Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Tennessee: NRA-Backed Bills Become Law!

Monday, June 15, 2009

Expect Right-to-Carry in Parks to be opposed on the Local Level.
Call Local Legislators Today!

On Tuesday, June 12, House Bill 390 and House Bill 716 became law.

House Bill 390, sponsored by State Representative Henry Fincher (D-42) and State Senator Doug Jackson (D-25), allows handgun carry permit holders to possess or carry a rifle or shotgun with a loaded magazine -- provided the firearm does not have a round in the chamber -- while in a private motor vehicle.

House Bill 716, sponsored by State Representative Frank Niceley (R-17) and State Senator Mae Beavers (R-17), allows any resident who has a valid handgun carry permit to possess a handgun within the boundaries of any state park.  It also allows for permit holders to carry into local parks on September 1, as long as the locality does not opt-out of the law by resolution before that date. Tennessee now joins 31 other states that allow some form of state park carry.

Tennessee’s Metropolitan Council of Nashville and Davidson County has already filed an ordinance that is scheduled to have its first reading tomorrow, Tuesday, June 16 at 6:30 p.m. in the Council Chambers at the Metropolitan Courthouse at One Public Square in Nashville.  Bill No. BL2009-489 brought forth by metro council member Jerry Maynard would prohibit handguns within Metropolitan Government parks (http://www.nashville.gov/parks/locations/parks.htm).  The prohibition on carrying in some local parks will create a confusing patchwork of laws throughout the state.
 

If you cannot attend tomorrow night’s hearing, please contact the Metro Council members listed below (http://www.nashville.gov/council/council_roster.htm) and ask them to reject any prohibitions on carry by law-abiding permit holders in Davidson County parks.  Metro Council members can also be reached through their feedback website at http://www.nashville.gov/council/feedback.aspx.  Please contact Metro Council even if you do not live in Davidson County, as you may frequent one of its beautiful parks.  Please also take the time to contact Mayor Karl Dean’s office, as he has been adamant in support of prohibiting concealed carry in local parks.

Mayor's Office
Mayor Karl Dean  http://www.nashville.gov/mayor/
100 Metro Courthouse
Nashville, TN 37201
Phone (615) 862-6000
FAX (615) 862-6040
Email:  mayor@nashville.gov

Members of the Metropolitan Council 
Diane Neighbors, Vice Mayor and President
(615) 880-3357 and (615) 226-6073
Email:  diane.neighbors@nashville.gov 

Council Members At Large
Tim Garrett
(615) 859-1047 or (615) 351-4175
Email:  Tim.Garrett@nashville.gov

Megan Barry
(615) 291-6737
Email:  Megan.Barry@nashville.gov

Charlie Tygard
(615) 256-7146 or (615) 243-3295
Email:  Charlie.Tygard@nashville.gov

Ronnie Steine
(615) 862-6780 or (615)385-9757
Email:  Ronnie.Steine@nashville.gov

Jerry Maynard
(615) 862-6780
Email:  Jerry.Maynard@nashville.gov

District Council Members
Lonnell Matthews  District 1
(615) 291-6701 or (615) 876-2319
Email:  lonnell.matthews@nashville.gov

Frank Harrison  District 2
(615) 228-7693
Email:  frank.Harrison@nashville.gov

Walter Hunt  District 3
(615) 876-3367
Email:  whuntnash@aol.com

Michael Craddock  District 4
(615) 226-0521
Email:  Michael.craddock@nashville.gov 

Pam Murray  District 5
(615) 248-3556
Email:  pam.murray@nashville.gov 

Mike Jameson  District 6
(615) 227-5940
Email:  mike.jameson@nashville.gov 

Erik Cole  District 7
(615) 627-0956 or (615) 228-1337
Email:  erik.cole@nashville.gov

Karen Bennett  District 8
(615) 228-8107 or (615) 291-6708
Email:  Karen.Bennett@nashville.gov

Jim Forkum  District 9
(615) 868-4164
Email:  jim.forkum@nashville.gov 

Rip Ryman  District 10
(615) 859-0409
Email:  rim.ryman@nashville.gov 

Darren Jernigan  District 11
(615) 291-6711 of (615) 847-8483
Email:  Darren.Jernigan@nashville.gov 

Jim Gotto  District 12
(615) 883-3087
Email:  jim.gotto@nashville.gov

Carl Burch  District 13
(615) 883-3695
Email:  carl.burch@nashville.gov

Bruce Stanley  District 14
(615) 889-6697
Email:  bruce.Stanley@nashville.gov 

Phil Claiborne  District 15
(615) 291-6715 or (615) 889-2907
Email:  phil.Claiborne@nashville.gov 

Anna Page  District 16
(615) 291-6716
Email:  anna.page@nashville.gov 

Sandra Moore  District 17
(615) 386-9246
Email:  Sandra.moore@nashville.gov 

Kristine LaLonde  District 18
(615) 291-6718 or (615) 292-5461
Email:  Kristine.lalonde@nashville.gov

