Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Louisiana: Your Right of Self Defense Gets a Boost in the House!

Friday, June 20, 2008

Thank You for Your Hard Work! 

Today, the Louisiana House of Representatives voted 66-35 in favor of Senate Bill 51, the NRA-backed bill allowing employees and customers to keep firearms locked in their vehicles while parked on a publicly accessible parking lot controlled by a business.   

SB51 would clarify that current state law allowing Louisianans the right to possess lawfully owned firearms in their private motor vehicles would supercede policies adopted by business owners or employers prohibiting the transportation or storage of guns in locked cars and trucks parked in unsecured, public-access parking lots. 

SB51 now heads to the Senate for concurrence on either Sunday, June 22 or Monday, June 23.  It is imperative that you contact your State Senator and urge him or her to support your right of self-defense by supporting SB51.  We were able to gain support in the House due to the thousands of phone calls and emails that you made-now we need to do the same with the Senate!  To find your State Senator please click here. 

To see how your State Representative voted please click here.   

All State Senators can be reached at (225) 342-2040 

State Senators: 

State Senator A.G. Crowe (R-1)
crowea@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Ann Duplessis (D-2)
duplessisa@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Derrick Shepherd (D-3)
websen@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Edwin Murray (D-4)
murraye@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Cheryl Gray (D-5)
grayc@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Julie Quinn (R-6)
quinnj@legis.state.la.us

State Senator David Heitmeier (D-7)
heitmeid@legis.state.la.us

State Senator John Alario (D-8)
alarioj@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Danny Martiny
martinyd@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Jack Donahue (R-11)
donahuej@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Ben Nevers (D-12)
websen@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Dale Erdey (R-13)
erdeyd@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Yvonne Dorsey (D-14)
dorseyy@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Sharon Weston Broome (D-15)
lasen15@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Bill Cassidy (R-16)
Lasen16@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Rob Marionneaux (D-17)
lasen17@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Jody Amedee (D-18)
amedeej@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Joel Chaisson (D-19)
websen@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Reggie Dupre (D-20)
lasen20@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Butch Gautreauz (D-21)
lasen21@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Troy Hebert (D-22)
hebertt@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Mike Michot (R-23)
lasen23@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Don Cravins (D-24)
cravinsd@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Blade Morrish (R-25)
morrishd@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Nick Gautreaux (D-26)
gautreauxn@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Willie Mount (D-27)
lasen27@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Eric LaFleur (D-28)
lafleure@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Joe McPherson (D-29)
lasen29@legis.state.la.us

State Senator John Smith (D-30)
smithj@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Gerald Long (R-31)
longg@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Neil Riser (R-32)
risern@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Mike Walsworth (R-33)
walsworthm@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Francis Thompson (D-34)
thompsof@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Bob Kostelka (R-35)
kostelka@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Robert Adley (R-36)
adleyr@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Buddy Shaw (R-37)
shawb@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Sherri Smith Cheek (R-38)
smithcheek@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Lydia Jackson (D-39)
jacksonl@legis.state.la.us

TRENDING NOW
Maryland: Pro-Carry Legislation Pending Final Vote on House Floor

Monday, March 20, 2017

Maryland: Pro-Carry Legislation Pending Final Vote on House Floor

Today, the Maryland House of Delegates passed House Bill 1036 on second reading.

Ohio: Critical Self-Defense Law Takes Effect Today!

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Ohio: Critical Self-Defense Law Takes Effect Today!

Today, March 21, the provisions of the critical self-defense legislation, Sub. Senate Bill 199, go into effect.  Thanks to your active involvement last session, this bill was signed by Governor Kasich last December.  This law ...

Maryland: House Passes Pro-Carry Legislation

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Maryland: House Passes Pro-Carry Legislation

Yesterday, the Maryland House of Delegates passed House Bill 1036 by a 97-41 vote.

Illinois: Gun Seizure Bill Could be Heard by House at Any Time

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Illinois: Gun Seizure Bill Could be Heard by House at Any Time

The Illinois House of Representatives could consider House Bill 2354 at any time.

Arkansas Action Needed: Anti-Gun Bill Which Undermines Concealed Carry Headed to House

Thursday, March 23, 2017

Arkansas Action Needed: Anti-Gun Bill Which Undermines Concealed Carry Headed to House

Today, the Arkansas Senate passed Senate Bill 724, an anti-gun bill which undermines some of the key advancements made with the passage and enactment of House Bill 1249.  SB 724 is now headed to the ...

Idaho: Senate Passes Concealed Carry Amendment

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Idaho: Senate Passes Concealed Carry Amendment

Yesterday, March 20, the Idaho Senate passed House Bill 93 by a 35-0 vote.  Introduced by state Representative Don Cheatham (R-3B) and sponsored on the floor by state Senator Marv Hagedorn (R-14), HB 93 would amend current law ...

Utah: Governor Signs Self-Defense Legislation into Law

Thursday, March 23, 2017

Utah: Governor Signs Self-Defense Legislation into Law

Tonight, Governor Gary Herbert signed House Bill 198 into law.

Texas: Two Important Handgun Carry Bills to be Considered in Senate and House Next Week

Thursday, March 23, 2017

Texas: Two Important Handgun Carry Bills to be Considered in Senate and House Next Week

On Monday, March 27, the Texas Senate will convene after 2:00pm and is expected to take up and consider Senate Bill 16, NRA-backed legislation sponsored by State Sen. Robert Nichols (R-Jacksonville) and Joan Huffman (R-Houston).

Nevada: Senate Passes Anti-Gun SB 115

Wednesday, March 22, 2017

Nevada: Senate Passes Anti-Gun SB 115

Yesterday, March 21, the Senate passed anti-gun Senate Bill 115 with a 12-9 vote.  SB 115 was sent to the Assembly for further consideration.  Sponsored by state Senator Moises Denis (D-2), SB 115 would expand the list ...

Oklahoma: Multiple Pro-Gun Bills Passed Out of the House

Friday, March 24, 2017

Oklahoma: Multiple Pro-Gun Bills Passed Out of the House

This week, the Oklahoma House of Representatives passed multiple pro-gun bills, including House Bill 1721, House Bill 2323, and House Bill 2322. 

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.