Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Two Pro-Gun Advancements Making Progress in Arizona!

Friday, June 12, 2009

Today, the Committee of the Whole passed Senate Bill 1243 with no amendments and Senate Bill 1113 with only the NRA-backed amendment.  Two hostile amendments were defeated thanks to the help from our strong supporters in the Senate.  Both bills now head to the Senate floor for a third reading on Monday, June 15.

SB1243, sponsored by State Senator Russell Pearce (R-18), would clarify the statutory definition of defensive display of a firearm. This clarification of defensive display of a firearm is a valuable addition to your right to self-defense.

SB1113, introduced by State Senator Jack Harper (R-4), would give concealed carry permit holders the right to take concealed handguns into restaurants that serve alcohol, provided they are not consuming. 

Please take the time to thank the Senators who supported these bills.  Also, we would like to show our appreciation to our strong allies and strong NRA supporters, State Senators Jack W. Harper (R-4), Jonathan Paton (R-30), and Steve Pierce (R-1). Their effort to help our cause was essential and the passing of these bills could not have happened with out them. Contact information can be found below.

State Senator Paula Aboud (D-28)
(602)-926-5262
paboud@azleg.gov

State Senator Amanda Aguirre (D-24)
(602)-926-4139
aaguirre@azleg.gov

State Senator Carolyn S. Allen (R-8)
(602)-926-4480
callen@azleg.gov

State Senator Sylvia Allen (R-5)
(602)-926-5219
sallen@azleg.gov

State Senator Manuel V. “Manny” Alvarez (D-25)
(602)-926-5895
malvarez@azleg.gov

State Senator Robert “Bob” Burns (D-9) – President
(602)-926-5993
rburns@azleg.gov

State Senator Meg Burton Cahill (D-17)
(602)-926-4124
mburtoncahill@azleg.gov

State Senator Ken Cheuvront (D-15)
(602)-926-5325
kcheuvront@azleg.gov

State Senator Jorge Luis Garcia (D-27) – Minority Leader
(602)-926-4171
jgarcia@azleg.gov

State Senator Pamela Gorman (R-6) – Majority Whip
(602)-926-5284
pgorman@azleg.gov

State Senator Ron Gould (R-3)
(602)-926-4138
rgould@azleg.gov

State Senator Chuck Gray (R-19) – Majority Leader
(602)-926-5288
cgray@azleg.gov

State Senator Linda Gray (R-10)
(602)-926-3376
lgray@azleg.gov

State Senator Albert Hale (D-2)
(602)-926-4323
ahale@azleg.gov

State Senator Jack W. Harper (R-4)
(602)-926-4178
jharper@azleg.gov

State Senator John Huppenthal (R-20)
(602)-926-5261
jhuppenthal@azleg.gov

State Senator Leah Landrum Taylor (D-16)
(602)-926-3830
Llandrumtaylor@azleg.gov

State Senator Barbara Leff (R-11)
(602)-926-4486
bleff@azleg.gov

State Senator Linda Lopez (D-29) – Minority Whip
(602)-926-4089
llopez@azleg.gov

State Senator Debbie McCune Davis (D-14)
(602)-926-4485
dmccunedavis@azleg.gov

State Senator Al Melvin (R-26)
(602)-926-4326
amelvin@azleg.gov

State Senator Richard Miranda (D-13)
(602)-926-5911
rmiranda@azleg.gov

State Senator John Nelson (R-12)
(602)-926-5872
jnelson@azleg.gov

State Senator Jonathan Paton (R-30)
(602)-926-3235
jpaton@azleg.gov

State Senator Russell Pearce (R-18)
(602)-926-5760
rpearce@azleg.gov

State Senator Steve Pierce (R-1)
(602)-926-5584
spierce@azleg.gov

State Senator Rebecca Rios (D-23) – Assistant Minority Leader
(602)-926-5685
rrios@azleg.gov

State Senator Jay Tibshraeny (R-21)
(602)-926-4481
jtibshraeny@azleg.gov

State Senator Thayer Verschoor (R-22) – President Pro Tempore
(602)-926-4136
tverschoor@azleg.gov

State Senator Jim Waring (R-7)
(602)-926-4916
jwaring@azleg.gov

TRENDING NOW
What Happens if our Opponents Take the U.S. House?

