Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Two Pro-Gun Advancements Making Progress in Arizona!

Friday, June 12, 2009

Today, the Committee of the Whole passed Senate Bill 1243 with no amendments and Senate Bill 1113 with only the NRA-backed amendment.  Two hostile amendments were defeated thanks to the help from our strong supporters in the Senate.  Both bills now head to the Senate floor for a third reading on Monday, June 15.

SB1243, sponsored by State Senator Russell Pearce (R-18), would clarify the statutory definition of defensive display of a firearm. This clarification of defensive display of a firearm is a valuable addition to your right to self-defense.

SB1113, introduced by State Senator Jack Harper (R-4), would give concealed carry permit holders the right to take concealed handguns into restaurants that serve alcohol, provided they are not consuming. 

Please take the time to thank the Senators who supported these bills.  Also, we would like to show our appreciation to our strong allies and strong NRA supporters, State Senators Jack W. Harper (R-4), Jonathan Paton (R-30), and Steve Pierce (R-1). Their effort to help our cause was essential and the passing of these bills could not have happened with out them. Contact information can be found below.

State Senator Paula Aboud (D-28)
(602)-926-5262
paboud@azleg.gov

State Senator Amanda Aguirre (D-24)
(602)-926-4139
aaguirre@azleg.gov

State Senator Carolyn S. Allen (R-8)
(602)-926-4480
callen@azleg.gov

State Senator Sylvia Allen (R-5)
(602)-926-5219
sallen@azleg.gov

State Senator Manuel V. “Manny” Alvarez (D-25)
(602)-926-5895
malvarez@azleg.gov

State Senator Robert “Bob” Burns (D-9) – President
(602)-926-5993
rburns@azleg.gov

State Senator Meg Burton Cahill (D-17)
(602)-926-4124
mburtoncahill@azleg.gov

State Senator Ken Cheuvront (D-15)
(602)-926-5325
kcheuvront@azleg.gov

State Senator Jorge Luis Garcia (D-27) – Minority Leader
(602)-926-4171
jgarcia@azleg.gov

State Senator Pamela Gorman (R-6) – Majority Whip
(602)-926-5284
pgorman@azleg.gov

State Senator Ron Gould (R-3)
(602)-926-4138
rgould@azleg.gov

State Senator Chuck Gray (R-19) – Majority Leader
(602)-926-5288
cgray@azleg.gov

State Senator Linda Gray (R-10)
(602)-926-3376
lgray@azleg.gov

State Senator Albert Hale (D-2)
(602)-926-4323
ahale@azleg.gov

State Senator Jack W. Harper (R-4)
(602)-926-4178
jharper@azleg.gov

State Senator John Huppenthal (R-20)
(602)-926-5261
jhuppenthal@azleg.gov

State Senator Leah Landrum Taylor (D-16)
(602)-926-3830
Llandrumtaylor@azleg.gov

State Senator Barbara Leff (R-11)
(602)-926-4486
bleff@azleg.gov

State Senator Linda Lopez (D-29) – Minority Whip
(602)-926-4089
llopez@azleg.gov

State Senator Debbie McCune Davis (D-14)
(602)-926-4485
dmccunedavis@azleg.gov

State Senator Al Melvin (R-26)
(602)-926-4326
amelvin@azleg.gov

State Senator Richard Miranda (D-13)
(602)-926-5911
rmiranda@azleg.gov

State Senator John Nelson (R-12)
(602)-926-5872
jnelson@azleg.gov

State Senator Jonathan Paton (R-30)
(602)-926-3235
jpaton@azleg.gov

State Senator Russell Pearce (R-18)
(602)-926-5760
rpearce@azleg.gov

State Senator Steve Pierce (R-1)
(602)-926-5584
spierce@azleg.gov

State Senator Rebecca Rios (D-23) – Assistant Minority Leader
(602)-926-5685
rrios@azleg.gov

