Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Tennessee: NRA-Backed Bills Become Law!

Monday, June 15, 2009

Expect Right-to-Carry in Parks to be opposed on the Local Level.
Call Local Legislators Today!

On Tuesday, June 12, House Bill 390 and House Bill 716 became law.

House Bill 390, sponsored by State Representative Henry Fincher (D-42) and State Senator Doug Jackson (D-25), allows handgun carry permit holders to possess or carry a rifle or shotgun with a loaded magazine -- provided the firearm does not have a round in the chamber -- while in a private motor vehicle.

House Bill 716, sponsored by State Representative Frank Niceley (R-17) and State Senator Mae Beavers (R-17), allows any resident who has a valid handgun carry permit to possess a handgun within the boundaries of any state park.  It also allows for permit holders to carry into local parks on September 1, as long as the locality does not opt-out of the law by resolution before that date. Tennessee now joins 31 other states that allow some form of state park carry.

Tennessee’s Metropolitan Council of Nashville and Davidson County has already filed an ordinance that is scheduled to have its first reading tomorrow, Tuesday, June 16 at 6:30 p.m. in the Council Chambers at the Metropolitan Courthouse at One Public Square in Nashville.  Bill No. BL2009-489 brought forth by metro council member Jerry Maynard would prohibit handguns within Metropolitan Government parks (http://www.nashville.gov/parks/locations/parks.htm).  The prohibition on carrying in some local parks will create a confusing patchwork of laws throughout the state.
 

If you cannot attend tomorrow night’s hearing, please contact the Metro Council members listed below (http://www.nashville.gov/council/council_roster.htm) and ask them to reject any prohibitions on carry by law-abiding permit holders in Davidson County parks.  Metro Council members can also be reached through their feedback website at http://www.nashville.gov/council/feedback.aspx.  Please contact Metro Council even if you do not live in Davidson County, as you may frequent one of its beautiful parks.  Please also take the time to contact Mayor Karl Dean’s office, as he has been adamant in support of prohibiting concealed carry in local parks.

Mayor's Office
Mayor Karl Dean  http://www.nashville.gov/mayor/
100 Metro Courthouse
Nashville, TN 37201
Phone (615) 862-6000
FAX (615) 862-6040
Email:  mayor@nashville.gov

Members of the Metropolitan Council 
Diane Neighbors, Vice Mayor and President
(615) 880-3357 and (615) 226-6073
Email:  diane.neighbors@nashville.gov 

Council Members At Large
Tim Garrett
(615) 859-1047 or (615) 351-4175
Email:  Tim.Garrett@nashville.gov

Megan Barry
(615) 291-6737
Email:  Megan.Barry@nashville.gov

Charlie Tygard
(615) 256-7146 or (615) 243-3295
Email:  Charlie.Tygard@nashville.gov

Ronnie Steine
(615) 862-6780 or (615)385-9757
Email:  Ronnie.Steine@nashville.gov

Jerry Maynard
(615) 862-6780
Email:  Jerry.Maynard@nashville.gov

District Council Members
Lonnell Matthews  District 1
(615) 291-6701 or (615) 876-2319
Email:  lonnell.matthews@nashville.gov

Frank Harrison  District 2
(615) 228-7693
Email:  frank.Harrison@nashville.gov

Walter Hunt  District 3
(615) 876-3367
Email:  whuntnash@aol.com

Michael Craddock  District 4
(615) 226-0521
Email:  Michael.craddock@nashville.gov 

Pam Murray  District 5
(615) 248-3556
Email:  pam.murray@nashville.gov 

Mike Jameson  District 6
(615) 227-5940
Email:  mike.jameson@nashville.gov 

Erik Cole  District 7
(615) 627-0956 or (615) 228-1337
Email:  erik.cole@nashville.gov

Karen Bennett  District 8
(615) 228-8107 or (615) 291-6708
Email:  Karen.Bennett@nashville.gov

Jim Forkum  District 9
(615) 868-4164
Email:  jim.forkum@nashville.gov 

Rip Ryman  District 10
(615) 859-0409
Email:  rim.ryman@nashville.gov 

Darren Jernigan  District 11
(615) 291-6711 of (615) 847-8483
Email:  Darren.Jernigan@nashville.gov 

Jim Gotto  District 12
(615) 883-3087
Email:  jim.gotto@nashville.gov

Carl Burch  District 13
(615) 883-3695
Email:  carl.burch@nashville.gov

Bruce Stanley  District 14
(615) 889-6697
Email:  bruce.Stanley@nashville.gov 

Phil Claiborne  District 15
(615) 291-6715 or (615) 889-2907
Email:  phil.Claiborne@nashville.gov 

Anna Page  District 16
(615) 291-6716
Email:  anna.page@nashville.gov 

Sandra Moore  District 17
(615) 386-9246
Email:  Sandra.moore@nashville.gov 

Kristine LaLonde  District 18
(615) 291-6718 or (615) 292-5461
Email:  Kristine.lalonde@nashville.gov

Erica Gilmore  District 19
(615) 862-6780
Email:  Erica.Gilmore@nashville.gov

Buddy Baker  District 20
(615) 356-0714
Email:  buddy.baker@nashville.gov 

Edith Langster  District 21
(615) 862-6780
Email:  edith.langster@nashville.gov

Eric Crafton  District 22
(615) 352-7808
Email:  eric.crafton@nashville.gov

Emily Evans  District 23
(615) 356-6294
Email:  Emily.evans@nashville.gov

Jason Holleman  District 24
(615) 773-6253 or (615) 269-6365
Email:  Jason.holleman@nashville.gov

