Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Louisiana: Your Right of Self Defense Gets a Boost in the House!

Friday, June 20, 2008

Thank You for Your Hard Work! 

Today, the Louisiana House of Representatives voted 66-35 in favor of Senate Bill 51, the NRA-backed bill allowing employees and customers to keep firearms locked in their vehicles while parked on a publicly accessible parking lot controlled by a business.   

SB51 would clarify that current state law allowing Louisianans the right to possess lawfully owned firearms in their private motor vehicles would supercede policies adopted by business owners or employers prohibiting the transportation or storage of guns in locked cars and trucks parked in unsecured, public-access parking lots. 

SB51 now heads to the Senate for concurrence on either Sunday, June 22 or Monday, June 23.  It is imperative that you contact your State Senator and urge him or her to support your right of self-defense by supporting SB51.  We were able to gain support in the House due to the thousands of phone calls and emails that you made-now we need to do the same with the Senate!  To find your State Senator please click here. 

To see how your State Representative voted please click here.   

All State Senators can be reached at (225) 342-2040 

State Senators: 

State Senator A.G. Crowe (R-1)
crowea@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Ann Duplessis (D-2)
duplessisa@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Derrick Shepherd (D-3)
websen@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Edwin Murray (D-4)
murraye@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Cheryl Gray (D-5)
grayc@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Julie Quinn (R-6)
quinnj@legis.state.la.us

State Senator David Heitmeier (D-7)
heitmeid@legis.state.la.us

State Senator John Alario (D-8)
alarioj@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Danny Martiny
martinyd@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Jack Donahue (R-11)
donahuej@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Ben Nevers (D-12)
websen@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Dale Erdey (R-13)
erdeyd@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Yvonne Dorsey (D-14)
dorseyy@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Sharon Weston Broome (D-15)
lasen15@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Bill Cassidy (R-16)
Lasen16@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Rob Marionneaux (D-17)
lasen17@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Jody Amedee (D-18)
amedeej@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Joel Chaisson (D-19)
websen@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Reggie Dupre (D-20)
lasen20@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Butch Gautreauz (D-21)
lasen21@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Troy Hebert (D-22)
hebertt@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Mike Michot (R-23)
lasen23@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Don Cravins (D-24)
cravinsd@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Blade Morrish (R-25)
morrishd@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Nick Gautreaux (D-26)
gautreauxn@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Willie Mount (D-27)
lasen27@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Eric LaFleur (D-28)
lafleure@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Joe McPherson (D-29)
lasen29@legis.state.la.us

State Senator John Smith (D-30)
smithj@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Gerald Long (R-31)
longg@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Neil Riser (R-32)
risern@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Mike Walsworth (R-33)
walsworthm@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Francis Thompson (D-34)
thompsof@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Bob Kostelka (R-35)
kostelka@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Robert Adley (R-36)
adleyr@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Buddy Shaw (R-37)
shawb@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Sherri Smith Cheek (R-38)
smithcheek@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Lydia Jackson (D-39)
jacksonl@legis.state.la.us

TRENDING NOW
Levi’s Teams with Billionaire Michael Bloomberg to Attack Gun Rights

News  

Friday, September 7, 2018

Levi’s Teams with Billionaire Michael Bloomberg to Attack Gun Rights

Levi Strauss & Co. established its brand in the mid-19th century by selling durable clothing to working-class Americans. As Levi’s signature jeans gained popularity amongst a wider set in the middle of the last century, ...

Who’s BS’ing Now? Gonzalez Argues for Gun Confiscation but Insists She’s “Pro Second Amendment”

News  

Friday, October 12, 2018

Who’s BS’ing Now? Gonzalez Argues for Gun Confiscation but Insists She’s “Pro Second Amendment”

Gun control advocates are constantly looking for the right messenger to push an agenda that boils down to law-abiding Americans giving up their freedoms, their security, and their property without expectation of affecting the behavior ...

Jamie Lee Curtis “Proves” She is Not Anti-gun by Stating her Support for Banning Guns?!?!

News  

Friday, October 12, 2018

Jamie Lee Curtis “Proves” She is Not Anti-gun by Stating her Support for Banning Guns?!?!

Actors and actresses should generally stick to what they know best; repeating the lines others have written for them. Jamie Lee Curtis recently decided to try to explain, in her own words, how much she ...

Round Two: Gun Rights Groups Prevail (Again) in Second Challenge to Firearm Restrictions in Delaware’s State Parks, Forests

News  

Gun Laws  

Friday, October 12, 2018

Round Two: Gun Rights Groups Prevail (Again) in Second Challenge to Firearm Restrictions in Delaware’s State Parks, Forests

Gun rights groups, including the NRA’s Delaware affiliate, the Delaware State Sportsmen’s Association, scored an encore legal victory this week when the Superior Court of the State of Delaware invalidated parts of newly promulgated regulations ...

Senator from Tennessee or Times Square? Bloomberg Hosts Manhattan Fundraiser for Phil Bredesen

News  

Thursday, October 11, 2018

Senator from Tennessee or Times Square? Bloomberg Hosts Manhattan Fundraiser for Phil Bredesen

Is Phil Bredesen running for U.S. Senate to represent Memphis or Manhattan? Rocky Top or Rockefeller Center? Appalachia or the Big Apple? Tennessee voters might wonder after billionaire gun control financier and former-New York City ...

Politics over Data: The Rhode Island Working Group

News  

Friday, October 12, 2018

Politics over Data: The Rhode Island Working Group

Rhode Island Governor Gina Raimondo convened a task force focused on “gun safety” last April, comprised predominantly of members drawn from “the judiciary, the Attorney General’s Office, state and local law enforcement agencies, gun violence prevention ...

Bloomberg Finds Home in Today’s Democratic Party

News  

Friday, October 12, 2018

Bloomberg Finds Home in Today’s Democratic Party

In what observers have pegged as a preparatory step for a presidential run in 2020, on October 10 billionaire gun control financier and former-New York City Mayor Michael Bloomberg registered as a Democrat. Bloomberg ran as ...

Nevada: Governor Sandoval Signs AB 118!

Monday, May 22, 2017

Nevada: Governor Sandoval Signs AB 118!

Today, May 22, Governor Brian Sandoval signed important pro-gun legislation, Assembly Bill 118, into law.  AB 118, sponsored by Assemblyman Skip Daly, will allow members of the military and those who have received an honorable ...

Anti-gun Researcher Refutes His Own Anti-gun Conclusion

News  

Friday, October 5, 2018

Anti-gun Researcher Refutes His Own Anti-gun Conclusion

Doctor Garen Wintemute’s latest contribution to “the prevention of firearm violence” comes in the form of a Perspective column published in the New England Journal of Medicine. Wintemute, you may recall, is the Director of ...

Don’t Let Your State’s Governor Mansion Become a Gun-Free Home

News  

Wednesday, October 10, 2018

Don’t Let Your State’s Governor Mansion Become a Gun-Free Home

While Congressional elections will likely get the lion’s share of media coverage leading up to November 6, gun owners know that threats to our Right to Keep and Bear Arms do not only emanate from ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -

More Like This From Around The NRA

NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.