Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Louisiana: Your Right of Self Defense Gets a Boost in the House!

Friday, June 20, 2008

Thank You for Your Hard Work! 

Today, the Louisiana House of Representatives voted 66-35 in favor of Senate Bill 51, the NRA-backed bill allowing employees and customers to keep firearms locked in their vehicles while parked on a publicly accessible parking lot controlled by a business.   

SB51 would clarify that current state law allowing Louisianans the right to possess lawfully owned firearms in their private motor vehicles would supercede policies adopted by business owners or employers prohibiting the transportation or storage of guns in locked cars and trucks parked in unsecured, public-access parking lots. 

SB51 now heads to the Senate for concurrence on either Sunday, June 22 or Monday, June 23.  It is imperative that you contact your State Senator and urge him or her to support your right of self-defense by supporting SB51.  We were able to gain support in the House due to the thousands of phone calls and emails that you made-now we need to do the same with the Senate!  To find your State Senator please click here. 

To see how your State Representative voted please click here.   

All State Senators can be reached at (225) 342-2040 

State Senators: 

State Senator A.G. Crowe (R-1)
crowea@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Ann Duplessis (D-2)
duplessisa@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Derrick Shepherd (D-3)
websen@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Edwin Murray (D-4)
murraye@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Cheryl Gray (D-5)
grayc@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Julie Quinn (R-6)
quinnj@legis.state.la.us

State Senator David Heitmeier (D-7)
heitmeid@legis.state.la.us

State Senator John Alario (D-8)
alarioj@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Danny Martiny
martinyd@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Jack Donahue (R-11)
donahuej@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Ben Nevers (D-12)
websen@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Dale Erdey (R-13)
erdeyd@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Yvonne Dorsey (D-14)
dorseyy@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Sharon Weston Broome (D-15)
lasen15@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Bill Cassidy (R-16)
Lasen16@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Rob Marionneaux (D-17)
lasen17@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Jody Amedee (D-18)
amedeej@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Joel Chaisson (D-19)
websen@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Reggie Dupre (D-20)
lasen20@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Butch Gautreauz (D-21)
lasen21@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Troy Hebert (D-22)
hebertt@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Mike Michot (R-23)
lasen23@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Don Cravins (D-24)
cravinsd@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Blade Morrish (R-25)
morrishd@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Nick Gautreaux (D-26)
gautreauxn@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Willie Mount (D-27)
lasen27@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Eric LaFleur (D-28)
lafleure@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Joe McPherson (D-29)
lasen29@legis.state.la.us

State Senator John Smith (D-30)
smithj@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Gerald Long (R-31)
longg@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Neil Riser (R-32)
risern@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Mike Walsworth (R-33)
walsworthm@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Francis Thompson (D-34)
thompsof@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Bob Kostelka (R-35)
kostelka@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Robert Adley (R-36)
adleyr@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Buddy Shaw (R-37)
shawb@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Sherri Smith Cheek (R-38)
smithcheek@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Lydia Jackson (D-39)
jacksonl@legis.state.la.us

TRENDING NOW
“She Persisted” – Gun Owner Fights Unlawful “No Return” Gun Policy

News  

Friday, July 21, 2017

“She Persisted” – Gun Owner Fights Unlawful “No Return” Gun Policy

On July 17, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit confirmed that law enforcement officials in New York acted unlawfully with respect to guns confiscated from a Nassau County woman in 2012.  

Supreme Court Asked to Review Maryland's Gun Ban

News  

Friday, July 21, 2017

Supreme Court Asked to Review Maryland's Gun Ban

A group of Maryland citizens, with the support of the National Rifle Association, filed a petition to the United States Supreme Court on Friday seeking to reverse a Court of Appeals ruling that stripped some of America’s most ...

The Danger Of A “Not In My Backyard” Mentality On Shooting Ranges

News  

Wednesday, July 19, 2017

The Danger Of A “Not In My Backyard” Mentality On Shooting Ranges

Muscatine County, Iowa, is home to about 40,000 people, and like too many places around the country, gun owners there have no public range where they can practice or compete safely. That may be changing, ...

Former Bloomberg Lackey Comes Clean on True Anti-gun Agenda

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, July 21, 2017

Former Bloomberg Lackey Comes Clean on True Anti-gun Agenda

Back when Mark Glaze was executive director of Michael Bloomberg’s Mayors Against Illegal Guns, and later Everytown for Gun Safety, he went to great lengths to portray his master’s anti-gun positions as moderate. Glaze used ...

The Need for National Reciprocity

News  

Friday, July 21, 2017

The Need for National Reciprocity

A report from the Crime Prevention Research Center estimates that the number of concealed carry permits issued last year was the largest increase ever – continuing a four year trend of record setting increases in ...

One More Reason Gun Owners Should Be Celebrated

News  

Second Amendment  

Thursday, July 20, 2017

One More Reason Gun Owners Should Be Celebrated

The safety record of America’s gun owners is nothing short of stunning. 

When Gun Control Fails

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, July 21, 2017

When Gun Control Fails

Gun control is pushed as a strategy to keep Americans safe in their homes, schools and workplaces. It is presented as the key component in safer streets, neighborhoods and families. But what happens when gun ...

California:  "Assault Weapon" Regulations Take 3: CA DOJ Resubmits Regulations

Friday, July 21, 2017

California: "Assault Weapon" Regulations Take 3: CA DOJ Resubmits Regulations

Today, July 21, the California Department of Justice (“DOJ”), without warning or any notification,  submitted another set of proposed regulations for the registration of newly classified “assault weapons” to the Office of Administrative Law.  As ...

Home Alone in Washington State

News  

Friday, July 21, 2017

Home Alone in Washington State

Back in 2013, when Washington State’s anti-gun groups rolled out Initiative 594, they promised voters this “universal background check” law would save lives by keeping “firearms out of dangerous hands” because private gun sales would ...

Court to Texas College Professors: Your Irrational Fear of Gun Owners Is Not Legally Addressable

News  

Wednesday, July 12, 2017

Court to Texas College Professors: Your Irrational Fear of Gun Owners Is Not Legally Addressable

Last Thursday, a federal judge in Austin, Texas, dismissed a lawsuit by several professors who sought to block the University of Texas from implementing a state law that provides for the lawful carrying of concealed ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.