Erica Gilmore  District 19
(615) 862-6780
Email:  Erica.Gilmore@nashville.gov

Buddy Baker  District 20
(615) 356-0714
Email:  buddy.baker@nashville.gov 

Edith Langster  District 21
(615) 862-6780
Email:  edith.langster@nashville.gov

Eric Crafton  District 22
(615) 352-7808
Email:  eric.crafton@nashville.gov

Emily Evans  District 23
(615) 356-6294
Email:  Emily.evans@nashville.gov

Jason Holleman  District 24
(615) 773-6253 or (615) 269-6365
Email:  Jason.holleman@nashville.gov

Sean McGuire  District 25
(615) 291-6725 or (615) 260-2634
Email:  sean.mcguire@nashville.gov

Greg Adkins  District 26
(615) 832-2767
Email:  greg.Adkins@nashville.gov

Randy Foster  District 27
(615) 834-0562
Email:  randy.foster@nashville.gov

Duane Dominy  District 28
(615) 291-6728 or (615) 831-0774
Email:  duane.dominy@nashville.gov

Vivian Wilhoite  District 29
(615) 589-2003
Email:  Vivian.wilhoite@nashville.gov 

Jim Hodge  District 30
(615) 255-2703 ext. 17
Email:  jim.hodge@nashville.gov

Parker Toler  District 31
(615) 376-2952 or (615) 373-1512
Email:  parker.toler@nashville.gov

Sam Coleman  District 32
(615) 641-5168
Email:  sam.coleman@nashville.gov

Robert Duvall  District 33
(615) 291-6733
Email:  Robert.duvall@nashville.gov

Carter Todd  District 34
(615) 316-6186 or (615) 292-2309
Email:  carter.todd@nashville.gov

Bo Mitchell  District 35
(615) 477-6718
Email:  bo.Mitchell@nashville.gov

TRENDING NOW

Saturday, April 21, 2018

Florida Alert: YETI Drops NRA Foundation

For years YETI Coolers have been a hot item for sportsmen at the Friends of NRA Foundation Banquet and Auction events around the country.  Suddenly, without prior notice, YETI has declined to do business with The ...

Dick’s Sporting Goods/Field & Stream to Destroy Firearms Inventory

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, April 20, 2018

Dick’s Sporting Goods/Field & Stream to Destroy Firearms Inventory

Dick’s Sporting Goods took their campaign to alienate law-abiding gun owners to an extraordinary new level last week. The beleaguered retailer announced that in addition to removing certain types of semi-automatic rifles from their stores, the company ...

Illinois: Committee Passes Bill to Allow Local Infringement of Second Amendment

Wednesday, April 18, 2018

Illinois: Committee Passes Bill to Allow Local Infringement of Second Amendment

The Illinois state Senate could vote on legislation to allow localities to infringe upon Second Amendment rights as early as today.  Senate Bill 2314 was moved to third reading after it had passed the Senate ...

Another Group of Anti-Gun Celebrities Forms!  In Other News, The Sun Rose Today.

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, April 20, 2018

Another Group of Anti-Gun Celebrities Forms! In Other News, The Sun Rose Today.

In case you were worried there were not enough anti-gun organizations working to eradicate the rights of law-abiding gun owners, a new one has formed, and it’s called NoRA.  Get it?  The name implies that the ...

NRA Salutes “the Gunny” and Mourns the Passing of an American Patriot

News  

Friday, April 20, 2018

NRA Salutes “the Gunny” and Mourns the Passing of an American Patriot

America, and the NRA, lost a true friend and a staunch defender of freedom with the passing of R. Lee Ermey on April 15 from complications of pneumonia. He was 74 years old. 

Bailed-out Banks Launch Coordinated Attack on Law-abiding Gun Owners

News  

Friday, April 13, 2018

Bailed-out Banks Launch Coordinated Attack on Law-abiding Gun Owners

There is growing evidence that some of America’s financial elite want to create a world in which America’s public policy decisions emanate from corporate boardrooms in Manhattan rather than from citizens and their elected officials.  ...

Keep Calm and Carry On: Pro-Gun Sentiment Reasserts Itself in Wake of Antigun Blitz

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, April 20, 2018

Keep Calm and Carry On: Pro-Gun Sentiment Reasserts Itself in Wake of Antigun Blitz

Like the long-delayed coming of spring to the Mid-Atlantic, evidence is appearing that Americans are regaining their senses and reverting to an instinctual embrace of freedom after a withering barrage of some the nastiest and most ugly ...

Rhode Island: 19 Gun Bills to be Heard in House Judiciary Committee Tuesday

Thursday, April 19, 2018

Rhode Island: 19 Gun Bills to be Heard in House Judiciary Committee Tuesday

A marathon gun bill hearing is on tap for next Tuesday night in Providence, and NRA and local pro-Second Amendment groups are calling for all-hands-on-deck.

New Jersey: Senate Committee Approves Gun Control Bills

Wednesday, April 18, 2018

New Jersey: Senate Committee Approves Gun Control Bills

On Monday, the Senate Law & Public Safety Committee approved several gun control bills during a hearing that stretched over five hours. 

Unfriendly Skies: Delta CEO Claims Bashing NRA Members is Good Business

News  

Friday, April 13, 2018

Unfriendly Skies: Delta CEO Claims Bashing NRA Members is Good Business

In the wake of the Parkland, Florida, murders, there has been an unusual amount of anti-gun and anti-NRA commentary by private corporations with plenty of problems of their own.   In February, Delta announced it was ending a ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.