Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Tennessee: NRA-Backed Bills Become Law!

Monday, June 15, 2009

Expect Right-to-Carry in Parks to be opposed on the Local Level.
Call Local Legislators Today!

On Tuesday, June 12, House Bill 390 and House Bill 716 became law.

House Bill 390, sponsored by State Representative Henry Fincher (D-42) and State Senator Doug Jackson (D-25), allows handgun carry permit holders to possess or carry a rifle or shotgun with a loaded magazine -- provided the firearm does not have a round in the chamber -- while in a private motor vehicle.

House Bill 716, sponsored by State Representative Frank Niceley (R-17) and State Senator Mae Beavers (R-17), allows any resident who has a valid handgun carry permit to possess a handgun within the boundaries of any state park.  It also allows for permit holders to carry into local parks on September 1, as long as the locality does not opt-out of the law by resolution before that date. Tennessee now joins 31 other states that allow some form of state park carry.

Tennessee’s Metropolitan Council of Nashville and Davidson County has already filed an ordinance that is scheduled to have its first reading tomorrow, Tuesday, June 16 at 6:30 p.m. in the Council Chambers at the Metropolitan Courthouse at One Public Square in Nashville.  Bill No. BL2009-489 brought forth by metro council member Jerry Maynard would prohibit handguns within Metropolitan Government parks (http://www.nashville.gov/parks/locations/parks.htm).  The prohibition on carrying in some local parks will create a confusing patchwork of laws throughout the state.
 

If you cannot attend tomorrow night’s hearing, please contact the Metro Council members listed below (http://www.nashville.gov/council/council_roster.htm) and ask them to reject any prohibitions on carry by law-abiding permit holders in Davidson County parks.  Metro Council members can also be reached through their feedback website at http://www.nashville.gov/council/feedback.aspx.  Please contact Metro Council even if you do not live in Davidson County, as you may frequent one of its beautiful parks.  Please also take the time to contact Mayor Karl Dean’s office, as he has been adamant in support of prohibiting concealed carry in local parks.

Mayor's Office
Mayor Karl Dean  http://www.nashville.gov/mayor/
100 Metro Courthouse
Nashville, TN 37201
Phone (615) 862-6000
FAX (615) 862-6040
Email:  mayor@nashville.gov

Members of the Metropolitan Council 
Diane Neighbors, Vice Mayor and President
(615) 880-3357 and (615) 226-6073
Email:  diane.neighbors@nashville.gov 

Council Members At Large
Tim Garrett
(615) 859-1047 or (615) 351-4175
Email:  Tim.Garrett@nashville.gov

Megan Barry
(615) 291-6737
Email:  Megan.Barry@nashville.gov

Charlie Tygard
(615) 256-7146 or (615) 243-3295
Email:  Charlie.Tygard@nashville.gov

Ronnie Steine
(615) 862-6780 or (615)385-9757
Email:  Ronnie.Steine@nashville.gov

Jerry Maynard
(615) 862-6780
Email:  Jerry.Maynard@nashville.gov

District Council Members
Lonnell Matthews  District 1
(615) 291-6701 or (615) 876-2319
Email:  lonnell.matthews@nashville.gov

Frank Harrison  District 2
(615) 228-7693
Email:  frank.Harrison@nashville.gov

Walter Hunt  District 3
(615) 876-3367
Email:  whuntnash@aol.com

Michael Craddock  District 4
(615) 226-0521
Email:  Michael.craddock@nashville.gov 

Pam Murray  District 5
(615) 248-3556
Email:  pam.murray@nashville.gov 

Mike Jameson  District 6
(615) 227-5940
Email:  mike.jameson@nashville.gov 

Erik Cole  District 7
(615) 627-0956 or (615) 228-1337
Email:  erik.cole@nashville.gov

Karen Bennett  District 8
(615) 228-8107 or (615) 291-6708
Email:  Karen.Bennett@nashville.gov

Jim Forkum  District 9
(615) 868-4164
Email:  jim.forkum@nashville.gov 

Rip Ryman  District 10
(615) 859-0409
Email:  rim.ryman@nashville.gov 

Darren Jernigan  District 11
(615) 291-6711 of (615) 847-8483
Email:  Darren.Jernigan@nashville.gov 

Jim Gotto  District 12
(615) 883-3087
Email:  jim.gotto@nashville.gov

Carl Burch  District 13
(615) 883-3695
Email:  carl.burch@nashville.gov

Bruce Stanley  District 14
(615) 889-6697
Email:  bruce.Stanley@nashville.gov 

Phil Claiborne  District 15
(615) 291-6715 or (615) 889-2907
Email:  phil.Claiborne@nashville.gov 

Anna Page  District 16
(615) 291-6716
Email:  anna.page@nashville.gov 

Sandra Moore  District 17
(615) 386-9246
Email:  Sandra.moore@nashville.gov 

Kristine LaLonde  District 18
(615) 291-6718 or (615) 292-5461
Email:  Kristine.lalonde@nashville.gov