News  

Thursday, September 20, 2018

What Happens if our Opponents Take the U.S. House?

There is no question that our liberties are at stake on November 6th. The Democrat leadership in the U.S. House of Representatives has become completely radicalized when it comes to the Second Amendment. Our constitutional ...

Show-Me State Sham: Sen. McCaskill Cons Missouri Voters on Guns

News  

Friday, October 19, 2018

Show-Me State Sham: Sen. McCaskill Cons Missouri Voters on Guns

It appears Sen. Claire McCaskill (D-Mo.) forgot she represents the Show-Me State. Missouri’s nickname derives from its residents’ healthy skepticism – especially for politicians and their “frothy eloquence.” Rather than take someone’s word for something, ...

Illinois “Parking Lot Law” Shields Employee from Termination

News  

Friday, October 19, 2018

Illinois “Parking Lot Law” Shields Employee from Termination

A federal appeals court recently upheld a labor arbitrator’s decision concluding that, in light of the state’s concealed carry law, an employer had improperly fired an employee for violating the company’s weapons policy. The case, Ameren ...

For Levi’s, Freedom isn’t Fashionable

News  

Friday, October 19, 2018

For Levi’s, Freedom isn’t Fashionable

Americans eager to take political direction from a multinational pants manufacturer were in luck this week. On Tuesday, PRWeek, a public relations trade publication, published an interview with Levi Strauss & Co. Chief Communications Officer Kelly McGinnis and ...

Levi’s Teams with Billionaire Michael Bloomberg to Attack Gun Rights

News  

Friday, September 7, 2018

Levi’s Teams with Billionaire Michael Bloomberg to Attack Gun Rights

Levi Strauss & Co. established its brand in the mid-19th century by selling durable clothing to working-class Americans. As Levi’s signature jeans gained popularity amongst a wider set in the middle of the last century, ...

Poll: Most Americans Oppose Ban on “America’s Rifle”

News  

Friday, October 19, 2018

Poll: Most Americans Oppose Ban on “America’s Rifle”

This week, Gallup released the results of a poll which included a finding that should surprise no one: Americans oppose a ban on AR-15s and similar semiautomatic firearms by robust a margin of 17%. Meanwhile, current support ...

President’s Column | Your Vote Outweighs Their Millions: Make Your Voice Heard Nov. 6

News  

Wednesday, October 17, 2018

President’s Column | Your Vote Outweighs Their Millions: Make Your Voice Heard Nov. 6

My fellow NRA members, we stand at the edge of the precipice of one of the most important elections of our lives. That is the reality we face, and we face it just days from ...

South Carolina: Governor McMaster Signs Pro-Gun Bill

Monday, May 22, 2017

South Carolina: Governor McMaster Signs Pro-Gun Bill

Last Friday, May 19, Governor Henry McMaster (R) signed H. 3429 into law.  This bill went into effect upon the Governor’s approval.

You Can’t Make This Stuff Up:  Brooklyn Area Witches Unite to “Take Down” People “In Charge,” Hurl Curses at Justice Kavanaugh

News  

Friday, October 19, 2018

You Can’t Make This Stuff Up: Brooklyn Area Witches Unite to “Take Down” People “In Charge,” Hurl Curses at Justice Kavanaugh

Well, Samhain is approaching, and if you’re familiar with the wing of the extreme Left that also identifies as witches and warlocks, that can only mean one thing: more politically-inspired attempts at paranormal activity! We ...

Who’s BS’ing Now? Gonzalez Argues for Gun Confiscation but Insists She’s “Pro Second Amendment”

News  

Friday, October 12, 2018

Who’s BS’ing Now? Gonzalez Argues for Gun Confiscation but Insists She’s “Pro Second Amendment”

Gun control advocates are constantly looking for the right messenger to push an agenda that boils down to law-abiding Americans giving up their freedoms, their security, and their property without expectation of affecting the behavior ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.