Sean McGuire  District 25
(615) 291-6725 or (615) 260-2634
Email:  sean.mcguire@nashville.gov

Greg Adkins  District 26
(615) 832-2767
Email:  greg.Adkins@nashville.gov

Randy Foster  District 27
(615) 834-0562
Email:  randy.foster@nashville.gov

Duane Dominy  District 28
(615) 291-6728 or (615) 831-0774
Email:  duane.dominy@nashville.gov

Vivian Wilhoite  District 29
(615) 589-2003
Email:  Vivian.wilhoite@nashville.gov 

Jim Hodge  District 30
(615) 255-2703 ext. 17
Email:  jim.hodge@nashville.gov

Parker Toler  District 31
(615) 376-2952 or (615) 373-1512
Email:  parker.toler@nashville.gov

Sam Coleman  District 32
(615) 641-5168
Email:  sam.coleman@nashville.gov

Robert Duvall  District 33
(615) 291-6733
Email:  Robert.duvall@nashville.gov

Carter Todd  District 34
(615) 316-6186 or (615) 292-2309
Email:  carter.todd@nashville.gov

Bo Mitchell  District 35
(615) 477-6718
Email:  bo.Mitchell@nashville.gov

TRENDING NOW

News  

Tuesday, July 17, 2018

Federal Court Upholds Decision to Block California’s Magazine Ban

A three-judge panel of the 9th Circuit issued a ruling in the case of Duncan v. Becerra on Tuesday upholding a lower court’s decision to suspend enforcement of California’s restriction on the possession of magazines ...

Anti-gun Efforts to Expand U.N. Regulations to Ammunition Continue

News  

Friday, July 6, 2018

Anti-gun Efforts to Expand U.N. Regulations to Ammunition Continue

Shortly before 4:00am last Saturday morning, the two week long Third Review Conference (RevCon3) on the Programme of Action to Prevent, Combat, and Eradicate the Illicit Trade in Small Arms and Light Weapons in All ...

Washington: Seattle City Council Passes Ordinance Making Firearms Unavailable for Self-Defense

Monday, July 16, 2018

Washington: Seattle City Council Passes Ordinance Making Firearms Unavailable for Self-Defense

On July 9th, the Seattle City Council passed a mandatory firearm storage ordinance to restrict the self-defense rights of Seattle residents.  The ordinance, if signed by Mayor Jenny Durkan, will impose a one-size-fits-all method of storing firearms as ...

Justice Scalia Made Clear the Second Amendment and Heller Prohibit “Assault Weapon” Bans

News  

Second Amendment  

Gun Laws  

Friday, July 13, 2018

Justice Scalia Made Clear the Second Amendment and Heller Prohibit “Assault Weapon” Bans

On July 9, Sen. Chris Murphy (D-Conn.) offered the following ham-handed statement in an attempted attack on President Donald Trump’s U.S. Supreme Court nominee, D.C. Circuit Judge Brett Kavanaugh. Brett Kavanaugh is a true Second Amendment radical. ...

Illinois: Governor Signs Two Gun Control Bills

Tuesday, July 17, 2018

Illinois: Governor Signs Two Gun Control Bills

On July 17th, Governor Bruce Rauner signed House Bill 2354 and Senate Bill 3256 into law.

California DOJ Withdraws Proposed Regulations Expanding Application of “Assault Weapon” Definitions

Wednesday, July 11, 2018

California DOJ Withdraws Proposed Regulations Expanding Application of “Assault Weapon” Definitions

On Monday, the California Department of Justice, Bureau of Firearms (“CA DOJ”) officially withdrew the proposed regulations that would have expanded the improperly adopted “assault weapon” definitions, to apply in all circumstances. This withdrawal comes ...

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

Gun Laws  

Thursday, January 1, 2015

Guide To The Interstate Transportation Of Firearms

CAUTION: Federal and state firearms laws are subject to frequent change. This summary is not to be considered as legal advice or a restatement of law.

NRA Endorses State Senator Leah Vukmir for U.S. Senate in Wisconsin

News  

Tuesday, July 17, 2018

NRA Endorses State Senator Leah Vukmir for U.S. Senate in Wisconsin

FAIRFAX, Va. – The National Rifle Association Political Victory Fund (NRA-PVF) is proud to announce its endorsement of state Sen. Leah Vukmir in the 2018 Republican U.S. Senate Primary in Wisconsin.

California: Federal Court Upholds Decision to Block California’s Magazine Ban

Thursday, July 19, 2018

California: Federal Court Upholds Decision to Block California’s Magazine Ban

A three-judge panel of the 9th Circuit issued a ruling in the case of Duncan v. Becerra on Tuesday upholding a lower court’s decision to suspend enforcement of California’s restriction on the possession of magazines ...

Too Young or Too Old... To Own a Gun?

News  

Friday, July 6, 2018

Too Young or Too Old... To Own a Gun?

A common theme among anti-gun extremists is what we often refer to as the “Goldilocks” approach to limiting access to firearms by law-abiding citizens.  Rather than admit that the ultimate goal is to disarm all ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.