Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Two Pro-Gun Advancements Making Progress in Arizona!

Friday, June 12, 2009

Today, the Committee of the Whole passed Senate Bill 1243 with no amendments and Senate Bill 1113 with only the NRA-backed amendment.  Two hostile amendments were defeated thanks to the help from our strong supporters in the Senate.  Both bills now head to the Senate floor for a third reading on Monday, June 15.

SB1243, sponsored by State Senator Russell Pearce (R-18), would clarify the statutory definition of defensive display of a firearm. This clarification of defensive display of a firearm is a valuable addition to your right to self-defense.

SB1113, introduced by State Senator Jack Harper (R-4), would give concealed carry permit holders the right to take concealed handguns into restaurants that serve alcohol, provided they are not consuming. 

Please take the time to thank the Senators who supported these bills.  Also, we would like to show our appreciation to our strong allies and strong NRA supporters, State Senators Jack W. Harper (R-4), Jonathan Paton (R-30), and Steve Pierce (R-1). Their effort to help our cause was essential and the passing of these bills could not have happened with out them. Contact information can be found below.

State Senator Paula Aboud (D-28)
(602)-926-5262
paboud@azleg.gov

State Senator Amanda Aguirre (D-24)
(602)-926-4139
aaguirre@azleg.gov

State Senator Carolyn S. Allen (R-8)
(602)-926-4480
callen@azleg.gov

State Senator Sylvia Allen (R-5)
(602)-926-5219
sallen@azleg.gov

State Senator Manuel V. “Manny” Alvarez (D-25)
(602)-926-5895
malvarez@azleg.gov

State Senator Robert “Bob” Burns (D-9) – President
(602)-926-5993
rburns@azleg.gov

State Senator Meg Burton Cahill (D-17)
(602)-926-4124
mburtoncahill@azleg.gov

State Senator Ken Cheuvront (D-15)
(602)-926-5325
kcheuvront@azleg.gov

State Senator Jorge Luis Garcia (D-27) – Minority Leader
(602)-926-4171
jgarcia@azleg.gov

State Senator Pamela Gorman (R-6) – Majority Whip
(602)-926-5284
pgorman@azleg.gov

State Senator Ron Gould (R-3)
(602)-926-4138
rgould@azleg.gov

State Senator Chuck Gray (R-19) – Majority Leader
(602)-926-5288
cgray@azleg.gov

State Senator Linda Gray (R-10)
(602)-926-3376
lgray@azleg.gov

State Senator Albert Hale (D-2)
(602)-926-4323
ahale@azleg.gov

State Senator Jack W. Harper (R-4)
(602)-926-4178
jharper@azleg.gov

State Senator John Huppenthal (R-20)
(602)-926-5261
jhuppenthal@azleg.gov

State Senator Leah Landrum Taylor (D-16)
(602)-926-3830
Llandrumtaylor@azleg.gov

State Senator Barbara Leff (R-11)
(602)-926-4486
bleff@azleg.gov

State Senator Linda Lopez (D-29) – Minority Whip
(602)-926-4089
llopez@azleg.gov

State Senator Debbie McCune Davis (D-14)
(602)-926-4485
dmccunedavis@azleg.gov

State Senator Al Melvin (R-26)
(602)-926-4326
amelvin@azleg.gov

State Senator Richard Miranda (D-13)
(602)-926-5911
rmiranda@azleg.gov

State Senator John Nelson (R-12)
(602)-926-5872
jnelson@azleg.gov

State Senator Jonathan Paton (R-30)
(602)-926-3235
jpaton@azleg.gov

State Senator Russell Pearce (R-18)
(602)-926-5760
rpearce@azleg.gov

State Senator Steve Pierce (R-1)
(602)-926-5584
spierce@azleg.gov

State Senator Rebecca Rios (D-23) – Assistant Minority Leader
(602)-926-5685
rrios@azleg.gov

State Senator Jay Tibshraeny (R-21)
(602)-926-4481
jtibshraeny@azleg.gov

State Senator Thayer Verschoor (R-22) – President Pro Tempore
(602)-926-4136
tverschoor@azleg.gov

State Senator Jim Waring (R-7)
(602)-926-4916
jwaring@azleg.gov

TRENDING NOW

Saturday, April 21, 2018

Florida Alert: YETI Drops NRA Foundation

For years YETI Coolers have been a hot item for sportsmen at the Friends of NRA Foundation Banquet and Auction events around the country.  Suddenly, without prior notice, YETI has declined to do business with The ...

