Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Two Pro-Gun Advancements Making Progress in Arizona!

Friday, June 12, 2009

Today, the Committee of the Whole passed Senate Bill 1243 with no amendments and Senate Bill 1113 with only the NRA-backed amendment.  Two hostile amendments were defeated thanks to the help from our strong supporters in the Senate.  Both bills now head to the Senate floor for a third reading on Monday, June 15.

SB1243, sponsored by State Senator Russell Pearce (R-18), would clarify the statutory definition of defensive display of a firearm. This clarification of defensive display of a firearm is a valuable addition to your right to self-defense.

SB1113, introduced by State Senator Jack Harper (R-4), would give concealed carry permit holders the right to take concealed handguns into restaurants that serve alcohol, provided they are not consuming. 

Please take the time to thank the Senators who supported these bills.  Also, we would like to show our appreciation to our strong allies and strong NRA supporters, State Senators Jack W. Harper (R-4), Jonathan Paton (R-30), and Steve Pierce (R-1). Their effort to help our cause was essential and the passing of these bills could not have happened with out them. Contact information can be found below.

State Senator Paula Aboud (D-28)
(602)-926-5262
paboud@azleg.gov

State Senator Amanda Aguirre (D-24)
(602)-926-4139
aaguirre@azleg.gov

State Senator Carolyn S. Allen (R-8)
(602)-926-4480
callen@azleg.gov

State Senator Sylvia Allen (R-5)
(602)-926-5219
sallen@azleg.gov

State Senator Manuel V. “Manny” Alvarez (D-25)
(602)-926-5895
malvarez@azleg.gov

State Senator Robert “Bob” Burns (D-9) – President
(602)-926-5993
rburns@azleg.gov

State Senator Meg Burton Cahill (D-17)
(602)-926-4124
mburtoncahill@azleg.gov

State Senator Ken Cheuvront (D-15)
(602)-926-5325
kcheuvront@azleg.gov

State Senator Jorge Luis Garcia (D-27) – Minority Leader
(602)-926-4171
jgarcia@azleg.gov

State Senator Pamela Gorman (R-6) – Majority Whip
(602)-926-5284
pgorman@azleg.gov

State Senator Ron Gould (R-3)
(602)-926-4138
rgould@azleg.gov

State Senator Chuck Gray (R-19) – Majority Leader
(602)-926-5288
cgray@azleg.gov

State Senator Linda Gray (R-10)
(602)-926-3376
lgray@azleg.gov

State Senator Albert Hale (D-2)
(602)-926-4323
ahale@azleg.gov

State Senator Jack W. Harper (R-4)
(602)-926-4178
jharper@azleg.gov

State Senator John Huppenthal (R-20)
(602)-926-5261
jhuppenthal@azleg.gov

State Senator Leah Landrum Taylor (D-16)
(602)-926-3830
Llandrumtaylor@azleg.gov

State Senator Barbara Leff (R-11)
(602)-926-4486
bleff@azleg.gov

State Senator Linda Lopez (D-29) – Minority Whip
(602)-926-4089
llopez@azleg.gov

State Senator Debbie McCune Davis (D-14)
(602)-926-4485
dmccunedavis@azleg.gov

State Senator Al Melvin (R-26)
(602)-926-4326
amelvin@azleg.gov

State Senator Richard Miranda (D-13)
(602)-926-5911
rmiranda@azleg.gov

State Senator John Nelson (R-12)
(602)-926-5872
jnelson@azleg.gov

State Senator Jonathan Paton (R-30)
(602)-926-3235
jpaton@azleg.gov

State Senator Russell Pearce (R-18)
(602)-926-5760
rpearce@azleg.gov

State Senator Steve Pierce (R-1)
(602)-926-5584
spierce@azleg.gov

State Senator Rebecca Rios (D-23) – Assistant Minority Leader
(602)-926-5685
rrios@azleg.gov

State Senator Jay Tibshraeny (R-21)
(602)-926-4481
jtibshraeny@azleg.gov

State Senator Thayer Verschoor (R-22) – President Pro Tempore
(602)-926-4136
tverschoor@azleg.gov