State Senator Jay Tibshraeny (R-21)
(602)-926-4481
jtibshraeny@azleg.gov

State Senator Thayer Verschoor (R-22) – President Pro Tempore
(602)-926-4136
tverschoor@azleg.gov

State Senator Jim Waring (R-7)
(602)-926-4916
jwaring@azleg.gov

TRENDING NOW
Democrats' Exciting New Hope Adheres to Tired Old Anti-Gun Dogma

News  

Friday, January 12, 2018

Democrats' Exciting New Hope Adheres to Tired Old Anti-Gun Dogma

Democrats searching for a standard-bearer in the 2020 presidential election lit on long-time entertainment, media, and publishing figure Oprah Winfrey this week, following a speech Winfrey gave at a televised Hollywood extravaganza.

Virginia: Gun Control Tops New Governor’s Agenda

News  

Friday, January 12, 2018

Virginia: Gun Control Tops New Governor’s Agenda

This week, Virginia Governor McAuliffe and Governor-Elect Ralph Northam outlined their top priorities for the upcoming legislative session, and highlighted expanded background checks for all firearm sales and other transfers (so-called “universal” background checks) as ...

Washington: Senate Law & Justice Committee to Hear Anti-Gun Bills Next Monday

Wednesday, January 10, 2018

Washington: Senate Law & Justice Committee to Hear Anti-Gun Bills Next Monday

On Monday, January 15th at 10:00AM, the Senate Law & Justice Committee is scheduled to hear multiple anti-gun bills.  Testimony will be limited during the hearing, so all NRA members and Second Amendment supporters are strongly ...

Washington: Substitute Versions of Gun Control Bills to Be Heard

Saturday, January 13, 2018

Washington: Substitute Versions of Gun Control Bills to Be Heard

Last night, anti-gun legislators introduced substitute bills for Senate Bill 5444 and Senate Bill 5463.  These substituted versions will replace the original bills that are scheduled for a public hearing on Monday, January 15th. NRA remains opposed ...

Friday, January 12, 2018

Florida Alert: League of Women Voters Off The Rails

On Thursday, January 11, 2018, the League of Women Voters’ lobbyist, Stephanie Owens of Tallahassee, was in the House Judiciary Committee meeting to oppose HB-55 on behalf of the League.        

Indiana: Gun Bills Filed

Saturday, January 13, 2018

Indiana: Gun Bills Filed

With the 2018 Indiana legislative session underway, a number of bills affecting your Second Amendment and hunting rights have been filed.

Washington: Gun Control Bill Scheduled for Vote in House Judiciary

Friday, January 12, 2018

Washington: Gun Control Bill Scheduled for Vote in House Judiciary

Next Thursday, January 18th, House Bill 1122 is scheduled for a vote in the House Judiciary Committee. Introduced by Representative Ruth Kagi (D-34) in 2017, HB 1122 received a public hearing last year and a ...

Unhappy New Year for California Gun Owners

News  

Friday, January 5, 2018

Unhappy New Year for California Gun Owners

While most of America was busy preparing to celebrate the New Year, gun owners in California were scrambling to lawfully purchase ammunition while they still could. Beginning January 1, all ammunition sales were required go ...

Colorado: Pro-Gun Legislators Renew Push to Repeal Magazine Limit

Thursday, January 11, 2018

Colorado: Pro-Gun Legislators Renew Push to Repeal Magazine Limit

Yesterday, Senator Owen Hill, and Representatives Lori Saine and Stephen Humphrey introduced Senate Bill 52, legislation that seeks to repeal the misguided 2013 law that limited the amount of ammunition a firearm magazine can hold.

Virginia: Dangerous Gun Control Agenda Looming as Legislature Convenes for its 2018 Legislative Session

Wednesday, January 10, 2018

Virginia: Dangerous Gun Control Agenda Looming as Legislature Convenes for its 2018 Legislative Session

As the Virginia General Assembly reconvenes for the 2018 session, it is more imperative than ever for NRA members and gun owners to make their voice heard.

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.