Erica Gilmore  District 19
(615) 862-6780
Email:  Erica.Gilmore@nashville.gov

Buddy Baker  District 20
(615) 356-0714
Email:  buddy.baker@nashville.gov 

Edith Langster  District 21
(615) 862-6780
Email:  edith.langster@nashville.gov

Eric Crafton  District 22
(615) 352-7808
Email:  eric.crafton@nashville.gov

Emily Evans  District 23
(615) 356-6294
Email:  Emily.evans@nashville.gov

Jason Holleman  District 24
(615) 773-6253 or (615) 269-6365
Email:  Jason.holleman@nashville.gov

Sean McGuire  District 25
(615) 291-6725 or (615) 260-2634
Email:  sean.mcguire@nashville.gov

Greg Adkins  District 26
(615) 832-2767
Email:  greg.Adkins@nashville.gov

Randy Foster  District 27
(615) 834-0562
Email:  randy.foster@nashville.gov

Duane Dominy  District 28
(615) 291-6728 or (615) 831-0774
Email:  duane.dominy@nashville.gov

Vivian Wilhoite  District 29
(615) 589-2003
Email:  Vivian.wilhoite@nashville.gov 

Jim Hodge  District 30
(615) 255-2703 ext. 17
Email:  jim.hodge@nashville.gov

Parker Toler  District 31
(615) 376-2952 or (615) 373-1512
Email:  parker.toler@nashville.gov

Sam Coleman  District 32
(615) 641-5168
Email:  sam.coleman@nashville.gov

Robert Duvall  District 33
(615) 291-6733
Email:  Robert.duvall@nashville.gov

Carter Todd  District 34
(615) 316-6186 or (615) 292-2309
Email:  carter.todd@nashville.gov

Bo Mitchell  District 35
(615) 477-6718
Email:  bo.Mitchell@nashville.gov

TRENDING NOW
Now With More Banning! Dianne Feinstein Introduces “Updated” Federal “Assault Weapons” Ban (S. 66)

News  

Friday, January 11, 2019

Now With More Banning! Dianne Feinstein Introduces “Updated” Federal “Assault Weapons” Ban (S. 66)

On Wednesday, longtime gun control extremist Dianne Feinstein (D-CA) introduced the latest version of her perennial bid to rid America of its most popular types of rifles, as well as the standard capacity magazines that ...

Wisconsin: Governor Evers Starts Session with Gun Control Push

Monday, January 14, 2019

Wisconsin: Governor Evers Starts Session with Gun Control Push

With the 2019 Wisconsin Legislative Session convened, Governor Tony Evers and Attorney General Josh Kaul are already working with legislators to pass sweeping gun control.

Canada’s Gun Control Advocates Boast Handgun Ban is “Within Reach”

News  

Friday, January 11, 2019

Canada’s Gun Control Advocates Boast Handgun Ban is “Within Reach”

On August 28, 2018, Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau instructed Bill Blair, his minister of Border Security and Organized Crime Reduction, to examine the feasibility of “a full ban on handguns and assault weapons in ...

Monster Mistake, Take Two?

News  

Hunting  

Friday, January 11, 2019

Monster Mistake, Take Two?

Capitulating to radical, anti-gun extremism has become acceptable to some within the business community in recent years, especially for companies that seem to care little about our rights protected by the U.S. Constitution.  We’ve seen banks ...

Background Checks: No Impact on Criminals

News  

Friday, January 11, 2019

Background Checks: No Impact on Criminals

We have seen a generation of gun-grabbers rise and fall. The new generation of gun-grabbers are pushing for the same tired and baseless policies that won’t so much as inconvenience criminals. We understand the emotional ...

Virginia: Gov. Northam’s Anti-Gun Bills to be Heard in Committees

Tuesday, January 15, 2019

Virginia: Gov. Northam’s Anti-Gun Bills to be Heard in Committees

This week, committees in both chambers of the Virginia General Assembly will be hearing an array of bills that are part of Governor Ralph Northam’s agenda to impose sweeping gun control in the Commonwealth.  The ...

Washington: Committee Hearings Scheduled on Anti-Gun Bills

Wednesday, January 16, 2019

Washington: Committee Hearings Scheduled on Anti-Gun Bills

Anti-gun bills will be heard on January 21st at 10:00AM by the Washington state Senate Committee on Law & Justice and by the House Committee on Civil Rights & Judiciary on January 22nd at 10:00AM.

Illinois: Firearm Registration & Dealer Licensing Bill May Reach New Governor’s Desk

Friday, January 11, 2019

Illinois: Firearm Registration & Dealer Licensing Bill May Reach New Governor’s Desk

On January 10th, Illinois state Senate President John Cullerton removed a hold on a bill potentially to make the unprecedented move of attempting to send a bill passed by the previous legislature to a newly ...

Indiana: Lake County Commissioners to Vote on Firearm Discharge Ordinance

Tuesday, January 15, 2019

Indiana: Lake County Commissioners to Vote on Firearm Discharge Ordinance

On January 16th at 10:00AM, the Lake County Board of Commissioners will be voting on whether to approve the proposed amendment to Ordinance No. 1314B previously passed by the County Council to restrict the discharge of firearms ...

Washington: 2019 Session Convened, Committee Hearings Scheduled

Monday, January 14, 2019

Washington: 2019 Session Convened, Committee Hearings Scheduled

The 2019 Washington Legislative Session convened today, January 14th, and anti-gun legislators have already pre-filed and scheduled hearings for bills that will infringe upon your Second Amendment rights.

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.