State Senator Jim Waring (R-7)
(602)-926-4916
jwaring@azleg.gov

TRENDING NOW
Anti-gun Propaganda Infiltrates History Channel’s Navy SEAL Drama “Six”

News  

Friday, July 20, 2018

Anti-gun Propaganda Infiltrates History Channel’s Navy SEAL Drama “Six”

With shows like “Tales of the Gun” and “Mail Call” with R. Lee Ermey, the History Channel has often served as a place where gun owners can enjoy entertainment free from the anti-gun political messaging ...

Federal Appellate Court Upholds Decision to Block California’s Magazine Surrender Requirement

News  

Friday, July 20, 2018

Federal Appellate Court Upholds Decision to Block California’s Magazine Surrender Requirement

Last summer, we reported on the welcome news that a federal court had blocked California’s plan to require owners of “large capacity” magazines to surrender or otherwise rid themselves of their formerly-lawful property. As the judge in ...

Gallup: Gun Control Not High on List of Problems

News  

Gun Laws  

Friday, July 20, 2018

Gallup: Gun Control Not High on List of Problems

Gallup’s July survey found that the number of Americans who cited guns or gun control as the most important problem facing America had returned to levels similar to before the shooting in Parkland, Fla. This month, ...

Moms Demand Action Reportedly Told Candidate Not to Talk about Support for Gun Ban

News  

Friday, July 20, 2018

Moms Demand Action Reportedly Told Candidate Not to Talk about Support for Gun Ban

Another chapter in the lengthy tale of gun control duplicity was written last week. On July 10, The Washington Free Beacon published a report of a video of Democratic nominee for New York’s rural upstate 21st congressional district Tedra ...

News  

Tuesday, July 17, 2018

Federal Court Upholds Decision to Block California’s Magazine Ban

A three-judge panel of the 9th Circuit issued a ruling in the case of Duncan v. Becerra on Tuesday upholding a lower court’s decision to suspend enforcement of California’s restriction on the possession of magazines ...

Washington: Seattle City Council Passes Ordinance Making Firearms Unavailable for Self-Defense

Monday, July 16, 2018

Washington: Seattle City Council Passes Ordinance Making Firearms Unavailable for Self-Defense

On July 9th, the Seattle City Council passed a mandatory firearm storage ordinance to restrict the self-defense rights of Seattle residents.  The ordinance, if signed by Mayor Jenny Durkan, will impose a one-size-fits-all method of storing firearms as ...

Israel Set to Further Embrace Armed Citizenry to Promote Public Safety

News  

Gun Laws  

Friday, July 20, 2018

Israel Set to Further Embrace Armed Citizenry to Promote Public Safety

After a spate of terror attacks in 2015, Israel opted to loosen its firearms restrictions so that more citizens could help to defend themselves and their communities. According to a recent report from Israeli newspaper Haaretz, the Ministry ...

Washington: NRA and SAF File Lawsuit Against City of Seattle

Friday, July 20, 2018

Washington: NRA and SAF File Lawsuit Against City of Seattle

On Friday, July 20th, the NRA and the Second Amendment Foundation filed a lawsuit against the City of Seattle, Mayor Jenny Durkan, and others, to invalidate the mandatory firearm storage ordinance that was recently passed by ...

Illinois: Governor Signs Two Gun Control Bills

Tuesday, July 17, 2018

Illinois: Governor Signs Two Gun Control Bills

On July 17th, Governor Bruce Rauner signed House Bill 2354 and Senate Bill 3256 into law.

Anti-gun Efforts to Expand U.N. Regulations to Ammunition Continue

News  

Friday, July 6, 2018

Anti-gun Efforts to Expand U.N. Regulations to Ammunition Continue

Shortly before 4:00am last Saturday morning, the two week long Third Review Conference (RevCon3) on the Programme of Action to Prevent, Combat, and Eradicate the Illicit Trade in Small Arms and Light Weapons in All ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.