Dick’s Sporting Goods/Field & Stream to Destroy Firearms Inventory

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, April 20, 2018

Dick’s Sporting Goods/Field & Stream to Destroy Firearms Inventory

Dick’s Sporting Goods took their campaign to alienate law-abiding gun owners to an extraordinary new level last week. The beleaguered retailer announced that in addition to removing certain types of semi-automatic rifles from their stores, the company ...

Another Group of Anti-Gun Celebrities Forms!  In Other News, The Sun Rose Today.

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, April 20, 2018

Another Group of Anti-Gun Celebrities Forms! In Other News, The Sun Rose Today.

In case you were worried there were not enough anti-gun organizations working to eradicate the rights of law-abiding gun owners, a new one has formed, and it’s called NoRA.  Get it?  The name implies that the ...

NRA Salutes “the Gunny” and Mourns the Passing of an American Patriot

News  

Friday, April 20, 2018

NRA Salutes “the Gunny” and Mourns the Passing of an American Patriot

America, and the NRA, lost a true friend and a staunch defender of freedom with the passing of R. Lee Ermey on April 15 from complications of pneumonia. He was 74 years old. 

NRA Statement on Passage of the National Defense Authorization Act

News  

Tuesday, December 12, 2017

NRA Statement on Passage of the National Defense Authorization Act

National Rifle Association Institute for Legislative Action executive director, Chris W. Cox, released the following statement on Tuesday regarding President Donald Trump's signature on the National Defense Authorization Act

Illinois: Committee Passes Bill to Allow Local Infringement of Second Amendment

Wednesday, April 18, 2018

Illinois: Committee Passes Bill to Allow Local Infringement of Second Amendment

The Illinois state Senate could vote on legislation to allow localities to infringe upon Second Amendment rights as early as today.  Senate Bill 2314 was moved to third reading after it had passed the Senate ...

Keep Calm and Carry On: Pro-Gun Sentiment Reasserts Itself in Wake of Antigun Blitz

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, April 20, 2018

Keep Calm and Carry On: Pro-Gun Sentiment Reasserts Itself in Wake of Antigun Blitz

Like the long-delayed coming of spring to the Mid-Atlantic, evidence is appearing that Americans are regaining their senses and reverting to an instinctual embrace of freedom after a withering barrage of some the nastiest and most ugly ...

Rhode Island: 19 Gun Bills to be Heard in House Judiciary Committee Tuesday

Thursday, April 19, 2018

Rhode Island: 19 Gun Bills to be Heard in House Judiciary Committee Tuesday

A marathon gun bill hearing is on tap for next Tuesday night in Providence, and NRA and local pro-Second Amendment groups are calling for all-hands-on-deck.

Unfriendly Skies: Delta CEO Claims Bashing NRA Members is Good Business

News  

Friday, April 13, 2018

Unfriendly Skies: Delta CEO Claims Bashing NRA Members is Good Business

In the wake of the Parkland, Florida, murders, there has been an unusual amount of anti-gun and anti-NRA commentary by private corporations with plenty of problems of their own.   In February, Delta announced it was ending a ...

Bailed-out Banks Launch Coordinated Attack on Law-abiding Gun Owners

News  

Friday, April 13, 2018

Bailed-out Banks Launch Coordinated Attack on Law-abiding Gun Owners

There is growing evidence that some of America’s financial elite want to create a world in which America’s public policy decisions emanate from corporate boardrooms in Manhattan rather than from citizens and their elected officials.  ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.