Explore The NRA Universe Of Websites

APPEARS IN Legal & Legislation

Louisiana: Your Right of Self Defense Gets a Boost in the House!

Friday, June 20, 2008

Thank You for Your Hard Work! 

Today, the Louisiana House of Representatives voted 66-35 in favor of Senate Bill 51, the NRA-backed bill allowing employees and customers to keep firearms locked in their vehicles while parked on a publicly accessible parking lot controlled by a business.   

SB51 would clarify that current state law allowing Louisianans the right to possess lawfully owned firearms in their private motor vehicles would supercede policies adopted by business owners or employers prohibiting the transportation or storage of guns in locked cars and trucks parked in unsecured, public-access parking lots. 

SB51 now heads to the Senate for concurrence on either Sunday, June 22 or Monday, June 23.  It is imperative that you contact your State Senator and urge him or her to support your right of self-defense by supporting SB51.  We were able to gain support in the House due to the thousands of phone calls and emails that you made-now we need to do the same with the Senate!  To find your State Senator please click here. 

To see how your State Representative voted please click here.   

All State Senators can be reached at (225) 342-2040 

State Senators: 

State Senator A.G. Crowe (R-1)
crowea@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Ann Duplessis (D-2)
duplessisa@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Derrick Shepherd (D-3)
websen@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Edwin Murray (D-4)
murraye@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Cheryl Gray (D-5)
grayc@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Julie Quinn (R-6)
quinnj@legis.state.la.us

State Senator David Heitmeier (D-7)
heitmeid@legis.state.la.us

State Senator John Alario (D-8)
alarioj@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Danny Martiny
martinyd@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Jack Donahue (R-11)
donahuej@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Ben Nevers (D-12)
websen@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Dale Erdey (R-13)
erdeyd@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Yvonne Dorsey (D-14)
dorseyy@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Sharon Weston Broome (D-15)
lasen15@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Bill Cassidy (R-16)
Lasen16@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Rob Marionneaux (D-17)
lasen17@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Jody Amedee (D-18)
amedeej@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Joel Chaisson (D-19)
websen@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Reggie Dupre (D-20)
lasen20@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Butch Gautreauz (D-21)
lasen21@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Troy Hebert (D-22)
hebertt@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Mike Michot (R-23)
lasen23@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Don Cravins (D-24)
cravinsd@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Blade Morrish (R-25)
morrishd@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Nick Gautreaux (D-26)
gautreauxn@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Willie Mount (D-27)
lasen27@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Eric LaFleur (D-28)
lafleure@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Joe McPherson (D-29)
lasen29@legis.state.la.us

State Senator John Smith (D-30)
smithj@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Gerald Long (R-31)
longg@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Neil Riser (R-32)
risern@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Mike Walsworth (R-33)
walsworthm@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Francis Thompson (D-34)
thompsof@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Bob Kostelka (R-35)
kostelka@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Robert Adley (R-36)
adleyr@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Buddy Shaw (R-37)
shawb@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Sherri Smith Cheek (R-38)
smithcheek@legis.state.la.us

State Senator Lydia Jackson (D-39)
jacksonl@legis.state.la.us

TRENDING NOW

News  

Tuesday, April 24, 2018

ALERT ! YETI Adds Insult to Injury

If it wasn’t bad enough that YETI dropped The NRA Foundation as a client, now they’re calling us liars because we informed our members and friends of their actions.  

Saturday, April 21, 2018

Florida Alert: YETI Drops NRA Foundation

For years YETI Coolers have been a hot item for sportsmen at the Friends of NRA Foundation Banquet and Auction events around the country.  Suddenly, without prior notice, YETI has declined to do business with The ...

Dick’s Sporting Goods/Field & Stream to Destroy Firearms Inventory

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, April 20, 2018

Dick’s Sporting Goods/Field & Stream to Destroy Firearms Inventory

Dick’s Sporting Goods took their campaign to alienate law-abiding gun owners to an extraordinary new level last week. The beleaguered retailer announced that in addition to removing certain types of semi-automatic rifles from their stores, the company ...

NRA Statement on Passage of the National Defense Authorization Act

News  

Tuesday, December 12, 2017

NRA Statement on Passage of the National Defense Authorization Act

National Rifle Association Institute for Legislative Action executive director, Chris W. Cox, released the following statement on Tuesday regarding President Donald Trump's signature on the National Defense Authorization Act

Minnesota: Two Anti-Gun Amendments to be Introduced and Considered Tomorrow

Wednesday, April 25, 2018

Minnesota: Two Anti-Gun Amendments to be Introduced and Considered Tomorrow

Tomorrow, anti-gun state Senator Ron Latz is expected to introduce two gun control amendments to the Senate Judiciary Omnibus finance bill on the Senate floor.

Another Group of Anti-Gun Celebrities Forms!  In Other News, The Sun Rose Today.

News  

Second Amendment  

Friday, April 20, 2018

Another Group of Anti-Gun Celebrities Forms! In Other News, The Sun Rose Today.

In case you were worried there were not enough anti-gun organizations working to eradicate the rights of law-abiding gun owners, a new one has formed, and it’s called NoRA.  Get it?  The name implies that the ...

Delaware: Mandatory Gun Storage Legislation to be Heard in Committee Today

Wednesday, April 25, 2018

Delaware: Mandatory Gun Storage Legislation to be Heard in Committee Today

Today, the House Judiciary Committee is scheduled to consider anti-gun House Bill 366.

Colorado: Round Two for Magazine Ban Repeal Bill in House Committee

Tuesday, April 24, 2018

Colorado: Round Two for Magazine Ban Repeal Bill in House Committee

On Wednesday, April 25, the House State, Veterans, and Military Affairs Committee is scheduled to consider Senate Bill 52.

California: Legislation Requiring Background Checks on Barrels and Other Parts Up For Hearing!

Sunday, April 22, 2018

California: Legislation Requiring Background Checks on Barrels and Other Parts Up For Hearing!

Several pro- and anti-gun bills are scheduled to be heard in their respective committees on Monday, April 23 and Tuesday, April 24.  Please contact the members of the respective committee and urge them to SUPPORT ...

Gun Control Supporters Are Counting On Appeasement

News  

Second Amendment  

Thursday, April 26, 2018

Gun Control Supporters Are Counting On Appeasement

We know where the gun control measures that our opposition markets as “common sense” lead, because our opponents have told us time and again. Law-abiding gun owners must recognize that the so-called “reasonable regulations” proposed by gun ...

MORE TRENDING +
LESS TRENDING -
NRA ILA

Established in 1975, the Institute for Legislative Action (ILA) is the "lobbying" arm of the National Rifle Association of America. ILA is responsible for preserving the right of all law-abiding individuals in the legislative, political, and legal arenas, to purchase, possess and use firearms for legitimate purposes as guaranteed by the Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.