Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Louisiana: Your Right of Self Defense Gets a Boost in the House!

Friday, June 20, 2008

Thank You for Your Hard Work! 

Today, the Louisiana House of Representatives voted 66-35 in favor of Senate Bill 51, the NRA-backed bill allowing employees and customers to keep firearms locked in their vehicles while parked on a publicly accessible parking lot controlled by a business.   

SB51 would clarify that current state law allowing Louisianans the right to possess lawfully owned firearms in their private motor vehicles would supercede policies adopted by business owners or employers prohibiting the transportation or storage of guns in locked cars and trucks parked in unsecured, public-access parking lots. 

SB51 now heads to the Senate for concurrence on either Sunday, June 22 or Monday, June 23.  It is imperative that you contact your State Senator and urge him or her to support your right of self-defense by supporting SB51.  We were able to gain support in the House due to the thousands of phone calls and emails that you made-now we need to do the same with the Senate!  To find your State Senator please click here. 

To see how your State Representative voted please click here.   

All State Senators can be reached at (225) 342-2040 

State Senators: 

State Senator A.G. Crowe (R-1)
crowea@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Ann Duplessis (D-2)
duplessisa@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Derrick Shepherd (D-3)
websen@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Edwin Murray (D-4)
murraye@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Cheryl Gray (D-5)
grayc@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Julie Quinn (R-6)
quinnj@legis.state.la.us

State Senator David Heitmeier (D-7)
heitmeid@legis.state.la.us

State Senator John Alario (D-8)
alarioj@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Danny Martiny
martinyd@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Jack Donahue (R-11)
donahuej@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Ben Nevers (D-12)
websen@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Dale Erdey (R-13)
erdeyd@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Yvonne Dorsey (D-14)
dorseyy@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Sharon Weston Broome (D-15)
lasen15@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Bill Cassidy (R-16)
Lasen16@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Rob Marionneaux (D-17)
lasen17@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Jody Amedee (D-18)
amedeej@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Joel Chaisson (D-19)
websen@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Reggie Dupre (D-20)
lasen20@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Butch Gautreauz (D-21)
lasen21@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Troy Hebert (D-22)
hebertt@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Mike Michot (R-23)
lasen23@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Don Cravins (D-24)
cravinsd@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Blade Morrish (R-25)
morrishd@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Nick Gautreaux (D-26)
gautreauxn@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Willie Mount (D-27)
lasen27@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Eric LaFleur (D-28)
lafleure@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Joe McPherson (D-29)
lasen29@legis.state.la.us

State Senator John Smith (D-30)
smithj@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Gerald Long (R-31)
longg@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Neil Riser (R-32)
risern@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Mike Walsworth (R-33)
walsworthm@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Francis Thompson (D-34)
thompsof@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Bob Kostelka (R-35)
kostelka@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Robert Adley (R-36)
adleyr@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Buddy Shaw (R-37)
shawb@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Sherri Smith Cheek (R-38)
smithcheek@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Lydia Jackson (D-39)
jacksonl@legis.state.la.us

TRENDING NOW
National Concealed Carry Reciprocity Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

National Concealed Carry Reciprocity Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them

On January 3rd, Congressman Richard Hudson (R-N.C.8th) introduced H.R. 38, the Concealed Carry Reciprocity Act of 2017, which simply allows lawful firearm carriers from any state to carry a concealed firearm in any other state. The bill ...

Your Members of Congress Need to Hear from You on the Hearing Protection Act of 2017

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Your Members of Congress Need to Hear from You on the Hearing Protection Act of 2017

On Monday, Sen. Mike Crapo (R-ID) – joined by co-sponsors Sens. Jerry Moran (R-KS) and Rand Paul (R-KY) – introduced S. 59, the Hearing Protection Act of 2017 (HPA). Similar legislation was introduced in the ...

Supreme Court Asked to Review California’s Restrictive Carry Regime

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Supreme Court Asked to Review California’s Restrictive Carry Regime

On Thursday, the NRA-supported case Peruta v. California took an important step towards restoring the right to bear arms in California.  The plaintiffs in the case, California gun owners and the California Rifle and Pistol ...

Alert: WA State Proposes Draconian Gun Ban Bills

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Alert: WA State Proposes Draconian Gun Ban Bills

Inspired, perhaps, by Oscar Wilde (“Moderation is a fatal thing. Nothing succeeds like excess”), Washington State Attorney General Bob Ferguson has announced two new sweeping gun control bills, with Sen. David Frockt (D-Seattle) and Rep. ...

The NRA Bids Farewell to Roy Innis, Civil Rights Champion: June 6, 1934 – Jan. 8, 2017

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

The NRA Bids Farewell to Roy Innis, Civil Rights Champion: June 6, 1934 – Jan. 8, 2017

America lost a civil rights icon and a true free thinker with the death of Roy Innis on Jan. 8. For the NRA, his departure was personal. Mr. Innis served on the NRA’s Board of ...

Jeff Sessions’ Devotion to the Constitution Shines Through in Contentious Confirmation Hearing

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Jeff Sessions’ Devotion to the Constitution Shines Through in Contentious Confirmation Hearing

On January 10 and 11, the U.S. Senate Judiciary Committee held the confirmation hearing for President-elect Donald Trump’s nominee for United States Attorney General, Sen. Jeff Sessions (R-Ala.). Throughout his distinguished career in public service, ...

Increase in Violent Crime: National Trend Driven by Local Politics?

News  

Friday, January 13, 2017

Increase in Violent Crime: National Trend Driven by Local Politics?

The FBI released its Preliminary Semiannual Uniform Crime Report earlier this week and the bad news is that violent crime increased for the second consecutive year.

NRA Applauds the Introduction of the Hearing Protection Act, H.R. 367

News  

Hunting  

Monday, January 9, 2017

NRA Applauds the Introduction of the Hearing Protection Act, H.R. 367

FAIRFAX, Va. – The National Rifle Association Institute for Legislative Action (NRA-ILA) applauded Congressmen Jeff Duncan (SC) and John Carter (TX-31) on Monday for introducing the Hearing Protection Act, an important bill that gives gun owners and sportsmen ...

Gun Shy Professor Claims Need to Counter Campus Carry

News  

Friday, January 6, 2017

Gun Shy Professor Claims Need to Counter Campus Carry

Do you look back on your college years and remember the impassioned debates, when disagreements over the Periodic Table of Elements, theories of supply and demand, or the status of Pluto as a planet could ...

California: Pre-Litigation Demand Letter sent to DOJ opposing “Bullet Button Assault Weapon” Regulations

Monday, January 9, 2017

California: Pre-Litigation Demand Letter sent to DOJ opposing “Bullet Button Assault Weapon” Regulations

Today, NRA and CRPA’s legal team submitted a joint-letter to DOJ demanding that DOJ withdraw their regulations as a violation of the authority granted under the law.  NRA and CRPA’s legal team also submitted a ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.