute’s latest contribution to “the prevention of firearm violence” comes in the form of a Perspective column published in the New England Journal of Medicine. Wintemute, you may recall, is the Director of ...

Don’t Let Your State’s Governor Mansion Become a Gun-Free Home

News  

Wednesday, October 10, 2018

Don’t Let Your State’s Governor Mansion Become a Gun-Free Home

While Congressional elections will likely get the lion’s share of media coverage leading up to November 6, gun owners know that threats to our Right to Keep and Bear Arms do not only emanate from ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.